Here is the last part of my report with some information, comments and advice, giving you the gist of the trip.

The Caribbean

The ocean and the sun, a wonderful climate, warm water from above and below, an exotic world – all these things have been a dream of mine, especially in December – and that was the most important reason for making the trip.

Travelling by ship

Going by ship is ideal for the Caribbean.  MeinSchiff 4 is a hotel that covers distances at night and mostly lies in the harbour in the day. This is how we were able to leisurely visit eight countries and ten harbour cities. We did not need a single visa. The only passport controls were when we entered and exited Germany and when we departed from the R.D. (Dominican Republic). All you need for mainland visits is the ship identification. Our passports remained in the strongbox of our suite.

The ship

Mein Schiff 4 is a German speaking ship. It is modern and well organized. The crew emanates a positive atmosphere. However, it also seems to be a product of convenience, following strict processes that are probably the same on all cruisers. You probably cannot do it any other way with 2,000 guests. The safety drill is good, but the question arises if it would actually work in case of an emergency.
The suites are spacy and functional and make a good impression. Most of the suites have a balcony. In former times, cruise ships were built in a more horizontal style. The lower decks were, for instance, reserved for the huge communal areas, such as restaurants, theatres and shops, along with the crew cabins and utility rooms like kitchen, laundry and much more. The upper decks used to belong to the passengers. Since the ships were rather broad, there were several corridors with outside and inside cabins for the passengers.

With ships now becoming broader and broader, this concept is changing. On the vertical level of modern ships, there are now the crew and service areas in the inner part of the ship at almost all central levels. That is a separate area with its own staircases and lifts. This makes it possible to have even larger community halls in the lower decks. Now the passenger area is exclusively at the outside, quasi built around the crew tower.

Consequently, almost all the suites now have balconies. We very much enjoyed ours. Whenever we stayed in our room, fresh air from the ocean drifted through the open balcony door. That was especially appreciated at night, when we were able to taste the air of and listen to the sound of the ocean without having switched on the air conditioning.

MeinSchiff 4 has two swimming pools. They are both on deck number 14 (there is no deck number 13). One of them is external and surprisingly large with 25 metres. Unfortunately, they are both operated with sweet water, rather than with ocean water. Naturally, the water used on board is won through osmose and/or distillation from ocean water. Consequently, it is not very good for the mucous membrane and the rest of the skin. That is why I hardly ever used it.

The gigantic reclining chair deposits on the diverse sundecks and inner decks are quite impressive. They almost reminded me of refugee camps. Having to service more than 2,000 passengers, you probably cannot do it any other way. Regardless of the multitude of reclining chairs, however, the German towel syndrome was ever-present. Even early in the morning, most of the reclining chairs held towels and other small supplements such as books, sun-blockers, caps or similar things to signal that they were taken. Apparently, nobody was bothered at all by the fact that the on-board instructions clearly said you should not do this kind of thing.

“Welcome back in Germany“

After a long day on the mainland, it feels good to be back on board. The crew will then say: “welcome back in Germany”. On the ship, it is also very much the same as in Germany: at least at first sight, everything seems to be well-ordered and clean – and that is probably true for normal circumstances. All the advertisements clearly follow the “German mainstream”.

But even more than in Germany, the service is provided by people from all over the world. For instance, I meet many service persons from Eastern and Southern Europe, but also from Asia. But you can look wherever you want: room service, restaurant or bar – you will never meet a German employee.

The persons working on the ship mostly do not have a German employer, either. Mostly, they are employed by agencies, for instance in Switzerland (officers), in in Cyprus (service) or in Manila (nautical). As on Meinschiff, they will then be body-leased by the holders. Naturally, this procedure is not TUI specific. The entire sector is doing it in the same way.

The work schedule, too, can only be considered in accordance with German work law if you interpret it very lavishly. They work ten hours a day and seven days a week. If necessary, extra hours are a matter of course. They only have a few days off. If someone’s work was exceptional, they get a special day off – which then, as a rule, is used for mainland visits.

