Roland Dürre
Tuesday June 12th, 2012

“PM Camp” or “Humans are not Resources!”

Projects are made by people!

That is why a spontaneously gathered team of project managers and entrepreneurs organized the first PM Camp (#pmcamp11) in November 2011 at Dornbirn. The organizers were people who often work with projects. They wish to establish a PM Camp for project management.

The invitations were sent out through the internet (blogs of the participants, twitter, FB and google+, etc.) and sponsors were sought. It all worked quite well. Soon, we had found enough people who provided the necessary money and after just a few days, 70 project managers had registered.

From the outset, the mood at the PM Camp was great. The discussions were intense, sometimes quite heated. I presume that all participants went home with a sense of content. Not just because they had gained some considerable additional insight, but also because the PM Camp became a special personal experience for each of them.

The Dornbirn PM Camp helped project managers, leaders and entrepreneurs to share their knowledge and experience while at the same time improving their own competence through the knowledge and experience of others.

🙂 Because:”Knowledge and experience are the only raw materials that get more as you share them”.

Thus, an intense dialogue was initiated at Dornbirn. It brought many people together and promoted the building of bridges between institutions and social systems. Some of the participants were so impressed by the PM Camp 11 at Dornbirn that they wanted to initiate more PM Camps of their own.

Consequently, we now have the PM Camp 12 Vie (#pmcamp12vie) in Vienna this week on Friday, June, 15th and Saturday, June, 16th. Of course, the spirit of the Dornbirn PM Camp is prevalent. I will also be in Vienna and look forward to again meeting some friends.

And between November, 8th and November, 10th, the time will again have come for the second PM Camp 12 (#pmcamp12) at Dornbirn! This PM Camp is also something I already very much look forward to. And I know quite a few people who feel the same about it.

Incidentally, the chore team of PM Camp founders met on Saturday, March, 19th in order to discuss the PM Camp future at Dornbirn. Dr. Stefan Hagen had sent the invitations. I was permitted to attend, along with Eileen Hörtreiter, Eberhard Huber, Jens Hoffmann and Dr. Marcus Raitner. We had a wonderful meeting with strong results. We will try to further develop the PM Camp idea.

One of the topics of our brainstorming was about the values we would wish to establish for PM Camps. We soon agreed on a central motive:

“Humans are not Resources!”
(This is about humans, not resources)

For me, this motto is particularly important. Humans should not be considered resources. This is true both for the management of an enterprise and a general at war.

If you consider humans just as resource when making decisions and acting, it can easily happen that they will end up as nothing more than “a means towards an end”. But this is a violation of human rights. If you give up human rights, what you get will be fascism and slavery. You will get barbarity and torture.

But this is not just about humans. In the ”special vocabulary of managers“, you should also be a little more considerate about animals, nature and basically the entire planet (creation?). These properties are not just resources, either. You cannot thoughlessly use them to your heart’s content, or even destroy them.

Not even to create jobs or profit.

During the next few weeks, I will gladly write about the PM Camp (#pmcamp) and its development at regular intervals.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

1 Kommentar zu ““PM Camp” or “Humans are not Resources!””

  1. Chris Wood (Tuesday June 12th, 2012)

    People are resources, but the supply exceeds the demand, and they destroy other resources.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 12. Juni 2012

„PM Camp“ oder „Menschen sind keine Ressourcen!“

Projekte werden von Menschen gemacht!

Deshalb hat ein sich spontan gefundenes Team von Projekt Managern und Unternehmern im November 2011 in Dornbirn das erste PM Camp (#pmcamp11) veranstaltet. Die Initiatoren waren Menschen, die viel mit Projekten zu tun haben. Sie wünschten sich ein freies und unabhängiges Barcamp für Projektmanagement.

Über das Internet (Blogs der Veranstalter, Twitter, FB und Google+ usw.) wurde eingeladen und nach Sponsoren gesucht. Das hat gut geklappt. Schnell wurden ausreichend Geldgeber gefunden und schon nach wenigen Tagen hatten sich 70 Projektmanager angemeldet.

