Roland Dürre
Friday September 26th, 2014

”Project: Without War” or “My Project #nowar!”

I started this article on my way back home from the 2014 Berlin PM Camp (#pmcamp14ber) in the train. It was meant to document my sessions on the Camp between June, 20th and June, 22nd, 2014. And tonight, on the second day of my bike trip from Toblach to Maribor along the river Drau, I finally manage to finish it.

On the 2014 Berlin PM Camp (#pmcamp14ber) I “disburdened my heart”, proposing and conducting a session on the “Project Peace!“. For me personally, this session meant new frontiers. Consequently, I was grateful that the participants were not too critical and tolerated my weaknesses during the session. After all, this is what is so nice about many barcamps and also about the PM Camp: people listen carefully, yet they are tolerant.

I came up with a few theses during the session, offered some personal ideas and tried to create awareness for this world’s main dilemma: war. Above all, I asked many questions. This was because I wanted us all to find answers and to discover how we all and each of us individually can act towards peace. In all kinds of projects – every day and very individually.

Here is the short report of my session on “peace” from the Berlin PM Camp, followed by my first thesis of the session:

If we want to live in a world of peace, we all – individually and collectively, locally and globally – have to behave friendly and act in the interest of peace.

So here is my first question:

Is a world and society in peace really such an unimaginable utopia?


Let me remind you of a sentence I already found fascinating when I was quite young:
Imagine they declare war and nobody goes there!

The opinions of the participants on how high the chances for peace were differed hugely. As I see it, a slim majority shared my opinion: it is imaginable to have a society where life in peace is possible both internally and externally. Others believed that human nature and war are simply inseparable. When I heard this argument, my reply was that in that case “human nature” would have to change, just like individual persons and the society as a collective mass of persons will have to change.

I personally believe this is possible. More questions of mine were:

Why do we frivolously subordinate our behaviour to unimportant goals? 
Why do we always have to be right? 
Why do you always find this “self-righteousness of the just ones”? 
Why do we so often fight for unimportant things, at the same time forgetting what is really important to us? 
Why do we demand “punishment” when in reality we almost always mean “revenge”?
Why do we always plunder our resources in such a ruthless way and later try to steal what we no longer have from others?

After all, it is exactly this kind of thinking and behaviour which – so it seems to me – directly or indirectly causes “war”.

This, too, was a statement that triggered off totally different reactions among the participants. Especially the topic of “punishment and revenge” was discussed at great length. One of the questions was also if and to what extent punishment should be an indispensable part of “education”, also why/if force has to be the “ultima ratio” in politics? Maybe most of this world’s societies are actually “archaic force systems”? And maybe even our “developed” and “enlightened society” still is guilty in this sense in some areas?

My next theory was that, even if total peace is a utopia, we must still work towards it at all times. There are many rational reasons for this. And since the dangers humanity is facing are so immense, we simply cannot afford to waste our strength in wars. Basically, this is a rather reasonable approach, isn’t it?

Besides, some utopias in the past actually became reality. Just think of women’s rights. Not too long ago, they were not permitted to study at university – and the right to vote was truly utopian for women. The French Revolution, too, was just for men. And the first woman to demand exactly those rights for women was beheaded – by the revolutionaries!

During the session, I finally came up with the following statement:
As I see it, we need (to give) a purpose for social systems such as enterprises to be a success. And this is also necessary if we want our personal lives to be a success. How can anybody become a happy person without a purpose? Through all my life, this was what I believed. Consequently, I always tried to find a purpose in my life and my enterprises. Today, I see it a little differently. In fact, now I believe that, both in life and always, what matters is not having a purpose. What actually matters is the effect!

Let me re-formulate this: 


Effect has priority over purpose.

(Perhaps the effect will then automatically show you the purpose).

Today, I believe that, basically, there is only one true purpose to life. And that is to work towards peace. Simply because there is nothing more important. Consequently, I believe: 
We all have to take part in working towards peace!

