Roland Dürre
Tuesday July 17th, 2018

Innovation. Management. Future.

I did it ?!

More and more enterprises create positions that they call “innovations management”. Whenever I hear such a thing, I am tempted to ask these managers what exactly their job-description is (regardless of the fact that I do not really believe in precise job descriptions).

More often than not, the Innovation Manager will sit in the Human Resource (HR) Department. After all, it is his main task to make the employees “more innovative“. Besides, I do not really know why you need HR.

“What exactly is innovation?“

That is a question I rather like asking the “Innovation Managers”. Mind you, this is not with an evil purpose. I really do not know what innovation is. Except that it is a buzz-word everybody seems to use these days.

I particularly like asking such stupid questions when I meet people who are supposed to make very classical-style enterprises more innovative. For instance when we are talking the financial sector, i.e. banks and insurance companies.

In such situations, I always remember the definition given by Simon Grand (St. Gallen). He called innovation “creative destruction”. This might not be very helpful. But at least it is a definition that indicates that innovations usually cause change. And nobody likes change. Except when you have a massive problem.

Which brings us to the next question:

“What exactly is a problem?“

I find a definition that describes rather drastically what a problem is:

“A state of affairs that cannot continue“.

It might be the task of innovation to change such states of affairs …
And then we are in the middle of such horrifying scenarios as fragility and disruption, which threaten our stability. After all, innovation is supposed to help when it comes to strengthening the anti-fragility of systems that are threatened by disruption. And if you listen to what managers generally believe today, then disruption obviously increases. Which is due to the ever increasing complexity (also one of the general managerial beliefs).

“Disruption and anti-fragility “

Two more of those nice buzz-words. You fear the one and you are supposed to create the other. And if the Innovations Manager sits in the HR department, then, naturally, he has to create the innovation with his resources – that is with the people. Consequently, he has to provide the employees with better equipment for dealing with disruptions, thus taking the system for which they all work to a higher level of anti-fragility.

“How do you go about doing this?“

Here are a few ideas.

Perhaps you want to tell stories. You could describe a nice working and living environment. You could introduce values that may sound well but are really hard to realize in old systems. Because the opposition among the persons and institutions can hardly ever be overcome.

Or maybe you will want to introduce new forms of communication such as barcamps with which you hope to penetrate walls and bunkers in the enterprises.

But who knows if any of this is enough?

I do not know. I look forward to reading or hearing stories about successful innovations management. I would really like to tell those stories to a broader audience.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 17. Juli 2018

Innovation. Management. Zukunft.

Geschafft ?!

Immer mehr Unternehmen richten Positionen ein, die als „Innovations Management“ bezeichnet werden. Mich reizt es dann immer, diese Manager nach ihrer Job-Beschreibung zu fragen (dies obwohl ich von zu ausgefeilten Stellenbeschreibungen nichts halte).

Häufig sitzt der Innovation Manager in der Abteilung Human Ressource (HR), denn seine Hauptaufgabe ist ja, die Mitarbeiter „innovativer“ zu machen. Und ich weiß ja auch nicht, wieso man eigentlich HR braucht?

„Was ist Innovation?“

Diese Frage stelle ich dann gerne den „Innovation ManagerInnen“. Ohne jede böse Absicht. Weiß ich ja wirklich nicht, was Innovation ist. Nur dass, es ein Buzzword ist, von dem alle reden.

Besonders gerne stelle ich solche dumme Fragen den Menschen, die sehr klassische Unternehmen „innovativer“ machen sollen. Zum Beispiel aus dem Bereich der Finanzindustrie (FI), also der Banken und Versicherungen.

Mir fällt dann immer die Definition von Simon Grand (St. Gallen) ein. Er hat Innovation als „Kreative Zerstörung“ bezeichnet. Eine vielleicht nicht unbedingt hilfreiche Definition. Aber sicher eine, die zumindest darauf hinweist, dass Innovationen in der Regel Veränderungen verursachen. Und Veränderungen mag ja keiner. Außer, wenn man ein massives Problem hat.

So sind wir schon bei der nächsten Frage:

„Was ist ein Problem?“

Auch hier habe ich eine Definition gefunden, die sehr drastisch erklärt, was ein Problem ist. Nämlich

„Ein Zustand, der so nicht bleiben kann“.

Die Aufgabe von Innovation könnte sein, solche Zustände zu verändern …

Und schon tauchen Schreckgespenster wie Fragilität und Disruption auf, die unsere Stabilität bedrohen. Innovation soll ja helfen, die Antifragilität von Systemen, die von Disruption bedroht werden zu stärken. Und nach heutigem Manager-Latein nimmt die Disruption ja bekanntlich zu. Aufgrund der Komplexität, die ja immer schlimmer wird (auch so ein Manager-Latein).

„Disruption und Antifragilität“

Das sind auch so schöne Buzzwords. Das eine fürchtet man, das andere soll man herstellen. Und wenn der Innovations Manager bei HR sitzt, dann muss er natürlich die Innovation bei seinen Ressourcen – den Menschen – herstellen. Also müssen sie die Mitarbeiter dazu bringen, dass sie mit „Disruption“ besser umgehen können und so das System, für das man ja gemeinsam wirkt, in einen Zustand hoher Antifragilität versetzen.

„Wie macht man das?“

Hier ein paar Ideen.

Vielleicht mit Story Telling. Mit dem man eine andere Arbeits- und Lebenswelt beschreibt. Mit Werten, die dort existieren, die zwar gut klingen, aber im alten System nur schwer zu realisieren sind. Weil die Widerstände bei den Personen und Gremien kaum überwunden werden kann.

Oder mit neuen Kommunikationsformen wie „barcamps“, mit denen man hofft die Mauern der Silos in den Unternehmen zu durchdringen.

Aber ob das aber ausreicht?

Ich weiß es nicht. Und freue mich, Geschichten von erfolgreichem „Innovations Management“ erzählt zu bekommen. Damit ich sie weitererzählen kann.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*