Roland Dürre
Thursday March 19th, 2015

Not Uncertain Times but Stupid Times

Security and Data Storage

Now I have been back from Cuba for a few days and also started “Audio” listening again. I came across a Man who has an arch-angel’s name. One of those politicians/functionaries who never worked anywhere except education, unions, party, politics, schools or universities – if you discount his time as SaZ2 in an airborne unit of the German Armed Forces and a secondary job as a night porter in a hotel in Göttingen when he was a student.
I heard him saying:

“And as I see it, we are currently experiencing that the world has become a rather dangerous place and that the threats are imported to us from other parts of the world.”

StopThis annoyed me, because it is utter nonsense. All you have to do is take a history book, such as Die Verwandlung der Zeit by Osterhammel and do a little reading. And then you will know how dangerous life was in former times.

Or you can make it even less complicated – by just thinking. The most dangerous hazard in Germany and world-wide (with the exception of household and work-place accidents) is perhaps our participation in individualized traffic. For instance, the World Health Organization (WHO) estimates around 1.2 million fatal traffic accidents round the globe. In Germany, the fatal accidents were drastically reduced in the last decades. We “only” have about ten each day.

Deceases, too, did not really get more dangerous in Germany and the world. Regardless of bird flu, Ebola and currently again the measles.

😉 I also cannot see what hazards we import. Actually, to me it seems more like we (the FRG) are exporting dangerous material.

vorratsdatenspeicherungOn the other hand, it is also possible that this sentence was just something thoughtlessly uttered. This would be even more annoying, because the politician takes this thoughtless blabbering as a justification for demanding data storage!

He does this regardless of the fact that the experts I know all believe that data storage will take us another step closer to total control (totalen Überwachung). Incidentally, this is also what Sascha Lobo, writes in the Spiegel. And he is no less than the person speaking on the IT summit organized by our Federal Chancellor.

Incidentally, the man I mean is Sigmar Gabriel. He is the Federal Minister for Economy and Energy, the designated substitute for our Federal Chancellor and SPD party director (!).

Shortly after demanding data storage, he started his Trip to Moscow (Reise ins gefährliche Moskau), where he is meeting old friends. And what friends.

So who is surprised at hearing that the wise German voters no longer want to give their vote to the SPD and that the just as wise young German voters no longer go to the elections at all?

And those are the times when I wish I had stayed in Cuba.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
The picture is from “Stoppt die Vorratsdatenspeicherung!“.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Donnerstag, der 19. März 2015

Nicht Unsichere Zeiten sondern Blödsinnige Zeiten

Sicherheit und Vorratsdatenspeicherung

Jetzt bin ich ein paar Tage aus Kuba zurück und habe auch mal wieder „Audio“ gehört. Da ist mir ein Mann mit dem Nachnamen eines Erzengels begegnet. Einer von den Politikern/Funktionären, die noch nie außerhalb von Bildung,  Gewerkschaft, Partei und Politik, Schule und Uni tätig waren – wenn man von dessen Zeit als SaZ 2 in einer Luftwaffenradareinheit der Bundeswehr und einem Nebenjob als als Nachtportier in einem Göttinger Hotel während des Studiums absieht.

Den habe ich sagen gehört:

„Und ich meine, wir erleben doch gerade, dass die Welt ziemlich gefährlich geworden ist und dass die Gefahren aus anderen Teilen der Welt zu uns importiert werden.“

StopDas hat mich geärgert, ist es doch hanebüchener Blödsinn. Man muss dazu nur ein Geschichtsbuch wie Die Verwandlung der Zeit von Osterhammel nehmen und darin ein wenig lesen. Und erfährt dann, wie gefährlich es früher war zu leben.

Oder noch einfacher – ein wenig nachdenken. Die gefährlichste Bedrohung in Deutschland und auf der Welt dürfte (vielleicht neben den Unfällen im Haushalt und bei der Arbeit) die Teilnahme am Individualverkehr sein. So geht die Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) von jährlich etwa 1,2 Millionen Verkehrstoten rund um den Erdball aus. In Deutschland sind die tödlichen Unfälle in den letzten Jahrzehnten wesentlich gesunken, wir haben „nur noch“ so knapp 10 am Tag.

Bei den Krankheiten ist es in Deutschland und auf der Welt auch nicht unbedingt gefährlicher geworden, trotz Vogelgrippe, Ebola und jetzt gerade wieder Masern.

😉 Ich sehe auch nicht, welche Gefahren importiert werden sondern eher, dass wir (die BRD) viel Gefährliches exportieren.

vorratsdatenspeicherungEs könnte aber auch sein, dass dieser Satz nur so dahin geplappert wurde. Dann ist es noch ärgerlicher, denn mit diesem Geplappere begründet der Politiker seine Forderung nach der Wiedereinführung der Vorratsdatenspeicherung!

Dies obwohl die mir bekannten Experten sagen, dass die Vorratsdatenspeicherung uns der totalen Überwachung wieder ein Stück näher bringen würde. Wie auch zum Beispiel Sascha Lobo im Spiegel schreibt, den ich immerhin auf dem IT-Gipfel unserer Kanzlerin hören durfte.

Der Mann, von dem ich hier berichte, heißt übrigens Sigmar Gabriel. Er ist Bundesminister für Wirtschaft und Energie, Stellvertreter der Bundeskanzlerin und SPD-Parteichef (!).

Kurz nach seiner Forderung nach Vorratsdatenspeicherung hat er dann eine Reise ins gefährliche Moskau angetreten, um alte Freunde zu besuchen. Und was für Freunde.

Wer wundert sich dann noch, wenn die klugen deutschen Wähler die SPD so gar nicht mehr wählen wollen und die genauso klugen jungen deutschen Wähler zum Wählen so partout keinen Bock mehr haben?

Und ich denke mir, wär ich doch in Kuba geblieben.

RMD

P.S.
Das Bild ist von „Stoppt die Vorratsdatenspeicherung!“ mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Arbeitskreises.

Kommentar verfassen

*