Roland Dürre
Tuesday February 10th, 2009

Rolling Home – the Small Problems you Face when Going by Train

Yesterday was a good day. I made good use of the morning in the train to do what work had accumulated. Then I met Reinhard Kraasch, my wikipedia mentor face-to-face for the first time and later discussed future plans with Florian Prange. I enjoyed my presentation at Lehmann/GuuG, the audience was nice and competent and we had a really nice discussion afterwards. Afterwards, some of us went for a glass of beer and everybody felt comfortable and loved.

The problems started this morning at 0:15 hours. I was going to take the night train CNL 483 to Munich and cosily make my slow way to home (departure in Hamburg 00:31 hours, arrival in Munich 8:58 hours). That would bring me home to my desk at InterFace in good health and spirits no later than 10:00 o’ clock. .

Then came the unpleasant news: the incoming train from Copenhagen will be late by 100 minutes. So where to go now? At night, you have only two options at Hamburg Central Station, said the nice lady at the information point: either the “Salvation Army” or “McDonalds”. While looking for suitable locations, I met another traveller, a director from the Netherlands who was on his way to the toy fare in Nürnberg and had also booked a place in the sleeping compartment. We decided to wait together. Since we did not really know about the “Salvation Army”, we went for a cup of coffee at McDonalds. On the way there, we saw the display change: the train was going to be 140 minutes late!

At 2.00 hours (about 90 minutes after the train should have arrived), we returned to the information point and asked about the current state of affairs. The same 140 minutes delay as before were confirmed and we went back to drink another cup of coffee at McDonalds. Another 20 minutes later, we thought it prudent to slowly go back – and all we saw of our train were the rear lights! Since there are no loudspeakers in the McDonalds restaurants (as opposed to airports, where you can hear announcements throughout the entire building), we were not the only victims of the train officially having been announced to be 2 hours and 20 minutes late and then coming in less than 2 hours late.

The persons behind the service desk looked a little embarrassed. Allegedly, the train had caught up considerably, but the display never took that up. Unfortunately, there had been no other information for the service persons to give than what they themselves had seen on the monitors. And sincere apologies were made all around that the guests in the “Salvation Army” restaurant had been informed when the train arrived, but that the customers of McDonalds had simply been forgotten. Well – the next connection to Munich would be at 3.18 hours with a change of trains in Fulda.

I was not really motivated to take that connection, so I looked for a hotel and slept a few hours in Hamburg. Now I am sitting in the ICE 785 (departure from Hamburg at 8.03 hours, arrival in Munich 13.39 hours) and enjoying the ministrations of a nice female train attendant. And as soon as this article is written, I will lie down and do some sleeping.

The reason I am relating this is because it is symptomatic for our time. We trust blindly in technical display systems, even though we know that they are often less than reliable. It is not like there were really lots of trains still active during that night in Hamburg and I am sure this particular train is hardly ever that late. Asking specifically for information, like service persons would have done in former times, could certainly have prevented this mistake. But it has become the exception to the rule today to use extra brains and start additional initiatives – maybe it is not even possible any more.

My train is just now arriving in Göttingen. There is an announcement for all departing passengers to exit carefully because the platforms are icy. People requiring additional help must not hesitate to call an attendant (!).

RMD

2 Kommentare zu “Rolling Home – the Small Problems you Face when Going by Train”

  1. Jerry (Thursday February 12th, 2009)

    Mc Donalds, Bildungsmisere Deutschland, Darwin, Lamark,…

    Und ja, diese Schilderung kommt mir irgendwie bekannt vor 😉

    Gruß
    Jerry

  2. rd (Thursday February 12th, 2009)

    Jerry war ein Mitreisender – Roland

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 10. Februar 2009

Rolling Home – die kleinen Probleme mit der Eisenbahn

Gestern war ein guter Tag. Den Vormittag im Zug konnte ich exzellent zum Aufarbeiten nutzen. Dann habe ich Reinhard Kraasch, meinen Mentor bei Wikipedia, das erste Mal persönlich getroffen und mit Florian Prange Pläne geschmiedet. Der Vortrag bei Lehmann/GuuG hat viel Spaß gemacht, die Zuhörer waren sympathisch und kompetent und es entwickelte sich eine wirklich gute Diskussion. Wir haben dann noch in kleiner Runde ein Bier getrunken und uns prächtig verstanden.

