This Friday, which is the last day of September, the Hotel Alpenland at St. Johann i.P. serves a really delicious breakfast. I wonder why cheese and meat always taste so delicious when we are vacationing in Austria, Italy or Switzerland.

Is it the vagabond life? Or are victuals in those countries really better than at home? Perhaps because we economize ourselves to death in Germany?

Just like we Germans are so particularly industrious that the rest of Europe can not keep up with us?

Well, back to my vacation diary:

Shortly after 9 a.m., we pedal up the road from St. Johann i. P. to the  “Tauernschleuse”. The golden (still) September sun has been accompanying us since sunrise. No fog, no haze.

And the way up is quite strenuous. First, shortly after Schwarzach, we reach an equalizing reservoir. It is very impressive. The Austrians generate most of their electricity through water power. Consequently, we see plenty of hydro-electric power stations on our bike tour.

After the reservoir, the way is down the hill all the time. And after each “up and down”, we are again a little higher.

That takes energy. We are so intent on looking at the beautiful scenery that we hardly notice it. Our altimeter clmbs quite a bit.

Near the crossroads to Villach/Slowenia, the road again merges with the main street. We have to follow it and pass through three tunnels. The first one is short and has a separate path for cyclists and pedestrians. Though it is not particularly nice, at least it is over quickly.

In the second tunnel, the cyclists/pedestrians path is also separated from the cars by a balustrade. This tunnes is more than one kilometre long, always a little up. Since the tunnel is well vented, the air pollution caused by the cars is halfway tolerable.
But the noise the cars and trucks make is really terrible. They probably go at a speed of 100 km/h, but every one of them seems to drone at an incredible volume, directly into our ears. I have to suffer it for some minutes – until I am through the tunnel. Atrocious.

Again, I feel I was absolutely right when I decided I was never again going to go anywhere by car. Some way or other, it is just bad manners to generate this kind of noise. You should only do it in case of emergency.

The third tunnel is a nice surprise. It has been newly built and the bikers got a separate tunnel running through the rock parallel to the main tunnel. It is truly delightful to race through this tunnel. In my opinion, this is trend-setting.

We are glad to have the tunnels behind us. The cyclist’s path, however, gets steeper. It runs through small villages, mostly not along the street. We take a small break at Dorfgastein, before we pass Bad Hofgastein and Bad Gastein.

We are quite impressed by Bad Gastein, situated shortly before the Tauern-Schleuse with its waterfall right through the middle of the town. It is weird to see all those hotels built like paws climbing up the steep rocks. And the water flows through the middle of it all! It is such an incline, our only way up is to push the bikes.

Shortly before the Tauern-Schleuse, we take a little break. It is already a little after 2 p.m. We have enough time: the trains leave every hour and the next one we can catch will be at 3.20 p.m.

We eat pumpkin soup and drink a glass of beer. Both taste very nice and have a refreshing effect on us. That is especially true because we were able to enjoy the hot soup and the cold beer under the sun.
Then we continue on our way. It is just a few more kilometres to the terminal.

On arrival at the top, our altimeter shows 1,200 metres of altitude. From Böckstein on, everything looks really dark, because the terminal is situated in the shadow of the Tauern – which separates north from south in this area.

We are waiting for the “Tauern-Car-Shuttle”. It is a regular service between Böckstein on this side and Mallnitz on the other side. We are surprised to see so few cars. The “rolling road“ arriving alongside is also almost empty.

We are on time as we depart for the tunnel. The empty train takes about 10 minutes to pass the pipe. On the southern side, the sun shines bright and clear. It is even warmer than on the northern side. A wonderful decline awaits us – more than 10 kilometers down, always at a speed of more than 50 km/h. This is the perfect downward angle. You have to neither pedal nore break. I call it pure delight.

After the fast decline, we have a few kilometers of flat road. Since we, again, came quite a way, we now decide to call it a day. We stay at the restaurant “Zum Richter“ at Mühldorf. Tonight, they will serve venison.…

IIndeed, it turned into a nice evening with a dream of a deer steak and goulash. A wonderful dessert and a perfect night.

On Saturday morning, it has finally arrived: the golden October. Quite early in the day, the warm sun welcomes us south of the Alps. It invites us to continue on our trip.

On we go to Villach. Our guide says we have 56 kilometres to go, always down the hill.

Well, it turned out not really always down the hill and those 56 kilometres looked more like 60 kilometers in the end. But the roads were really ncie, especially the long stretch along the Drau. Always plane or a little down.

Since we had started rather early today (8:15 a.m.), we arrived at Villach pedestrian’s zone around 12.30 p.m.

