Roland Dürre
Saturday November 12th, 2016

Interview for the DOAG-TV on “Digitalization”

DOAG22016-K-A-Banner-180x180_speakerBetween November, 15th and November, 18th, 2016, the DOAG Conference and Exhibition will be for the 29th time in Nuremburg. I was there and was permitted to give a presentation – and I was also interviewed by DOAG-TV. Here are the questions and my answers:


When and where, as you see it, did digitalization basically begin?

For me, digitalization started with the “written language”. A few thousand years – maybe 5,000 years – after language had evolved, they found a way to write it down. Then came the information carriers for written language , such as papyrus, paper and IT, along with machines such as the printing press, the lead set and eventually the internet.

Incidentally, written texts were first used for business purposes (merchandize). Business is the inventor of all things – not war. If anything, war is just an extreme sort of business – and, as I see it, a totally questionable and perverted one.

Auch damals waren die Zeiten schon "digital".

In those days, times were already “digital”.

Where are we today, and what does digitalization mean for the “analogous” creature “homo sapiens”?

Humans are and will always remain analogous creatures. Through the “cultural techniques” such as reading and writing, humans became a little digital. But never quite fully. After all, to this day humans cannot really manage to translate digital experiences into their analogous concepts of mind. Just think of the secret of the big number. Linear is hard enough, geometrical is quite difficult, logarithmic is impossible. Can you imagine how much money 200 quadrillion Euros is (it is the sum by which the EU countries indebt themselves anew each year)?

We lost the competence to calculate mentally or on paper as soon as the pocket calculator was invented. Who of us can still do it? Who can still extract a root or do a logarithmic value by hand?

Looking ahead: what will digitalization bring us?

Strangely enough, digitalization might actually make our lives analogue again. In former times, we translated digital data into analogous signals by modem (modulating and demodulating) before sending them on through a cable. And at the opposite end of the cable, the modem again re-translated them into digital data. Today, we translate analoous signals (noise and images) into digital data for transportation, split them into small data packages, send them through a package network, collect them and then re-arrange them in order to reconstruct the analogous signal from digital data (which is why we no longer have any static).

What will we have in the future?

  • In communications: facilitation gets more and more important. We will have more images and less written words. We will talk more and draw and write less. Audio will become more and more relevant – also as part of asynchronous communication. Podcasts and video recordings will continue to grow.
  • A “rudimentary illiteracy” will spread more and more. Language will benefit. Strong metaphors will become important, along with the awareness of “restricted code” and “elaborated code”.
  • Control of language and gestures will become dominant.
    Well, this is what the future might be like. Or maybe not. After all, we cannot predict the future.

 


So much about my interview! I will give a presentation at the DOAG Conference on Wednesday about “Digitalization – A Huge Error”. I already collected so much exciting material that I do not know what to tell people. That makes me nervous. But then, I will first be interviewed on Tuesday. As soon as my interview is online, I will, of course, set a link to it on the IF Blog. And I am quite curious what it will be in the end that I am going to talk about.

The picture was taken during my last presentation on the GOAG Conference of 2015.

"Zur Erinnerung an meinen Vortrag in 2015 (created by Christian Botta")

“Commemoration of my Presentation of 2015 (created by Christian Botta)“.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 12. November 2016

Interview im DOAG-TV zur „Digitalisierung“

DOAG22016-K-A-Banner-180x180_speakerVom 15. bis zum 18. November 2016 findet die 29. Auflage der DOAG Konferenz + Ausstellung in Nürnberg statt. Ich war dabei und durfte einen Vortrag halten – und für DOAG-TV ein Interview geben. Hier die Fragen und meine Antworten:


Wann und wie begann, Ihrem Verständnis nach, eigentlich die Digitalisierung?

Digitalisierung beginnt für mich mit der “Verschriftung von Sprache”. Das hat ein paar Tausend Jahre nach dem Entstehen von Sprache begonnen, vielleicht so vor um die 5.000 Jahre. Dann kamen die Informationsträger für Schrift – wie Papyros, Papier und IT und Maschinen wie die Druckerpresse, der Bleisatz und schließlich das Internet.

