🙂 Formerly, you always talked about: my house,  my Porsche, my wife/wives, my horse, my yacht, my villa, my island  …

Today, it is different. I have no Porsche, no car and only one wife. I also no longer own a dog and never had a horse. Neither do I very much miss the yacht and the island. Before long, I will have moved into a smaller house – and then I will no longer own a villa.

To make up for it, I am rich on the internet. I own a number of websites: my very personal website is duerre.de. Unfortunately, I have far too little time for it. And then there is my blog, on which I work together with friends:  if-blog.de. I am also responsible for the enterprise website, since I am holding the majority of shares in it (www.interface-ag.de) and for the IF-AGORA homepage, for which I am doing the management.


I am also quite active on twitter. Most important for me, there is @RolandDuerre, but there is also @IFAGORA and, far from negligible @InterFaceAG. And there are two more twitter usernames of mine. Since they are not so important, I will refrain from listing them here.

Not to mention all my various email addresses. The same is true for all my laptops and computers, all of which I badly need. They run with the operating systems Mac-OS, Linux and Windows (in order of priority).

But I am also present at Xing, linkedin and Facebook. And, of course, also at Wikipedia. Also at the German Railways (the politically correct name is “Deutsche Bahn AG”, but you never know how it will continue) and at Lufthansa (along with several other airlines). And then there are numerous clubs and interest groups. And a few communities. With most of them, I am not even aware of my membership any more.

I also registered at “StayFriends” a long time ago. My personal data there contain the information that I attended the Augsburg “Jacob-Fugger” Grammar School and graduated from there in 1969.

StayFriends has been sending me emails of the following kind on a regular basis:

Your former classmate Ulrich Zöttl now registered at StayFriends! Oliver Thiel, StayFriends [service@stayfriends.de]

Mostly, I do not know the ex-classmates who allegedly went to school with me. Yesterday morning, it was different. I received the aforementioned notification and when I read Uli’s name, the name rang a bell. We were good friends about 45 years ago. Consequently, I wanted to contact him.

But this is not possible on Stayfriends. I would have to buy a membership and pay a yearly fee for it. Well, that is something I do not care for as a matter of principle, let alone on the internet.

So what does your ordinary internet user do (in this case: your Roland Dürre). Well, he enters Ulrich Zöttl at Google (or on any other search mechanism – after all, there are enough of them). In this case, I just used Facebook. So I just had to add him to my friends’ list and on the very same evening, we had a wonderful email dialogue.

This is how you do it on the internet today.

🙂 Except that I fail to understand the entrepreneurial model of “StayFriends”. Isn’t it a pity? Oliver Thiel will probably never be able to afford villa, yacht, Porsche wife/wives, dog, horse or island. Or maybe he will, after having sold out to Facebook?

Greetings from Leogang! I look forward to a marvellous skiing Monday under the early-year sun!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

🙂 Früher hieß es ja: Mein Haus, mein Porsche, meine Frau(en), mein Hund, mein Pferd, meine Yacht, meine Villa, meine Insel …

Heute ist das anders. Ich habe keinen Porsche, auch kein Auto und nur eine Frau. Habe auch keinen Hund mehr und Pferde hatte ich noch nie. Die Yacht und die Insel fehlen mir auch nicht sehr. Bald ziehe ich in ein kleineres Haus – dann habe ich auch keine Villa mehr.

Dafür bin ich reich im Internet. Dort habe ich eine ganze Reihe von Webseiten: Meine ganz persönliche ist die duerre.de, für die ich leider viel zu wenig Zeit habe. Und es gibt meinen Blog, den ich gemeinsam mit Freunden betreibe: if-blog.de. Verantwortlich bin ich auch für die Website des Unternehmens, an dem ich mehrheitlich beteiligt bin (www.interface-ag.de) und für die der IF-AGORA, für die ich die Geschäfte führe.

Bei Twitter bin ich auch sehr aktiv. Ganz wichtig ist mir dort der @RolandDuerre, aber da gibt es auch noch die @IFAGORA und nicht zuletzt die @InterFaceAG. Und zwei weitere Twitterkennungen, die aber nicht so wichtig sind und die ich deswegen hier nicht nenne.

Meine vielen E-Mail-Adressen möchte ich hier gar nicht erwähnen. Auch nicht die zahlreichen Laptops und Rechner, die ich alle dringend brauche. Auf denen die Betriebssysteme Mac-OS, Linux und Windows laufen (in dieser Reihenfolge).

Aber ich bin auch noch in Xing, linkedin und bei Facebook vertreten. Und natürlich auch bei Wikipedia. Bei Bundesbahn (heißt ja politisch korrekt Deutsche Bahn AG, aber man weiß ja nie, wie es da weitergeht) und Lufthansa (und diversen weitern Airlines). Und natürlich bei verschiedenen Vereinen und Interessensgruppen. So auch noch bei manchen Communities. Von den meisten weiß ich gar nicht mehr, dass ich Mitglied bin.

Auch bei „StayFriends“ habe ich mich mal eingetragen. Da habe ich hinterlegt, dass ich auf dem Gymnasium „Jacob-Fugger“ in Augsburg war. Und dort 1969 Abitur gemacht habe.

Seit Jahren bekomme ich von StayFriends regelmäßig E-Mails dieser Art zugesandt:

Ihr Mitschüler Ulrich Zöttl hat sich bei StayFriends angemeldet! Oliver Thiel, StayFriends [service@stayfriends.de]

Meistens kenne ich die mir avisierten Mitschüler nicht. Gestern morgen war es anders. Da kam die obige und beim Namen vom Uli hat es gefunkt. Wir hatten vor wahrscheinlich 45 Jahren eine schöne Freundschaft. So wollte ich Kontakt mit ihm aufnehmen.

Geht aber über Stayfriends nicht. Dazu müsste ich erst Mitglied werden und dafür eine jährliche Gebühr bezahlen. Auf so etwas habe ich aber prinzipiell und im Internet sowieso keine Lust.

Was macht also der einfache Internet-Nutzer (in diesem Fall der Roland Dürre). Klar, er gibt den Ulrich Zöttl in Google (oder in eine andere Suchmaschine, mittlerweile gibt es ja genug davon) ein. Und natürlich findet er ihn. In diesem Fall ganz einfach in Facebook. Also: ihn schnell zur FreundIn gemacht, und schon am selben Abend waren wir in einem großartigen E-Mail-Dialog.

So läuft das heute im Internet.

🙂 Nur das Geschäftsmodell von „StayFriends“ verstehe ich nicht. Eigentlich schade, der Oliver Thiel wird sich wohl niemals Villa, Yacht, Porsche, Frau(en), Hund und Pferd, Insel etc. leisten können. Oder doch, wenn er an Facebook verkauft?

Beste Grüsse aus Leogang! Freue mich auf einen wunderschönen Schi-Montag in der Sonne des ganz frühen Jahres!

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*