Roland Dürre
Sunday January 1st, 2012

New Year’s Addresses

Today, I read about the New Year’s addresses of our Federal Chancellor and other European Heads of State in the SPIEGELONLINE:

Pre-View for 2012 – Europe’s Bosses Warn: It Will Be a Year of Crises

Federal Chancellor Angela Merkel (CDU) tried to steel the Germans against a hard year 2012.

With respect to the path towards overcoming the debt crisis, Merkel said in her New Year’s address that “there is still a long way to go and it will not be without drawbacks”. According to a report, the debt of the federal budget will increase considerably, because we have to have pay into the rescue umbrella ESM in 2012.

In her New Year’s address, Merkel pointed out that Germany is well off, even though the New Year will doubtless be harder than 2011. Talking about the debt crisis, she assured the people that she will do everything to strengthen the Euro.

At the end of the path, “Europe will be stronger than it was before”.

These sentences make me both sceptical and angry. The last one, in particular, is an empty and rhetorically clumsy phrase, quite suitable as a metaphor for a political concept that is devoid of all courage and morals.

Is that the way anybody should be permitted to talk to grown-ups? Even to an entire nation?

There is a college in Tilburg which, among other things, deals with the “biases” of managers. Perhaps it would be a good idea to initiate a new chair at a suitable German university where “perception handicaps” of politicians are the subject of research.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 1. Januar 2012

Neujahrsreden

Heute im SPIEGELONLINE zu Neujahres-Ansprachen von Bundeskanzlerin und weiteren Regierenden in Europa gelesen:

Ausblick auf 2012 -Europas Bosse warnen vor Krisenjahr

Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel (CDU) stimmte die Deutschen auf ein schwieriges Jahr 2012 ein.

Der Weg, die Schuldenkrise zu überwinden, „bleibt lang und wird nicht ohne Rückschläge sein“, sagte Merkel in ihrer Neujahrsansprache. Nach einem Bericht muss der Bund 2012 für Zahlungen in den Rettungsschirm ESM erheblich mehr neue Schulden machen.

Merkel betonte in ihrer Rede zum neuen Jahr, Deutschland gehe es gut, auch wenn das neue Jahr ohne Zweifel schwieriger werde als 2011. Mit Blick auf die Schuldenkrise sicherte die Kanzlerin zu, alles zur Stärkung des Euro zu tun.

Am Ende des Weges werde „Europa stärker aus der Krise hervorgehen, als es in sie hineingegangen ist“.

Diese Sätze machen mich skeptisch und ein wenig ärgerlich. Besonders der letzte ist eine inhaltsleere und rhetorisch ungeschickte Floskel, gut geeignet als Metapher für eine Politik ohne Mut und Moral.

Darf man so mit erwachsenen Menschen, ja sogar mit einem ganzen Volk reden?

In Tilburg gibt es eine Hochschule, die sich unter anderem mit der „biases“ von Managern befasst. Vielleicht sollte man an einer geeigneten Universität in der BRD einen neuen Leerstuhl gründen, der die „Wahrnehmungsstörungen“ von Politikern untersucht.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*