Well, obviously, this is also true for me, which is why I initiated the session. In fact, I believe I should have done so a long time ago. Now I wish to catch up by as much as possible and fight my ignorance. Consequently, I am looking for comrades in arms who might be able and willing to help me. I would like to strongly rely on the young generation, the so-called “generation y”. This generation gives me hope, because it believes in the following values:

Consideration, acceptance, appreciation, eye-level, honour, enlightenment, joy, shared experiences, harmony, individualism, life, love, courage, purpose, respect, sharing, wealth, understanding, contentedness.

And all these values do not go with war.

Except: life is full of conflicts (I wonder why). Consequently, we need the competence to deal with conflicts. So we found a few rules during our session:

First rule:
Serenity: never join a conflict that is not worthy of it.

Second Rule:
Stop hating! You simply need to remember the “paradox of hatred”: Those who hate want to destroy someone else, yet they always only destroy themselves.

So what do we need in order to gain peace?

Education, learning, experience, joy, courage, responsibility, knowledge.

How can we gain this?

During the session, we came up with the following results:

Let us never forget that there is no absolute truth, only certainty!

Let us always question “collective constructs” and the “absolute truth”!

Let us replace enmity by philanthropy! 
Let us work towards social consensus.

Let us teach the people to behave “ethically responsible”.

We can succeed through civil courage and constructive disobedience. Let us all fight against “moral flippancy”. 
And let us always remember ourselves and our personal happiness. We can all learn and practice happiness.But it will not happen while we win over others or constantly increase our consumer habits.

However, we also talked about “being able to afford working towards peace”! Subsequently, we discusses if it is possible to modify our projects in this sense. And perhaps if we even could start peace projects.

The general agreement was that only a true grass root movement can bring peace. And that it will definitely not do any good to just join some Easter Peace March. Instead, we need persons who are seriously willing to work towards peace. Like John Lennon did. However, we also said that you have to be able to afford working towards peace. And that this is nowhere near as easy as it looks.

    Here is my personal summary of the session:

  • Minimize damage! Avoid collateral damage! Break the vicious circle of force..
  • Do good! You will find that collateral benefit follows suit!
  • Respect other persons and their opinions!
  • Never practice vengeance!
  • Honour and appreciate yourself – because only those who value themselves will also appreciate (like, love, accept,…) others. And those who manage to do so will not start or like war.
  • Contribute as far as possible towards the increase, rather than decrease, in many dimensions of your own and other person’s personal lives.
  • Always treat others at eye-level and with respect..
  • Always make other persons look bigger, rather than smaller.
    (Making others small might well mean you turn others into beggars).

I believe:

All these things must work both on a small and on a huge scale. If we can manage peace individually, then we will also succeed in bringing it to the systems we support.
The real challenge lies in our daily behaviour. Every one of us can and must contribute. The longer your lever because you are a manager, an entrepreneur or otherwise in a position where your ideas multiply, the more effect you can have! And the greater is your obligation to work towards peace.

Consequently, my vision for what should always motivate us is: 
All our projects promote peace. Both interior and exterior peace. And if some projects do not do so, let us re-define them! Let us make them peace projects.

Why should this not work out? How can we get there? Aren’t those some good questions for the next PM Camp?

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.

I see quite a few encouraging factors. For instance the history of WW-1 (yesterday evening, I browsed through a program which illustrated battlefields of WW-1. Again, I felt how all this carnage is quite pointless).

The generally accepted tale about WW-1 is that the people in Germany and Austria actually wanted war. That is what I learned at school and never understood as a young boy.

Today, current historical research teaches me that this statement is simply wrong. The proof was manipulated at the time and later on simply taken at face value. Perhaps WW-1 was also history’s first media war. And the media were controlled by the powerful ruling “elite”. Consequently, the media did everything to boost and then document the war enthusiasm.