Again, we were quite hungry. Well, this is something easily remedied by delicious meals. We ate mushrooms in Ravioli and – typically Austrian – another one of the tasty “Wiener Schnitzel”.

From Villach, we rode another approximately 35 kilometres to the final destination of the day. Those kilometres, however, were uphill all the time until we reached Tarvisio. It was certainly a whole lot more strenuous than the fast way down to Villach.

This Saturday’s roads were the most beautiful so far. Now we ride along a wonderful path along the river Gail.

Afterwards, only a minor part of the way is alongside the general tarffic. Mostly, we enjoy well maintained cyclist’s paths and some scenery to constantly delight in.

The part of the way between the Austrian border and the border triangle Italy-Austria-Slowenia up to Tarvisio is particularly picturesque. We are overwhelmed. This is a “must” for all cyclists!

On arrival in Tarvisio, the procedure was the same as every time: looking for a hotel. This time, we only had to ask once. The Aubergio Haberl had a vacancy for us. The tachometer of the day says 97 kilometers, which means a total of about 360 kilometers on the entire tour so far by bike.

Since we are now in Italy, we have Pasti and Pizza with salad and red wine for dinner. We did not regret it and can certainly recommend the Hotel Haberl of Taversio. And we look forward to tomorrow – the first Sunday of October.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Am Freitag, den letzten Tag im September, gibt es morgens im Hotel Alpenland in St. Johann i.P. ein richtig delikates Frühstück. Warum schmecken Käse und Wurstwaren immer so gut, wenn wir in Österreich, Italien oder Schweiz auf Urlaub sind?

Liegt es am Vagabundenleben? Oder sind die Lebensmittel in diesen Ländern wirklich besser bei uns? Vielleicht weil wir uns daheim zu Tode sparen? So wie wir Deutschen so ganz besonders tüchtig sind, so dass Rest-Europa mit uns nicht Schritt halten kann?

Aber zurück zum Reisetagebuch:

Kurz nach 9:00 radeln wir die Straße von St. Johann i. P. hoch zur „Tauernschleuse“.Die goldene (noch) Septembersonne lacht schon seit dem Sonnenaufgang. Kein Nebel, kein Dunst.

Und es geht taff aufwärts. Zuerst zu einem Ausgleichsbecken kurz nach Schwarzach. Sehr beeindruckend. Die Österreicher erzeugen ihren Strom überwiegend mit Wasserkraft. So sehen wir auf unserer Radfahrt auch laufend Wasserkraftwerke.

Nach dem Becken geht es immer kräftig auf und ab. Und nach jedem „auf und ab“ sind wir wieder ein wenig höher.

Das kostet Kraft. Vor lauter Schauen auf die Schönheit der Landschaft bemerken wir es kaum. Der Höhenzähler akkumuliert kräftig.

An der Abzweigung nach Villach/Slowenien mündet der schöne Weg wieder in die große Straße. Wir müssen ihr folgen und dabei drei Tunnels durchfahren. Der erste ist kurz und hat eine abgetrennte Spur für Fahrräder und Fußgänger. Nicht schön, geht aber schnell vorbei.

Auch im zweiten ist die Fahrrad-/Fußgängerspur durch ein Geländer vom Autoverkehr abgetrennt. Dieser Tunnel ist über einen Kilometer lang, es geht immer leicht bergauf. Der Tunnel ist gut entlüftet, so dass es mit den Abgasen so halbwegs geht.

Aber der Lärm von Pkws und Lkws ist erschreckend. Die fahren wohl um die 100 km/h, aber jedes vorbei kommende Fahrzeug dröhnt uns in unvorstellbarer Lautstärke zu. Das muss ich für ein paar Minuten aushalten, bis ich halt durch bin. Grauenhaft.

Ich fühle mich wieder in meinem Vorhaben bestätigt, möglichst nicht mehr Auto zu fahren. Irgendwie ist es einfach ungehörig, so viel Lärm zu erzeugen. Sollte man nur im Notfall tun.

Der dritte Tunnel ist eine positive Überraschung: Ganz neu erstellt führt ein getrennter Tunnel für Radfahrer parallel zum großen Tunnel durch die Felswand. Da durch zu sausen macht richtig Spaß. Zukunftsweisend, wie ich finde.

Wir freuen uns, dass die Tunnels  hinter uns liegen. Der Radweg wird allerdings steiler. Er geht durch kleine Dörfer, überwiegend nicht an der Straße entlang. In Dorfgastein machen wir eine kleine Pause, dann kommen auch schon Bad Hofgastein und Bad Gastein.

