Generally speaking, cars dominate the “mobile life” in Central America, too. I was well aware of it. And yet I was surprised when I saw the number and frequency of congestions in the big and small cities. The same is true for the (probably only imagined) dependency on all kinds of combustion motors.

Let me first say something about cruises:

Well, we did an entire round through the Caribbean on the huge TUI ship “MeinSchiff 4“ – with four days at sea and ten days on shore. This ship does the same route several times between December and February, another “MeinSchiff“  does another round in the same area with other destinations. Then they go to new waters and cruise those. Cruises have become a sort of “regular service”, which certainly facilitates the logistics. But it also makes the travelling experience a little more “convenient”. And, of course, there are ships from many shipping companies doing business in the Caribbean.

World tours individually designed, for instance from Hamburg back to Hamburg stretching over a time frame of nine months with new routes, have become scarce. That is true for all the shipping companies I know, such as Costa, Celebrity or MeinSchiff (TUI) – and the same is true for the small ones.

However, this is not bad news, because travelling on a ship has a huge advantage. Throughout the day, you will see many places in various countries and you can actually structure your day quite intensely and individually. The often inconvenient transport happens at night and is very comfortable. That means a ship is basically a mobile hotel where you wake up at a new location every morning.

I am well aware of the problem of cruises (and far-away vacations in general). As a general rule, only flying long distance will take you there – and a ship is definitely a strong “environmental sinner”. That means one cruise every year will destroy all the efforts I make towards getting a more environment-friendly carbon dioxide footprint. Even the fact that I no longer drive a car or go by bike or public transport in Germany is little help.

Let me explain step by step:

During our two-week cruise through Central America, the people check in and out of the ship at one of two harbours: La Romana and Montego Bay, both of which have a harbour and an airport in Jamaica.

As a general rule, you leave the ship where you boarded it. That means that these convenient cruises expect you to return to the place where you originally arrived. Consequently, you will not need an open jaw ticket. We boarded our ship in La Romana in the Dominican Republic (R.D.), where we also left the ship. Luckily, that meant the shortest flight from Munich to the Caribbean.

We wanted to see as much as possible of the country, rather than just collect impressions through car and bus windows. What we wanted was get into contact with “the country and the people”. And that is what we also accomplished. We often went places on foot and – unfortunately – only once rode bikes. We used cars (taxis) three times. We took four organized tours, for which purpose we often used a bus and various-sized boats. Once, a cable car was our means of transportation.

How it started:

On December, 9th, around 4 p.m. and after more than ten hours on board, our plane landed at the airport of La Romana in the Dominican Republic. From the landing strip, the bus took us to the harbour, which was about ten minutes for the few kilometres. The luggage was delivered directly from the plane to the ship cabin – which means that, in terms of logistics, the transfer from home to the ship was really optimal.

However, the check-in at the ship took rather long. On this route, the ship only has two “change days” (they used to call them arrival and departure days) and that means that around 1,000 new passengers will arrive from their own charter flights in a short time interval. We were just about the last. That means it took some time before we were on board, even though the check-in, too, was rather well organized with many desks. But, as I said before: the good news was that the luggage was sitting right in front of our cabin.

The voyage starts!

We arrived on December , 9th. The 10th of December was a day at sea en route to Jamaica. That was quite well, because it was a needed day of leisure after the long flight. We arrived at Ocho Rios harbour in the morning of December, 11th.

December, 11th – Ocho Rios – Jamaica – – ON FOOT
Departure time around 7:00 / arrival time 20:00

This is the first mainland day on our trip and my first time in Jamaica, the country of Bob Marley!

One of Ocho Rios’ attractions is the Dunn’s River Falls. They are “waterfalls” where the water flows down on a plateau-like descent. You can climb up through the flood of water from down on the ocean for around fifty metres. It looks spectacular – in fact it looks a lot more dangerous than it actually is. .The sweet water is pleasantly warm, which makes the entire adventure a nice joke. Finding the shallow places is no problem, which means you can easily do it without a guide.

Barbara at the Dunn’s River Waterfalls on her way up!

On board the ship, there is a “day’s itinerary” for each day (printed in paper, too) and, with the exception of days at sea, there is also “harbour information”. It contains useful information and a map of the harbour. On the map, we can see that, apparently, it is not too far from where our ship is docked in Ocho Rios to the Dunn’s River Falls. Our estimation is that it might be between five and ten kilometres.

Consequently, we set out to hike the way. It is a little cloudy, which is naturally good news for our December paleness. Again and again, it rains. But that is not a problem for us, because the rain is warm. In fact, we consider it nice refreshment. Once in a while, we seek shelter and thus have our first chance to get in touch with the local population.

