Roland Dürre
Wednesday December 30th, 2009

“My CO2 Footprint” or “Thanks, Werner”

In his last article on  desertec, Werner Lorbeer refers to my “Manifesto on Copenhagen” and gives me some credit for my CO2 footprint.

The credit is not justified.

Here is my CO2 footprint in five categories, which I graded (with myself as teacher) on a scale of 1 to 6 (very good, good, sufficient, adequate, inadequate, fail), just like it was done when we were at school (Werner used to be a teacher!).

  1. Mobility
    That is an area where I used to be really outrageous. And I changed considerably.
    Individual traffic:
    My farewell from driving a car was relatively easy, because if you view it objectively, the advantages of using the car sparingly are just too huge.
    Airborne:
    I intend to quit flying altogether. As far as Germany and Central Europe are concerned, flying can easily be substituted by the railway. Here, too, the advantages mostly beat the disadvantages. Unfortunately, there was one exception in 2009. I flew from Konstantia to Munich when we returned from our Danube bike tour from Budapest to Konstantia. This flight, too, might have been avoided. The problem was that bikes are no longer transported in the night train from Bukarest to Munich.
I skipped the Africa safari this autumn, just like I will not fly to South Africa in order to watch the soccer World Championship. I would very much have enjoyed both. It really hurts to abstain.
    Mark 2 (good)
  2. Accommodations
    I live in a huge house with an energy balance that is a catastrophe. To be sure, there is a reason: normally, we are still a family of seven and from time to time, up to ten people live in the house. I managed to lower the general temperature in the house a little, but had to accept being criticized for it.
    At least, I plan to move to a smaller house in a little more than two years. Once that is accomplished, I will get active on the heating technology front. Nevertheless, my footprint is immense.
    Consequently:
    Mark 6 (fail)
  3. Food
    I still eat far too much meat, fish, cheese, eggs, etc. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak. At least, when I eat Italian, I mostly take pasta and pizza without meat and fish. But when they serve roast pork, Schnitzel, meat loaf or black pudding with liver sausage at the Althaching I just cannot resist.
    Mark 5 (inadequate)
  4. Plastic Junk and Wrappings
    I developed a significant resistance against junk and – even more so – against extensive wrappings. When I go shopping for myself, I hardly ever get anything that comes in a plastic container or tetra pack. For a time, I even managed to get the milk for the entire family directly from the farmer and carry it in glass bottles by bike. Unfortunately, the silo smell got more and more invasive over the years, so the milk drinkers objected.    
When it comes to yoghurt and such, I do not find it hard to abstain from food in plastic containers. All I need to do is imagine how it was produced and filled in.    
Mark 4 (adequate)
  5. General Consumption Habits
    This is an area where I have become rather hesitant. I only buy new clothes when there is a real necessity. Abstaining is easy, because “If you have a full dish of rice in front of you, it is easy to shit (proverb from Vietnam?)”. The wardrobe is full enough to be an extra motivation for not buying anything new.
    All my life, I enjoyed buying shirts, t-shirts, jeans, suits and ties just because I relished it. That makes it easy for me to stick to my buying moratorium. Except when it comes to suits. I have quite a wearout when it comes to suits (going by bike is bad for trousers). Consequently, I introduced the “law of two”: I get a new suit as soon as two old ones are ruined.    
As far as shirts and other clothes are concerned, I adhere to the “min-4-rule”: only after four old shirts need to be discarded, I can get a new shirt.
    And I will continue to use my two MacBooks as long as possible.
    Mark 4 (adequate)

Taking these aspects into consideration, I get the total mark of 4.0. Because of an “inadequate” and a “fail”, however, there is a high risk that I may not be permitted to advance.

It must be noted that I sometimes find it hard to prevail among the people in my direct environment (family and enterprise).

🙂 Well, and since my behaviour is so totally in discord with our “Growth Acceleration Law” (what a term!), this diligent subject of Frau Merkel also has a bad conscience. Maybe I will buy a real expensive bike next spring in order to salve my conscience. That would cost as much as the wreck premium was worth!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Mittwoch, der 30. Dezember 2009

„Mein CO2 Fußabdruck“ oder „Danke Werner“

Werner Lorbeer hat in seinem letzten Artikel zu desertec auf mein „Manifest zu Kopenhagen“ hingewiesen und mich für meinen CO2 Fußabdruck ein wenig gelobt.

Das Lob ist nicht berechtigt.

Hier mein CO2-Fußabdruck in fünf Kategorien berichtet und jeweils mit einer (mir selbst gegebenen) Verhaltensnote bewertet (1 – 6, sehr gut, gut, befriedigend, ausreichend, mangelhaft, ungenügend), so wie früher in der Schule (Werner ist ursprünglich Lehrer!).

