Roland Dürre
Monday April 27th, 2015

Project & Product – #PMCampSTR

pmcampstrThe Stuttgart PM-Camp (Hashtag #PMCampSTR) will take place from May, 7th through May, 9th, 2015 at the Stuttgart “Hochschule der Medien” – and I already look forward to being part of it. I bought both the admission and train ticket and made my reservation for the room at the Commundo.

The team in charge of organising the event chose “Project and Product” as their title. This is how the Stuttgart Organizational Team wants to open its PM-Camp for interested persons outside the classical field of project management, for example for IKT (information and communication technologies), as well. Using the term “product”, for instance, they aim at engineers who build high-end products.

What is a project?

Let me cite Wikipedia:

A project is a goal-oriented, one-time proposition consisting of a number of coordinated and controlled activities. It has both a clearly defined beginning and an end and will be realized taking into consideration all necessary restrictions with respect to time, resources (such as money/cost, production and work conditions, employees) and quality in order to attain a goal .[1]

This definition, which in my opinion is a rather simplified view, of “project” means:

  • Every project has a beginning (project start).
  • Every project has an end (deadline for completion).
  • The desired results have been defined as project goals.
  • All resources to be used are pre-defined.
  • The project goal must be attained on time.
  • The planned resources must not be exceeded.
  • There is a plan: the project plan.
  • The milestones defined in the planning are to be adhered to.

As I see it, projects only deserve the name if they cause a considerable change or if they create something really innovative or new. And that tells you at first glance that something is obviously wrong with the above definition.

Regardless of excellent planning, we witness massive deviations from the goal with the resources often being enormously exceeded, even with simple engineering projects. The reason is probably that even tasks that sound simple have a surprising complexity.

Innovative Change!

The situation gets worse if we are talking projects that are supposed to creatively influence all kinds of social systems and the evolution that happens anyway. If you look at the way a project is described, you will realize that the motto “close your eyes and do is hands-on” is something you are basically forced to apply. In the process, you will not be able to integrate new and better findings into the developing project path at all times.

Even in retrospect, it will be hard to judge the causal connections between measures and their effect (usefulness?). So how is anybody supposed to do so in advance? Basically, innovative change is not something you can just plan linearly. Instead, you have to find a soft and agile way to reconcile change and permanent developments.

Consequently, projects are a contradiction to innovation. Innovation is creative destruction. Which is something that will additionally make the enemies of change interested, especially if they are parties concerned with the intended change. That will make it even harder.

Projects as a part of change?

Hence, I find a definition of project more appealing if it considers a project as one of many integrated parts of a continuing process of change and improvement. Controlled change is supposed to generate useful results. Basically, I consider all well-thought-through activities designed to change or influence developments projects. To me, it does not matter if the project is actually “tangible” or if it renders abstract “virtual” results.

What is a product?

The planning, development, and production of a product, as well as its marketing, sales, support and service are the result of many small and bigger projects. They are all multi-dimensionally linked and thus connected to form a multi-dimensional “mega project”. You will want to remember phrases such as network, dynamics, learning, trial and error, innovation… But then, this is not only true for the tangible product, but also for services.

Box product or service?

So a product might be a tangible object – meaning something you can “touch” – which has been developed by an organisation with engineering competence and in huge quantities. It is also “sold” to either many customers or produced individually and “on demand” in small numbers. As a general rule, such products need to be complemented by a support service if they are supposed to be a market success and generate a “sustainable business”.

However, a product may also be a service rendered at the customer’s place or for the customer by persons who acquired special qualifications and “best practice” with their organisation. Those qualifications are usually the result of decades of personal and collective learning.

Creating a “tangible” product might actually necessitate more projects than creating a “virtual” product.

The difference it makes for an entrepreneur.

Sometimes there is a huge difference for the entrepreneur between designing a “true” product enterprise and an enterprise the product of which is offering a special service.