However, the majority of “simple” citizens never wanted war. Only some of them allowed themselves to be manipulated and went onto the streets to join the cries for war. And later, all of them had to pay a bitter price.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Freitag, der 26. September 2014

„Projekte ohne Krieg“ oder „Mein Projekt #nowar!“

Diesen Artikel habe ich im Zug auf der Heimfahrt vom PM-Camp Berlin 2014 (#pmcamp14ber) am 20. – 22. Juni 2014 begonnen, um meine Session beim Camp zu dokumentieren. Und heute am Abend des zweiten Tages meiner Radtour von Toblach nach Maribor entlang der Drau habe ich es endlich geschafft und ihn fertiggestellt.

Auf dem PM-Camp Berlin 2014 (#pmcamp14ber) habe ich „mein Herz ausgeschüttet“ und eine Session “Projekt Frieden!“ vorgeschlagen und gehalten. Mit dieser Session habe ich persönlich Neuland betreten. So war ich dankbar, dass die Teilnehmer mit mir Nachsicht hatten und manche Schwächen der Session toleriert haben. Aber das ist ja das schöne an vielen Barcamps und auch am PM-Camp, dass die Menschen genau zu hören und dennoch tolerant sind.

In der Session habe ich ein paar Thesen aufgestellt, persönlichen Gedanken offenbart und versucht, Bewusstsein für das Haupt-Dilemma der Welt – dem Krieg – zu schaffen. Vor allem habe ich viele Fragen gestellt. Um diese gemeinsam zu beantworten und herauszufinden, wie wir persönlich für Frieden handeln können. In unseren Projekten aller Art – täglich und ganz persönlich.

Hier der kurze Bericht von meiner Session „Frieden“ vom PM-Camp Berlin und gleich meine erste These der Session:

Wenn wir in einer Welt des Friedens leben wollen, müssen wir alle – individuell wie kollektiv, lokal wie global – uns friedlich verhalten und im Sinne des Friedens handeln.

Und dazu meine erste Frage:
Ist eine Welt und Gesellschaft voller Frieden wirklich eine unerreichbare Utopie?
mit dem Hinweis auf einen Satz, der mich schon in jungen Jahren begeistert hat:

Stelle Dir vor, es ist Krieg und keiner geht hin!

Die Einschätzung der Teilnehmer zur Erreichbarkeit von Frieden war sehr unterschiedlich. Ich meine, dass die knappe Mehrheit meiner Meinung war, dass eine Gesellschaft, die nach außen wie nach innen im Frieden lebt, vorstellbar und möglich wäre. Andere meinten, dass das menschliche Wesen an sich und der Krieg untrennbar wären. Ein Argument, dem ich entgegnet habe, dass sich dann das „menschliche Wesen“ halt ändern und sich genauso Menschen und die Gesellschaft als Kollektivität von Menschen dann eben ändern müsse.

Ich persönlich halte das für möglich. Weiter Fragen von mir waren:

Warum ordnen wir unser Handeln leichtfertig unwichtigen Zielen unter?
Warum müssen wir immer Recht haben?
Warum gibt es immer diese „Selbstgerechtigkeit der Gerechten“?
Warum kämpfen wir so oft um Unwichtiges und vergessen das für uns Wichtige?
Warum fordern wir „Bestrafung“ und meinen damit fast immer „Rache“?
Warum plündern wir unsere Ressourcen immer so rücksichtslos und versuchen diese dann anderen wegzunehmen?

Denn genau solches Denken und Tun scheint mir direkt und indirekt in den „Krieg“ zu führen.

Auch hier gab es in der Runde ganz verschiedene Bewertungen. Gerade das Thema „Bestrafung und Rache“ wurde intensiv diskutiert. Dabei war auch die Frage, inwieweit Bestrafung zwingender Bestandteil von „Erziehung“ sein müsse und Gewalt die „ultima ratio“ von Politik? Ob die meisten Gesellschaften dieser Welt de fakto nicht „archaische Gewaltssysteme“ sind? Ob das nicht sogar für die unsere „entwickelte“ und „aufgeklärte Gesellschaft“ in vielen Bereichen noch zutrifft?

