Roland Dürre
Monday February 16th, 2015

The Cyclades in Munich

We had a nice winter – but now it is about time for winter to leave us. In my heart, at least, the yearning for sun woke – which is why I will be in Cuba between the end of February and Mid-March. This is where I want to ride my bike through the summer – and then I want to return home to spring. Also, I want to spend very little time in the internet during those two weeks. Instead, I want to open my eyes wide for reality and see many beautiful, but also serious, things.

Ermoupoli auf Syros

Ermoupoli on Syros

But then, you do not have to go all that far, do you? After all, the Cyclades are now in Munich. A short time ago, a wonderful exhibition opened at the Archaeological State Museum. It brings you into the ancient European South.

You are brought back to Greece, which is a country currently spiralling down in free fall (see SZ of February, 21st, 2012). And as I see it, more than just the historical mistakes the Greeks made are to blame. The very arrogant and simplifying policy of the EU during the last years is just as much responsible. After all, in the wake of the introduction of the Euro, Greece had no chance of survival – which, incidentally, is true for some other countries, as well.

Consequently, visiting the exhibition might also be something you want to do out of solidarity. It gives you the chance of watching what happened during the last 5,000 years in a breath-taking way.

Venus by Milo, proof of how prosperous the islands were in Hellenic times.

“CYCLADES – EARLY ART IN THE AEGIS” 13.02.2015 – 07.07.2015

Here are a few sentences you will find in the preview (Vorschau).

Arranged like a chain of pearls, the Cyclades lie in the blue ocean of the Aegis. A mild climate with constant winds and fertile soil on volcanic stone were the roots on which a highly developed culture grew during the transitory time between stone age and bronze age, around 3,000 b. C.

Natural resources were the basis for the technological development in processing stone, extracting metal and working clay. Using ocean-going long boats, the islanders traded between the coasts of Asia Minor and Crete, making their islands the hub for cultural contacts in the Eastern Mediterranean.
…


The figurines and the objects found along with them made of stone, metal and clay are presented in accordance with the cultural insights found by scientific research. You are presented the concept of a fascinating world of islands which starts a dialogue with us, overcoming a time span of 5,000 years.

So this is where you want to go. And see yourself what a country which in today’s Europe is reduced to getting scolded by the teachers used to deliver. A country which is often pilloried, even though it did not do anything significantly different from what other Southern European countries did. In a European Union where far from all that glitters is gold – which is also true for the oh-so-superior Federal Republic of Germany that dominates all Europe.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
I took both pictures from Wikipedia.
The first one is a picture of Syros: ”Syros ermoupolis 140707“ by Hans Peter Schaefer, http://www.reserv-a-rt.de –own photography. Licenced under  CC BY-SA 3.0 through Wikimedia Commons.
The second one shows the “Venus de Milo Louvre“, a photo by mzopw. licenced under common property through Wikimedia Commons.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Montag, der 16. Februar 2015

Kykladen in München

Schön war der Winter – aber jetzt wird es für ihn Zeit langsam zu gehen. Zumindest in meinem Herzen ist die Sehnsucht nach der Sonne erwacht – deshalb bin ich auch Ende Februar bis Mitte März in Kuba. Dort will ich durch den Sommer radeln – und dann zurück in den Frühling kommen. Das will ich auch zwei Wochen sehr wenig im Internet sein, sondern vor allem die Augen für die Realität weit aufmachen um möglichst viel Schönes und auch Ernstes zu sehen.

Ermoupoli auf Syros

Ermoupoli auf Syros

Aber man muss gar nicht so weit reisen. Denn die Kykladen sind nach München gekommen. In der Archäologischen Staatssammlung öffnete vor kurzem eine wunderbare Ausstellung, die in den antiken Süden Europas führt.

Es geht nach Griechenland, einem Land, das sich im freien Fall befindet (siehe SZ vom 21. Februar 2012). Und nach meiner Meinung sind da nicht nur die historischen Verfehlungen der Griechen schuld, sondern mindestens genauso eine sehr arrogante und vereinfachte Politik der EU in den letzten Jahren. Denn Griechenland hatte in Europa  nach der Einführung des Euro keine Chance mehr – wie übrigens noch ein paar Länder mehr.

So könnte auch die Solidarität ein Grund für den Besuch dieser Ausstellung in der Archäologischen Staatssammlung sein. Da erlebt man in atemberaubender Art und Weise, was da in den letzten 5.000 Jahren alles passiert ist.

Die Venus von Milo, Zeugnis der Prosperität der Inseln in hellenistischer Zeit

Die Venus von Milo, Zeugnis der Prosperität der Inseln in hellenistischer Zeit

„KYKLADEN – FRÜHE KUNST IN DER ÄGÄIS“ 13.02.2015 – 07.07.2015

Ich zitiere ein paar Sätze aus der Vorschau.

Wie an einer Perlenkette aufgereiht liegen die Kykladeninseln in der blauen See der Ägäis. Ein mildes Klima mit konstanten Winden und fruchtbare Böden auf vulkanischem Gestein waren die Grundlagen für die Entstehung einer hochentwickelten Kultur am Übergang von der Steinzeit zur Bronzezeit um 3000 v. Chr.

Bodenschätze bildeten die Grundlage für die technische Entwicklung in der Steinbearbeitung, Metallgewinnung und Töpferei. Mit seetauglichen Langbooten trieben die Insulaner Handel von der kleinasiatischen Küste bis nach Kreta und machten ihre Inselgruppe zur Drehscheibe für Kulturkontakte im östlichen Mittelmeer.

Die Figuren und die mit ihnen zusammen gefundenen Objekte aus Stein, Metall und Ton werden in die von der Forschung gewonnenen kulturellen Zusammenhänge eingeordnet. Es entsteht das Bild einer faszinierenden Inselwelt, die mit uns über einen Zeitraum von 5000 Jahre hinweg in einen Dialog tritt.

Also hingehen. Und anschauen, was ein Land alles vorher gebracht hat, dass im heutigen Europa nur noch schulmeisterlich behandelt wird. Und so gerne an den Pranger gestellt wird, obwohl es gar nicht so viel anderes gemacht hat, als manche anderen Länder im südlichen Europa. In einer EU, in der bei weiten nicht alles Gold ist was das so glänzt – wie auch nicht in der ach so überlegenen und Europa dominierenden Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

RMD

P.S.
Die beiden Fotos sind aus Wikipedia.

Das erste ist ein Bild von Syros:
Syros ermoupolis 140707“ von Hans Peter Schaefer, http://www.reserv-a-rt.de – Eigene Fotografie/own photography. Lizenziert unter CC BY-SA 3.0 über Wikimedia Commons.

Das zweite zeigt die „Venus de Milo Louvre“, ein Photo von mzopw. Lizenziert unter Gemeinfrei über Wikimedia Commons.

Kommentar verfassen

*