The employees are happy with their jobs and their salaries. There are no deductions for social security. The countries where they are employed have very tax-friendly conditions for seafaring men. Additionally, they offer a surprisingly cheap health insurance for the mostly young persons, even if it only covers the absolutely necessary medical costs. Incidentally, this is the reason why there is no other European country that employs more seafaring men than Switzerland.

Basically, everyone who is employed on the ship is a seafaring person, regardless of where exactly they work: in the nautical, hotel or tourist sector. Consequently, they enjoy a fair net income, even though the pre-tax income is not really high. The cost of living is low, they also get tips, and they see the world. What more could you want?

All inclusive

For cruises, the TUI has an all-inclusive business model. There are both advantages and disadvantages to this concept. You often consume more than you wanted to (or should?). To make up for it, the procedure is rather simple and you really save money if you consume much. On the MeinSchiff 4 , the “all-inclusive” is actually honest. (Almost) Everything is included in the price. Even at the bar. Be it the excellent quality cocktails, the long drink, lots of beer and wine, there is a huge selection of market products, all of which is included in the price.

Only few things cost extra, for instance the specialties in three restaurants. At the bar, only very few and particularly famous spirits and wines are not included. It is true for freshly pressed orange juice and champagne.

Of the food, caviar and spiny lobsters are not included. But then, you can get caviar every week as part of your normal breakfast. Freshly pressed orange juice and the water on bottles labelled “Mein Schiff” cost extra. In the restaurants, however, both sparkling and non-sparkling water are included. There are water fountains on all decks where you can fill the carafes that will be found in your suite.

Food

The food was good quality. It is the same level as in good German cafeterias. More like Münchner Rück (MR) or Allianz than like Siemens AG.
In the (also included) “fine restaurants”, such as the big main restaurant, a several course meal is served on “posh” dishes. The food is the same (good) quality but made up to look good, too.

Self-service and service are well balanced. In several restaurants you can have both in neighbouring or secluded areas. The service does not cost extra, which means it is included in the total price, which is also true for GOSCH at the rear of deck 12. We liked staying there, especially because they had a huge open-air section. The grill bar, one deck up on deck 14, exclusively open-air, was our second favourite place. Along with the two bars nearer to the bow on the swimming pool and one deck up with their really exquisite cocktails, also all open-air.

Exercise

If you want to have enough exercise on the ship, there is a simple trick: only use the stairs and never use the lift. If you stick to that rule, you will, due to the 14 decks, the reception area on level 3 and the exit at water level on deck 2, remain in shape.…

Entertainment

The on-board entertainment is like everything else. Well organized, of acceptable quality, German mainstream like Helene Fischer. To be sure, this is not necessary my favourite, but most of the people on board seemed to like it. The same is true for the band – all of whom were certainly good musicians, but they did not seem to enjoy their own music very much – at least that was my impression. Local music – and also local food –, however, is not something you will get on such a German ship. I am sure it would not have been too hard to, for instance, take a reggae band on board between the two Jamaican harbours.

I must not forget the German Soccer League. They have public viewing on a huge screen with English comments in the open-air arena as well us under deck. Consequently, we had between one and two German Soccer League matches on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays, which actually makes sense on days at sea. Of course, you get beer along with it – in huge bowls, the iced three-stripes beers from Jamaica is sitting there for you to take. The rule is: get one and drink it. If you do not like the three-stripes beer, you can also get Korona (from Mexico – my personal favourite) or one of the InBev brands (Becks, Franziskaner …). All free thanks to “all inclusive”.

For me, however, the most cherished entertainment on the ship was the great view from the top. Especially when we lay in the harbour or driove into or out of it, I was able to really collect my “great views” and spend hours just looking.

This is not what you saw from the big ship, but from the ferry after crossing the Panama Channel from the Pacific Ocean to Panama City.