Mein nächste These war, dass selbst wenn der große Friede eine Utopie wäre, wir trotzdem für ihn arbeiten müssen. Ganz einfach aus vielen rationalen Gründen. Und weil die Bedrohungen für die Menschheit so groß wären, dass wir uns nicht leisten können, unsere Kraft in Kriegen zu verschwenden. Das ist doch nur vernünftig gedacht.

Zudem gab es Utopien, die wahr geworden sind. Man denke an die Rechte der Frau. Vor gar nicht zu langer Zeit durften sie nicht an die Hochschulen und das Recht „zu wählen“ war für Frauen mehr als utopisch. Die französische Revolution war auch nur für die Männer da, und die erste Frau, die genau dieselben Forderungen für Frauen erhob, wurde enthauptet – von den Revolutionären!

In der Session habe ich schließlich folgende Aussage gemacht:
Ich meine, dass eine Sinn(gebung) für das Gelingen sozialer Systeme wie Unternehmen notwendig ist. Und dass dies auch für das Gelingen eines personalen Lebens notwendig ist. Wie kann ich ohne Sinn glücklich werden? Dies habe ich mein Leben lang lang vertreten und so versucht für mein Leben und meine Unternehmungen einen Sinn zu finden. Heute sehe ich das ein wenig anders und meine, dass es im Leben wie auch sonst nicht um den Sinn geht. Sondern um die Wirkung!

Ich würde das gerne so formulieren:
Die Wirkung geht vor den Sinn.
(Eventuell ergibt sich dann aus der Wirkung ein Sinn)

Heute glaube ich, dass es nur einen Lebenssinn gibt, und der ist, für den Frieden zu wirken. Ganz einfach, weil es nichts Wichtigeres gibt. Also denke ich mir:
Wir alle müssen für den Frieden wirken!

Das gilt dann auch für mich und das war der Grund für meine Session. Und ich meine, das hätte ich schon viel früher machen sollen. Jetzt möchte ich so viel wie möglich davon nachholen und meine Ignoranz wett machen. So suche ich Verbündete, die mir dabei helfen. Da setze ich vor allem auf die junge Generation, die auch „Generation Y“ genannt wird. Sie macht mir Hoffnung, weil sie folgende Werte hat:

Achtsamkeit, Akzeptanz, Anerkennung, Augenhöhe, Ehre, Erkenntnis, Freude, Fairness, Gemeinsamkeit, Harmonie, Individuelle, Leben, Liebe, Mut, Sinn, Rücksichtnahme, Teilen, Wohlstand, Verständnis, Zufriedenheit.

Und diese Werte so gar nicht zu Krieg passen.

Nur: Das Leben besteht aus Konflikten (Warum eigentlich?). Also brauchen wir Konfliktfähigkeit. Und wir haben in der Session ein „paar Regeln“ gefunden:

Erste Regel:
Gelassenheit: Gehe in keinen Konflikt, der es nicht wert ist.

Zweite Regel:
Höre auf zu hassen! Denke einfach immer an das „Paradoxon des Hasses“:
Wer hasst, will jemand anderem vernichten, vernichtet sich aber nur selber.

Was brauchen wir dann, um Frieden zu erreichen?
Ausbildung, Bildung, Erfahrung, Freude, Mut, Verantwortung, Wissen

Wie erreichen wir das?

Folgende Ergebnisse entstanden in der Session:

Wir vergessen nie, dass es keine Wahrheit sondern nur Gewissheit gibt!
Wir stellen „kollektive Konstrukte“ und „absolute Wahrheit“ in Frage!
Wir setzen Menschenfreundlichkeit an Stelle von Feindseligkeit!
Wir erarbeiten sozialem Konsens.
Wir bilden die Menschen in der Fähigkeit aus, „ethisch“ zu handeln.

Dies schaffen wir mit Zivilcourage und konstruktivem Ungehorsam. So wehren wir uns gegen „moralische Leichtfertigkeit. Und wir denken an uns selber und an unser persönliches Glück. Wir können lernen und üben, glücklich zu sein. Aber nicht durch das Besiegen anderer wie auch nicht durch Konsum.

