Roland Dürre
Monday July 26th, 2010

A Follow-Up on My Presentation – Comments #2 Growth:

In this series, I will comment on the written feedback I received after my presentation. Also, I will answer the online questions asked by students I had no time to amply reply to during said presentation

Lehren für Unternehmensführer – das Leben, das Wissen, die Informatik und die Ethik

(Lessons For Managing Directors – Life, Knowledge, Computer Science and Ethics)

„Innovative Entrepreneurs“ / Summer Semester 2010
Leadership in growth-oriented enterprises

Another item of feedback I consider rather important was

“The speaker states that growth as a business goal should not have top priority. That is a contradiction to what we learn.”

I absolutely stick by this, both intuitively and rationally:

Intuitively

Is it really necessary that we earn more and more and accumulate more and more money?

Take, for instance, our income:
Wouldn’t it be better if the income fit the life cycle? How about earning more when you are young and therefore need the money, for instance for starting a family? To make up for it, why not earn less when your career is almost over, perhaps even your achievement gets less, but you also need less (grown up children, mortgage paid)?

Isn’t it more natural and realistic to have ups and downs where income is concerned, as well, instead of one raise after the other for 40 years? Every year, from the day you graduated from university at 25 to the day you retire at more than 65?

Incidentally, I do not know a single freelancer who enjoyed a yearly raise through several decades. The graphic representation of incomes in this group looks more like a flight curve, occasionally interspersed with landings. Sometimes it even looks like a roller coaster.

The same is true for enterprises.

Why do enterprises always have to grow more and more and get more and more powerful? Why can’t an enterprise also occasionally slim down in order to, perhaps, manage the necessary change? To be sure, everybody agrees that the number of employees should be reduced, yet the turnover and profit are supposed to increase. Doesn’t this sound perverse?

For example, if you own a hotel, do you really need a second hotel, or even an entire chain of hotels? Do you always have to grow in quantity? Can’t you grow in quality and zest for life, instead?

Maybe it is very simple:    
It is not possible to just breathe in all the time. The lung would burst. It is absolutely necessary to breathe out at regular intervals, both for humans, enterprises and the economy as a whole.

Rationally

In order to measure growth, I will first have to give a clear definition of the term and introduce a reasonable metric system. Martin Lees and the Club of Rome, for example, created a new, integral definition for the gross national product. If we followed this definition, we would have a totally different growth development to what has been calculated conventionally. Incidentally, the growth would have turned negative a long time ago. On the other hand, it would be possible for us to enjoy our personal, economical, cultural and social life with drastically reduced waste of resources – which would also be a sort of growth.

I often get the impression that demanding “more growth” is just as empty a formula as the blind call for “more freedom”. If I demand growth, I should at least know the definition of such, instead of being taken in by an antiquated formula!

Here are three examples:
When I was young, the Deutsche Bundesbahn was a key industry. If the number of tons moved on the tracks increased (most of it was coal), we had growth. Later, the Deutsche Bundesbahn was replaced by the construction business. The more houses we built, the more growth we had. During the dotcom bubbler time, the advert business of the media was seen as economical indicator. The more adverts, the better the economic situation.

What an absurdity!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Montag, der 26. Juli 2010

Nachlese zu meinem Vortrag – Anmerkungen #2 Wachstum

Lehren für Unternehmensführer – das Leben, das Wissen, die Informatik und die Ethik

In dieser Artikelserie nehme ich Stellung zum schriftlichen Feedback, welches mich nach dem Vortrag erreicht hat und beantworte die von Studenten vorher gestellten Online-Fragen, die ich in meinem Vortrag nicht ausführlich behandeln konnte.

„Innovative Unternehmer“ / Sommersemester 2010
Führung von wachstumsorientierten Unternehmen

Eine andere, mir sehr wichtige Rückmeldung war

“der Referent bewertet Wachstum als nicht priores Unternehmensziel, das steht im Gegensatz zu dem, was wir lernen”

Dazu stehe ich. Gefühlsmäßig aber auch rational:

Intuitiv

Muss man wirklich immer mehr verdienen und immer reicher werden?

Nehmen wir das Gehalt:
Wäre es nicht besser, wenn das Einkommen zum Lebenszyklus passt? Wenn man mehr verdient, wenn man jünger ist und das Geld z.B. für die Gründung einer Familie braucht? Und weniger verdient, wenn man am Ende seiner Karriere vielleicht auch in der Leistung eher nachlässt, aber auch die Bedürfnisse (erwachsene Kinder, schuldenfreies Haus) geringer sind.

Ist ein auf und ab auch beim Gehalt nicht natürlicher und realistischer als eine unaufhörliche Steigerung des Einkommens über 40 Jahre hinweg, Jahr für Jahr, vom Studienende mit 25 bis zur Pension mit größer 65? Ich kenne übrigens keinen Freiberufler, der über Jahrzehnte hinweg eine konstante jährliche Einkommenssteigerung hatte. Da ähnelt die Einkommenskurve eher einer Flugkurve mit ein paar Landungen, gelegentlich sogar einer Achterbahn,

Das gilt auch für Unternehmen.

Warum müssen Unternehmen immer größer und mächtiger werden? Warum kann nicht auch ein Unternehmen mal kleiner werden, um vielleicht den notwendigen Wandel besser hinzukriegen. Die Mitarbeiterzahlen sollen sehr wohl runtergehen, nur Umsatz und Gewinn sollen immer steigen. Ist das nicht ein perverser Anspruch.

Braucht man zum Beispiel als Hotelbesitzer unbedingt noch ein zweites Hotel oder eine Kette? Muss man immer quantitativ wachsen? Kann man nicht auch in Qualität und Lebensfreude wachsen?

Vielleicht ist es ganz einfach:
Man kann nicht immer nur einatmen, denn dann platzt die Lunge. Das regelmäßige Ausatmen ist zwingend notwendig, für Menschen, Unternehmen und die Wirtschaft in ihrer Gesamtheit.

Rational

Um Wachstum messen zu können, muss ich den Begriff erst sauber definieren und zur Messung von Wachstum eine vernünftige Metrik einführen. Martin Lees und der Club of Rome zum Beispiel haben eine neue, ganzheitliche Definition für das Bruttosozialprodukts geschaffen. Wenn wir dieser Methodik folgen würden, hätten wir eine ganz andere Wachstumsentwicklung als nach konventioneller Rechnung. Wir hätten nämlich schon länger ein negatives Wachstum. Anderseits können wir sehr wohl auch bei drastisch eingeschränktem Ressourcenverbrauch unser persönliches, ökonomisches, kulturelles und soziales Leben entfalten, und das ist auch eine Art von Wachstum.

Oft habe ich den Eindruck, dass die Forderung von „mehr Wachstum“ genauso eine Leerformel ist wie die unreflektierte Forderung nach „mehr Freiheit“. Wenn ich Wachstum fordere, dann sollte ich zumindest wissen, was Wachstum ist und auf keinen Fall auf eine veraltete Formel rein fallen!

Vielleicht noch drei Beispiele:
In meiner Kindheit war die Bundesbahn eine Schlüsselindustrie. Wenn die Anzahl der auf der Schiene beförderten Tonnen stieg (davon war das meiste Kohle), dann hatten wir Wachstum. Die Bundesbahn wurde dann von der Bauwirtschaft abgelöst. Je mehr Häuser gebaut wurden, desto mehr Wachstum. Zurzeit der Internetblase hat man die Anzeigengeschäfte der Medien als den Wirtschaftsindikator gesehen. Je mehr Anzeigen, desto eine bessere wirtschaftliche Situation.

Das ist doch an sich schon absurd.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*