Two Magazines I Like – Or: Paper that Deserves to be Read.

brand eins & enorm!

I started “blogging” and publishing my experiences and ideas in the IF blog in 2008. It was a true delight for me to primarily do this for myself. Then I enjoyed noticing how many readers I have and also liked the many events and contacts that developed from it. Then I looked for and found a few co-authors, not many of whom actually remain to this day.

IF-Blog.de was also responsible for me finding brand eins. But more on this later in this article.

The January 2017 Edition

The history (Geschichte) of  brand eins officially starts in August, 1999. In 2008, brand eins was already in its ninth year. In fact, the early stages of its history were even three years before that, in 1996. And yet, like many of my friends, I did not yet know anything about brand eins.

The beginning of the brand eins story was probably with an interview by Jost Stollmann (1996). At the time, Jost was the boss of Compunet; the InterFace Connection GmbH was twelve years old at the time. My personal connection with Jost Stollmann is not only that we are both IT enterprises. No: he was also one of Rupert Lay’s students.

At the time, Rupert drove a red Series-Three-BMW (including a 2.0-litre machine), which was rather extraordinary for a Jesuit pastor. In fact, his car looked a lot like my red Series-Three-BMW (including 2.3-litre machine). That was something we enjoyed very much. Rupert’s BMW, however, was not a business car, but a gift (or item on loan) from Jost. And Rupert very much delighted in his fast red BMW and especially in its origin.

Incidentally, Jost Stollmann remained faithful to brand eins – he gave more interviews with them (in 2009 and in 2012).

(Unfortunately, I could not find the 1996 interview anywhere. I would really like to read it. If any of you has a link or a pdf for it, you could make me happy by sending it).

Florian Prange, Entrepreneur and Treasurer of FÖS.

brand eins is something I first came upon through Florian. At the time, Dr. Florian Prange had just started working for InterFace as a senior consultant. He was a very refined, young and socially active type of person. Today, he has his own enterprise and is treasurer in the board of directors of FÖS (Forum Ökologisch-Soziale Marktwirtschaft), which is also a very interesting address.

Florian liked my articles and consequently pointed me towards brand eins. In his opinion, my articles deserved a few more readers – and he thought that maybe this could be achieved through brand eins.

In fact, I did not know about brand eins at the time, regardless of the fact that it had already been on the market for nine years. For managers, the “must” magazines were the Manager Magazin or the  Wirtschaftswoche. Both are anathema to me – and I saw that brand eins was totally different and much better.

Consequently, I was fascinated by brand eins and quite a few friends and business partners were given a copy or two of the magazine over time. Giving it to them was always a huge success – many had never heard about it and were surprised. They were happy to get totally new impulses.

It was even beneficial in terms of business. One of my friends (If-blog author Edwin Ederle) managed to be mentioned in one of their editions with his enterprise data2impact (Feine Klitsche). And the reviews (Rezensionen) on brand eins I wrote in IF-blog for quite a few years were also often read.

Frau Gabriele Fischer Giving a Presentation for InterFace (2009)

This is also how I first met Gabriele Fischer, the founder of brand eins. My contact with her led to a great presentation by Frau Fischer at the IF-Forum.

Unfortunately, Frau Fischer did not want to become a “Youtube-Toussie“ (this is how she herself formulated it), which means we cannot offer you a video documentation of her excellent presentation.

And this is how posterity will really miss something very important.

brand eins still exists today – and it is now the established business magazine, not only for managers! And it is still the only paper I deem worthy of reading. …

Wrong!

I should have written:  Was. Because now I found enorm . That is a magazine dealing more with life than with business.

Here is how it happened. On Friday one week ago, I was introduced to Peter Felixberger (who, incidentally, is good friends with Gabriele Fischer). Among other things,  Peter was also the founder of changeX.

Today, he is programming manager of Murmann Publishers. He is the editor and responsible for the edition of kursbuch.edition and of the magazine enorm, as well as publisher of »Kursbuch auf Weltreise« (Goethe-Institut). And there are many other things he does on top of that. My friend Andreas Zeuch also published his latest book  at Murmann.

On that Friday, I had a wonderful conversation with Peter Felixberger. I noticed that there are many similarities between our ideas of value, interests and needs. Consequently, it was very nice for me to listen to him. He really made me quite enthusiastic about his publishing company and his products.

He also showed me enorm, which is a magazine directed at the age group between 20 and 40, but in my estimation it will find and has already found many followers among the younger and older readers.

I can easily imagine enorm in less than ten years being as much of a success as brand eins is today. Consequently, I will now give you a short mini review of the current edition 06 (December/January 2016/2017).

What is it that fascinates me about enorm?

There are two elements that fascinate me: the basic concept of the magazine and the topics.

I would say the basic concept is one of fairness and considerateness.