For us tourists, the admission fee for the Dunn’s River Falls is 20 USD per person. There is no discount for retired persons. Many families who live in the country with their numerous offspring are also standing in the queue. In their faces, you can see how they are looking forward to the experience. They pay half. The organized trip from the ship to the waterfalls would have cost us around 50 USD, but that would not have been hiking. Instead, we would have had a bus and a guide.

Early in the afternoon, we are back on board. On the whole, we hiked perhaps around 15 kilometres, which is not bad, is it? Later in the afternoon, we go to the “village”. Most of the shops are closed. After all, it is the Third Advent Sunday. I would like to buy a Bob Marley T-shirt. Actually, due to the Sunday, many shops are closed, but there are still enough open.

Bob Marley is truly worshipped here. He is the national hero of Jamaica. In general, T-shirts are cheap, only buying Bob Marley comes at a higher price. After having looked in several shops, we find an official T-shirt I rather like. However, depending on the shop, it costs between 20 and 36 USD. As opposed to this, a “normal” T-shirt can be bought for five or even (considerably) fewer US dollars. The salespersons strictly refuse to sell the Bob Marley shirt for less than 18 USD. It seems to me that selling the national hero for little money is definitely sacrilegious.

Our ship takes off after darkness has fallen and continues to drive along the coast of Jamaica to Montego Bay (Mo Bay). And a nice red original Bob Marley t-shirt is sitting in my “suite”. I will wear it on Silvester Eve at home.

December, 12th – Montego Bay – Jamaica – – ON FOOT, Taxi
Departure time 7:00 / arrival time 22:00; doing our own tour

This is how a Christmas Tree looks in Jamaica. The one you see here is being erected in the centre of Montega Bay.

Incidentally, the second change day of this route was in Montego Bay. This means that around 1,000 persons leave the ship and 1,000 new arrivals board. However, this does not concern us. After all, we want to go back to the mainland.

The “harbour information” map shows us that the way to the centre should be around seven kilometres, which means that it is definitely possible to hike.

So we start: first along the Southern Cros Blvd, then turning left onto Howard Cooke Hwy. This time, there are hardly any clouds and practically no shadow. Regardless, we arrive at Montega Bay Market after little more than an hour.

Our Mo Bay amusement tour is rather long. The return trip seems to be longer than the way out when we are half way. Perhaps it is a good idea to take a taxi? At this very moment, a taxi driver sitting at the kerb asks us if he can take us to the ship. He will drive us for free, because then he can enter the harbour taxi area. If you are parked there, you can earn real good money. Later, we will learn that going by taxi from the ship at the harbour to diverse destinations will always be several times as much as is normally charged. We are a little exhausted and gladly accept the generous offer.

Late in the evening, the journey continues to Mexico. Between Mo Bay and Cozumel, however, there is the second day at sea on December, 13th.

December, 14th – San Miguel/Cozumel – Mexico – – RIDING OUR BIKES
Departure time 6:30 / arrival time 20:00; doing our own tour

Cozumel is an island sitting before the eastern coast of the Mexican peninsula Yucatán. We leave the ship rather early and first stroll towards the centre of the small village San Miguel. On the harbour information map, the way looks considerably shorter than the one to Montega Bay (and that turns out to be true). Regardless, the number of taxi drivers who tell us that it is too far to walk feels like a hundred.

However, we do not manage to get to the centre, because we discover a bike rental next to a motorbike rental (exclusively letting Harley-Davidson machines) on the right side as you walk into the town. The bike rental will close at 4 p.m. (after all, darkness falls early), but since this is early afternoon, there is enough time left.

They offer very simple bikes for 10 USD – only equipped with a brake and lacking both gear shifts and an additional hand brake. For 15 USD, you can get some sort of trekking bike, which has a gear shift and free-wheeling. And then there are some electronically supported “fat boys”. You can hire them for 20 USD. Prices are for one bike and one day.

Well, I rather like the idea of trying an electrical fat boy. However, the salesperson warns us that the batteries are just in the process of being loaded and that this will take some time. Since I feel a little “unfamiliar” with only a pedal brake, we take two “trekking bikes” for 30 USD.

A nice long bike trip brings us to the northern beaches of Cozumel Island on the coast of Mexico.

The bikes are well-oiled, the tyres have enough air. The bottom bracket of my bike seems to have a problem, since it makes strange noises. Regardless, we very much enjoy riding the bikes.

First, we continue on our way to the centre of San Miguel. We look at a few shop windows. As everywhere, there are many jewellery shops, specializing in diamonds. They will continue to haunt us throughout the entire trip.

