I turn more and more into an “active mobile person”; in other words: more and more often, I use my own physical energy in order to get to my destination. Also, I now initiated a new personal mobility program for my life. It is called “Away From the Bike”. Simply because I discovered that it can also be quite nice to walk.

My (not so old) winter bike now has almost 10,000 kilometres showing on its tachometer – and I never really liked it. When I recently discovered that my Utopia dream model “LONDON” is now available for a fantastic price as a special bargain “Classic Line”, I gave in to temptation. And the consumption devil took hold of me; I ordered a very basic “Utopia London” – albeit with a Rohloff gearshift.

328_Klassik_Line_111003You get the rather full program, including the 14-G. Rohloff for a price of 2,359.00 Euros. Considering that we are talking an Utopia London with its beautiful steel-cross-frame, this price is almost sensational. But then, the special price is only valid until the end of January.

Reading the technical details, the weight of the bike strikes me: 16.8 kilograms for a permitted total weight of 180 kilograms, which means 160 kilograms of loading weight.

And then I think that 16.8 kilograms is quite a lot, isn’t it? But then, touring bikes with full equipment usually are in that range.

I continue with my calculations. If one bike weighs 16.8 kilograms, then 10 bikes will weigh 168 kilograms. And ten times ten, which is a hundred bikes, will weigh 1,680 kilograms. And then I remember that a normal medium-size vehicle in the auto-mobile (that is: non-active mobile) sector is about as heavy as a hundred of these beautiful Utopia bikes. And that mostly these vehicles also just carry one person.

Incidentally, a hundred bikes are quite many. In order to get an idea, I think about how I would stow a hundred of these bikes on my now smaller property: 10 bikes on my driveway, 10 next to the garden cottage, ten next to the compost heap, 10 on the chess board, … now it gets a little tight. And I still have fifty to stow. Our guest bedrooms will probably also have to serve.

Just out of fun, I continue with my calculations. If I divide 2,359 Euros by 16.8 kilograms, the bike price per kilogram is 140.42 Euros. Compared with this, the car price per kilogram is actually quite cheap. If you take a price of 13,000 Euros for a medium-size car of 1,680 kilograms, you get 17.86 Euros per kilogram (and if you are talking a Daczia for half the price, just half of this!). Basically, this seems rather a low price to me, considering all the steel, electronics, plastic and rare ores and what not that are part of such a car. Not to mention all those five to ten tons of crude oil (source) you need for the production of an automobile.

Damn – riding a bike is rather expensive, isn’t it? How can anybody be so stupid as to buy a bike?

But I continue with my calculations. Our car with a net weight of 1,680 kilograms can usually load no more than around 500 kilograms. Which means that the carrying capacity price is 60 Euros per kilogram. As opposed to this, a hundred Utopias can carry 16,000 kilograms. That is a price of 14.74 per carried kilogram. Now this looks a lot better.

We could continue doing calculations. But then, I would not wish to bother you with it. After all, it is just a joke.

The only thing that is clear is: some way or other, active mobility seems more reasonable than automobile mobility. Except: hiking is even better.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
I took the picture from the website of utopia-velo.de.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Immer mehr werde ich zum „aktiven Mobilen“, d.h. bewege ich mich immer mehr aus eigener Körperkraft zu meinen Zielen. Habe auch ein neues persönliches Mobilitätsprogramm in mein Leben gerufen, das ich „Weg vom Fahrrad“ nenne. Einfach weil ich entdeckt habe, dass zu Fuß gehen auch ganz schön sein kann.

Mein (gar nicht so) altes Winterrad (ein Corratec-Alu-Fahrzeug) hat jetzt schon bald 10.000 km auf dem Tacho und ich es noch nie so gemocht. Wie ich jetzt entdeckt habe, dass es bei Utopia mein Traummodell „LONDON“ zu einem einzigartigen Preis als Sonderangebot „Klassik Line“ gibt, bin ich schwach geworden. Und der Konsumteufel hat mich gepackt; ich habe ein mir ein ganz einfaches „Utopia London“ – allerdings mit einer Rohloff-Schaltung – bestellt.