Hier der Blick nicht vom großen Schiff sondern nur von der Fähre nach Durchfahrt des Panama-Kanals vom Pazifik auf Panama City.

Internet

From past experience, I know that, on board a ship, the internet access is usually via satellite and consequently not acceptable for an intense user like me. I never tried it on MeinSchiff, which means I have no idea if it was good or bad. But it was definitely rather expensive.
Consequently, I recharged my mobile phone whenever I was on the mainland. One possible way of using it are hotspots near the harbour that take a few USD for hour passes. However, I would recommend you go into the towns and either use public free hotspots or look for a coffee house where you get WLAN as part of the deal.
Digital

MeinSchiff 4 is a rather digital ship. You will find huge touch screens all over the ship. They inform you about the ship, the restaurants and the current program. The pictures showing the crew are displayed digitally and only printed after you order them. It is easy to use the ship App. Using it, I can also book trips and see how much money is on my on-board account.

Bicycle

There are no bicycles you can rent for mainland trips on MeinSchiff 4 . That was a special MS Europa service I very much appreciated. On MeinSchiff 4, you only get bicycles for specially organized tours. But you can have those both as normal trekking bikes and e-bikes. They even had e-rollers on board. But then you have a huge number of persons riding in single file on those trips, which is not an idea I am in favour of.

Renting a bicycle was possible only once at the harbours we arrived at. It seems like in Central America this is not a very popular thing to do.

Mainland trips

Everything is on offer – hiking tours, bicycle tours, bus tours, tours with boats of different sizes. You can book a jeep tour and a monster truck tour, even plane tours. In Cartageno I noticed that there was a city tour on MeinSchiff  with simple electronic scooters on three tyres.

The focus is on getting to know the country and the people, as well as cultural, historic, geographic and geological sightseeing. Many trips include the visit of an adventure or amusement park.

The trips are well organized – which, of course, always depends on local agencies. They also explicitly state this in the terms of business. The tour guides speak German or English. More often than not, the linguistic competence of the local guides is less than satisfactory. The tours are not cheap, but then the countries you visit are not cheap, either.

During our private tours, we often had nice and very positive contacts with the local population.

Day and night

Due to the time of year, the sun is in the south in December. Since the Caribbean is north of the equator, we had eleven hours of sunshine and thirteen hours of darkness. However, that is not a problem, because ten hours of sun every day are absolutely sufficient.

The guests

We probably had a good average make-up of passengers, which means we saw a representation of our society. Basically, we are talking those persons who can afford to go on a long-distance vacation. In that category, MeinSchiff  is actually quite an economical option. Regardless, I got the impression that some of the vacationers must have been saving money for quite some time in order to treat themselves to this trip, or perhaps some of them even had to borrow money for it.

Barbara said she saw a lot more tattoos than in the Unterhaching swimming pool. For me, that is not a problem, even though, personally, my attitude towards tattoos is a little on the sceptical side. Consequently, there is no tattoo displayed on my body, not even the beautiful IF logo.

Most of the persons we came in contact with were very agreeable. It only happened once that I had to suffer through a few AfD slogans during a meal …

Miscellaneous

  • Sun blocker:
    Always a good idea, although the many cloudy hours made it easier to avoid sunburn.
  • Protection against mosquitoes:
    Not necessary.
  • Diamonds:
    Can be bought all over the place, even in blue, with money returned. But they also cost a fair penny. I do not have the know-how to judge if buying jewellery would be profitable.
  • Cigars:
    Smell nice, but are also quite expensive – but I no longer smoke (except once in a while, unfortunately).
  • Coffee:
    Can be bought all over the place – but it is always rather strongly roasted and consequently not necessarily the right thing for the German mainstream taste.
  • Rum
    Can be bought all over the place – plenty of it. And it tastes rather nice.