Die Stimmung auf dem PM Camp war von Anfang an toll, die Diskussionen intensiv, teilweise auch kontrovers. Wohl alle Teilnehmer sind hoch zufrieden nach Hause gefahren. Nicht nur, weil sie einen wesentlichen Erkenntnisgewinn gewonnen hatten, sondern weil das PM Camp für sie zu einem besonderen persönlichen Erlebnis wurde.

Das PM Camp in Dornbirn hat Projektmanagern, Führungskräften und Unternehmern geholfen, ihr Wissen und ihre Erfahrung zu teilen und an dem Wissen und der Erfahrung anderer teilzuhaben.

🙂 Denn:“Wissen und Erfahrung sind die einzigen Rohstoffe, die durch Teilen mehr werden“.

So entstand in Dornbirn ein intensiver Dialog, der viele Menschen verbunden und dem Brückenbau in und zwischen Institutionen und sozialen Systemen gedient hat. Ein paar Teilnehmer waren vom PM Camp 11 in Dornbirn so begeistert, dass sie selbst weitere PM Camps veranstalten wollen.

So findet diese Woche in Wien das PM Camp 12 Vie (#pmcamp12vie) vom Freitag 15. bis zum Samstag, den 16. Juni statt. Natürlich ganz im Geiste des PM Camps von Dornbirn. In Wien bin ich auch dabei und freue mich schon auf ein Wiedersehen.

Und am 8. – 10. November ist es wieder so weit. Da findet das zweite PM Camp  in Dornbirn, das PM Camp 12 (#pmcamp12) statt! Auch auf dieses PM Camp freue ich mich schon sehr – und kenne viele, denen es genauso geht.

Am Samstag, den 19. März, hat sich übrigens das Kernteam der Gründer von PM Camp in Dornbirn getroffen, um für die Zukunft der PM Camps zu arbeiten. Dr. Stefan Hagen hatte eingeladen. Ich durfte gemeinsam mit Eileen Hörtreiter, Eberhard Huber, Jens Hoffmann und Dr. Marcus Raitner teilnehmen. Es war ein wunderbares Meeting mit starken Ergebnissen. Wir werden versuchen, die Idee der PM Camps weiter auszubauen.

Ein Thema unseres Brainstorming waren die Werte, die wir uns für PM Camps wünschen. Auf einen zentralen Leitsatz haben wir uns ganz schnell geeinigt:

„Mensch sind keine Ressourcen!“
(Es geht um Menschen, nicht um Ressourcen)

Dieser Leitsatz ist mir besonders wichtig. Menschen dürfen nicht als Ressourcen betrachtet werden. Nicht vom Management im Unternehmen und nicht vom General im Krieg.

Wird der Mensch bei Entscheidungen und Handeln nur als Ressource gesehen, so passiert es nur zu schnell, dass er ausschließlich auf ein “Mittel zum Zweck” reduziert wird. Genau das aber ist ein Verstoß gegen die Menschenwürde. Die Aufgabe der Menschenwürde führt zu Faschismus und Sklaverei. Zu Unmenschlichkeit und Folter.

Aber es geht nicht nur um die Menschen. In der “Denke der Manager” sollte man auch mit Tieren, der Natur und letztlich unserem Planeten (der Schöpfung ?) ein wenig achtsamer umgehen. Auch diese sind keine Ressourcen, die man beliebig nutzen und gar vernichten darf.

Auch nicht für Arbeitsplätze und Profit.

Gerne werde ich in den nächsten Wochen immer wieder über PM Camp (#pmcamp) und seine Entwicklung berichten.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

1 Kommentar zu “„PM Camp“ oder „Menschen sind keine Ressourcen!“”

  1. Chris Wood (Dienstag, der 12. Juni 2012)

    People are resources, but the supply exceeds the demand, and they destroy other resources.

Kommentar verfassen

*