Then we go back in a northerly direction, passing the bike rental and the ship and then onto a street going north along the eastern coast. We ride along exquisite hotels that look quite expensive and seem to stand sentinel on the way like pearls, except that the distance between two of them is mostly a few hundred metres, occasionally also one or two kilometres. We ride quite a far way along the ocean and we really enjoy it – then we get hungry and thirsty. We turn around, again pass the ship and go to the bike rental, where we hand back our bikes. Then we walk a little more than one kilometre back to the ship. It was a great day. In the evening, we depart for Belize.

I almost forgot:
In Cozumel, shortly before the bike rental, we visit a small bar on a minor road, where we have “free WLAN”. In return for drinking two cups of coffee and one bottle of water for three times three USD, we can use the internet and read and send emails. Answer chats. Download the SZ and do whatever else has accumulated.

December, 15th -– Belize City – Belize – – BUS, BOAT, ON FOOT
Departure time 9:00 / arrival time 20:00; organized trip.

It seems that Belize City does not have a harbour that can be accessed by ships as huge as the MeinSchiff 4. On this one visit of the mainland, the ship does not enter the harbour as usual. Instead, it lies at anchor far out. Consequently, it has to tender. Normally, that is a procedure where the ship’s own lifeboats are launched, and then they have to commute between the ship and the mainland. In Belize, they provide a regular tender service for this. Since we booked an early organized trip that departs early, we can use the second tender to the mainland.

Our trip seems to look quite attractive to many passengers. We need two busses. Everybody wants to see the Maya heritage. We are early, the busses have not yet arrived. Consequently, we wait in the harbour building. It feels a little like when I was in primary school – we stand in rows of two and wait. Then our bus arrives and we are transferred to Tower Hill. This is where, at long last, we get “local treats” – chicken with inlaid onions and delicious vegetables. Along with it, we get the standard “wedding” – that is rice on black beans. I know the “wedding” from our Cuba bike tour two years ago. Since I do not like rice, I pass on it. However, all the other dishes are really tasty – simple and delicious.

Now we are full and content, and thus move into small but very fast boats that are supposed to take us to Laimanai. We are the last to board and consequently sit at the very rear. The boats hurry to Laimanai at tremendous speed. All we can see to the right and left are the water fountains. On or way back, we will apply a different strategy.

At long last: the Lamanai Maya Temples.

This is what we do. On the return trip, our seats are at the front of the ship. And the view is spectacular. Also, the boat no longer seems to go quite so incredibly fast
The Maya city of Laimanai was truly very impressive. On the way back, however, there are some small problems. First, our captain has to help a boat that cannot move on. And then our bus gets stuck in a mega congestion.

This is how the end of the shore trip is as late as 7.30 p.m. .There is no time left for a stroll through Belize City.The only things we can report are those we saw from the bus. To us, Belize looked very British, not just because you drive on the left-hand side. That was something we already knew from Jamaica.

As soon as we arrive back on the ship, it sets out. To be sure, it is not quite as punctual as usual. It is a little after 8 p.m. We had to wait for another tour group that was a little late. Now we set out for Honduras.

December, 16th – Roatán – Honduras – – ON FOOT, Taxi
Arrival time 9:00 / departure time 20:00; by ourselves

View from the ship – looking towards West Bays, which is where we are headed.

Roatán is an island situated half an hour by ship from the mainland of Honduras. Today, we want to go to the “Westbays“. Because they say the beach is particularly nice there. And, if possible, we would also like to ride bikes again.
First we enter the small town east of the harbour and ask the local population where we might rent a bike. The answer is: not on this side, but perhaps on the northern side of the island, that is behind the mountains. That is where you might find a bike rental. We can go there by taxi.

But that would not make sense, would it? Then we try to find out how far it is to the “Westbays“ . We get different answers and eventually agree on the number seven. But we are talking miles. So we start out. And before we leave the town, we discover a very special place. It is a small park area with benches that seem to be dedicated to friends of Honduras from Taiwan. There is pretty good public WLAN. We are online for the second time on this trip and download all we need.

Then we start out on foot. Back to the ship, passing the ship and going towards the “Westbays“. Time and again, it rains. Initially, we take shelter under palms that line the streets. Since that is not much use, we eventually continue hiking even when it rains. After all, the rain is nice and warm.

All the time, taxis stop next to us and offer their service. And they warn us that the way to the “Westbays“ is quite far and also rather arduous. Then we are beyond the half-way point. We take a break and enter a bar. And we drink several bottles of Salva Vida, which is one of the local Honduras beers. And we enjoy the sun of Central America on the pedestrian overpass. If paradise is half as nice …

So far, the street had no inclines and went straight along the southern coast. It was a nice path. Now we will have to turn inland. We wonder if it would be a good idea to turn around. Or should we go to our destination and then let a taxi transfer us home?