I rather like the topics because everything I find in the magazine is of high relevance for me. The structure is GET-UNDER-WAY, BECOME-ACTIVE and LIVE.. Under the subsection “Against All Odds”, I find a beautiful collection of topics that I consider extremely important today. After all, enorm has been available since January 2010. You will find all the editions since 2010 in the archive archive on their website. Also full of important topics. Many articles, however, are “not yet set public” – dependent on the edition. I find that reasonable, because especially if you write about important topics, you should also be able to earn money with what you write. Besides, there is still enough to read.

Now I wonder if it is perhaps a good idea to make some enorm editions gifts to my friends and business partners – as I formerly did with brand eins. Especially in the departments with the impossible name “Human Resource“ (HR), enorm might perhaps be extremely helpful in small and big German enterprises when it comes to better understanding the values, expectations, interests and needs of the employees. And there is probably no enterprise that could not potentially benefit from such understanding.

Withbrand eins, it was possible to read all archived articles for free. That seems to be a thing of the past. But I find many brand eins articles on the internet – see also the two Jost Stollmann interviews. And the Inspiration section on the brand eins website also looks very attractive to me.

Incidentally, it is also very rewarding to follow both magazines on twitter. Here are the “accounts“:
@brandeins and @enorm_magazin. So: #FF!

Buy and Pay!

I think it is a matter of fairness to, once in a while, also buy paper articles. If you do not wish to read it yourself, you can make a gift of it. And that will inspire other persons.

So here is what you want to do: walk to the kiosk on February, 24th and buy the next enorm edition.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Zwei Magazine, die mir gefallen – oder – Papier, dass sich zu lesen lohnt.

brand eins & enorm!

2008 habe ich mit dem „Bloggen begonnen“ und meine Erlebnisse und Gedanken in IF-Blog.de öffentlich formuliert. Es hat mir Spaß gemacht, das zu erst mal für mich selber zu tun. Dann hab ich mich über die vielen Leser erfreut wie auch an viele Ereignisse und Kontakte, die daraus entstanden sind. Dann habe ich noch ein paar Mitautoren gesucht und gefunden, von denen freilich nicht viele geblieben sind.

Auch an meinem Kennenlernen von brand eins war IF-Blog.de schuld. Das aber weiter unten.

Ausgabe Januar 2017

Die Geschichte von brand eins beginnt offiziell im August 1999.
 2008 gab es brand eins schon im neunten Jahr. Die Vorgeschichte begann sogar drei Jahre früher – in 1996. Trotzdem kannte ich wie viele meiner Freunde brand eins in damals nicht.

Die brand eins-Geschichte selber begann wohl mit einem Interview von Jost Stollmann (1996). Jost war damals noch Chef von Compunet, die InterFace Connection GmbH gab es damals auch schon seit zwölf Jahren. Mit Jost Stollmann verbindet mich nicht nur, dass er IT-Unternehmer ist. Nein, er war wie ich Schüler von Rupert Lay.

Rupert fuhr seinerzeit privat einen roten Dreier-BMW (mit 2.0-Liter-Maschine), für einen Jesuitenpater etwas besonderes. Sein Auto sah meinen roten Dreier-BMW (mit 2.3-Liter-Maschine) zum verwechseln ähnlich. Das hat uns viel Spaß gemacht. Allerdings war Ruperts BMW kein Geschäftsauto sondern ein Geschenk (oder Leihgabe) von Jost. Und Rupert hat sich an seinem schnellen roten BMW und vor allem über dessen Herkunft sehr erfreut.

Jost Stollmann ist übrigens brand eins treu geblieben und hat dort weitere Interviews gegeben (in 2009 und 2012).
(Das frühe Interview von 1996 habe ich leider nicht gefunden. Ich würde es gerne mal lesen. Wenn jemand also einen link darauf hat oder ein PDF oder so etwas, dann würde ich mich freuen, wenn er mir die Info zusenden würde.)

Florian Prange, Unternehmer und Schatzmeister von FÖS.

brand eins jedoch habe ich durch Florian entdeckt. Dr. Florian Prange hatte damals gerade bei InterFace als Senior Consultant angefangen. Er war ein sehr feiner, junger und sozial engagierter Typ. Heute ist er sein eigener Unternehmer und Schatzmeister im Vorstand von FÖS (Forum Ökologisch-Soziale Marktwirtschaft), auch einer sehr interessanten Adresse.

Der Florian mochte meine Artikel und hat mich deshalb auf brand eins aufmerksam gemacht. Er meinte, dass meine Artikel ein wenig mehr Leser verdient hätten – und dies vielleicht über brand eins möglich wäre.

Ich kannte brand eins damals tatsächlich noch nicht, obwohl es ja schon neun Jahre auf dem Markt war. Die „Pflichtlektüre“ für Manager waren das Manager Magazin oder die Wirtschaftswoche. Beide Illustrierte waren (und sind) mir ein Graus – und brand eins war so ganz anders und viel besser.

So war ich von brand eins begeistert und habe dann so manche Ausgabe an Freunde und Geschäftspartner verschenkt. Das war immer ein großer Erfolg – viele kannten das Magazin auch nicht, waren überrascht und haben sich gefreut, ganz neue Impulse zu bekommen.