This is it as far as IF blog.de in the Caribbean by ship is concerned until my next trip comes up.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

3 Kommentare zu “Travelling through Central America in December – Summary & Notes”

  1. Chris Wood (Saturday January 7th, 2017)

    The West Indies dominated the cricket world for a couple of decades. Did your German boat avoid this aspect of the culture?

  2. rd (Sunday January 8th, 2017)

    The “German Boat” is a business machine. It’s not interested in culture neither in cricket. But the local guide Susanne (living since 1981 in Costa Rica) mentioned the big history of cricket …

  3. Chris Wood (Friday January 13th, 2017)

    I daily find the normal Siemens canteen quality acceptable . Meat and 2 vegetables plus gravy and soup for 3 or 4 €. I rarely bother with the alternatives such as pizza, paste, Thai curry or something more expensive.
    Non-Siemens people pay double. I expect Roland has more experience of the directors’ canteens at the 3 firms mentioned.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Als letzter Teil meines Berichts ein paar Infos, Tipps und Kommentare – so als Quintessenz der Reise.

Karibik

Meer und Sonne, ein wunderbares Klima, warmes Wasser von unten und oben, eine exotische Welt, das alles ist für mich ein Traum – gerade im Dezember – und war mein wichtigster Beweggrund für die Reise.

Reisen mit dem Schiff

Die Karibik ist mit dem Schiff ideal zu bereisen. MeinSchiff 4 dient als Hotel, das in der Nacht fährt und am Tag meistens an Land liegt. So konnten wir komfortabel 8 Länder und 10 Hafenstädte besuchen. Dazu brauchten wir kein einziges Visa. Passkontrollen hatten wir nur bei der Aus- und Einreise in Deutschland und der Ausreise aus der R.D. (Dominikanische Republik). Für die Landgänge ist der Schiffsausweis das einzige notwendige Dokument. Der Pass blieb die ganze Reise im Safeder Suite.

Das Schiff

Mein Schiff 4 ist ein deutsch-sprachiges Schiff. Es ist modern und wirkt gut organisiert. Die Mannschaft strahlt eine gute Stimmung aus. Es erscheint aber auch als ein „convenient“ Produkt und folgt strengen Prozessen, die wohl allen Kreuzfahrtschiffen gemeinsam sind. Für mehr als 2.000 nur Gästen geht das wohl nicht anders. Die Sicherheitsvorkehrungen sind gut, allerdings fragt man sich, ob diese im Ernstfall tatsächlich funktionieren werden.

Die Suiten sind geräumig, zweckmäßig und haben eine gute Anmutung. Die meisten Suiten sind haben einen Balkon. Früher wurden Kreuzfahrtschiffe eher in horizontaler Bauweise erstellt. Die unteren Decks beherbergten neben großen Gemeinschaftsräumen wie die Restaurants, die Theater und Einkaufsbereiche auch die Mannschaftsunterkünfte und Betriebsräume wie Küche, Wäscherei und vieles mehr. Die oberen Decks gehörten den Passagieren. Da die Schiffe ziemlich breit waren, gab es dann mehrere Gänge mit Außen- und Innenkabinen für die Reisenden.

Mit der zunehmenden Breite der modernen Schiffe ändert sich das. „Vertikal“ befindet sich bei modernen Schiffen auf fast allen mittleren Ebenen im Inneren des Schiffes der Mannschafts- und Dienstleistungsbereich. Das ist ein abgeschlossener Bereich mit eigenen Treppenhäusern und Lifts. In den unteren Decks sind so die Gemeinschaftsräume noch größer. Der Passagierbereich liegt jetzt ausschließlich außen, sozusagen um diesen „Mannschafts-Tower“ herum.

So haben fast alle Suiten jetzt einen Balkon. Wir haben unseren sehr genossen. Immer wenn wir im Zimmer waren, kam frische Luft vom Meer über die offene Balkontür zu uns. Gerade Nachts war sehr schön, wir konnten im Zimmer bei ausgeschalteter Klimaanlage die Luft des Ozeans schmecken und das Rauschen des Meeres hören.

