Roland Dürre
Sunday November 27th, 2011

My Town

At grammar school, I was allowed to play in the school theatre. To be sure, it was only a (very) minor role: the milk man. But it was a truly beautiful experience.

The piece we played made a huge impression on me. It was a very sentimental story: “Our Town (Unsere kleine Stadt)” by Thornton Wilder.

In a theatre lexicon, I once read there is no second play that mirrors “being human“ as well as this one.

Today, I want to tell you about the “town“ I live in. It is Riemerling, in the “district“ of Hohenbrunn. What makes it special is that the village of Hohenbrunn is about one kilometre away from Riemerling. But Riemerling seems to be part of the larger Ottobrunn.

Ottobrunn and Riemerling are now completely merged. The only indicators that you are leaving one village and entering the next are the place name signs.

Of course, Hohenbrunn/Riemerling is not a town. It is an area municipality..

This being so, our small municipality, according to article number 11 of the Bavarian Constitution, is characterized by two things: the territory and the inhabitants.

Territory:


Hohenbrunn is situated 15 kilometres south-east of the City Centre of the State Capitol Munich. It covers an area of around 18 square kilometres. Geographically, the centre of our minicipality lies: North 48° 2′ 53”, East 11° 42′ 6”. We live quite high over ocean level, namely at  568 metres of altitude.

Einwohner:
🙂 So if we were to plant coffee, we would be allowed to give it the title “Highland Coffee” (which is permitted up from 500 metres).
Inhabitants:

The numbers I found describe the situation on December, 31th, 2010. At the time, 8,954 people were living in Hohenbrunn/Riemerling.
In 2010, 789 people moved here and 1,174 people left. 53 children were born and 151 persons died.

As I perceive it, we must have a fairly high average age. Especially in Riemerling, you see few young people. The locals are mostly elderly, you only see them occasionally. Usually when they leave their houses in order to painstakingly press their bodies into their luxury limousines (or else climb their SUV’s).

Politik:Politics:
We have a first major with two deputies and a village council.

The first major’s party affiliation is with the CSU, 19 out of the other 20 also have party affiliations. Most of them are members of the CSU (8), then there are some from Bündnis 90/DIE GRÜNEN (4), SPD (3), Freie Wähler (3) and FDP (1). One village council member has no affiliation and belongs to no parliamentary party.

One of our village councils (the FDP man) is even a member of parliament. Politically spoken, we are certainly some place to be reckoned with. Financially, we are also really well off!

Financial Development:

The 2011 budget of Hohenbrunn/Riemerling totals 27.3 million Euros and we were able to manage without taking up additional debts.
By the end of this year, we will probably be indebted by 3,869,215 €, which means a per capito debt of 433.82 €. Compared with the federal average, we are absolutely at the top. After all, the debt of comparable municipalities (as of 2009) in Bavaria is statistically 825.00 € per inhabitant.

Miscalleneous:

Our voluntary fire fighting force has now been active for 150 years. Mainly, it deals with “technological assistance in case of accidents“. The most dangerous and demanding deployments are when they have to help with traffic accidents on the motorway ring that separates Riemerling from Hohenbrunn.

On this part of the motorway, there is no general speed limit. Consequently, we often have serious accidents. There is a considerable volume of noise, both during the day and at night. Its range is rather wide (in both directions: Hohenbrunn and Riemerling). Because of the winter tyres, this is especially true for the cold season.


We also have two youth clubs and excellent homes for the elderly. I am talking homes for senior citizens and handicapped persons. Since the municipial administration is very much concerned about old person’s mobility, they offer a bus service for the elderly. It is a free service to the cemetary and back for old people.

Moreover, our municipial administration supplies – free – “Green Tickets“ (for using the Munich public transport system – MVV). If you pay a deposit at the local administration office, you can borrow the tickets for the entire day.

Of course, we are particularly supportive of methods designed to save energy. The goals are ambitious. But we fail to reach them.

To make up for it, there always seem to be some sponsored programs like “heating pump replacement“. We also have our own water supply.