Wir haben aber auch besprochen, dass man „es sich leisten können muss, für den Frieden zu wirken!“

Diskutiert wurde dann, ob wir unsere Projekte in diesem Sinne umfunktionieren können? Und eventuell sogar Friedensprojekte starten können.

Die vorherrschende Meinung war, dass nur eine echte Graswurzelbewegung Frieden schaffen kann. Und das es nicht ausreicht, an Ostern auf eine Friedens-Demo gehen. Sondern dass es Menschen braucht, die bereit sind, ernsthaft für den Frieden zu arbeiten. Wie das ein John Lennon gemacht hat.

Wir haben aber auch besprochen, dass wir es uns leisten können müssen, für den Frieden zu arbeiten. Und dass das gar nicht so einfach ist.

    Hier noch mal meine persönliche Zusammenfassung aus der Session:

  • Schaden minimieren! Kollateral-Schaden vermeiden! Die Spirale der Gewalt zu durchbrechen.
  • Gutes Tun! Kollateralnutzen ergibt sich dann von selber!
  • Andere Menschen und ihre Meinungen zu respektieren!
  • Auf Rache verzichten!
  • Sich selbst ehren und achten – denn nur wer sich selbst wertschätzt, kann andere Wertschätzen (mögen, lieben, akzeptieren …). Und der wird keinen Krieg machen oder mögen.
  • Soweit möglich beitragen, dass sich eigenes und fremdes personales Leben in seinen vielen Dimensionen eher mehren denn mindern kann.
  • Immer mit Augenhöhe und Respekt leben.
  • Andere Menschen immer größer und nicht kleiner machen.
    (Kleiner machen kann auch bedeuten, andere zu Bittstellern zu machen).

Ich meine:
Das alles muss im Kleinen wie im Großen gelingen. Gelingt uns der Frieden nicht individuell, dann werden wir ihn auch nicht in den von uns getragenen Systemen erreichen.

Die Herausforderung ist das Tun im täglichen Handeln. Jeder kann und muss etwas beitragen. Je größer der eigene Hebel ist, weil man Manager, Unternehmer oder in einer ansonst multiplikativen Position ist, desto mehr kann man erreichen! Und desto größer wird die Pflicht, für Frieden zu wirken.

Also wäre meine handlungsleitende Vision:
Alle unsere Projekte dienen dem Frieden. Dem Inneren wie dem Äußeren. Und wenn sie es nicht tun, dann lasst sie uns umfunktionieren! In Friedensprojekte.

Warum sollte das nicht möglich sein? Wie kommen wir dort hin? Das könnten doch gute Fragen für das nächste PM-Camp sein!

RMD

P.S.
Für mich gibt es eine Reihe von Ermunterungen. Zum Beispiel die Geschichte des 1. Weltkriegs (gestern und heute habe ich eine Reihe von Schlachtfeldern auch dem brutalen 1. Weltkrieg gestreift und wieder die Sinnlosigkeit dieses Schlachtens gefühlt):

Die Saga zum 1. Weltkrieg ist, dass die Menschen in Deutschland und Österreich den Krieg wollten. So habe ich es in der Schule gelernt und dies in jungen Jahren nicht verstanden.

Heute lerne ich von der aktuellen Geschichtsforschung, dass diese Aussage falsch ist. Die zeitgenössischen Beweise wurden manipuliert und dann in späteren Jahren ernstgenommen. Der erste Weltkrieg war gleichzeitig wohl auch der erste Medienkrieg in der Geschichte. Und die Medien wurden von der herrschenden „Elite“ kontrolliert, die an der Macht waren. So haben die Medien alles getan um die Kriegsbegeisterung zu schüren und dann zu dokumentieren.

Die Mehrheit der „einfachen“ Menschen wollten aber keinen Krieg, nur ein Teil davon ließ sich manipulieren und ging auf den Straßen um zu jubeln. Und dafür mussten später alle bitter büßen.

Kommentar verfassen

*