The following “Christmas Greetings” were sent to me by a person I know quite well. He is a truly competent expert in the field of mobility. I would like to thank him very much, indeed!


Hello everybody,

here are a few current statistics about the number and system of drive for cars and trucks registered in Munich:

 

2017
cars – existence Nov
gasoline 427.894
diesel 287.869
electric powered 2.177
trucks and others Nov
gasoline 4.831
diesel 49.770
electric powered 155


In particular, you can see that there are too many cars and they are equipped with the wrong drive – so are the trucks.
Basically, we are still (rather) far away from a change in mobility …
What a mess!


That made me thoughtful!

It is easy to calculate the sum of all cars by addition. You get a total of 717,940 – without trucks! And it seems that numbers are still rising.

Now let us assume that a car, if parked “bumper to bumper” needs a minimum of five metres parking space. If you multiply 717,940 (number of cars) with 5 metres (length of car with a little space in between), then you get 3,589,700 metres. In other words: if you park all cars of Munich in one long row (with little space in between), you need a street with the length of 3,590 kilometres!

According to Wikipedia Munich covers an area of

310,7 km2

And this area will not increase. It is certainly not a solution to try and build basements underneath everything. Nor would it, in this case, make sense to “suburbanize” more areas.

Let me continue with my calculations. If Munich were a square, then the length of either side would be 17.6 km!!!

Now let me divide the length of the street we would need (3,590 km) by the 17.6 km side length. The result is: in our square Munich, we would need 204 parallel streets on 17.6 kilometres of length just to park our cars! In other words: there has to be a parking lane for cars every 86 metres. The number is a gross number, because each parking lane has to have a certain width.

Isn’t that a terrible concept? To be sure, Munich is not a square but a rather unorthodox shape. But that does not change anything about the principle. Consequently, I believe that this small computation should, indeed, worry us a little bit. What a stupid waste of valuable land and what a destruction of living space!
I find another concept no less worrying:

If you remember that there are hardly any cars left that weigh less than one ton and one can assume 1.25 tons as average car weight, then we have 897,425 tons of toxic waste in our beautiful Munich just sitting there. That is nine times the weight of the Golden Gate Bridge. As soon as said toxic waste starts moving, it smells and generates dirt and makes many people sick. Moreover, it injures and kills people and, last not least, deprives them of exercise that would be so important for them – one of the consequences of which is poor health.

And I know from personal experience that, if you look closely and are even slightly willing, you only need cars on very rare occasions. There is hardly anything you cannot organize just as well without a car.

All you need is the willingness to forego a little bit of your comfort and to question what seems to go without saying. And you have to refuse to accept all the detrimental consequences, both for all of us and the users themselves (1.4 million traffic fatalities each year, destruction of our world, health damage by dirt and noise, destroying your own health by no longer exercising and becoming stress victims).

So it is all only about giving up a few sub-optimal and detrimental habits. Habits the positive effects of which are only allegedly positive effects, anyway. Those who are not prepared to do this are those for whom all help is in vain.
Consequently, the question is:

Are car drivers scum and riff-raff? Or are they just stupid? Or both?

Well, the aggressiveness of this statement is not something I like. In fact, I hate the sentence, because such generalization is not at all typical for me. But perhaps the gist is not all that wrong and perhaps, in the face of our car mania, there is no other way than to get the bat out of the sack like knave Ruprecht?

For me, this evil question is a good reason (because I want to be neither scum or riff-raff, nor stupid) to only get into a car if there are really very good and important reasons to do so. Basically, if I am actually almost forced to do it.

In my life, that happens maybe ten times a year – with a decreasing tendency. Mind you, at the same time I am more “mobile” than ever before, which I can prove by my Google-Tracking-Profile.

And my new active mobility feels absolutely great to me. I am also more efficient than I was before. I truly no longer have time to drive a car.

So, I, too, can only say:

🙂 What a mess!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
I just received a supplementary email from the same source (i.e. the aforementioned expert). Here it is:


“looking at the low number of car-sharing vehicles (considerably less than 2,000, I am currently trying to find out the exact number) and at the fact that there will hardly be any additional railroad infrastructure for the Munich public transport although the number of inhabitants is expected to continue to grow in the next 5 to 10 years, it is quite easy to imagine how the public transport vehicles we now have and the cyclists’ paths will be even more crowded and narrow than they already are!
The negligibly small number of e-vehicles we expect in the next few years will not (be able to) contribute towards a reduction in air and noise pollution in the Munich city street network!

