Roland Dürre
Monday February 23rd, 2009

RMD – My Travel Journal #23 – Carnival Monday

Our Third Day: From Gaeto to Naples

We had another day of long distance riding. For the first 50 kilometres, we still had rather high traffic, before we turned right and rode in the direction of Pozzuoli along the coast. Here, traffic was less dense, it was more pleasure riding the bikes.

All of a sudden, we were in the middle of Africa for several kilometres – on the streets, almost everybody’s skin colour was black. And again there were many girls leaving us in no doubt what they were offering. We found that rather thought-provoking.

Again, we rode a total of 105 kilometres, but this time the whether remained at its best all day long. The coastal road with the small pass from Pozuoli to Naples being closed because of a landslide, we had to turn around and ride through the tunnel on the main road. What a tunnel! It is as high as a cathedral. In Naples, we finally found a hotel (Bella Capri – a back packer hotel). Now I am sitting here and finishing my journal of travels for the day – albeit not before having relished another delicious meal with special Napolitan cakes for dessert.

Let me give you an idea of the costs: the ticket Munich – Rome in the double compartment was 500 Euros. Staying overnight was 70 Euros for the fist two nights, and only 60 Euros in Naples. Lunch and dinner was always less than 40 Euros – including wine and water. Tomorrow, we are going by ferry, and then comes the trip from Salerno back to Rome on Friday. As you can see, it adds up. It is quite possible that flying to Tuneais and staying in an “all inclusive” hotel might have been significantly less expensive. But this is somehow nicer, the adventures are more numerous and more intense than they look on paper.

And about the streets: yes, there are many cars in Italy and the Italians always seem to be going somewhere. But if you want to go from Rome to Naples by bike, there is hardly an alternative. We saw many cobbled streets and “mended” roads. Sometimes it feels really bumpy. And if you are riding on the right side of the street, you have to be careful. Since the embankments are rather “unstable”, it can easily happen that you accidentally slip down 20 cm or more – which would probably meant you could not avoid falling from the bike and hurting yourself.

About the hotels: everything is clean and the hosts are all friendly. What is more: all rooms have floors made of tiles or granite – never carpets (I hate the carpets in German hotels)!

Well, now that we have survived the way from Rome to Naples, we are spending the evening in Naples, where the small motorbikes seem to be rolling through all the small and colourfully illuminated alleys. All those altars, all this busy night-life on the streets … it definitely has its charms.

I am content and a little proud to have managed the roughly 280 kilometres from Rome to Naples in a speed that was rather steep for me. Tomorrow morning, we first go to Capri by ship and then on to Sorrentino. So soll es sein, so kann es bleiben!

RMD
(translated be EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Montag, der 23. Februar 2009

RMD – Urlaubstagebuch #23 – Rosenmontag ♫

3. Tag: Von Gaeto nach Neapel

Es wurde wieder ein weiter Weg. Die ersten 50 km waren doch recht verkehrsstark, dann ging es rechts weg, an der Küste entlang in Richtung Pozzuoli. Die Verkehr wurde weniger, die Fahrt angenehmer.

Plötzlich waren wir für mehrere Kilometer in Afrika – fast nur noch Menschen mit schwarzer Hautfarbe auf der Strasse. Und wieder viele Mädels mit eindeutigen Angeboten. Hat uns schon ein wenig berührt.

img_0041

img_0040Dafür wieder 105 km, diesmal aber den ganzen Tag bei schönsten Wetter. Die Küstenstraße mit dem kleinen Pass von Pozzuoli nach Neapel war wegen eines Erdrutsches gesperrt, so mussten wir umkehren und durch den Berg über die Hauptstraße mit Tunnel überwinden. Und was für ein Tunnel – hoch wie eine Kathedrale. In Neapel haben wir dann endlich ein Hotel (Bella Capri – ein Backpacker) gefunden – und so sitze ich hier und mache schnell die Reiseberichte fertig – allerdings erst nach einem köstlichen Essen mit speziellem neapolitanischen Kuchen zum Abschluss.

Vielleicht noch kurz zu den Kosten: Die Fahrkarte nach Rom im Double und zurück kostet gut 500 EURO. Für die Übernachtungen haben wir die ersten beiden Nächte je 70 EURO und in Neapel gar nur 60 EURO gezahlt. Mittagessen und Abendessen war immer unter 40 EURO – mit Wein und Wasser. Morgen fahren wir Schiff, dann kommt noch am Freitag die Heimfahrt von Salerno nach Rom dazu, es läppert sich also so zusammen. Kann gut sein, dass ein „all inclusiv“ Hotel in Tunesien auch inklusive Flug deutlich billiger wäre. Aber irgendwie ist es so schöner, die Erlebnisse sind zahlreicher und intensiver, als ich hier berichten kann.

Und zu den Straßen: Ja, es gibt schon viele Autos in Italien und die Italiener scheinen immer unterwegs zu sein. Aber wenn man Rom – Neapel mit dem Rad machen will, geht es kaum anders. Unterwegs haben wir viel Kopfsteinpflaster und „geflickte“ Straßen gesehen. Es rumpelt oft ganz schön. Und wenn man rechts fährt, muss man aufpassen – zu leicht kann man mal 20 oder mehr cm in die Tiefe rutschen, die Böschung ist oft ziemlich „unbefestigt“ – was wohl zu einem unvermeidlichen Sturz führen würde.

Und zu den Hotels: Alles sauber und nur freundliche Gastgeber. Und: alle Zimmer immer mit Fliesen oder Granit – nie mit Teppichboden (Ich hasse den Teppichboden in deutschen Hotels)!

Aber Rom – Neapel haben wir jetzt zu erstmal gut überstanden. Und heute Abend das Neapel mit den kleinen bunt beleuchteten Gassen, in denen die Mopeds und RollerI nur so herumschwirren. Die vielen Straßenaltäre. Das Treiben auf den Strassen … Das hatte schon etwas.

Ich bin zufrieden und ein wenig stolz, die cirka 280 für mich flotten Kilometern von Rom nach Neapel geschafft zu haben und morgen früh geht es zuerst Mal mit dem Schiff nach Capri und dann weiter nach Sorrentino.

So soll es sein, so kann es bleiben! Vorsicht – Musik!

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*