  1. Mobilität
    Hier habe ich mal auf so richtig großem Fuß gelebt. Und habe mich deutlich verbessert.
    Individualverkehr:
    Der Abschied vom Autofahren ist dabei recht leicht gefallen, zu groß sind die objektiven Vorteile, wenn man Autos nur noch ganz selten nutzt.
    Flugverkehr:
    Ich habe mir vorgenommen, nicht mehr zu fliegen. Flüge in Deutschland und Zentraleuropa kann man gut mit der Bahn ersetzen. Auch hier überwiegen die Vorteile meist die Nachteile. Eine Ausnahme gab es leider in 2009. Von Konstantia nach München bin ich geflogen. Das war der Rückweg von unserer Donau-Radtour Budapest – Konstantia. Auch dieser Flug wäre vermeidbar gewesen. Das Problem war, dass der Nachtzug von Bukarest nach München keine Räder mehr mit nimmt.
    Die Safari im Herbst in Afrika habe ich ausfallen lassen, wie ich auch im nächsten Jahr nicht mehr zur Fußball-WM nach Südafrika fliege. Beides hätte mir echt Spaß gemacht. Tut ein wenig weh.
    Note 2 (gut)
  2. Wohnen
    Ich lebe in einem großen Haus mit einer katastrophalen Energiebilanz. Es gibt zwar eine Rechtfertigung. Wir sind immer noch im Normalfall zu siebt und ab und zu leben bis zu zehn Menschen im Hause. Die Temperatur im Hause habe ich auch schon ein wenig runter gesetzt, allerdings gegen die Kritik meiner Mitbewohner.
    Immerhin plane ich, in gut 2 Jahren in ein kleineres Haus um zu ziehen und dort dann wärmetechnisch einiges zu tun. Trotzdem ist mein Fußabdruck hier riesengroß. Also:
    Note 6 (ungenügend)
  3. Ernährung
    Ich esse immer noch zu viel Fleisch, Fisch, Käse, Eier usw. Mein Geist ist willig, aber mein Fleisch schwach. Zumindest beim Italiener esse ich meistens Pasta und Pizza ohne Fleisch und Fisch. Wenn es aber im Althaching Schweinebraten, Schnitzel, Leberkäse oder gar Blut&Leberwurst gibt, dann werde ich schwach.
    Note 5 (mangelhaft)
  4. Plastik-Klimbim und Verpackungsmüll
    Bei Klimbim und vor allem Überverpackung habe ich eine gute Resistenz entwickelt. So kaufe ich für mich persönlich kaum mehr etwas, das im Plastikbecher oder Tetrapack verpackt ist. Eine Zeit lang gelang es mir sogar, die Milch für die Familie täglich frisch mit dem Fahrrad vom Bauernhof in Glasflaschen zu holen. Leider wurde der Silogeschmack im Laufe der Jahre immer aufdringlicher und die Milchtrinker haben sich zur Wehr gesetzt.
    Bei Joghurt oder ähnlichem fällt mir der Verzicht auf Nahrungsmittel in Plastikbechern allerdings nicht schwer. Muss mir nur vorstellen, wie die Nahrung hergestellt und eingefüllt wird.
    Note 4 (ausreichend)
  5. Allgemeiner Konsum
    Da bin ich sehr zurückhaltend geworden. Neue Kleidung kaufe ich mir nur noch bei Bedarf. Mein Konsumverzicht ist einfach, denn „Mit vollen Reisschüsseln lässt sich gut scheißen (Sprichwort aus Vietnam ?)“. Der Kleiderschrank ist so voll, dass dies eine zweite gute Motivation ist, nichts Neues mehr zu kaufen.
    Ich habe mir immer gerne Hemden, T-Shirts, Jeans, Anzüge, Krawatten aus Lust gekauft. So fällt es mir leicht, mein Kauf-Moratorium auch durchzuhalten. Außer bei Anzügen, da habe ich einen großen Verschleiß (Radfahren ruiniert Anzughosen). Hier gilt deshalb die „2er-Regel“: Es gibt einen neuen Anzug, wenn ich zwei alte aufgearbeitet sind.
    Bei Hemden und allen anderen Dingen gilt die „min4er-Regel“, sprich es gibt nur noch ein neues Hemd, wenn mindestens vier alte ausgemustert werden müssen.
    Und meine beiden MacBooks werde ich so lange wie möglich nutzen.
    Note 4 (befriedigend)

So gesehen komme ich auf eine Gesamtnote von 4.0, aufgrund eines „Mangelhafts“ und eines „Ungenügend“ ist meine Versetzung aber stark gefährdet.

In meiner Umwelt (Familie und Unternehmen) tue ich mich allerdings schwer, in diese Richtung zu wirken.

🙁 Ja, und weil mein Verhalten den Zielen unseres Wachstumsbeschleunigungsgesetzes (was für ein Wort) total zuwider läuft, habe ich als gewissenhafter Untertan von Frau Merkel ein schlechtes Gewissen. Aber vielleicht kaufe ich mir im Frühling zur Entlastung des selbigen ein richtig teures Fahrrad, das kostet dann soviel wie eine Abwrackprämie!

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*