For instance, whenever selling a “true” product, the entrepreneur should keep in mind that feedback from the customers and from the market usually takes a lot longer than if he offers a service. More often than not, you will invest long-term into a “true” product that still has to prove its value on the market. In that sense, such a product is easier to scale in case of success than a service. But then, it also involves a higher risk.

If you sell a service, you will have your feedback rather quickly, which also means that you can learn from mistakes and perhaps change your strategy.

Well, that is about all I can think of when it comes to product and project. Except that projects, basically, are the small modules of our lives. All conscious decisions for behaviour that makes a relevant difference – for yourself or for the market – are in some way projects.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Montag, der 27. April 2015

Projekt & Produkt – #PMCampSTR

pmcampstrDas PM-Camp Stuttgart (Hashtag #PMCampSTR) findet vom 7. bis 9. Mai an der Hochschule der Medien in Stuttgart statt. Ich freue mich, dass ich dabei sein kann. Ticket und Fahrkarte sind gekauft und das Zimmer im Commundo ist reserviert.

Das Team, das diese Veranstaltung organisiert, hat als Überschrift fürs Camp „Projekt und Produkt“ gewählt. Das Stuttgarter Orgateam will sein PM-Camp so auch für Teilnehmer jenseits des klassischen Projekt Managements z.B. der IKT (Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie) öffnen. So soll der Begriff „Produkt“ auch Ingenieure ansprechen, die anspruchsvolle Produkte bauen.

Was ist ein Projekt?

Ich zitiere aus Wikipedia:

Ein Projekt ist ein zielgerichtetes, einmaliges Vorhaben, das aus einem Satz von abgestimmten, gelenkten Tätigkeiten mit Anfangs- und Endtermin besteht und durchgeführt wird, um unter Berücksichtigung von Zwängen bezüglich Zeit, Ressourcen (zum Beispiel Geld bzw. Kosten, Produktions- und Arbeitsbedingungen, Personal) und Qualität ein Ziel zu erreichen.[1]

Diese wie ich meine veraltete Definition von „Projekt“ bedeutet folgendes:

  • Jedes Projekt hat einen Anfang (Projektstart).
  • Jedes Projekt hat ein Ende (Fertigstellungstermin).
  • Die gewünschten Ergebnisse sind als Projektziel festgelegt.
  • Alle einzusetzenden Ressourcen sind vorgegeben.
  • Das Projektziel muss termingerecht erreicht werden.
  • Die geplanten Ressourcen dürfen nicht überzogen werden.
  • Es gibt eine Planung, den Projekt-Plan.
  • Die Meilensteine der Planung sind einzuhalten.

Nach meiner Meinung dürfen sichProjekte nur dann „Projekt“ nennen, wenn sie Wesentliches verändern oder bewirken und wirklich etwas Innovatives oder Neues schaffen. Und schon sieht man, dass mit der Definition da irgendetwas nicht stimmen kann.

Trotz bester Planung erleben wir selbst bei einfachen Ingenieurs-Projekten massive Zielabweichungen mit oft unglaublicher Überschreitung der benötigten Ressourcen. Die Ursache dürfte sein, dass mittlerweile auch Aufgaben, die ziemlich simpel klingen, eine erstaunliche Komplexität in sich tragen.

Innovative Veränderung!

Noch schwieriger ist es, wenn es um Projekte geht, die kreativen Einfluss auf soziale Systeme aller Art und auf die sowieso stattfindende Evolution nehmen sollen. Die beschriebene „Projektdenke“ zwingt förmlich dazu, dem Motto folgend „Augen zu und mit voller Kraft durch“ zu handeln. Und dabei ist man nicht in der Lage, neue und bessere Erkenntnisse permanent in den weiteren Projektweg zu integrieren.

Sogar im Rückblick ist es schwierig, die kausalen Zusammenhänge von Maßnahmen und deren Wirkung (Nutzen?) zu bewerten. Wie soll das dann „im voraus“ gelingen? Innovative Veränderung kann man also nicht einfach so geradeaus durchplanen, sondern muss die Maßnahmen behutsam und agil mit der laufenden Entwicklung in Einklang bringen.