Again, it rains. Rather heavily. So far, we were always dry again by the time the next shower came. Now this no longer works. The rain finally drenched all our clothes. Now the path leads into the mountains. The view gets nicer and nicer – the path steeper and steeper. Initially, it is only up, then suddenly first down and then up. Extremely often. And as soon as, after a steep decline, we think that now the way must go down to the ocean, the next incline waits.

On our way, we see many tourist attractions. Several “Flying Dogs““Cool Runnings“, a Monkey-Park and similar things are supposed to lure the hiker. However, all those places seem to be closed – perhaps due to the rain.

Finally, we manage to arrive on the beautiful Westbays beaches. They certainly look nice, but they are also full of reclining chairs. On the water, the boats are sitting nose to nose. This is a little sobering. But then, we managed to get here and reach our destination, didn’t we?

It was a strenuous hike. Now we are really soaking wet. We find a taxi. For 10 USD, it takes us home to our ship. We are cold in the taxi. So the air conditioning is out and the windows are open. This is better. What a great day!

Wet to the bones, a little exhausted but very happy: our arrival at the West Bays Beach in Roatán/Honduras.

This was the first week! In my next post, I will tell you about the second week, which was from December, 17th to December, 23rd. It will start with a day at sea.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Freitag, der 30. Dezember 2016

Mobil in Mittelamerika vom 9. – 16. Dezember (Erste Woche)

Ganz allgemein: Das Auto dominiert auch in Mittelamerika das „Mobile Leben“. Das war mir schon klar. Aber die Anzahl und Dichte der Staus in den großen wie den kleinen Städten hat mich dann doch überrascht. Wie die (wahrscheinlich ja nur scheinbare) Abhängigkeit vom Verbrennungsmotor aller Art.

Zuerst mal zum Thema Kreuzfahrt:

Wir fuhren ja mit dem großen Schiff „MeinSchiff 4“ von TUI eine Runde durch die Karibik – mit 4 Seetagen und 10 Landtagen. Das Schiff dreht diese Route ein paar Mal in der Jahreszeit vom Dezember bis Februar, ein anderes „MeinSchiff“ fährt eine andere Runde im selben Raum mit anderen Zielen. Dann fahren sie weiter in neues Gewässer und drehen dort ihre Runden. Kreuzfahrt ist so zu einer Art „Linienverkehr“ geworden, was sicher die Logistik vereinfacht, aber das Reiseerlebnis eben auch ein wenig mehr „convenient“ macht. Und natürlich drehen in der Karibik verschiedene Schiffe von zahlreichen Reedereien ihre Runden.

Individuell gestaltete Weltreisen z.B. von Hamburg nach Hamburg über einen Zeitraum von einem dreiviertel Jahr mit immer wieder neuen Teilstrecken sind selten geworden. Das gilt für alle mir bekannten Reedereien, für die großen wie Costa, Celebrity oder eben MeinSchiff (TUI) wie auch für die kleinen.

Das ist aber nicht so schlimm, denn auch so hat das Reisen per Schiff einen großen Vorteil. Man ist tagsüber an vielen Orten in verschiedenen Länder und kann diese durchaus individuell und intensiv erleben. Der oft lästige Transport findet nachts und sehr komfortabel statt. So ist ein Schiff letzten Ende ein mobiles Hotel, in dem man jeden Morgen an einem anderen Platz ist.

Die Problematik von Kreuzfahrten (und Fernurlaub im allgemeinen) ist mir sehr wohl bewusst. In der Regel führt nur ein Langstreckenflug zum Ziel – und das Schiff ist ein starker „Umweltsünder“. So zerstört eine Kreuzfahrt im Jahr alle meine Versuche, meinen Kohlendioxid-Fußabdruck mit der Umwelt verträglich zu gestalten. Da hilft auch der Fakt nur wenig, dass ich nicht mehr Auto fahre und in Deutschland nur noch mit dem Fahrrad oder öffentlich unterwegs bin.

Aber der Reihe nach:

Auf unserer zweiwöchigen Rundfahrt durch Mittelamerika „checken“ die Menschen in zwei Häfen ins Schiff ein und wieder aus. Dies sind La Romana oder Montego Bay, beides Orte mit Hafen und Flughafen in Jamaika.

In der Regel verlässt man das Schiff dort, wo man eingestiegen ist. Man fliegt also bei solchen „convenient“ Kreuzfahrten von dem Ort zurück, an dem man angekommen ist. Es braucht also keinen Gabelflug. Wir sind in La Romana in der Dominikanischen Republik (R.D.) an Schiff gegangen und dort auch wieder ausgestiegen. Wir hatten das Glück, dass wir so von München die kürzeste Flugstrecke in die Karibik hatten.