Bad Gastein kurz vor der Tauern-Schleuse mit seinem Wasserfall mitten durchs Städtchen beeindruckt uns. Unheimlich, was da sich an Hotels an die steilen Wände krallt. Und das Wasser geht mitten durch! Der Weg aber ist so steil, da hilft nur noch schieben.

Kurz vor der Tauern-Schleuse machen wir  eine kurze Pause. Es ist kurz nach 14:00 geworden. Wir haben Zeit, die Züge fahren stündlich und der nächste erreichbare fährt erst um 15:20.

Es gibt eine Kürbissuppe und ein Bier. Beides ist sehr lecker und tut uns gut.Besonders, weil wir die heiße Suppe und das kühle Bier in der Sonne genießen können.

Dann geht es weiter. Es sind nur noch wenige Kilometer bis zur Verladestation.

Oben angekommen zeigt der Höhenmesser knapp über 1.200 Meter. Ab Böckstein wird es so richtig düster, denn die Verladestation liegt im Schatten der Tauern, die hier Nord und Süden trennen.

Wir warten auf das „Tauern-Auto-Shuttle“, das zwischen Böckstein und Mallnitz auf der anderen Seite pendelt. Wir sind überrascht, wie wenig Pkws anstehen. Die ankommende „rollenden Landstraße“ ist auch fast leer.

Pünktlich geht es ab in den Tunnel. Gut zehn Minuten fährt der leere Zug durch die Röhre. Auf der Südseite scheint die Sonne hell. Hier ist es noch milder als auf der Nordseite. Eine wunderbare Abfahrt liegt vor uns – gut 10 km geht es abwärts, mit immer über 50 km/h. Das Gefälle der fast leeren Landstraße ist perfekt, man muss nicht treten und nicht bremsen. Genußradeln pur.

Nach der schnellen Abfahrt geht es ein paar Kilometer flach. Wir haben wieder einen guten Fortschritt gemacht und beschließen zu übernachten. Beim Gasthof zum Richter in Mühldorf bleiben wir hängen. Es soll heute Abend Wild geben …

In der Tat wurde es ein schöner Abend mit einem traumhaften Hirsch-Steack und -Gulasch. Ein toller Nachtisch und eine perfekte Nacht.

Am Samstag morgen beginnt er, der goldene Oktober. Schon früh empfängt uns die warme Sonne südlich des Alpenkamms. Und ladet uns zum weiter fahren ein.

Auf geht es nach Villach. 56 Kilometer liegen vor uns, laut dem Führer immer sanft bergab.

Ganz so immer bergab war die Fahrt dann doch nicht, und aus den 56 Kilometern sind es gut 60 geworden. Dafür waren die Wege wieder wunderschön, besonders das lange Stück am Ufer der Drau entlang, immer eben oder sanft bergab.

Da wir diesmal recht früh (8:15) weg kamen, trafen wir um 12:30 in der Fußgängerzone von Villach ein. Und hatten wieder mal einen Bärenhunger. Dem konnte erfolgreich mit köstlichen Speisen geholfen werden. Es gab Ravioli mit Steinpilzfüllung und – typisch Österreich – wieder Mal ein leckeres „Wiener Schnitzel“.

Von Villach waren es dann noch mal geschätzte 35 km bis ans Etappenziel. Die allerdings bergauf nach Tarvisio. Das war ein ganz schönes Stück mühsamer als das schnelle Rollen nach Villach.

Der Weg an diesem Samstag war der bisher schönste. Zuerst folgt ein traumhaftes Stück entlang des Flusses Gail.

Dann folgen nur ganz wenig Straßenstücke mit Verkehr. Überwiegend genießen wir gut ausgebaute Radwege und eine Landschaft zum sich dauernd dran erfreuen.

Besonders zu erwähnen ist das Teilstück von der italienisch-österreichischen Grenze am Dreiländereck zu Slowenien bis nach Tarvisio. Wir sind begeistert. Ein „Muss“ für jeden Radler!

In Tarvisio war es die gleiche Prozedur wie jedes Mal: Hotel suchen. Diesmal genügt einmal fragen, wie werden sofort in der Aubergio Haberl fündig.Der Tageskilometerzähler bleibt bei 97 stehen und insgesamt haben wir jetzt bei dieser Tour so ungefähr 360 km auf den Rädern.

Da wir jetzt in Italien sind, gibt es am Abend Pasti und Pizza mit Salat und Rotwein. Und wir haben es nicht bereut und können das Hotel Haberl in Taversio nur bestens weiter empfehlen. Und wir freuen uns auf morgen, auf den ersten Sonntag im Goldenen Oktober.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*