Roland Dürre
Monday September 14th, 2015

PM-Camp Berlin (Report)

pmcampberlogoLast week, on Friday and Saturday, Berlin hosted its already third PM Camp. If you wish to find it ion twitter:  the hashtag is #PMCampBER.

Weeks before the event, the Camp was sold out. Everything was fine. This time, the “anti-conference” took place at the Alexander von Humboldt University, where the impressive halls gave the PM Camp a wonderful glamour and beautiful patina. I was there and, again, it was just great.

This time, I was a little less active than usual, only in charge of two sessions. The first of them was early on Friday afternoon. I called it “PM Vintage” (project management vintage). Having prepared four stories about projects in my life between 1973 and 1985, I presented them to the audience. It was “story telling” with a little background information. I started with a small project I had been put in charge of all by myself when I was a student worker, then came more complex ones…

Here is an overview of my four projects:

  • We need high Mersenne Prime Numbers for developing a random generator on HW basis (winter semester 1973 – WS at Siemens)!
    This is where I learned the importance of decisions. Even at a time when there was no internet, etc. And that you can achieve nothing without courage.
  • Responsibility for a language in one of the teams that – in cooperation with many other teams – achieved great things (APS, Transdata, PDN – 1977 – 1978 – employee at Siemens).
    This is where I made the experience how fast creativity and success can go down the drain if there is an excess of processes and Taylorism.
  • Technological responsibility for a huge project at Siemens for the Bavarian Police (DISPOL – 1979 – 1982 – originally as a Siemens employee, later as a Softlab employee)
    This was the first time in my life I came to know a “true” project manager. He had to appease the overhead, which was not a very nice job. However, he could not contribute to the project success.
  • Foundation of a company and generation of our own product, the HIT/CLOU (starting 1984 – at InterFace Connection GmbH – today InterFace AG).
    This was where my partner Wolf Geldmacher and yours truly were lucky in that there were many things we did right. Consequently, we had a really great team.

As soon as the opportunity arises, I will write down the story of those four projects and publish them here on the blog (including the links).

The second session was a spontaneous one on Friday evening during the great PM Camp Party at the Microsoft “Digital Eatery“ not far from the university. I met Maik Pfingsten during one of those many “after-the-pm-camp-conversations” of the evening event. And we decided to initiate a session together on the very next day.

We truly got into complexity. The title of the session was “Living/Loving Complexity”. I was going to recommend that all those confusing discussions about complexity and complicatedness should simply be forgotten or ignored. Because you always get all those complicated (complex?) mind games. And consequently, I was going to recommend that you should not spend a lot of time thinking about whether or not a project is complicated or even complex. Instead of talking, I was going to recommend you should act. And in preparation, I formulated some simple, behavioural theses which will make us successful and happy – regardless of the world being complicated or complex.

I guess Maik and I succeeded – and I was truly happy with the positive feedback I received after our presentation. The next thing I will do is write the article about this session “Living/Loving Complexity”. I hope to finish it by the day after tomorrow. Then you can read it in the IF blog. Of course, there will be a link.

It was a great PM Camp in Berlin and, for me, those were two happy days in Berlin. Consequently, I would like to thank the fantastic organizational team: Ralf Eicher, Christian Vogel, Fabian Fier and last not least Heiko Bartlog!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
After the event, they gave me a book because I had been the first to register. So here is what you want to do: register extremely early for the then fourth Berlin PM Camp. It is well worth the effort.

1 Kommentar zu “PM-Camp Berlin (Report)”

  1. Danke! Für ein großartiges PM Camp Berlin 2015! (Wednesday September 23rd, 2015)

    […] PM-Camp Berlin (Bericht) [Roland Dürre] […]

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Montag, der 14. September 2015

PM-Camp Berlin (Bericht)

pmcampberlogoAm Freitag und Samstag letzter Woche hat das schon dritte PM-Camp in Berlin stattgefunden. Zum Nachschauen in Twitter: Der Hashtag ist #PMCampBER.

Schon Wochen vorher war das „Camp“ ausverkauft. Alles hat gepasst. Die „Unkonferenz“ war diesmal in der Alexander von Humboldt Universität, die beeindruckenden Räumlichkeiten haben das PM-Camp mit wunderbarem Glanz und schöner Patina versehen. Ich war dabei und es war wieder toll.

