Roland DĂĽrre
Wednesday April 5th, 2017

IT Upland BarCamp on May, 12th, 2017 in Holzkirchen!

The BarCamp on Digital Transformation and its Social Consequences

In those days, the author still thought in terms of hardware 🙂

Currently, the buzzword DIGITALIZATION is ever present. There is a Zentrum-Digitalisierung.Bayern (ZD.B) and in the Bavarian districts, state-subsidized digitalization centres are being established.

Except that digitalization was yesterday. Those were the days when clocks, tachometers and thermometers suddenly got digital displays. I think it must have been around 1985, when Apple 2 and MacIntosh were modern and the German computer scientists still earned a lot of money in their industry nostalgia with BS2000.

Today, the internet and google are old. Even a few decades ago, we dreamed of self-learning systems – due to our AI (Artificial Intelligence) euphoria. The more modern persons among us gave the German KI the English title AI, because we already knew that it was not going to have much of a chance in Germany. In those days, we dreamed of Lisp and Prolog. Now we have thinking systems that quickly learn by themselves – in areas like translation and traffic – because the hardware is so powerful that it starts to work properly. Even without Lisp and Prolog.

To this day, many new things happen. They happen at a speed that we can no longer follow. And it seems to only just start. An unbelievable wave of products rolls towards us. It will again radically change the world. Many laws and regulations will no longer function in the future. Many questions come to mind:

  • Today, everybody discusses the “self-driving car”. But I wonder if that is only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to changes in our lives. And maybe much more will, palpably and impalpably, change before that?
  • Aren’t we living in the time of sensor technology, which creates a totally new connection and interaction between informatics and the world? And will not soon the time come when this is no longer about the interface humans-machines, but about the interface world-machine?
  • Is it really possible to practice data protection rationally? Or is it just a chimera of those who eternally live in the past? What does it mean for our society?
  • What technological elements do smart solutions need in a modern IoT architecture? Incidentally, what exactly is the meaning of “smart” – and what exactly do we mean when we say IoT?
  • What about the rules for robots (self-driving cars)? What does the Federal Ethics Commission have to say about it?
  • What about fighting robots and drones? What does all this mean for war and peace?
  • Should we not be thinking new concepts with respect to many elements of our social order as a consequence of technological development? Or even define them anew?
  • What does this mean for our social framework? Will politics remain the means by which to form it, or have machines already taken over?

These and more questions will be discussed openly, honestly and considerately during the Oberland BarCamp in Holzkirchen – which is what we mostly do on barcamps.

That is why I registered for the BarCamp on digital transformation and its social consequences – aka Oberland BarCamp. It will be in the RSC Factory – Trainings- und Coachingzentrum für Digital Business & Innovation in Holzkirchen on May, 12th.

And I already look forward to meeting many friends!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

 

1 Kommentar zu “IT Upland BarCamp on May, 12th, 2017 in Holzkirchen!”

  1. Rolf (Wednesday April 5th, 2017)

    Dear Roland, I am registered to the Holzkirchen Barcamp-event!
    Hope to see You soon.
    Happy easter, find us in italy, back latest 23.4., probably earlier!
    All the best to You and Barbara
    Rolf

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Mittwoch, der 5. April 2017

IT Oberland BarCamp am 12. Mai 2017 in Holzkirchen!

Das BarCamp zur digitalen Transformation und ihren gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen

Damals dachte der Autor noch in Hardware 🙂

Momentan schlägt das „buzzword“ DIGITALISIERUNG hohe Wellen. Es gibt ein Zentrum-Digitalisierung.Bayern (ZD.B) und in den bayrischen Ländern entstehen geförderte Digitalisierungs-Zentren.

Nur Digitalisierung war doch gestern. Das war damals, als die Uhren, Tachometer und Thermometer plötzlich eine digitale Anzeige bekamen. Das war vielleicht 1985, als Apple 2 und MacIntosh fröhlich Urstand feierten und die deutschen Informatiker in ihrer Industrie-Nostalgie mit BS2000 und ähnlichem noch viel Geld verdienten.