Traffic is a main issue. Our municipality is also one of those where most of the citizens believe they cannot live without their cars. Regardless of this, there is considerable grumbling about motorized traffic and – as almost everywhere else – they demand a release street (bypass road) for the town centre of Hohenbrunn.

There is also an S-Bahn train station at Hohenbrunn. It is not far from Munich, but still outside the inner MVV zone. Consequently, the people living in Hohenbrunn have to pay twice the price for going to Marienplatz (Munich or Pasing) from what people living in Ottobrunn have to pay.  Mind you, we are talking people living in the same municipality.

Some people living in Hohenbrunn take their car to go to Riemerling, thus getting into the city for less money. People living in Riemerling are far better off, because for them, the Ottobrunn S-Bahn station is a lot nearer and cheaper.

Like almost every municipality, we also have industrial areas and sports clubs. In former times, I always went through the industrial zones near Riemerling on the way back from “walking the dog“ through the forest. As everywhere in Germany, there are plenty of empty industrial buildings. It does not look too booming to me – regardless of the beneficial multiplier for business tax of 300.

Our sports clubs are not very successfull. But that is no surprise. After all, we are a small community, aren’t we? We are talking the usual suspects: soccer, tennis and volleyball. For indoor sports activities, we use the primary school gymnasium.

Come to think of it, I seem to have almost forgotten the schools – along with our kindergardens. We are quite well equipped in that respect. The same is true for food supply. This is especially true for Riemerling, because from there, the way to Ottobrunn is not far.  But there are also several discount shops in Riemerling itself.

For me, however, those are not really important. Which is less than can be said of public swimming pools. We also have an indoor swimming pool, the famous Riemerling “Ozone-Spa”. It was closed a few years ago for public use, because it was too expensive. The legally required pool attendant costs too much, as does the cashier.

Now the swimming pool is serviced by the local swimming club (“Riemerling Sharks“). The sharks, however only permit public swimming for a few selected hours each week – and those are times when I definitely have no time. Well, so I go to the Ottobrunn Phönix. In summer time, I prefer the wonderful Unterhaching outdoor swimming pool, anyway.

We also have a police station. But we tend to have little or no crime, sin or sodomy. And if you park on the pedestrian’s path on the Waldparkstrasse – for instance because someone is having a big party – you get a ticket. My guests can tell you about it.

This is what life is like in my “town“ Riemerling/Hohenbrunn. I guess it is all right.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
I took the pictures on the way home from the S-Bahn station at Ottobrunn. After about 100 metres on Ottobrunn soil, you will come to the place name sign. Then you go along the Steinstraße towards Hohenbrunner Straße, pass Frühlingsstraße, turn right into Waldparkstraße. After two-hundred metres, you will stand in front of our (open) gate. The last picture is the view from our front door towards Riemerling Waldparkstraße.
All the pictures were taken today, the last Sunday of November, 2011.

3 Kommentare zu “My Town”

  1. Chris Wood (Monday November 28th, 2011)

    I too live in Hohenbrunn, but near the village middle, rather than in a colony! My younger daughter was in the village fire brigade, When the Phoenix in Ottobrunn burnt down, and acquired its current name, the Hohenbrunn fire brigade got there quicker than that form Ottobrunn itself.
    My children and roland’s were at school with the small FDP Gemeinderat, Toby Thalhammer. I think he is in the Bavarian parliament, rather than the German one. According to wikipedia, he now lives in Neubiberg.
    People in Riemerling are getting older, but round the village centre, new houses are being built, and young families are moving in.
    The CSU mayor fairly recently surprisingly displaced the older one who was I think “Freie Wähler”.
    Living about as far from the motorway as Roland, I hardly notice the noise. The roadway is below the surrounding fields.
    I did not hear about the pump action. Nor did I know that I can use MVV for free. Thanks for the tip, Roland. I live near the station; train noise disturbs a bit more than the motorway.

  2. six (Thursday December 1st, 2011)

    Ein sehr schöner, wenn auch melancholischer Artikel. Aber wahrscheinlich haben sich nur die wenigen Worte über die alternde Bevölkerung in meiner Gewichtung der Betroffenheit nach vorne geschoben.

