Roland Dürre
Sunday June 15th, 2014

PM Camp, Munich and InterFace AG

In the internal InterFace AG Social Media System, one highly appreciated colleague of mine asked why there is not more about the PM Camp in Munich available at InterFace AG. And why, so far, so few persons have registered. Here is what I replied.

Thank you for your note about the PM-Camp 2014 in Munich – #pmcamp14muc – between July, 24th and 26th at LMU, which starts on Thursday evening. So far, I had little time for writing a lot about the PM Camp – also due to the rather time-consuming preparations now under way because of our “30ieth anniversary party”. This will, however, change with the end of June.

Participants:

There is no need to be worried about the Munich PM Camp. The organizational team are seven extremely well connected persons (Barbara Bucksch, Helene Neugebauer (who I cooperate with very closely at PM Camp Munich), Jolanta Czagin, Melania Melitopoulos, Martin Aigner, Michael Cramer and Sacha Storz). They will definitely manage to make it a great PM Camp, especially in the IT Capitol Munich. Currently, the marketing is just getting under way. As soon as our “30-Year-Anniversary-Party” is over – if not earlier – I will also get more active supporting the campaign. On our party, I also want to do some promotion work for the Munich PM Camp.

For the PM Camp, however, we actually look for persons who wish to “actively participate”. Which means that the active part begins as early as finding information about the PM Camp. Consequently, we do not wish to persuade anybody to attend. The best approach would be for participants to find us because they have been looking for this kind of modern “anti-conference” in barcamp format for project managers, all kinds of managers, entrepreneurs or persons who wish to shape the future actively and in a positive way.

Sponsors:

Naturally, both among those in the PM Camp core team – the normative level – and the PM Camp strategic level (this is where the regional organisational team representatives meet), there are some who view sponsoring rather critically. The same is true for the organizational teams themselves (the operative level). Sponsor money helps to make the event less expensive and offer more to the attendants (catering, party). However, PM Camp is an independent “grass root movement” and does not wish to make a profit. With this in mind, we are always extremely careful when it comes to sponsors, because PM Camp must not be damaged by the interest of any third party. Also, PM Camp cannot and does not wish to fulfil the requirements of “normal” sponsors (“What is in it for me?”). This means that a sponsor who “shanghai-s” PM Camp is not something we desire. InterFace, for instance, only sponsors if there is a special reason or if the PM Camp cannot take place otherwise.

About the individual PM Camps:

This year, we have only had two PM Camps so far: in Zurich and in Stuttgart. Both in Zurich and Stuttgart, we (the InterFace AG) were present. Thanks to our Stuttgart branch office, we were rather well represented there. The next PM Camp is in Berlin between June, 20th and 22nd. Incidentally, it is the only one scheduled for a Saturday and Sunday. Normally, Fridays and Saturdays are the main days. But the freelancers living in Berlin cannot/do not want to afford the lack of income on a weekday. I particularly look forward to Berlin. After Berlin, there will be the Rhein-Main PM Camp in Bad Homburg, which coincides with our “30-year-party”. At the July Camp in Munich, I definitely plan to attend. Later this year, we also plan another one in Dornbirn and other places. Dornbirn was where everything started in November 2011. Consequently, Dornbirn as a PM Camp for DACH is the very special baby of Stefan (Dr. Stefan Hagen) and yours truly.

Additional note:

After my tenure as managing director of InterFace AG ends on December, 31st, 2014, I plan to get even more active promoting the PM Camp movement.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 15. Juni 2014

PM-Camp, München und InterFace AG

Im internen Social Media System der InterFace AG hat ein lieber Kollege die Frage gestellt, warum man bei der InterFace AG noch nicht mehr vom PM Camp in München hören würde. Und warum es dort noch so wenig Anmeldungen gäbe. Ich habe ihm so geantwortet:

Danke für Deinen Hinweis auf das PM-Camp 2014 in München #pmcamp14muc vom 24. bis 26. Juli an der LMU beginnend am Donnerstag Abend. Bisher hatte ich nicht zuletzt auch wegen der aufwendigen Vorbereitung aus unsere „30 Jahre Feier“ kaum Zeit für das PM-Camp. Das wird sich aber Ende Juni ändern.