Wir wollten viel vom Land sehen und unsere Eindrücke nicht nur durch Fensterscheiben von Autos und Bussen sammeln, sondern viel mit „Land und Leute“ in Kontakt kommen. Das haben wir auch geschafft. So waren wir häufig zu Fuß und – leider – nur ein Mal auf dem Fahrrad unterwegs. Dreimal nutzten wir ein Auto (Taxi). An vier organisierten Ausflüge haben wir teil genommen und sind dazu öfters Bus gefahren und auf unterschiedlich großen Booten gewesen. Einmal war eine Seilbahn als Verkehrsmittel dabei.

So fing es an:

Am 9. Dezember sind wir am Flughafen von La Romana in der Dominikanischen Republik gegen 16:00 nach einem über zehnstündigen Direktflug gelandet. Vom Flugfeld ging es direkt in den Bus. Der Transfer hat zirka 10 Minuten für die wenigen Kilometer vom Flughafen zum Hafen gedauert. Das Gepäck wurde direkt aus dem Flieger vor die Kabine geliefert – eine logistisch wirklich optimale Anreise.

Der Check-In ins Schiff hat allerdings ziemlich lange gedauert. Das Schiff hat auf dieser Route nur zwei „Wechseltage“ (früher hätte man An- und Abreise-Tage gesagt) und da kommen dann so um die 1.000 neue Passagiere mit eigenen Charterflügen innerhalb eines kurzen Zeitraumes gleichzeitig an. Wir kamen so ziemlich als die Letzten an. So hat es ein wenig gedauert, bis wir an Bord kamen, obwohl auch der „Check in“ recht gut mit vielen Schaltern organisiert war. Aber wie schon berichtet, die gute Nachricht: Das Gepäck stand da schon vor der Kabinentür.

Die Reise beginnt!

Am 9. Dezember sind wir angekommen. Der 10. Dezember war ein Seetag auf dem Wege nach Jamaika. Das war schon mal gut zum Erholen vom Flug. Die Ankunft im Hafen von Ocho Rios war am Morgen des 11. Dezember.

11. Dezember – Ocho Rios – Jamaika – – ZU FUSS
Ankunft um 7:00 / Abfahrt 20:00

Es ist der erste Landtag auf unserer Reise und ich bin das erste Mal in Jamaika, dem Lande Bob Marleys!

Eine der Attraktionen von Ocho Rios sind die Dunn’s River Falls. Das sind „Wasserfälle“, auf denen sich das Wasser auf einem „plateau-artigen“ Gefälle nach unten bewegt. Da kann man unten vom Meer zirka 50 Höhenmeter durch die Fluten wieder nach oben klettern. Das sieht gewaltig aus – und auch viel gefährlicher als es ist. Das Süßwasser ist angenehm warm, so dass das Ganze ein schöner Spaß ist. Die seichten Stellen findet man leicht und kommt so auch gut ohne Führer zurecht.

Die Barbara in den Dunn’s River Waterfalls auf dem Wege nach oben!

Auf dem Schiff gibt es jeden Tag (auch auf Papier) ein „Tagesprogramm“ und außer an den Seetagen eine „Hafeninformation“. Die enthält nützliche Infos und eine Karte des Hafen. Auf der sehen wir, dass es von unserem Anlegepunkt  in Ocho Rios zu den Dunn’s River Falls wohl gar nicht so weit ist. Die Entfernung vom Schiff dorthin schätzen wir so auf 5 bis 10 km.

Also machen wir uns zu Fuß auf den Weg. Es ist ein bisschen wolkig, das ist natürlich gut für unsere Dezember-Blässe. Immer wieder regnet es zwischendurch, der Regen ist aber warm und stört uns nicht. Er ist eher eine wohltuende Erfrischung. Ab und zu stellen wir uns unter und haben die ersten Kontakte mit den Menschen, die hier leben.

Für uns Touristen kostet der Eintritt zu den Dunn’s River Falls 20 USD pro Person. 🙂 Eine Ermäßigung für Rentner gibt es nicht. Viele  einheimische Familien mit zahlreichen Kindern stehen auch an den Kassen an. Die Vorfreude steht ihnen schon in den Gesichtern. Sie zahlen die Hälfte. Der vom Schiff organisierte Ausflug zu den Wasserfällen hätte um die 50 USD gekostet, dann aber ohne Spaziergang dafür mit Bus und Führer.

Am frühen Nachmittag sind wir wieder auf dem Schiff, es waren dann vielleicht zusammen gut 15 Kilometer. Ist schon mal nicht schlecht. Am Nachmittag geht es dann nochmal raus ins „Dorf“. Die meisten Geschäfte sind geschlossen, es ist ja Sonntag, der 3. Advent. Mein Ziel ist, mir ein Bob Marley T-Shirt zu kaufen. Und in der Tat, wegen des Sonntags haben viele Geschäfte geschlossen, es gibt aber noch genug offene Läden.