  3. rd (Thursday December 1st, 2011)

    Lieber Detlev,

    wenn ich an meine “Heimat” denke, dann geht es mir wie in diesem Stück. Es gibt da übrigens eine wunderbare DC als Hörspiel, glaube vom WDR.

    Ja, Heimat ist schon ein komisches Wort …

    Meine Melancholie hast Du gut gefühlt – danke!

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 27. November 2011

Meine kleine Stadt

Im Gymnasium durfte ich beim Schultheater mitspielen. Zwar nur eine (ganz) kleine Nebenrolle. Den Milchmann. Aber es war sehr schön.

Das Stück hat mich tief beeindruckt. Eine sehr sentimentale Geschichte: „Unsere kleine Stadt“ (Our Town) von Thornton Wilder.

In einem Lexikon des Theaters habe ich mal gelesen, dass es kein zweites Stück gibt, in dem „Mensch-Sein“ so gut (im Sinne von Emphatie) wieder gegeben wird.

Heute will ich von der „Kleinen Stadt“ berichten, in der ich lebe. Es ist Riemerling, „Ortsteil“ von Hohenbrunn.

Eine Besonderheit ist, dass das Dorf Hohenbrunn mehr als einen Kilometer von Riemerling entfernt liegt. Riemerling scheint aber Teil des größeren Ottobrunns zu sein.

Ottobrunn und Riemerling sind komplett zusammengewachsen. Nur die Ortsschilder machen darauf aufmerksam, dass man die Gemeindegrenzen verlässt.

Hohenbrunn/Riemerling ist natürlich keine Stadt, sondern eine Gebietskörperschaft.

Als solche wird unsere kleine Gemeinde nach Artikel 11 der Bayerischen Verfassung von zwei Eigenschaften geprägt: Ihrem Gemeindegebiet und ihren Einwohnern.

Gemeindegebiet:
Hohenbrunn liegt 15 Kilometer südöstlich von der Stadtmitte der Landeshauptstadt München und haben eine Fläche von ungefähr 18 Quadratkilometern. Unsere Ortsmitte hat die geographische Lage Nord 48° 2′ 53“, Ost 11° 42′ 6“. Wir leben in großer Höhe, nämlich 568 über NN.

🙂 Wenn wir hier also Kaffee anpflanzen würden, dann dürften wir diesen mit dem Prädikat „Hochland-Kaffee“ versehen (zulässig ab 500 Meter).

Einwohner:

Die aktuellsten Zahlen, die ich gefunden habe, beschreiben die Situation zum 31. 12. 2010. Zu diesem Stichtag lebten 8954 Menschen bei uns in Hohenbrunn/Riemerling.

2010 sind 789 Menschen zugezogen, 1174 Menschen haben die Gemeinde verlassen. Geboren wurden in diesem Zeitraum 53 Kinder, dafür hatten wir 151 Sterbefälle.

Nach meiner Wahrnehmung müssen wir einen ziemlich hohen Altersdurchschnitt haben. Gerade in Riemerling sieht man wenig junge Menschen. Die Einheimischen sind überwiegend Greise, die man nur gelegentlich sieht.  Meistens dann, wenn sie ihre Häuser verlassen und sich mühsam in ihre Luxuslimousinen zwängen (oder ihre SUV’s erklimmen).

Politik:

Wir haben einen ersten Bürgermeister mit zwei Stellvertreter und einen Gemeinderat.

Der erste Bürgermeister ist bei der CSU, von den 20 Gemeinderäten sind 19 in Parteien. Die CSU hat am meisten Gemeinderäte (8), dann kommen Bündnis 90/DIE GRÜNEN (4), SPD (3), Freie Wähler (3) und FDP (1) an. Ein Gemeinderat ist parteilos und gehört keiner Fraktion an.