MeinSchiff 4 hat zwei Swimming-Pools, beide auf Deck 14 (ein Deck 13 gibt es nicht). Einer davon ist im Aussenbereich und mit 25 Meter erstaunlich groß. Leider werden beide mit „Süsswasser“ und nicht mit Meerwasser betrieben. Das auf dem Schiff vorhandene Nutzwasser wird natürlich per Osmose und/oder Destillation aus Meerwasser gewonnen und tut den Schleimhäuten wie der restlichen Haut nicht gut. Deshalb habe ich ihn kaum genutzt.

Beeindruckend sind die gigantischen Liegestuhl-Lager an den diversen Sonnen- und Innendecks. Fast musste ich an Flüchtlingslager denken. Bei wirklich mehr als 2.000 Passagieren geht das wohl nicht anders. Trotz der Unmengen von Liegen feierte das Deutsche Handtuch-Syndrom kräftig Urstand. Schon früh am Morgen waren die meisten Ligen mit Handtüchern und kleinen ergänzenden Gegenstände wie Büchern, Sonnencrème, Käppies oder ähnlichem reserviert. Dass in der Bordliteratur die Gäste explizit gebeten wurden, dies nicht zu tun, störte offensichtlich niemanden bei diesem Bereich.

„Willkommen zurück in Deutschland“

Nach einem langen Landtag tut das Ankommen im Schiff gut. Schiff und Crew begrüßen dann gerne mit „Willkommen zurück in Deutschland“. Auf dem Schiff ist es erst auch mal wie in Deutschland. Alles scheint zumindest auf dem ersten Blick ordentlich und sauber zu sein und ist es wohl auch im normalen Rahmen tatsächlich. Das gesamte Angebot folgt deutlich dem „deutschem Mainstream“.

Der Service wird allerdings noch stärker als in Deutschland vor allem durch Menschen aus der ganzen Welt erbracht. So habe ich viele Service-Kräfte aus Ost- und Südeuropa aber auch Asien  kennen gelernt. Aber ganz gleich ob es der Zimmerservice ist oder im Restaurant oder an der Bar, man trifft im Service eigentlich nie auf einen deutschen Mitarbeiter.

Die Menschen, die auf dem Schiff werkeln, haben überwiegend auch keinen deutschen Arbeitgeber. In der Regel sind sie bei Agenturen zum Beispiel in der Schweiz (Offiziere), in Zypern (Service) oder auch Manila (Nautik) angestellt. Wie auf Meinschiff werden sie dann von den Betreibern“body geleast“. Das ist natürlich nicht nur bei TUI sondern in der ganzen Branche so.

Auch die Arbeitsweise entspricht wenn dann nur bei sehr großzügiger Auslegung dem Deutschen Arbeitsrecht. Arbeitszeit ist 10 Stunden pro Tag und das 7 Tage die Woche. Bei Bedarf sind Überstunden selbstverständlich. Es gibt nur wenige Tage Urlaub. Bei besonderer Leistung gibt es einen freien Tag – der dann in der Regel für Landgänge eingesetzt wird.

Die Mitarbeiter sind mit ihren Jobs und ihrer Entlohnung zufrieden. Abzüge durch Sozialversicherung gibt es nicht. Die Länder, in denen sie angestellt sind haben sehr günstige steuerliche Konditionen speziell für Seefahrer. Dazu kommt eine verblüffend günstige Krankenversicherung für die meistens jungen Menschen, die allerdings nur die medizinisch wirklich notwendigen Kosten abdeckt. Was nebenbei bemerkt dazu geführt hat, dass in keinem Land Europas so viel Seeleute beschäftigt werden wie in der Schweiz.