Consequently, the only things you can promote are active mobility (hiking and biking), public transport (short term: faster busses and special rights for busses) and the attempt at improving the vehicles’ drives (cars, trucks, busses, motorbikes, mopeds, construction machines, etc.)“.

All that remains to be done by me is thank the sender of the email and agree with everything he says. Except: when it comes to bikes, I have a slightly different opinion. We, the bikers, must fight the car drivers and thus gain the streets back from them! If there is no other way, then we must do it without legal support and by putting a little pressure on the powers that be.


Above all, we will continue with AktMobCmp. More motivated than ever!

Donated by VisualBrainddump (Christian Botta & Daniel Reinold) Click image to enlarge.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Folgende „Weihnachtsgrüße“ haben mich erreicht, und zwar von einem Menschen, der mir gut bekannt und betreffend Mobilität ein wirklich kompetenter Experte ist. Ich bedanke mich bei ihm dafür ganz herzlich!


Hallo zusammen,

ein paar aktuelle Zahlen über die Anzahl und Antriebsart der in München zugelassenen Pkw und Lkw:

2017
PKW – Bestand Nov
Benzin 427.894
Diesel 287.869
Elektro 2.177
LKW/Sonst.Kfz Nov
Benzin 4.831
Diesel 49.770
Elektro 155

Es sind insbesonders zu viele Pkw und diese haben die falsche Antriebsart – die Lkw sowieso.

Von einer Verkehrswende o. ä. ist man also noch (ziemlich) weit entfernt…

Schöne Bescherung!


Das hat mich zum Nachrechnen gebracht!

Die Summe der PKW’s  ist leicht durch Addition zu ermitteln. Ich komme dann auf insgesamt 717.940 – ohne die LKW’s! Und es scheinen noch mehr zu werden.

Jetzt gehe ich mal davon aus, dass ein Auto beim „engen Parken“ im Schnitt in der Länge mindestens 5 Meter benötigt. Die Multiplikation von 717.940 (Anzahl der Autos) mal 5 Meter (Länge des Autos mit ein wenig Abstand zum nächsten) ergibt 3.589.700 Meter. Das bedeutet, dass alle Autos München in Reihe aufgestellt (mit wenig Zwischenraum) nur zum Parken eine Straße mit einer Länge von 3.590 km brauchen!

Laut Wikipedia umfasst München eine Fläche von

310,7 km2

Und diese Fläche wird nicht mehr, alles Unterkellern ist sicher keine Lösung. „Eingemeinden“ würde in diesem Fall auch nicht helfen.

Ich rechne mal modellhaft weiter. Wäre München ein Quadrat, dann hätte dieses Quadrat eine Seitenlänge von 17,6 km!!!

Jetzt dividiere ich die Länge der benötigten Straße (3.590 km) durch die 17,6 km Seitenlänge. Das Ergebnis ist dann: Wir brauchen in unserem Quadrat-München auf 17,6 km 204 parallele  Straßen, nur um die Autos zu parken! Das heißt alle 86 Meter muss eine Parkspur für die Autos da sein. Die Zahl ist brutto, da ja diese Parkspuren eine gewisse Breite haben muss.

Ist das nicht grauenhafte Vorstellung? München ist zwar kein Quadrat sondern ein zerfranztes Gebilde. Das ändert aber nichts am Prinzip. So sollte uns unsere kleine Musterrechnung schon ein wenig beunruhigen sollte. Was für eine irrsinnige Verschwendung von wertvollem Grund und welche Zerstörung von Lebensraum!

Eine andere Betrachtung finde ich genauso schlimm:

Wenn ich mir überlege, dass es Autos mit einem Gewicht unter einer Tonne kaum mehr gibt und ich als durchschnittliches Gewicht pro Auto 1,25 Tonne annehme, so haben wir im schönen München 897.425  Tonnen Sondermüll herumstehen haben. Das ist 9 mal das Gewicht der Golden Gate Bridge. Wenn der Sondermüll in Bewegung gerät – dann stinkt er und generiert Schmutz, erzeugt Lärm und mach so Menschen macht. Weiter verletzt und tötet er Menschen und raubt ihnen nicht zuletzt die für sie so wichtige Bewegung – mit weiteren entsprechenden nicht nur gesundheitlichen Folgen.