Wir haben sogar einen Gemeinderat (den von der FDP), der gehört sogar dem Bundestag an. Politisch sind wir schon wer! Auch bei den Finanzen geht es uns so richtig gut:

Finanzentwicklung:

Der Haushalt 2011 von Hohenbrunn/Riemerling umfasst insgesamt 27,3 Mio € und konnte ohne neue Kreditaufnahme ausgeglichen werden.

Voraussichtlich wird Ende dieses Jahres der Schuldenstand unserer Gemeinde 3.869.215 € betragen, das entspricht einer pro-Kopf-Verschuldung von 433,82 €. Im aktuellen Landesdurchschnitt sind wir also Spitze, beträgt doch die statistische Verschuldung (basierend auf  2009) bei vergleichbaren Gemeinden in Bayern 825,00 € je Einwohner.

Sonstiges:

Seit 150 Jahren haben wir eine freiwillige Feuerwehr, die vor allem „technische Hilfsleistungen bei Unfällen“ erbringt. Die gefährlichsten und belastendsten Einsätze finden bei Verkehrsunfällen auf dem Autobahnring statt, der Riemerling und Hohenbrunn trennt.

Auf diesem Teilstück gibt es kein generelles Tempolimit. So ereignen sich des öfteren schwere Unfälle. Tagsüber wie auch nachts wird hier ein beachtlicher Lärmpegel generiert, der ziemlich weit reicht (nach Hohenbrunn genauso wie nach Riemerling). Besonders im Winter, dank der Winterreifen.

Bei uns gibt es auch zwei Jugendtreffs und vortreffliche Seniorenwohn- und Pflegeheime. So heißen unsere Altersheime. Da der Gemeinde die Mobilität für alte Menschen sehr wichtig ist, bietet sie einen „Seniorenbus“ an, der die vielen alten Menschen kostenlos zum Friedhof und zurück bringt.

Außerdem stellt die Gemeinde unseren Rentnern – auch kostenlos – eine „Grüne Karte“ (für die Nutzung des öffentlichen Verkehrs in München – MVV) zur Verfügung. Gegen Hinterlegung eines Pfandes kann man diese bei der Gemeinde ganztägig ausleihen.

Natürlich wird Energiesparen bei uns ganz besonders gefördert. Die Ziele sind ehrgeizig, werden aber nicht erreicht.

Dafür gibt es immer wieder geförderte  Aktionen wie „Heizungspumpen-Austausch“. Eine eigene Versorgung mit Wasser leisten wir uns auch.

Ein großes Thema ist der Verkehr. Auch in unserer Gemeinde meinen die meisten Bürger, sie wären auf das Auto angewiesen. Trotzdem ist der Verdruss über den Autoverkehr groß und wie fast überall wird auch bei uns für den Dorfkern in Hohenbrunn eine Entlastungsstraße (Umgehungstraße) gefordert.

Die Hohenbrunner haben auch einen S-Bahnhof. Der liegt ganz nahe am Dorf, ist aber außerhalb der inneren Tarif-Zone des MVV. Die Hohenbrunner müssen so das Doppelte für die Fahrt zum Marienplatz (in München oder in Pasing) zahlen wie die Bürger Riemerlings. Das, obwohl sie in derselben Gemeinde leben.

Manche Hohenbrunner fahren mit dem Auto nach Riemerling, um dann kostengünstiger in die Stadt fahren zu können. Die Riemerlinger haben es besser, denn sie nutzen natürlich die ganz nahe S-Bahnstation Ottobrunn.

Wie bei wohl allen Gemeinden gibt es bei uns auch Gewerbegebiete und Sportvereine. Das Gewerbegebiet bei Riemerling habe ich früher immer beim Rückweg vom „Gassi gehen“ im Wald durchquert. Dort gibt es – wie überall in Deutschland – viel Leerstand. Sieht nicht so richtig florierend aus – trotz eines günstigen Hebesatzes bei der Gewerbesteuer von 300.

Die Sportvereine sind nicht so sehr erfolgreich. Wie sollten sie auch, bei so einer kleinen Gemeinde. Bei uns gibt es das Übliche. Wir haben Fußball-, Tennis und Volleyballplätze. Hallensport findet in den Turnhallen der Grundschulen statt.