Das hat sogar geschäftlich gut getan. Einer meiner Freunde (der IF-Blog-Autor Edwin Ederle) schaffte es mit seinem Unternehmen data2impact (Feine Klitsche) sogar in eine Ausgabe. Und meine für viele Jahre regelmäßige Rezensionen zu brand eins in IF-Blog.de wurden gerne und viel gelesen.

Frau Gabriele Fischer im Vortrag für InterFace (2009)

So entstand auch der Kontakt zu Gabriele Fischer, der Gründerin von brand eins. Dieser führte zu einem großartigen Vortrag von Frau Fischer im IF-Forum.

Leider wollte Frau Fischer damals nicht als „Youtube-Toussie“ enden ( 🙂 so hat sie das selber formuliert), so dass wir auf die Video-Dokumentation ihres tollen Vortrages verzichteten.
🙂 Und so der Nachwelt etwas sehr Wichtiges verloren ging.

brand eins gibt es heute noch – und ist mittlerweile das etablierte Wirtschafts-Magazin nicht nur für Manager! Und es ist immer noch das einzige Papier, das ich in die Hand nehme …

Falsch!

Korrekt muss es heißen: War. Denn ich habe jetzt enorm gefunden. Da geht es nicht so sehr um Wirtschaft sondern mehr um Leben.

Das ging so. Am letzten Freitag vor einer Woche habe ich Peter Felixberger (übrigens gut befreundet mit Gabriele Fischer) kennen gelernt. Peter war unter anderem der Gründer von changeX.

Heute ist er Programmgeschäftsführer von Murmann Publishers. Er ist Herausgeber und verantwortlich für die Redaktion der kursbuch.edition und des Magazins enorm sowie Herausgeber von »Kursbuch auf Weltreise« (Goethe-Institut). Und macht noch manches mehr. Auch mein Freund Andreas Zeuch hat sein letztes Buch bei Murmann veröffentlicht.

Mit Peter Felixberger hatte ich an diesem Freitag ein wunderbares Gespräch. Ich habe viele Gemeinsamkeiten betreffend Werte, Erfahrungen, Interessen und Bedürfnisse zwischen uns festgestellt. So war es für mich sehr schön, ihm zu zuhören; er konnte mich für seinen Verlag und seine Produkte so richtig begeistern.

Er hat mir auch enorm vorgestellt, ein Magazin, dass als Zielmarkt die 20- bis 40-jährigen hat, nach meiner Bewertung aber auch schnell viele Anhänger bei jüngeren und älteren Lesern gefunden hat und finden wird.

Ich kann mir gut vorstellen, dass enorm schon in weniger als  zehn Jahren genauso erfolgreich wie brand eins heute ist. So wage ich  so eine kurze mini-Rezension der aktuellen Ausgabe 06 (Dezember/Januar 2016/2017).

Was begeistert mich an elan?

Es sind zwei Elemente – die Grundstimmung im Heft und die Themen.

Die Grundstimmung würde ich mit fair und achtsam bezeichnen.

Die Themen gefallen mir, weil alles was ich im Heft finde, für mich von hoher Relevanz ist. Die Struktur besteht aus AUFBRECHEN, MACHEN und LEBEN. Unter der Klammer „Jetzt erst recht“ finde ich eine gelungene Sammlung von Themen, die heute wichtig sind. enorm gibt es auch schon seit Januar 2010. Im Archiv auf der Website findet man alle Ausgaben seit 2010, auch immer mit wichtigen Themen. Allerdings sind viele Artikel – abhängig von der Ausgabe – „noch nicht freigeschaltet“. Ich finde das in Ordnung, denn gerade mit wertvollem Inhalt sollte man auch Geld verdienen. Und so gibt es trotzdem genug zu lesen.

Jetzt überlege ich mir, enorm wie damals brand eins an meine Freunde und Geschäftspartner zu verschenken. Gerade in den Abteilungen mit dem unmöglichen Namen für „Human Resource“ (HR) bei den kleinen und großen deutschen Unternehmen könnte enorm vielleicht enorm helfen, die Werte, Erwartungen, Interessen und Bedürfnisse ihrer Mitarbeiter besser zu verstehen. Und das dürfte jedem Unternehmen gut tun.

Bei brand eins konnte man alle Artikel im Archiv auf der Webseite für umsonst nachlesen. Diese Zeit scheint vorbei zu sein. Allerdings finde ich viele Artikel in brand eins übers Internet – siehe auch die beiden Interviews mit Jost Stollmann. Und auch die Idee Inspiration auf der Website von brand eins gefällt mir gut.

Es lohnt übrigens, beiden Magazinen bei Twitter zu folgen:
🙂 Hier die „accounts“ @brandeins und @enorm_magazin.
Also #FF!

Kaufen und Bezahlen!

Ich meine, dass es die Fairness gebietet, ab und zu auch Papier zu kaufen. Wenn man es selber nicht lesen will, kann man es gut her schenken. Um andere Menschen zu inspirieren.

Also: Am 24. Februar geht es auf zum Kiosk, da wird die nächste Ausgabe von enorm erscheinen.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*