Internet und Google sind mittlerweile ein alter Hut. Von selbst lernenden Systemen haben wir schon vor ein paar Jahrzehnten geträumt – in unserer Euphorie zu KI (künstliche Intelligenz). Die modernen unter uns haben schon 1980 die KI dann AI (artificial intelligence) genannt, weil wir wussten, dass es damit in Deutschland nichts wird. Damals haben wir von Lisp und Prolog geträumt. Jetzt kommen die denkenden Systeme und lernen schnell von selbst – in Bereichen wie Übersetzung oder Verkehr – weil die Hardware halt so leistungsfähig ist, dass es zu funktionieren beginnt. Auch ohne Lisp und Prolog.

Immer noch passiert viel Neues. Dies in einem oft nicht mehr nachvollziehbarem Tempo. Und es scheint erst jetzt so richtig los zu gehen. Eine unvorstellbare Welle von Produkten rollt auf uns zu, die die Welt nochmals radikal verändern werden. Viele Gesetze und Regeln werden in Zukunft nicht mehr funktionieren. Da stellen sich viele Fragen:

  • Heute wird viel über „das selbst fahrende Auto“ diskutiert. Aber ist das nicht nur die Spitze des Eisbergs einer Veränderung des Lebens? Und wird schon viel früher viel mehr sich merklich und unmerklich verändern?
  • Leben wir nicht im Zeitalter der Sensorik, die eine völlig neue Verbindung und Interaktion von „Informatik“ zur Welt schafft? Und es bald nicht mehr um die Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstelle gehen wird sondern um die „Welt-Maschine-Schnittstelle“.
  • Ist Datenschutz wirklich sinnvoll machbar? Oder nur so eine Chimäre der ewig gestrigen? Was bedeutet das für unsere Gesellschaft?
  • Welche technischen Elemente brauchen „Smart Solutions“ in einer modernen IoT-Architektur? Was heißt „smart“ überhaupt – und was verstehen wir tatsächlich unter IoT?
  • Wie ist denn das mit den Regeln für Roboter (selbst fahrende Autos)? Was sagt die „Ethik-Kommission“ der Bundesregierung dazu?
  • Wie gehen wir mit Kampfrobotern und Drohnen um? Was bedeutet das für Krieg und Frieden?
  • Müssen wir nicht viele Elemente unserer gesellschaftlichen Ordnung als Folge der technischen Entwicklung umdenken oder gar neu definieren?
  • Was bedeutet das für unseren gesellschaftlichen Rahmen? Wird Politik Gestalterin des Selbigen bleiben oder haben das schon Maschinen übernommen?

Solche und weitere Fragen werden auf dem Oberland BarCamp in Holzkirchen offen, redlich und achtsam diskutiert werden – wie das auf Barcamps meistens so üblich ist.

Deshalb habe ich mich zum BarCamp zur digitalen Transformation und ihren gesellschaftlichen AuswirkungenOberland BarCamp genannt – angemeldet. Es wird am 12. Mai in der RSC Factory – Trainings- und Coachingzentrum für Digital Business & Innovation in Holzkirchen stattfinden.

Und ich freue mich schon darauf, dort viele Freunde wieder zu sehen!

RMD

P.S.
Das Oberland barcamp wird über Meetup organisiert. Wenn Ihr Euch da anmeldet und mit diskutiert, macht das dem Veranstalter das Leben ein wenig einfacher!

 

1 Kommentar zu “IT Oberland BarCamp am 12. Mai 2017 in Holzkirchen!”

  1. Rolf (Mittwoch, der 5. April 2017)

    Dear Roland, I am registered to the Holzkirchen Barcamp-event!
    Hope to see You soon.
    Happy easter, find us in italy, back latest 23.4., probably earlier!
    All the best to You and Barbara
    Rolf

Kommentar verfassen

*