Die – und unsere Kindergarten – habe ich doch tatsächlich  vergessen. Damit sind wir gut versorgt. Auch ernährungstechnisch kann man bei uns gut leben. Besonders in Riemerling, denn da ist es nicht so weit nach Ottobrunn. Discounter gibt es aber auch in Riemerling selber.

Die sind mir aber nicht so wichtig. Schwimmbäder schon eher. Bei uns existiert auch ein Hallenschwimmbad, das berühmte „Ozon-Bad“ von Riemerling. Aus Kostengründen wurde es vor ein paar Jahren für die Öffentlichkeit geschlossen. Die gesetzlich notwendige Badeaufsicht und vor allem das Kassenpersonal waren zu teuer.

Jetzt wird das Schwimmbad vom hiesigen Schwimmverein (Riemerlinger Haie“) gemanagt. Die Haie geben aber das freie (öffentliche) Schwimmen nur für ganz wenige Stunden in der Woche an (für mich) unmögliche Zeiten frei. So gehe ich halt ins Phönix nach Ottobrunn. Im Sommer zieht es mich sowieso in das wunderbare Freibad von Unterhaching.

Eine Polizeistation haben wir auch. Aber Verbrechen, Sünde und Unzucht gibt es bei uns eher nicht. Und wenn man in der Waldparkstraße auf dem Gehweg parkt – z.B. weil da eine große Feier ist – dann bekommt man einen Strafzettel. Das haben meine Gäste auch schon erlebt.

So ist das in meiner kleinen „Stadt“ Riemerling/Hohenbrunn. Passt schon.

RMD

P.S.
Die Bilder habe ich auf dem Heimweg von der S-Bahn-Station Ottobrunn zu mir nach Hause gemacht. Nach vielleicht 100 Metern über Ottobrunner Gebiet geht es mit dem Ortsschild los, durch die Steinstraße in Richtung Hohenbrunner Straße, vorbei an der Frühlingsstraße, dann rechts in die Waldparkstraße und dann noch zweihundert Meter. Und schon kommt unser (offenes) Tor. Das letzte Bild ist dann der Blick von unserer Haustür in Richtung Waldparkstraße in Riemerling.

Alles aufgenommen am heutigen, dem letzten Sonntag des November 2011.

3 Kommentare zu “Meine kleine Stadt”

  1. Chris Wood (Montag, der 28. November 2011)

    I too live in Hohenbrunn, but near the village middle, rather than in a colony! My younger daughter was in the village fire brigade, When the Phoenix in Ottobrunn burnt down, and acquired its current name, the Hohenbrunn fire brigade got there quicker than that form Ottobrunn itself.
    My children and roland’s were at school with the small FDP Gemeinderat, Toby Thalhammer. I think he is in the Bavarian parliament, rather than the German one. According to wikipedia, he now lives in Neubiberg.
    People in Riemerling are getting older, but round the village centre, new houses are being built, and young families are moving in.
    The CSU mayor fairly recently surprisingly displaced the older one who was I think „Freie Wähler“.
    Living about as far from the motorway as Roland, I hardly notice the noise. The roadway is below the surrounding fields.
    I did not hear about the pump action. Nor did I know that I can use MVV for free. Thanks for the tip, Roland. I live near the station; train noise disturbs a bit more than the motorway.

  2. six (Donnerstag, der 1. Dezember 2011)

    Ein sehr schöner, wenn auch melancholischer Artikel. Aber wahrscheinlich haben sich nur die wenigen Worte über die alternde Bevölkerung in meiner Gewichtung der Betroffenheit nach vorne geschoben.

  3. rd (Donnerstag, der 1. Dezember 2011)

    Lieber Detlev,

    wenn ich an meine „Heimat“ denke, dann geht es mir wie in diesem Stück. Es gibt da übrigens eine wunderbare DC als Hörspiel, glaube vom WDR.

    Ja, Heimat ist schon ein komisches Wort …

    Meine Melancholie hast Du gut gefühlt – danke!

Kommentar verfassen

*