Bob Marley wird hier wirklich verehrt. Er ist der Nationalheld Jamaikas. T-Shirts sind allgemein richtig billig, nur der Bob Marley kostet seinen Preis. Wir besuchen eine Reihe von Geschäften und finden ein offizielles T-Shirt, das mir sehr gut gefällt. Allerdings kostet es je nach Geschäft zwischen 36 und 20 USD. Im Gegensatz dazu gibt es die „normalen“ T-Shirts für 5 und (deutlich) weniger US-Dollar. Die Verkäufer wehren sich, das Bob Marley Shirt unter magische 18 USD zu verkaufen. Mir scheint, dass ein billigerer Verkauf des Nationalhelden ein Sakrileg wäre.

Im Dunklen legen wir ab und weiter geht es entlang der Küste von Jamaika nach Montego Bay (Mo Bay). Und in meiner „Suite“ ist ein schönes rotes Original-T-Shirt von Bob Marley. Das ziehe ich dann an Silvester daheim an.

12. Dezember – Montego Bay – Jamaika – – ZU FUSS, Taxi
Ankunft um 7:00 / Abfahrt 22:00; privat unterwegs

So sehen die Weihnachtsbäume in Jamaika aus. Dieser hier wird gerade im Zentrum von Montega Bay aufgestellt.

In Montego Bay war übrigens der zweite Wechseltag dieser Route. Das bedeutet, dass ungefähr 1.000 Menschen  das Schiff  verlassen und 1.000 neue kommen werden … Davon bekommen wir aber nichts mit. Denn wir wollen ja wieder aufs Land.

Die Karte in der „Hafeninformation“ zeigt uns, dass der Weg ins Zentrum so um die 7 km sein dürfte. Zu Fuß erscheint die Entfernung also durchaus machbar.

Also starteten wir, zuerst den Southern Cros Blvd, dann nach links den Howard Cooke Hwy. Diesmal gibt es wenig Wolken und Schatten, trotzdem sind wir nach gut einer Stunde am Montega Bay Market.

Wir amüsieren uns in Mo Bay ziemlich lange. Der Rückweg erscheint uns ein wenig länger und wir denken auf halber Strecke daran, für den Rest vielleicht doch ein Taxi zu nehmen. Da fragt uns ein Taxifahrer, der am Straßenrand steht, ob er uns zum Schiff bringen darf. Umsonst, weil er dann in den Taxibereich des Hafens darf. Dort gibt es nämlich wirklich gute Preise zu erzielen. Wir werden noch lernen, dass die Taxis vom Schiff im Hafen zu den diversen Zielen immer ein Mehrfaches von dem kosten, was üblich ist. Wir sind doch ein wenig ermattet und nehmen das verlockende Angebot an.

Am späten Abend geht es dann weiter in Richtung Mexiko. Zwischen Mo Bay und Cozumel liegt allerdings noch der zweite Seetag am 13. Dezember.

14. Dezember – San Miguel/Cozumel – Mexiko – – AUF DEM FAHRRAD
Ankunft um 6:30 / Abfahrt 20:00; privat unterwegs

Cozumel ist eine der östlichen Küste der mexikanischen Halbinsel Yucatán vorgelagerte Insel. Ziemlich früh verlassen wir das Schiff und strolchen erst mal in Richtung Innenstadt des kleinen Orts San Miguel. Der Weg sieht auf der Hafeninformation deutlich kürzer aus als es der nach Montega Bay war (und ist es auch). Trotzdem erzählen uns gefühlt um die 100 Taxifahrer, dass der Weg zu Fuß viel zu weit wäre.

Bis in die Innenstadt kommen wir allerdings nicht, weil wir  auf der rechten Seite stadteinwärts neben einem Motorradverleih (ausschließlich mit der Marke Harley-Davidson) einen Fahrradverleih entdecken. Der schließt zwar um 16:00 (es wird dann ja bald dunkel), aber da es früher Vormittag ist bleibt uns noch genug Zeit.

Im Angebot sind ganz einfache Räder zu 10 USD – nur mit Rücktrittbremse, ohne Schaltung und ohne ergänzende Handbremse. Für 15 USD gibt es dann so eine Art Trekking-Rad, mit Schaltung und Freilauf. Dann stehen noch ein paar elektrisch unterstützte „Fatboys“ herum, die man für 20 USD haben kann. Die Preise gelten jeweils für ein Rad und einen Tag.

Die elektrischen Fatboys auszuprobieren, das würde mir gefallen. Die Vermieter warnen uns jedoch, dass deren Akkus gerade geladen werden und noch lange nicht voll wären. Da ich mich nur mit Rücktritt ein wenig „ungewohnt“ fühle, nehmen wir zwei „Trecking-Räder“ für zusammen 30 USD.