Projekte stehen also im Widerspruch zu Innovation. Innovation ist kreative Zerstörung. Dies mobilisiert dann auch noch zusätzlich die Gegner der Veränderung, besonders die von der Zerstörung betroffenen. Das erschwert es dann noch weiter.

Projekte als Teil von Veränderung?

So ist mir eine Definition von Projekt lieber, die ein Projekt als einen integrierten Teil von vielen eines kontinuierlichen Veränderungs- und Verbesserungsprozess beschreibt. Die gesteuerte Veränderung soll nützliche Ergebnisse bringen. Ist für mich doch jede wohl durchdachte Aktivität, die verändern und Entwicklungen beeinflussen will, ein Projekt, ganz gleich um es hier um konkrete „unfassbare“ oder abstrakte „virtuelle“ Ergebnisse geht.

Was ist ein Produkt?

Die Planung, Entwicklung, Herstellung eines Produkts ist wie seine Vermarktung, der Verkauf desselbigen, Support und Service das Ergebnis von vielen kleinen und größeren Projekten, die multidimensional vernetzt sind und so zusammen wirken. Ein Produkterfolg wird so immer auf einer Vielzahl kleiner und größerer Projekte, also einem mehrdimensionalen „Mega-Projekt“ beruhen. Stichworte mögen hier sein Vernetzung, Dynamik, Lernen, Versuchen, Verwerfen, Neumachen … Aber das gilt nicht nur für das physische Produkt sondern genauso für Dienstleistungen.

Kistenware oder Dienstleistung?

Ein Produkt kann also ein physischer Gegenstand – sprich eine „anfassbare“ Ware – sein, die von einer Organisation ingenieurmäßig entwickelt, in großer Serie produziert und so vielen Kunden „verkauft“ oder in kleiner Losgröße (n = 1) für ihn individuell und „on-demand“ hergestellt wird. Solche Produkte müssen in der Regel durch ein Support- und Serviceangebot ergänzt werden, um erfolgreich am Markt bestehen und „nachläufiges Geschäft“ ermöglichen zu können.

Ein Produkt kann aber auch eine Dienstleistung sein, die beim oder für den Kunden von Menschen erbracht wird, die gemeinsam mit ihrer Organisation eine besondere Qualifikation und „best practice“ erworben haben, welche das Ergebnis eines über Jahrzehnte statt gefundenen persönlichen wie kollektiven Lernprozess sind.

So könnte das Kreieren eines „physischen“ Produkts augenscheinlich mehr Projekte erfordern als eines „virtuellen“.

Der Unterschied für den Unternehmer.

Für den Unternehmer könnte es einen wesentlichen Unterschied machen, ob er ein „echtes“ Produkt-Unternehmen aufbaut oder ein Unternehmen, das als Produkt eine spezifizierte Dienstleistung anbietet.

Zum Beispiel sollte er beim „echten“ Produkt daran denken, dass das Feedback von den Kunden und vom Markt in der Regel viel später kommt als bei einer Dienstleistung. So werden hier oft langfristig hohe Investitionen in ein „echtes“ Produkt, dass sich dann am Markt erst bewähren muss. Insofern scheint ein solches Produkt im Erfolgsfall besser skalierbar zu sein als die Dienstleistung aber eben auch riskanter.

Bei der Dienstleistung dagegen wird ihn das Feedback wesentlich frühzeitiger erreichen, so dass er zeitnäher seine Schlüsse ziehen und gegensteuern kann.

PMCampSTR_Logo-150🙂 So richtig viel mehr fällt mir zu Produkt und Projekt jetzt nicht ein. Nur dass Projekte eigentlich die kleinen Module unseres Lebens sind. Jede bewusste Entscheidung für eine Handlung, die relevant verändert – sei es einen selber oder die Umwelt – ist irgendwie ein Projekt.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*