Die Probleme gingen heute früh um 0:15 los. Ich wollte mit dem Nachtzug CNL 483 gemütlich nach München schaukeln (Abfahrt in Hamburg 00:31, Ankunft in München 8:58) und so spätestens um 10:00 frisch, munter und wohl gelaunt bei InterFace am Schreibtisch sitzen.

Dann die unangenehme Überraschung: der Zug von Kopenhagen hat eine Verspätung von 100 Minuten. Wo die Zeit verbringen? Nachts gibt es am Hamburger Hauptbahnhof nur 2 warme Lokationen, das sind die „Bahnhofsmission“ und „McDonalds“, so die freundliche Dame am Info-Schalter. Mittlerweile hatte ich einen Mitreisenden kennengelernt, einen Unternehmer aus Holland, der auf dem Wege zur Nürnberger Spielwarenmesse war und auch einen Platz im Schlafwagen gebucht hatte. Wir beschlossen, gemeinsam auf diesen Zug zu warten. Da wir die Bahnhofsmission nicht so richtig einordnen konnten, tranken wir bei McDonalds Kaffee. Auf dem Wege dorthin hat sich die Anzeige geändert: 140 Minuten Verspätung!

Um 2:00 (cirka 90 Minuten nach der planmäßigen Abfahrt) gingen wir wieder zum Infoschalter und fragten die aktuelle Verspätung ab. Die angezeigten 140 Minuten Verspätung wurden uns als weiter gültig bestätigt und wir tranken noch einen Kaffee bei McDonalds. Nach weiteren 20 Minuten brachen wir sicherheitshalber zum Zug auf – und sahen nur noch die Rücklichter! Da es im McDonalds keine Lautsprecher gibt (im Gegensatz zu den Flughäfen, wo die Durchsagen ja überall zu hören sind), waren wir beide nicht die einzigen Opfer des offiziell um 2 Stunden und 20 verspäteten und dann doch zu früh gekommenen Zuges (mit weniger als 2 Stunden Verspätung).

Am Service-Schalter war eine gewisse Betroffenheit zu spüren. Der Zug hätte offensichtlich die Verspätung kräftig aufgeholt, aber die Anzeige wäre so gewesen wie man es uns gesagt hat. Man könne halt nur das sagen, was auf dem Bildschirm stehe. Und man hat sich freundlich entschuldigt, dass man zwar an die Gäste in der „Bahnhofsmission“ gedacht und diese informiert hätte, aber die Kundschaft im McDonalds schlicht vergessen wurde. Ja – und die nächste Reisegelegenheit nach München wäre um 3:18 mit Umsteigen in Fulda.

Das hat mich wirklich nicht mehr so richtig motiviert, deshalb habe ich mir ein Hotel gesucht und in Hamburg ein paar Stunden geschlafen. Jetzt sitze ich im ICE 785 (Abfahrt in Hamburg 8:03, Ankunft 13:39) nach München und werde von einer netten Zugchefin gut betreut. Und wenn ich diesen Artikel geschrieben habe, werde ich eine Runde schlafen.

Ich berichte das, weil es symptomatisch für unsere Zeit ist. Wir vertrauen blind technischen Anzeigesystemen, obwohl wir wissen dass sie oft nicht zuverlässig sind. So richtig viel Züge waren in dieser Nacht in Hamburg nicht mehr unterwegs und die Verspätung war sicher ein extremer Sonderfall. Eine individuelle Anfrage wie wohl früher üblich hätte dieses Missgeschick bestimmt vermieden. Aber Mitdenken und das Starten ergänzender Initiativen ist selten geworden – vielleicht auch gar nicht mehr möglich.

Gerade fährt der Zug in Göttingen ein. Da kam eine Durchsage, in der die aussteigenden Passagiere vor möglicher Glätte auf dem Bahnsteig gewarnt wurden und dass man auch gerne beim Ein- und Aussteigen (!) behilflich sein würde.

RMD

2 Kommentare zu “Rolling Home – die kleinen Probleme mit der Eisenbahn”

  1. Jerry (Donnerstag, der 12. Februar 2009)

    Mc Donalds, Bildungsmisere Deutschland, Darwin, Lamark,…

    Und ja, diese Schilderung kommt mir irgendwie bekannt vor 😉

    Gruß
    Jerry

  2. rd (Donnerstag, der 12. Februar 2009)

    Jerry war ein Mitreisender – Roland

Kommentar verfassen

*