Seefrau oder Seemann ist übrigens ein jeder, der auf dem Schiff fährt, ganz gleich ob er in der Nautik, im Hotelbetrieb oder in der Touristik tätig ist. So bleibt trotz eines eher niedrigen Bruttoverdienstes netto ganz gut was über.  Die Lebenskosten sind gering, Trinkgelder gibt es auch noch und man sieht etwas von der Welt. Was will man mehr?

All inclusive

Die TUI hat für Kreuzschifffahrt ist ein „all inclusive“ Geschäftsmodell. Das hat Vorteile und Nachteile. Man konsumiert doch oft mehr als man will (und sollte ?), dafür ist die Abwicklung sehr einfach und bei hohem Konsum spart man richtig Geld. Bei MeinSchiff 4 ist das „all inclusive“ ehrlich. Es ist (fast) alles im Preis mit drin. Auch an den Bars. Ob Cocktails in exzellenter Qualität, der Long Drink, viel Bier und Wein, es gibt ein großes Angebot ausschließlich an Markenprodukten, das komplett im Festpreis enthalten ist.

Nur weniges kostet extra, wie die Spezialitäten in drei Restaurants. An den Bars sind nur ganz wenige und besonders prominente Spirituosen und Weine nicht inklusiv. Das gilt auch für frisch gepressten Orangensaft und Champagner.

Bei den Speisen sind Kaviar und Langusten nicht inklusiv. Kaviar aber gibt es dann auch alle Woche als Teil des normalen Frühstücks. Das Glas frisch gepresster Orangen-Saft und das Wasser in Mein-Schiff gelabelten Flaschen kosten extra. Wobei in den Restaurants und Bars gesprudeltes wie nicht gesprudeltes Wasser inklusiv sind. Auf jedem Deck gibt es Wasserabfüllstellen, bei denen man die auf den Suiten vorhandenen Karaffen umsonst befüllen kann.

Essen

Die Qualität des Essen war gut. Auf dem Niveau wie in guten deutschen Kantinen. Eher wie bei der Münchner Rück (MR) oder Allianz als bei der Siemens AG.

In den (auch inklusiven) „feinen Restaurants“ wie im großen Hauptrestaurant wird ein Menü mit mehreren Gängen und „vornehmen“ Service serviert. Da ist das Essen auch von derselben (guten Qualität) und halt auch noch fürs Auge angerichtet.

Selbstservice und Service sind gut gewichtet, in manchen Restaurants gibt auch beides in benachbarten aber abgegrenzten Bereichen. Der Service kostet keinen Aufpreis, ist also auch immer inklusiv, so auch bei GOSCH am Heck auf Deck 12. Dort waren wir gerne, besonders weil es einen großen Freiluftbereich hat. Die Grill-Bar, ein Deck höher auf 14, ausschließlich im Freiluftbereich, war unser zweiter Favorit. Und die beiden Bars in Richtung Bug am Swimming Pool und ein Deck höher mit ihren wirklich ausgezeichneten Cocktails, auch alles im Freien.

Bewegung

Um genug körperliche Bewegung im Schiff zu haben, gibt es einen ganz einfachen Trick: Nur die Treppen nehmen und prinzipiell nie die Aufzüge nutzen. Wenn man sich das zur festen Regel macht, dann bleibt man bei 14 Decks, der Rezeption auf Ebene 3 und dem Ausstieg an der Wassergrenze bei Deck 2 gut in Schwung …

Unterhaltung

Das „Entertainment“ an Schiff ist wie der Rest. Gut organisiert, akzeptable Qualität, deutscher Mainstream wie Helene Fischer. Das zwar nicht unbedingt meines – aber den meisten Menschen schien es gut zu gefallen. Wie auch die Band, die sicher aus guten Musikern bestand, die aber nach meinem Geschmack ziemlich lustlos gespielt haben. Lokale Musik – wie lokales Essen – ist aber auf solch einem deutschen Schiff nicht angesagt. Dabei wäre es sicher leicht gewesen, zum Beispiel zwischen den beiden Häfen Jamaikas einen Reggae-Band an Bord zu nehmen …