Eine schöne lange Radfahrt führt uns an die Nordstrände der Insel Cozumel vor Mexiko.

Die Räder sind gut geölt, die Reifen fest aufgepumpt. Bei meinem Rad hat das Tretlager einen Schaden und knackst, trotzdem ist der Spaß am Radeln groß.

Zuerst fahren wir weiter hinein nach San Miguel. Dort gucken wir uns ein paar Geschäfte an.  Auch hier gibt es viele Schmuckgeschäfte, spezialisiert auf Diamanten. Die werden uns die ganze Reise verfolgen.

Dann geht es am Fahrrad-Geschäft vorbei zurück nach Norden, wieder am Schiff vorbei eine Straße entlang der Ostküste nach Norden. Wie Perlen, aber in angemessenen Abstand von ein paar 100 Metern bis zu auch mal ein bis zwei Kilometer, fahren wir an nobel und teuer anmutenden Hotelanlagen vorbei. Es geht ziemlich weit am Meer entlang und macht richtig Spaß – dann kommen Hunger und Durst auf. Wir kehren um, fahren wieder am Schiff vorbei zum Fahrradverleih, geben die Räder zurück und gehen den guten Kilometer zurück zum Schiff. Es war ein toller Tag. Am Abend geht es weiter nach Belize.

Fast vergessen:
🙂 In Cozumel, kurz nach dem Radverleih, besuchen wir eine kleine Bar in einer Nebenstraße  und haben dort „freies WLAN“. Gegen zwei Kaffee und eine Flasche Wasser zu drei mal drei USD durften wir inx Netz und konnten so unsere E-Mails lesen und schreiben, Chats beantworten, SZ runter laden und erledigen, was halt sonst noch so ansteht.

15. Dezember – Belize City – Belize – – BUS, BOOT, ZU FUSS
Ankunft um 9:00 / Abfahrt 20:00; organisierter Ausflug

Belize City hat wohl keinen Hafen, der für so große Schiffe wie die MeinSchiff 4 anfahrbar ist. Es ist auf dieser einzige Landbesuch, bei dem das Schiff nicht in einem Hafen anlegt sondern das Schiff ziemlich weit draußen ankert. Es muss also „tendern“. Normalerweise werden dazu  die eigenen Rettungsboote zu Wasser gelassen und pendeln dann zwischen Schiff und Festland hin und her. In Belize gibt es einen eigenen Tenderdienst, der diese Aufgabe übernimmt. Dawir uns einen organisierten Ausflug geleistet haben, der früh weggeht, dürfen wir schon mit dem zweiten „Tender“ ans Festland.

Unser Ausflug scheint sehr beliebt zu sein, es werden zwei Busse gebraucht. Alle wollen das Erbe der Mayas sehen. Wir sind zu früh, die Busse sind noch nicht da. So warten wir in im Hafengebäude. Ich fühle mich so ein wenig wie früher in der Grundschule – in Zweierreihen stehen uns warten. Dann kommt unser Bus und wir werden nach Tower Hill gebracht. Hier gibt es auch endlich mal „lokales Futter“ – Hühnchen mit eingelegten Zwiebeln an einem leckeren Gemüse. Dazu die übliche „Hochzeit“ – sprich Reis mit schwarzen Bohnen. Die „Hochzeit“ kenne ich von unserer Radtour in Cuba vor zwei Jahren, da ich keinen Reis mag verzichte ich darauf. Aber der Rest ist wirklich gut – einfach aber lecker.

Gesättigt steigen wir in kleine aber sehr schnelle Boote um, die uns nach Laimanai bringen sollen. Wir steigen als Letzte ein und sitzen so ganz hinten. Die Boote rasen in einem Affenzahn nach Laimanai, wir sehen nur links und rechts die Wasserfontänen. Auf der Rückfahrt werden wir das besser machen.

Endlich bei den Maya-Tempeln in Lamanai.

So wird es dann. Auf der Rückseite sitzen wir ganz vorne. Und haben eine wunderbare Sicht. Das Boot kommt uns auch nicht mehr ganz so irre schnell vor.

Die Maya-Stadt Laimanai war wirklich sehr beeindruckend. Aber auf der Rückfahrt kommt es zu kleinen Problemen. Zuerst muss unser Kapitän einem liegen gebliebenen Boot helfen. Und dann kommt der Bus in einen Megastau.

So wird es 19:30 Uhr, Ende des Landganges. Für einen Bummel durch Belize City ist keine Zeit mehr. Wir können nur das berichten, was wir vom Bus so gesehen haben. Belize hat auf uns sehr britisch gewirkt, nicht nur wegen des Linksverkehrs, den wir von Jamaika her ja schon gut kennen.

