Roland Dürre
Thursday November 21st, 2013

Interview

Here is the – non verbatim – text of an interview I gave a short time ago during the DOAG2013 for DOAG-TV. The questions are in cursive type.

You are managing director and co-founder of InterFace AG and full-time manager – both on the job and in your private life. You researched management models very intensely and developed your own model as you went.

Was there no existing model that might have met with your approval? And what model would that have been?

I think every entrepreneur or manager has to find his or her own ”Management Model“. Mine was inspired by the ”St. Gallen Management Model“, in particular the approach introduced by Hans Ulrich with its „8 Theses on the Change in Management” from the 1980ies. Another huge influence on me and my way of thinking is Rupert Lay, who was the Nestor of ethics in management of the last century.

You can hear a lot about leadership methods in the media. When speaking about it, terms such as entrepreneurial culture, ethics, morals, philosophy appear – these are words often used synonymously. Do they all mean the same thing?

That is exactly the problem: they do not all mean the same thing. In fact, you should only talk about these things after having read up on them and thoroughly informed yourself. Unfortunately, we live in an era when people like talking about things they do not understand. Just think of the term freedom – what does it mean to be free? Or the term sustainability.

What is expected of management today?

Management means taking exemplary responsibility, both on an operative, strategic and normative level:

  • Operative means your behaviour, “what you do” – that is to say the actual interaction between all the stakeholders of an enterprise.
  • Strategic means “leading” – that is “how” and in what way it happens.
  • Normative is for taking entrepreneurial responsibility, for the “why”.

It seems like a leader must be quite flexible when trying to balance writing black numbers and ethics. How do you manage this in everyday life?

Mainly, there is a conflict between successful numbers and “ethical decisions” when “the leaders” think in terms of short-time success. The more you look upon things on a long-term basis, the more ethically responsible balance of values will pay.  It seems that there is always a problem due to the fact that material values seem to be consistently easy to identify, whereas immaterial values basically cannot be counted. That makes the balancing process necessary for a decision difficult, especially if the shareholders decide their priority is the material: the shareholder value.

Communication is a powerful tool – often neglected. What forms of communications do you use at InterFace AG?

Nowadays, you cannot do anything without the internet and social media. But communication as a basis for collaboration must be ”hybrid“. That means we have to combine “Face2Face“ meetings with those in the virtual world. And that is what we try to do at our enterprise.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Donnerstag, der 21. November 2013

Interview

Hier die nicht wortgenaue Abschrift eines Interviews, das ich vor kurzem im Rahmen von DOAG2013 für DOAG-TV gab. Die Fragen sind kursiv.

Sie sind Vorstandsvorsitzender und Mitbegründer der InterFace AG und Vollzeitmanager – sowohl in beruflicher als auch in privater Hinsicht. Sie haben sich sehr intensiv mit Management-Modellen beschäftigt und haben nach und nach Ihr eigenes Modell entwickelt. Gab es kein bestehendes Modell, das bei Ihnen Zuspruch gefunden hat? (welches Modell)?

Gab es kein bestehendes Modell, das bei Ihnen Zuspruch gefunden hat? Und welches Modell wäre das?

Ich meine, dass jeder Unternehmer oder Manager sein eigenes „Management Modell“ finden muss. Meines ist inspiriert vom „St. Gallener Management Modell“, siehe hier besonders den Aufsatz von Hans Ulrich „8 Thesen zum Wandel im Management“ aus den achtziger Jahren. Einen großen Einfluss auf mich und mein Denken hatte auch Rupert Lay, der Nestor von Ethik im Management des letzten Jahrhunderts.

In den Medien wird viel über Führungsstil berichtet. In diesem Zusammenhang tauchen Begriffe wie Unternehmenskultur, Ethik, Moral, Philosophie auf – Wörter, die oftmals als Synonym benutzt werden. Ist es denn alles das Gleiche?

Genau das ist das Problem, es ist nicht das Gleiche. Über solche Begriffe sollte man nur reden, wenn man sich mit ihnen intensiv beschäftigt hat. Leider leben wir in einem Zeitalter, in dem die Menschen gerne über Begriffe reden, die Sie nicht verstehen. Denken Sie nur an den Begriff der Freiheit – was bedeutet es frei zu sein. Oder den Begriff von der Nachhaltigkeit.

Was sind die heutigen Anforderungen an das Management?

Management erfordert die Übernahme von Verantwortung modellhaft auf operativer, strategischer und normativer Ebene:

  • Operativ beschreibt das Tun, das „Was, das man tut“, sozusagen die konkrete Interaktion mit allen Stakeholdern des Unternehmens.
  • Strategisch bedeutet „Führen“ – das „Wie“ und auf welche Art das geschieht.
  • Normativ steht für die Übernahme unternehmerischer Verantwortung, für das „Warum“.

Eine Führungsperson muss wohl ganz schön den Spagat zwischen schwarzen Zahlen und Ethik machen. Wie gehen Sie im Alltag damit um?

Der Konflikt zwischen Zahlen-Erfolg und „ethischem Entscheidungen“ existiert vor allem, wenn „die Führung“ kurzfristig denkt. Je langfristiger die Sicht ist, desto mehr rechnen sich sittlich verantwortete Güterabwägungen. Ein Problem ist sicher immer, dass die materiellen Werte scheinbar sehr leicht zu beziffern, die immateriellen dies oft gar nicht sind. Das macht die für die Entscheidung notwendige Güterabwägung schwierig, besonders wenn Shareholder die Vorgabe einseitig auf das Materielle, den Shareholder Value setzen.

Kommunikation ist ein mächtiges Werkzeug, was oftmals vernachlässigt wird. Auf welche Kommunikationsformen greifen sie bei der InterFace AG zurück?

Ohne Internet und social media geht heute nichts mehr. Aber: Kommunikation als Basis von Kollaboration muss „hybrid“ sein. Das meint, wir müssen das Treffen „Face2Face“ angemessen mit der virtuellen Welt kombinieren. Und das versuchen wir in unserem Unternehmen zu schaffen.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*