Roland Dürre
Wednesday August 11th, 2010

Nürburgring

My neighbour was going to throw the book a picture of which you see here into the bulky waste. At our home in Riemerling, such a thing still exists: in intervals of eight weeks, the “bulky waste” is collected. In many households, the attics are cleared out and many nice items lie on the streets waiting to be collected. Several trucks with Eastern number plates will then circulate through the beautiful town of Riemerling and load up.

When I saw the book I considered it too precious for bulky waste. Consequently, I asked my neighbour if he minded me taking it and he gave it to me.
It is the kind of book I like reading for entertainment once in a while. And it also contains plenty of historical pictures. After all, the first edition is of 1965, so you could say it is vintage material. On the picture, you see the third (and last) edition of 1970.

As it turns out, reading the book is well worth it. You learn a lot about the history of the “Nürburgring”. Also, you learn quite a bit about how enthusiastic people were about racing even in those days.
But you also read that there were no more than 40,000 automobiles in Germany in 1920. And that a huge majority of the population was against the increasing motorization (Motorisierung) of individual traffic at the time. In retrospect, they were probably right.

For pioneers and interest groups, the “Nürburgring” was an important project in order to promote motorization. In those days, it was widely assumed that people would mainly be convinced that “automobiles mean progress” if witnessing the exciting racing sport. For the economy, the car was a huge, new market of the future. The upper classes wanted to preserve their privileges from the times when they drove coaches. Consequently, if people had reservations, those had to be pushed to the background. As today, business had priority.

Now I wonder how many cars will still roll on German streets a hundred years after the first race on the “Nürburgring”. That will be towards the end of 2030.

As I see it, the question is a very interesting one. And if you read between the lines of this book you even find the occasional answer. Well, it is definitely worth reading, the pictures alone make it great stuff.

RMD
(Translatead by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Mittwoch, der 11. August 2010

Nürburgring

Mein Nachbar wollte das abgebildete Buch auf den Sperrmüll geben. Bei uns in Riemerling gibt es das noch: alle acht Wochen ist „Sperrmüll“. Dann werden in vielen Haushalten die Speicher entrümpelt und viele schöne liegen Dinge liegen herrenlos auf der Straße. Mehrere Kleinlaster mit östlichen Nummerschildern kreisen dann durchs schöne Riemerling und laden kräftig auf.

Das Buch war mir zu Schade für den Sperrmüll, so habe ich meinen Nachbarn gefragt ob ich es mir nehmen dürfe und er hat es mir geschenkt.

Zur Abwechslung liest sich so etwas auch mal ganz gut. Und viele historische Bilder sind auch drin. Immerhin ist die erste Auflage von 1965, es hat also schon so ein wenig Vintage-Charakter. Im Bild ist die dritte (und letzte) Auflage von 1970 abgebildet.

Die Lektüre lohnt sich tatsächlich. Man erfährt viel von der Geschichte des Nürnburgrings. Und vom Enthusiasmus der Menschen schon damals für den Rennsport.

Man erfährt aber auch, dass es um 1920 erst 40.000 Automobile in Deutschland gab. Und die große Mehrheit im Volk gegen die fortschreitende Motorisierung im Individualverkehr war. Aus heutiger Sicht wahrscheinlich völlig zu recht.

Der Nürburgring war für die Pioniere und die Interessensverbände der Industrie ein sehr wichtiges Projekt, um die Motorisierung voran zu treiben. Man ging damals davon aus, dass die Menschen vor allem durch den packenden Motorsport für den „Fortschritt durch Automobile“ überzeugt werden konnten. Für die Wirtschaft war das Auto ein großer neuer Zukunftsmarkt. Die Oberschicht wollte ihr Privileg aus der Zeit der Kutsche erhalten. Da mussten die Bedenken der Menschen hinten an stehen, wie heute ging auch damals das Geschäft vor.

Jetzt bin ich mal gespannt, wie viel Automobile hundert Jahre später nach dem ersten Start auf dem Nürburgring, also Ende 2030, in Deutschland noch aktiv auf den  Straßen sein werden?

Wie ich finde, eine sehr spannende Frage. Und wenn man in diesem Buch zwischen den Zeilen liest, findet man sogar die eine oder andere Antwort. Es lohnt sich auf jeden Fall, allein schon der Bilder wegen.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*