Ich selbst war diesmal ein weniger aktiver als sonst und habe zwei Sessions gehalten. Die Erste war am Freitag am frühen Nachmittag. Ich habe sie „PM Vintage“ (Projekt Management Vintage) genannt. Da habe ich 4 Geschichten von Projekten aus meinem Leben von 1973 – 1985 vorbereitet und die berichtet. So ein wenig „Story Telling“ mit Hintergrund. Gestartet habe ich mit einem kleinen Projekt, das ich als Werkstudent ganz allein machen durfte, dann kamen immer größere …

Hier die vier Projekte, über die ich berichtet habe, in der Übersicht:

  1. Wir brauchen große Mersenne-Primzahlen für die Entwicklung eines Zufallsgenerators auf HW-Basis (1973 – WS bei Siemens)!
    Hier habe ich gelernt, wie wichtig Entscheidungen sind. Auch schon in einer Zeit ohne Internet etc. Und dass ohne Mut nichts geht.
  2. Verantwortlich für eine Sprache in einem der Teams, das mit vielen Teams gemeinsam Großes geleistet hat (APS, Transdata, PDN – 1977 – 1978 – festangestellt bei Siemens).
    Hier musste ich erfahren, wie schnell es mit Kreativität und Erfolg abwärts gehen kann, wenn man es mit Prozessen und Taylorismus übertreibt).
  3. In technischer Verantwortung für ein Groß-Projekt von Siemens für die Polizei Bayerns (DISPOL – 1979 – 1982 – festangestellt zu Beginn bei Siemens, später bei Softlab)
    Hier habe ich das erste Mal in meinem Leben einen „richtigen“ Projektmanager erlebt. Der musste den Overhead zufrieden stellen, das war ein sehr unangenehmer Job. Zum Erfolg des Projekts konnte er jedoch nichts beitragen.
  4. Ich gründe eine Firma und wir machen ein eigenes Produkt, den HIT/CLOU (ab 1984 – bei InterFace Connection GmbH – heute InterFace AG).
    Hier hatten mein Partner Wolf Geldmacher und ich das Glück, dass wir erstaunlich vieles richtig gemacht haben. Und so ein ganz tolles Team hatten.

Bei Gelegenheit werde ich die Geschichten dieser vier Projekte niederschreiben und hier im Blog veröffentlichen (und dann auch die Links setzen).

Die zweite Session entstand spontan am Freitag Abend bei der tollen PM-Camp Party in der „Digital Eatery“ von Microsoft unfern der Universität. In so einem der vielen schönen „Nach-dem-pmcamp-Gesprächen“ in der Abendveranstaltung habe ich mich mit Maik Pfingsten getroffen. Gedanken ausgetauscht und Ideen gesammelt. Und haben uns entschlossen, dann gleich gemeinsam am Tag darauf eine gemeinsame Session gehalten.

Da ging es dann nochmal richtig um Komplexität. Die Session hieß „Komplexität L(i)eben“. Ich wollte die Empfehlung aussprechen, die ganze oft verwirrende Diskussion um Komplexität und Kompliziertheit einfach zu vergessen bzw. zu ignorieren. Weil es da zu soviel komplizierten (komplexen?) Kopfgeburten kommt. Und deshalb nicht darüber viel nachdenken, ob eine Projekt kompliziert oder gar komplex ist. Sondern an Stelle vom Reden einfach zu Handeln. Und dazu habe ich einfache handlungsleitende Thesen aufgestellt, die uns – ganz gleich ob in komplizierter oder komplexer Welt erfolgreich und glücklich machen.

Das ist Maik und mir wohl auch gelungen und ich habe mich sehr über die positive Resonanz auf unserem Beitrag gefreut. Den Artikel zu dieser Session „Komplexität L(i)eben“ schreibe ich als nächstes. Hoffe dass mein Bericht spätestens übermorgen fertig ist und Ihr ihn in IF-Blog lesen könnt. Dann setze ich natürlich auch hier einen Link.

Es war ein tolles PM-Camp in Berlin und für mich zwei glückliche Tage in Berlin. So möchte ich mich ganz besonders beim fantastischen Orga-Team bedanken: Bei Ralf Eicher, Christian Vogel, Fabian Fier und last not least Heiko Bartlog!

RMD

P.S.
🙂 Am Schluss bekam ich noch ein Buchgeschenk weil ich mich als erster angemeldet war. Also – im nächsten Jahr beim dann schon 4. PM-Camp Berlin ganz früh anmelden. Es lohnt sich.

1 Kommentar zu “PM-Camp Berlin (Bericht)”

  1. Danke! Für ein großartiges PM Camp Berlin 2015! (Mittwoch, der 23. September 2015)

    […] PM-Camp Berlin (Bericht) [Roland Dürre] […]

Kommentar verfassen

*