Und aus eigener Erleben weiß ich, dass man bei genauem hinsehen und ein wenig guten Willen Autos nur in ganz wenigen Fällen wirklich braucht und man fast alles ohne Auto auch nicht schlechter organisieren kann.

Man muss nur bereit sein wenig vermeintliche Bequemlichkeit aufgeben und bereit sein, Selbstverständlichkeiten zu hinterfragen. Und die schrecklichen (1,4 Millionen Verkehrstote pro Jahr, Zerstörung unserer Welt, Verursachung von gesundheitlichen Schäden durch Dreck und Lärm, Schaden der eigenen Gesundheit durch Aufgabe von Bewegung und Begebung in Stress) für uns alle wie die Nutzer selber schädlichen Folgen nicht mehr billigend in Kauf nehmen.

Es geht also nur darum, ein paar unteroptimale und schädliche Gewohnheiten aufgeben, die uns sowieso nur scheinbar einen Nutzen bringen. Wer dazu nicht bereit ist, dem ist nicht zu helfen.

Daraus folgt die Frage:

Sind Autofahrer Abschaum und Gesindel? Oder nur dumm? Oder beides?

Diese aggressive Aussage ist meiner Verzweiflung geschuldet. Der Satz missfällt mir selber, weil solch pauschales Verurteilen gar nicht meins ist. Aber vielleicht ist sie inhaltlich gar nicht so ganz falsch und vielleicht geht es angesichts des Auto-Wahnsinns nicht anders, als wie Knecht Ruprecht den Knüppel aus dem Sack herauszuholen?

Für mich ist diese Böse Frage ein guter Grund (weil ich eben kein Abschaum und Gesindel und auch nicht dumm sein will), dass ich mich nur noch in ein Auto setze, wenn es sehr gute und wichtige dafür Gründe gibt, ja fast gezwungen werde.

Das kommt bei mir vielleicht zehn mal im Jahr der Fall – mit abnehmender Tendenz. Dabei bin ich „mobiler“ als je zuvor und kann das mit meinem Google-Tracking-Profil belegen.

Und ich fühle bei meiner neuen aktiven Mobilität so richtig sauwohl und bin effizienter denn je zuvor. Die Zeit zum Autofahren habe ich wirklich nicht mehr.

In diesem Sinne auch von mir

😉 Schöne Bescherung!

RMD

P.S.
Gerade habe ich von der gleichen Quelle (von dem oben erwähnten Experten) eine zweite ergänzende E-Mail erhalten. Ich zitiere auch sie:


„wenn man jetzt noch die geringe Anzahl der Car-Sharing-Fahrzeuge (deutlich unter 2000, genaue Zahl ermittle ich gerade) berücksichtigt sowie die Tatsache, dass es in den nächsten 5-10 Jahren bei weiter steigenden Einwohnerzahlen kaum zusätzliche Schieneninfrastruktur für den Öffentlichen Verkehr in München geben wird, dann kann man sich unschwer vorstellen, dass es in den vorhandenen Verkehrsmitteln des Öffentlichen Verkehrs sowie auf den Radwegen noch enger und dichter zugehen wird als heute schon!

Die verschwindend geringe Anzahl der E-Fahrzeuge wird auch in den nächsten Jahren nicht zu einer Abnahme der Schadstoff- und Lärmbelastung im Münchner Hauptverkehrsstraßennetz beitragen (können)!

Bleibt demnach nur die Förderung der aktiven Mobilität (Gehen und Radfahren), des öffentlichen Verkehrs (kurzfristig: Busbeschleunigung und -bevorrechtigung) sowie der Ansatz an den Antrieben der Kraftfahrzeuge (Pkw, Lkw, Busse, Motorräder, Mopeds, Baumaschinen etc.)“.


Ich kann mich beim E-Mail-Sender nur noch mal bedanken und all seinen Aussagen zustimmen. Nur bei dem Radverkehr bin ich ein wenig anderer Meinung: Wir – die Radfahrer – müssen uns die Straße von den Autofahrern zurück erkämpfen! Notfalls ohne gesetzliche Unterstützung und mit ein wenig Nachdruck.

Vor allem werden wir mit AktMobCmp weitermachen, motivierter den je!

Gestiftet von VisualBrainddump (Christian Botta & Daniel Reinold) Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken.

Kommentar verfassen

*