Nicht vergessen darf ich die Fußball-Bundesliga. Da gab es „public-viewing“ auf großer Leinwand  mit englischem Kommentator in der Arena im Freien sowie auch unter Deck. Freitag, Samstag und Sonntag gab es so live ein bis zwei Bundes-Liga-Spiele, was bei Seetagen schon Sinn macht. Dazu gibt es natürlich Bier – in großen Schüsseln liegt das 3-Stripes-Biergut geeist aus Jamaika zum Verzehr bereit. Die Regel heißt Holen und Trinken. Wenn einem das 3-Stripes nicht schmeckt kann sich auch ein Korona (aus Mexiko – mein Favorit) oder eine der vorhandenen InBev Marken (Becks, Franziskaner …) holen. Alles dank „all inclusive“ for free.

Meine persönlich liebste Unterhaltung auf dem Schiff ist aber das Genießen der tollen Aussicht von ganz oben. Besonders in den Häfen oder bei Ein- und Ausfahrten kann ich die „Schönen Ausblicke“ richtig sammeln und Stunden nur mit Schauen verbringen.

Hier der Blick nicht vom großen Schiff sondern nur von der Fähre nach Durchfahrt des Panama-Kanals vom Pazifik auf Panama City.

Internet

Aus anderen Erfahrungen weiß ich, dass Internet auf Schiffen in der Regel über Satellit läuft und so für einen intensiven Nutzer eine echte Zumutung ist. Auf MeinSchiff habe ich es nicht probiert, so weiß ich auch nicht, wie gut es dort war. Aber es war ziemlich teuer.

Also betanke ich mein Mobile Telefon am besten bei den Landgängen. Eine mögliche Art ist dann die Nutzung von Hafen-nahen HotSpots, die für Stundenpässe ein paar USD verlangen. Ich würde aber empfehlen in die Orte zu gehen und entweder einen öffentlich Gratis-Hotspot oder ein Café zu suchen, in dem WLAN als Teil des Konsums im Preis mit drin ist.

Digital

MeinSchiff 4 ist ein ziemlich digitales Schiff. Überall im Schiff sind große „Touch Screens“, die über das Schiff, die Restaurants und das Programm informieren. Die Photos vom Schiffs-Team werden digital angezeigt und erst nach Bestellung ausgedruckt. Die Schiffs-App ist leicht zu nutzen. Über sie kann man auch Ausflüge buchen oder den Stand seines Bordkonto einsehen.

Fahrrad
Auf MeinSchiff 4 gibt es keine Fahrräder, die man sich für private Landausflüge ausleihen kann. Das war ein Service auf MS Europa, den ich sehr geschäft habe. Auf MeinSchiff 4 gibt es Fahrräder nur im Rahmen von organisierten Touren. Die aber sowohl als normal Trecking Räder wie auch als eBike. Sogar e-Roller waren an Bord. Nur fährt man dann die Ausflüge in mann-starken Kolonnen, was mich nicht so begeistert.

Das private Ausleihen von Fahrrädern war in den Zielhäfen war nur einmal möglich. Das scheint in Mittelamerika noch nicht so verbreitet zu sein.

Landausflüge

Im Angebot ist alles – von Ausflügen zu Fuß, mit dem Fahrrad, mit dem Bus und mit Booten unterschiedlicher Größe. Der Jeep-Ausflug ist genauso dabei wie der mit dem Monster-LKW, sogar Ausflüge mit Flugzeugen wurden angebooten. In Cartageno ist mir eine Stadtführung  für MeinSchiff  mit einfachen elektrischen Scootern auf drei Rädern aufgefallen.

Die Schwerpunkte sind Land & Leute wie auch kulturelle, geschichtliche, geographische und geologische Sehenswürdigkeiten. Bei vielen Ausflügen ist der Besuch eines Abenteuer- oder Vergnügungsparks dabei.

