Roland Dürre
Saturday August 14th, 2010

Everybody Speaks German

I notice more and more often how few people still speak German in public places all over Munich. Going places by subway or underground trains and eagerly trying to listen to what the people sitting next to me are saying, I mostly understand nothing. People talk in a language that is totally alien to me! More often than not, I cannot even determine what language is actually spoken.

In trains, I find myself in a similar situation. For instance, I enjoy listening to what gentlemen dressed in elegant business suits say on their mobile phones when on my way to Nuremberg. And I am delighted when I can listen in on interesting business dialogue halves in English, French or German. But this is a pleasure I am granted less and less often, because the language in use is more and more often one I do not know.

Also, I enjoy strolling along the smart-set areas of our cosmopolitan village Munich. Once in a while, I even buy some clothes at “Loden-Frey”. And it is always the same: all around me I see people of all nationalities. In the elegant areas, particularly many of the ladies and gentlemen wear white towels on their heads – and often they carry shopping bags packed to almost bursting.

And whenever I ride my bike in Unterhaching, where, shortly before the InterFace building near the “Hachinger Bach”, I turn left towards the kindergarten, matters look similar: mothers gossip, but they speak languages I do not understand, or sometimes their German has a rather strong accent.

Mind you, I am the last person who would find fault with this. For example, I truly believe it would be much better if there were only one official language all over the European Union, instead of all documents having to be translated into the languages of all members. Especially when we are talking about laws, this is nonsense. I could well imagine English becoming the official EU language, even though German is probably the language mostly spoken. Yet, English would make more sense for various reasons.

Incidentally, it is not at all important for me that my neighbours speak German. Personally, I would like it best if they all spoke Bavarian. For me, the German language is a cultural heritage we should cultivate, no more. So let us be careful and prevent German from drowning in the Euro-slang. And maybe we should be a little more hesitant about orthographic reforms in the future.

However, we also should be honest with ourselves and accept reality. I saw one of the German soccer games of the last World Championship in South Africa on Austrian TV. The Austrian reporter hit the nail on the head when he spoke of the German national team as “a likeable multi-cultural troupe”.

Yes, that is what I wish we had: Germany as a “likeable multi-cultural nation”. We are already a multi-cultural nation and – looking at the demographic development (Entwicklung) – it is easy to see that we will continue to grow to be so even more in the future. Now all that is left for us to do is get a little more likeable, both for “multi-culture” and ourselves.

In the end, that would even reconcile me with the hideous combination of the colour combination black-red-gold. After all, such a gay display of colour is quite suitable for a multi-cultural nation. Although I, personally, prefer the Bavarian white-blue.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
I copied the moving flags from the website www.nationalflaggen.de – many thanks!

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 14. August 2010

Man spricht deutsch

Immer wieder fällt mir auf, wie wenig in München im öffentlichen Bereich Deutsch gesprochen wird. Wenn ich mit S-Bahn und U-Bahn unterwegs bin und neugierig den Gesprächen meiner Mitfahrenden lausche, verstehe ich meistens nichts. Die Menschen unterhalten sich in einer mir völlig unbekannten Sprache! Oft bin ich nicht mal in der Lage, festzustellen welche Sprache da überhaupt gesprochen wird.

Im Zug geht es mir ähnlich. Gerne lausche ich zum Beispiel auf der Fahrt nach Nürnberg den Mobilfunkgesprächen der mitreisenden Herren im schicken Business Look. Und freue mich, wenn ich dann interessante geschäftliche Dialoghälften in englisch, französisch oder deutsch mitverfolgen darf. Aber das Vergnügen habe ich immer seltener, denn die genutzte Sprache ist mir immer öfters unbekannt.

Gerne bummle ich auch durch die Schicki-Micki-Gegenden unseres Weltdorfes München. Gelegentlich kaufe ich mir sogar ein Kleidungsstück beim Loden-Frey. Und immer das selbe – um mich herum alle möglichen Nationen, in letzterer Gegend auch besonders viel verschleierte Damen und Herren mit weißer Kopfpracht aus Stoff – oft mit prall gefüllten Einkaufstaschen.

Und wenn ich in Unterhaching kurz vor InterFace am Hachinger Bach entlang radele und links zum Kindergarten abbiege, dann ist es ähnlich. Ratschende Mütter – aber in Sprachen, die ich nicht verstehe oder zumindest das Deutsch mit starkem Akzent.

Jetzt bin ich der letzte, den das stört. Zum Beispiel bin ich der festen Überzeugung, dass es besser wäre, wenn die EU nur eine Amtssprache hätte und nicht alle Dokumente und Gesetze in die Sprachen aller Mitgliedsländer übersetzt werden müssten. Gerade bei Gesetzen ist das Unfug. Als EU-Amtssprache könnte ich mir sehr gut Englisch vorstellen, obwohl ja wohl Deutsch die in der EU am meisten gesprochene Sprache sein dürfte. Aber aus vielen Gründen wäre Englisch sinnvoller.

Ich lege auch keinen Wert darauf, dass meine Nachbarn Deutsch sprechen. Am liebsten wäre mir ein gepflegtes Bayerisch. Für mich ist die deutsche Sprache ein Kulturgut, dass wir pflegen sollten, mehr nicht. Also: ein wenig aufpassen, dass Deutsch nicht zu sehr im Euro-Slang untergeht. Und auch mit Rechtschreibreformen in Zukunft ein wenig achtsamer umgehen.

Nur sollten wir auch zu uns selbst ehrlich sein. Und die Realität akzeptieren. Eines der deutschen Fußballspiele bei der WM in Südafrika habe ich im österreichischen Fernsehen gesehen. Der österreichische Reporter hat da den Nagel auf den Kopf getroffen und von der deutschen Nationalmannschaft als „einer sympathischen Multikulti-Truppe“ gesprochen.

Ja, das wünsche ich mir: Deutschland als einen „sympathischen Multi-Kulti-Staat“. Multi-Kulti-Staat sind wir schon und werden wir auf Grund unserer demographischen Entwicklung immer stärker werden. Jetzt müssen wir uns nur noch bemühen, ein wenig sympathischer zu werden, für die „Multikultis“ bei uns genauso wie für uns selber.

Und dann würde ich auch mit der objektiv hässlichen Farbkombination Schwarz-Rot-Gold versöhnen, denn zu einem „Multi-Kulti-Staat“ passt so eine schwüle Farbenpracht dann doch wieder. Obwohl ich persönlich das bayerische Weiß-Blau bevorzuge.

RMD

P.S.
Die wehenden (und auch die nichtwehende) Flaggen habe ich von der Website www.nationalflaggen.de kopiert. Vielen Dank!

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*