Teilnehmer:

Um das PM-Camp in München müssen wir uns keine Sorgen machen. Das Orgateam besteht aus sieben Leuten, die unheimlich gut vernetzt sind (Barbara Bucksch, Helene Neugebauer (mit der ich bei PM-Camp München eng zusammenarbeite), Jolanta Czagin, Melania Melitopoulos, Martin Aigner, Michael Cramer und Sacha Storz). Die werden es auf jeden Fall schaffen, gerade in der IT-Hauptstadt München ein tolles PM-Camp zusammen zu bringen. Die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit läuft gerade an. Spätestens nach unserem doch recht aufwendigen „30 Jahre Fest“ werde ich auch persönlich stärker die Kampagne unterstützen. Auch auf unserem Fest möchte ich das PM-Camp in München ordentlich „promoten“.

Beim PM-Camp sind allerdings besonders Teilnehmer gesucht, die „mitmachen“ wollen. Das Mitmachen beginnt so ein wenig schon beim Finden vom PM-Camp. So wollen wir niemand zur Teilnahme überreden. Am besten ist es, wenn uns die Teilnehmer finden, weil sie auf der Suche sind nach einer modernen Unkonferenz im Format eines barcamps für Projekt Manager, Manager aller Art, Unternehmer oder Menschen, die Zukunft aktiv und positiv gestalten wollen.

Sponsoren:

Sowohl beim PM-Camp Kernteam – der normativen Ebene – wie auch in der PM-Camp-Klausur (der strategischen Ebene, hier treffen sich auch Vertreter der regionalen Orga-Teams) wie in den Orgateams (der operativen Ebene) gibt es zum Thema Sponsoring natürlich auch kritische Überlegungen. Sponsorengelder helfen die Veranstaltungen billiger zu machen und den Teilnehmern mehr zu bieten (Catering, Party). PM-Camp ist aber eine unabhängige „Graswurzel-Bewegung“, die nicht profitabel sein soll. Insofern wird mit Sponsoren immer sehr vorsichtig umgegangen, weil PM-Camp nicht von Interessen dritter beschädigt werden darf und auch die Ansprüchen von „normalen“ Sponsoren („Was bringt uns das“) nicht erfüllen kann und will. Insofern ist auch ein Sponsor, der PM-Camp „shanghait“, nicht erwünscht. So sponsort die InterFace auch nur, wenn es einen besonderen Grund hat oder um die Durchführung des PM-Camps zu gewährleisten.

Zu den einzelnen PM-Camps:

In diesem Jahr haben erst zwei PM-Camps stattgefunden: In Zürich und in Stuttgart. In Zürich wie in Stuttgart waren wir (die InterFace AG) vertreten, besonders gut in Stuttgart dank unserer dortigen Geschäftsstelle. Das nächste PM-Camp ist in Berlin vom 20. bis zum 22. Juni. Das ist übrigens das einzige, welches an einen Samstag/Sonntag stattfindet, üblich sind sonst Freitag und Samstag als Haupttage. Aber die Berliner Freiberufler wollen/können sich den Einnahmeausfall an einem Werktag nicht leisten. Auf Berlin freue ich mich besonders. Nach Berlin folgt Rhein-Main in Bad Homburg, hier überschneidet sich der Termin mit unserer „30 Jahre Feier“. Im Juli in München will ich auf jeden Fall auch wieder mitmachen. In diesem Jahr sind auch noch Dornbirn und weitere geplant. Wobei in Dornbirn im November 2011 alles anfing. Deshalb ist Dornbirn als PM-Camp für DACH auch das besondere Baby von Stefan (Dr. Stefan Hagen) und mir.

Eine Ergänzung:

Nach dem Ende meiner Zeit als Vorstand der InterFace AG zum 31. 12. 2014 möchte ich engagiert mithelfen, die PM-Camp-Bewegung weiter nach vorne zu bringen.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*