328_Klassik_Line_111003Das gibt es ziemlich komplett inklusive der 14-G. Rohloff zu einem Grundpreis von 2.359,00 €. Das ist für ein Utopia London mit dem schönen Kreuz-Stahl-Rahmen ein fast sensationeller Preis, wobei es das Angebot auch nur bis Ende Januar gibt.

Wie ich die technischen Daten lese, fällt mir das Gewicht des Fahrrades auf: 16,8 bei einem zulässigen Gesamtgewicht von 180 Kilo, also um die 160 Kilo Nutzgewicht.

Und dann denke ich mir, dass 16,8 Kilo schon ganz schön schwer ist. Aber keine Sorge, voll ausgestattete Tourenräder kommen in der Regel immer in diese Gewichtsklasse.

Ich rechne weiter. Wenn ein Rad 16,8 Kilo wiegt, dann wiegen doch 10 Räder 168 Kilo. Und 10 mal 10 gleich 100 Räder wiegen dann 1.680 Kilo. Und dann fällt mir ein, dass ein normales Mittelklasse-Fahrzeug im auto-mobilen (also nicht aktiv-mobilen Bereich) ziemlich genauso schwer ist wie 100 solcher schöner Utopia-Räder. Und dass mit einem solchen Fahrzeug die meiste Zeit auch nur ein Mensch fährt.

100 Fahrräder sind übrigens ziemlich viele. Um mir das vorstellen zu können, überlege ich mir mal, wie ich 100 solcher Fahrräder auf meinen jetzt kleiner gewordenen Grundstück unterbringen könnte: 10 Fahrräder hier auf die Einfahrt, 10 Fahrräder dort auf die Terasse, 10 Fahrräder neben dem Gartenhaus, 10 neben dem Komposthaufen, 10 auf dem Schachbrett … verdammt es wird eng. Und ich muss immer noch 50 unterbringen. Wahrscheinlich müssen die Gästezimmer dann auch noch daran glauben.

Zum Spaß rechne ich weiter. Wenn ich die 2.359 € durch 16,8 Kilo dividiere komme ich auf einen Fahrrad-Kilopreis von 140,42 €. Da ist der Auto-Kilopreis richtig billig dagegen, bei einem angenommenen Preis von 30.000 € für einen Mittelklassewagen von 1.680 Kilo kommen da nur 17,86 für das „Kilo Auto“ heraus (und bei einem Daczia zum halben Preis nur die Hälfte!). Eigentlich ziemlich wenig, wenn ich mir überlege wie viel Stahl, Elektronik, Plastik, seltene Erden und was weiß ich noch alles in so einem Auto steckt. Ganz zu schweigen von den 5 – 10 Tonnen Öl (Quelle), die für den Bau des Automobils aufgewendet werden mussten.

Verflixt, Radfahren ist teuer. Wie kann man nur so dumm sein, sich ein Fahrrad zu kaufen?

Aber ich rechne weiter. Unser Auto mit dem Leergewicht von 1.680 Kilo hat eine Zuladung von in der Regel bestenfalls so 500 Kilo. Schon steigt der Nutzlast-Kilopreis auf 60 EURO. Die 100 Utopias dagegen schaffen eine Zuladung von 16.000 Kilo. Macht dann nur noch einen Preis von 14,74 pro Nutzlast-Kilo. Sieht doch schon wieder besser aus.

So könnte man weiter rechnen. Damit will ich Euch aber nicht belasten. Ist ja eh alles nur Spaß.

Das einzige was klar ist: Aktive Mobilität ist schon irgendwie vernünftiger als automobile. Nur: Zu Fußgehen ist noch besser.

RMD

P.S.
Das Bild habe ich von Website von utopia-velo.de.

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*