Kaum sind wir auf dem Schiff, dann legt es auch schon ab. Zwar nicht ganz so pünktlich wie sonst, sondern ein wenig nach 20:00 ab. Es musste noch auf eine ein wenig verspätet andere Ausflugs-Gruppe warten. Auf geht es nach Honduras.

16. Dezember – Roatán – Honduras – – ZU FUSS, Taxi
Ankunft um 9:00 / Abfahrt 20:00; privat unterwegs

Der Blick vom Schiff – in Richtung West Bays, da wo wir hin wollen.

Roatán ist eine Insel und liegt eine halbe Schiffstunde vor dem Festland Honduras. Wir wollen heute zu den „Westbays“. Weil da der Strand so schön sein soll. Und wenn möglich, mal wieder radeln.

Wir gehen also zuerst mal in die kleine Stadt östlich vom Hafen und fragen dann Einheimische, wo man Räder mieten könnte. Die Antwort: Hier nirgendwo, aber es könnte sein, dass es auf der Nord-Seite der Insel, also hinter den Bergen auf der anderen Seite, einen Fahrradverleih gäbe. Da könnten wir mit dem Taxi hinfahren.

Das ist aber nicht der Sinn der Sache. Dann versuchen wir raus zu bekommen, wie weit es bis zu den „Westbays“ ist. Wir kriegen unterschiedliche Angaben und einigen uns auf die Zahl sieben. Allerdings in Meilen. Also gehen wir dann mal los. Und entdecken vorher noch im Ort einen besonderen Platz. Es ist eine kleine Parkanlage mit Bänken, die wohl den Freunden Honduras aus Taiwan gewidmet ist. Hier gibt es recht gutes öffentliches WLAN. Das zweite Mal auf der Reise sind wir im Netz und laden alles runter, was wir brauchen.

Dann marschieren wir los. Zurück zum Schiff, am Schiff vorbei in Richtung der „Westbays“. Es regnet immer wieder. Zuerst stellen wir uns bei Schauern unter die Palmen am Straßenrand. Da das nicht viel nutzt , laufen wir schließlich auch bei Regen weiter. Der Regen ist ja schön warm.

Immer wieder halten Taxis an und bieten uns unsere Dienste an. Und warnen uns, dass der Weg zu den „Westbays“ ganz schön weit und sehr beschwerlich wäre. Dann haben wir die Hälfte geschafft. Wir machen Pause und gehen in eine Bar. Und trinken ein paar Fläschen Salva Vida, eines der lokalen Biere von Honduras. Und genießen auf einem Steg die mittelamerikanische Sonne. If paradise is half as nice …

Bisher ging die Straße schön flach die Südküste entlang. Es war ein schöner Weg. Jetzt müssen wir ins Land abbiegen. Wir überlegen uns, ob wir umkehren sollen. Oder bis ans Ziel gehen und uns von einem Taxi heimbringen lassen.

Es regnet wieder. Ziemlich heftig. Bisher sind wir immer wieder „getrocknet“, bis der nächste Regenschauer kam. Das funktioniert nicht mehr. Der Regen hat endgültig die Kleider komplett durchnässt, der Weg führt jetzt in die Berge. Der Blick wird immer schöner – der Weg immer steiler. Zuerst geht es nur hoch, dann plötzlich immer auf und ab. Ganz oft. Und wenn wir nach einem kräftigen Abstieg denken, jetzt geht es endlich wieder runter ans Meer, kommt die nächste Steigung.

Unterwegs kommen wir an einer Reihe von Touristik-Attraktionen vorbei. Mehrere „Flying Dogs“, „Cool Runnings“, ein Monkey-Park und ähnliches sollen den Wanderer locken. Allerdings sieht alles geschlossen aus – vielleicht auch wegen des Regen.

Wir schaffen es und kommen an den schönen Stränden der Westbays an. Die sind sicher sehr schön, aber voller Liegestühle. Im Wasser davor liegt ein Boot neben den anderen. Ein wenig ernüchternd. Aber was soll es, wir haben es geschafft und unser Ziel erreicht.

Es war ein anstrengender Spaziergang. Wir sind jetzt wirklich durch und durch nass. Und finden ein Taxi. Es bringt uns für 10 USD heim zum großen Schiff. Im Taxi frieren wir. Also: Klimaanlage aus, Fenster auf und schon geht es wieder. Was für ein toller Tag!

Durch und durch nass, ein wenig erschöpft aber sehr glücklich, angekommen am Strand der West Bays in Roatán in Honduras.

Soweit mal die erste Woche! Im nächsten Post berichte ich dann die zweite Woche vom 17. bis zum 23. Dezember dran. Die dann mit einem Seetag beginnt.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*