Roland Dürre
Sunday February 13th, 2011

An Afterthought on the Train Accident in Saxony-Anhalt

I received several comments on my article about the train accident in Saxony-Anhalt. Here are some of them:



During the last few weeks, I received some sad news from railway workers. Unfortunately, you were right: the sloppiness at “Deutsche Bahn” is scandalous.

Here are the facts:

-> A safety point, the existence of which I simply had taken for granted and which would certainly have stopped any train passing the stop signal, did not exist – regardless of the fact that it would have been easy to install.
-> Technologically speaking, the re-fitting with a “simple” Indusi would have been child’s play. The “magnets” on the tracks are not what I mean. They are just oscillating circuits designed for special frequencies which can be short-circuited if necessary, thereby having an influence on its counterpart on the vehicle. Consequently, you not need external electricity in order to re-fit with Indusi, The process would have cost a few thousand Euros.

BUT:

A track built with the safety technology of 1912 is protected by architectural conservation legislation. You can use it until doomsday. As soon as, however, the route is changed, the new route has to be up to the current safety standards. This would have meant: “PZB 90″, which, again, would have cost around half a million Euros, instead of a few thousand.

-> The “Deutsche Bahn” probably hoped to put the route out of service in the near future and therefore waited with new modernization.

Drama or Grotesque?

Greed in the form of stock-exchange madness and stupidity disguised as “harmonized” railway rules are a deadly mixture.

To me, this comment sounds very competent. Either we have total safety, or n one. There is nothing left to say for me.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 13. Februar 2011

Nachtrag zum Bahnunglück in Sachsen-Anhalt

Zu meinem Artikel zum Zugunglück in Sachsenanhalt bekam ich diverse Zuschriften. Eine davon möchte ich zitieren:


In der letzten Woche bekam ich ein paar traurige Nachrichten von Betriebseisenbahnern. Sie hatten leider recht, die Schlamperei der Bahn ist ungeheuerlich.

Hier die Fakten:

-> Eine Schutzweiche, von deren Existenz ich einfach mal ausgegangen war, die den das Haltsignal überfahrenden Zug abgewiesen hätte, war nicht vorhanden, obwohl sie leicht hätte eingebaut werden können.

-> Die Nachrüstung einer „einfachen“ Indusi wäre technisch ein Kinderspiel gewesen, die am Gleis befindlichen „Magnete“ sind keine solchen, sondern einfach nur auf bestimmte Frequenzen abgestimmte Schwingkreise, die bei Bedarf kurzgeschlossen werden und damit ein am Fahrzeug befindliches Gegenstück beeinflussen. Man braucht also keine externe Stromversorgung, um ein Signal mit Indusi auszurüsten. Der Einbau hätte ein paar tausend Euro gekostet.

ABER:

Eine Strecke mit Sicherungstechnik von 1912 genießt Bestandsschutz, die kann bis zum St. Nimmerleinstag befahren werden. Wenn diese Strecke jedoch geändert wird, dann muss diese Strecke dem aktuellen Sicherheitsstandard angepasst werden. Das hätte bedeutet: „PZB 90“, was wiederum mit einer halben Million Euro zu Buche geschlagen hätte anstatt mit wenigen tausend.

-> Die Bahn hat wohl damit geliebäugelt, die Strecke stillzulegen und daher die Modernisierung hinausgeschoben.

Trauerspiel oder Groteske?

Gier in seiner Ausprägung von Börsenwahn und Dummheit in Gestalt „harmonisierter“ Bahnvorschriften sind eine tödliche Mischung.


Diese Wortmeldung erscheint mir sehr kompetent. Entweder totale Sicherheit oder keine. Da muss man nichts mehr hinzufügen.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*