Die Ausflüge sind gut organisiert – natürlich immer abhängig von den lokalen Agenturen. Darauf wird auch in den Geschäftsbedingungen klar hingewiesen. Die Führungen sind auf Deutsch und Englisch. Die Sprachkenntnisse der lokalen Guides waren oft schlecht bis absolut ungenügend. Die Ausflüge sind nicht billig, allerdings sind die besuchten Länder auch nicht billig.

Bei unseren privaten Ausflügen hatten wir überwiegend sehr schöne und erfreuliche Kontakte mit den Einheimischen.

Tag & Nacht

Aufgrund der Jahreszeit ist die Sonne ja im Dezember im Süden, die Karibik ist aber nördlich vom Äquator. So war es um die 11 Stunden hell und 13 Stunden dunkel. Das stört aber nicht, denn 10 Stunden Sonne am Tag sind völlig ausreichend.

Die Gäste

Auf dem Schiff durften wir einen Querschnitt durch einen Teil unserer Gesellschaft erlebt haben. Genau die Menschen halt, die sich einen Fernurlaub leisten können. MeinSchiff  ist da eine durchaus preiswerte Variante. Trotzdem hatte ich den Eindruck, dass ein paar der Gäste für ihren Urlaub ganz schön lange gespart hatten oder ihn sogar mit einem Kredit finanziert hatten.

Die Barbara hat gemeint, dass die Tattoo-Dichte deutlich höher gewesen wäre als im Unterhachinger Freibad. Mich stört das nicht, auch wenn ich persönlich Tattoos eher skeptisch gegenüber stehe. So ziert meinen Körper kein Tattoo, nicht einmal das schöne IF-Logo.

Mehrheitlich hatten wir Kontakte mit angenehmen Menschen. Nur einmal musste ich bei Tisch ein paar AfD-Thesen ertragen …

Verschiedenes

  • Sonnencreme
    Immer sinnvoll, die häufige Bewölkung hat es uns jedoch leichter gemacht Sonnenbrand zu vermeiden.
  • Mückenschutz
    Braucht man nicht.
  • Diamanten
    Gibt es überall, auch blau, mit Rückerstattung. Aber auch zu stattlichen Preisen. Mir fehlt das Know-How um zu Bewerten ob sich der Schmuckkauf da lohnen würde.
  • Zigarren
    Riechen gut, sind aber auch teuer und ich rauche ja nicht mehr (ab und zu leider).
  • Kaffee
    gibt es überall – allerdings immer recht stark geröstet und deswegen nicht unbedingt etwas für deutschen Mainstream-Geschmack.
  • Rum
    Gibt es überall – in Hülle und Fülle. Und schmeckt verdammt gut.

Jetzt ist dann bis zur nächsten Fahrt Schluss in IF-Blog.de mit Karibik und Schiffsreise.

RMD

3 Kommentare zu “Mit dem Schiff im Dezember in Mittelamerika – Resümee & Anmerkungen”

  1. Chris Wood (Samstag, der 7. Januar 2017)

    The West Indies dominated the cricket world for a couple of decades. Did your German boat avoid this aspect of the culture?

  2. rd (Sonntag, der 8. Januar 2017)

    The „German Boat“ is a business machine. It’s not interested in culture neither in cricket. But the local guide Susanne (living since 1981 in Costa Rica) mentioned the big history of cricket …

  3. Chris Wood (Freitag, der 13. Januar 2017)

    I daily find the normal Siemens canteen quality acceptable . Meat and 2 vegetables plus gravy and soup for 3 or 4 €. I rarely bother with the alternatives such as pizza, paste, Thai curry or something more expensive.
    Non-Siemens people pay double. I expect Roland has more experience of the directors‘ canteens at the 3 firms mentioned.

Kommentar verfassen

*