Schrift wurde übrigens zuerst für die Bedürfnisse der Wirtschaft (des Handels) erfunden. Die Wirtschaft ist der Erfinder alles Dinge – nicht der Krieg. Krieg ist bestenfalls eine extreme Art von Wirtschaft – und wie ich finde, eine höchst fragwürdige und pervertierte.

Auch damals waren die Zeiten schon "digital".

Auch damals waren die Zeiten schon „digital“.

Wo stehen wir heute, und was bedeutet die Digitalisierung für das „analoge“ Wesen Mensch?

Der Mensch ist und bleibt ein analoges Wesen. Durch die “Kulturtechniken” wie Lesen und Schreiben wurde der Mensch ein wenig digital. Aber eben nie so richtig. Denn die Umsetzung von digitalen Erfahrungen in sein analoges Vorstellungsvermögen gelingt dem Menschen auch heute noch nicht so richtig. Man denke an das Geheimnis der großen Zahl. Linear ist schwer genug, quadratisch (geometrisch) wird schon sehr schwierig, logarithmisch unmöglich. Wissen Sie, können Sie sich vorstellen, was 200 Billiarden (deutsch) EURO sind (Das ist die Summe, mir der sich die Länder der EU jedes Jahr neu verschulden)?

Den Verlust der Fähigkeit im Kopf oder auf Papier zu rechnen hat schon der Taschenrechner bewirkt. Wer kann noch im Kopf oder auf Papier rechnen? Wer kann noch ohne Rechner eine Wurzel ziehen oder einen logarithmischen Wert berechnen?

Ein Blick in die Zukunft: Wohin wird uns die Digitalisierung führen?

Verblüffender Weise könnte die Digitalisierung zu eine Re-Analogisierung unseres Lebens führen. Früher habe wir digitale Daten mit dem Modem (Modulieren & Demodulieren) in analoge Signale umgewandelt und über eine Leitung gesendet. Und am anderen Ende hat das Modem wieder in digitale Daten umgewandelt. Heute wandeln wir analoge Signale (Ton und Bild) für den Transport in digitale Daten, zerhacken diese in kleine Datenpakete, leiten sie über ein Paketvermittlungsnetz, sammeln und reihen sie dann wieder auf und rekonstruieren das analoge Signal aus den digitalen Daten. (So gibt es auch kein Rauschen mehr 🙂 ).

Was wird kommen?

  • In der Kommunikation: Facilitation wird immer wichtiger. Es wird gelten: Mehr Bilder und weniger Schrift. Mehr sprechen und mehr zeichnen und weniger schreiben. Audio wird immer relevanter – auch als Teil der asynchronen Kommunikation. Podcasts und Videos werden weiter auf dem Vormarsch sein.
  • Ein „rudimentäres Analphabetentum“ wird sich weiter ausbreiten. Die Sprache wird gewinnen. Starke Metapher werden wichtig, das Bewusstsein für “restricted code” und “elobarated code”.
  • Sprach- und Gestiksteuerung wird dominant werden.

So oder anders könnte die Zukunft werden. Aber Zukunft ist halt nicht vorhersagbar.


Soweit das Interview! Einen Vortrag mit dem Titel „Digitalisierung – ein großer Irrtum“ werde ich auf der DOAG-Konferenz am Mittwoch halten. Und habe soviel spannende Themen gesammelt, dass ich gar nicht weiß was ich erzählen soll. Das macht mich aufgeregt. Aber zuerst kommt ja am Dienstag das Interview. Wenn es online ist, werde ich es natürlich auch in IF-Blog verlinken. Und da schon ganz neugierig, was ich dann tatsächlich erzählen werde.

Das Bild entstand übrigens bei meinem letzten Vortrag auf der DOAG-Konferenz in 2015.

"Zur Erinnerung an meinen Vortrag in 2015 (created by Christian Botta")

„Zur Erinnerung an meinen Vortrag in 2015 (created by Christian Botta)“.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*