Roland Dürre
Friday March 15th, 2013

Chess & Management

When you have reached old age in the form of being more than 60, you will look back on your own life more and more often. And since I am rather happy with what I achieved and accomplished, I also once in a while think about the persons who helped me in life. Well, there are quite a few. Studying mathematics and computer science was certainly a good choice at the time. I learned a lot when I worked at Siemens. All through life, I kept meeting people who accompanied me for some of the way, thereby being a huge help. And it also seems that I married the right woman.

But some other things also helped a lot. For instance the fact that I learned accounting and business very early in life when attending the business-oriented Jacob Fugger Grammar School.

And something else, too, had a very beneficial effect on me: playing chess. It all started on those Sunday afternoons with my father. Even then, I had a lot of joy playing chess. But during the first few years of grammar school, when I started really getting into playing chess as a competitive sports in the club, my grades at school also quickly improved. Simply because chess had told me how to really concentrate.

But chess gave me a lot more than that. I would even go so far as to say I learned for life through playing chess. Difficult situations, both in private and business life, certainly have a lot of similarities with problems you face on the chess board. The problem solving strategies I learned while playing chess were useful for me in real life. Chess will help you to solve difficult problems “with intuition and strategy”.

I also made many new friends while playing and competing in chess. Dijana Dengler and Stefan Kindermann are two examples for like-minded people. Both of them are also chess players, although considerably better than I. Dijana holds a diploma degree in economy and is FIDE champion. She already took part in many Olympic Games. She made chess her mission and is chief coach of the Münchner Schachstiftung. The Münchner Schachstiftung is very successful when it comes to re-socialization of extremely disadvantaged children. An experience Street Worker of Landeshauptstadt München confirmed that chess is often the only means by which these children and adolescents can be reached.

Stefan is Chess Grand Master and managing director of the Münchner Schachakademie. He, too, took part at Chess Olympics and even once qualified for the world championships. He works as a coach and psychological counsellor, as well as author of several books. Together with Professor Dr. Robert K. Freiherr von Weizsäcker and Dijana, Stefan developed the Master Plan. He coaches leaders in seminars and workshops in this discipline.

And this here is also about the Master Plan. Because it transfers the strategies of chess into real life. And it helps you to make “decisions” by a prudent change of perspective towards an advantageous combination of ratio and intuition.

I keep experiencing how what I learned when playing chess also helps me in real life (both in private and business life, but they cannot be separated, anyway). It helps me to evaluate situations a little better. I find it easier to determine whether I am in a good or poor position. Based on this evaluation, I manage to come up with the right decision, instead of the wrong one, a little more often.

And I believe a small advantage like this can contribute hugely towards feeling well and having the chance to become a content person.

Since you can learn so much by playing chess, I am assuming that you can learn even more from the masters of this discipline. Consequently, I will go to an open seminar day “Master Plan” on Saturday, May, 11. The seminar is from 9:30 to 17:00 and the location is in central Munich, at Zweibrückenstraße 8. That is directly next to the Deutsches Museum.

I look forward to the seminar and, of course, also to all the people who will share the Mater Plan experience with me.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
There is another seminar even earlier: on Friday, April, 26, 2013, at the same place. It costs € 580, including VAT. Meals for the day and a signed copy of the  “Königsweg” are also included. For information on the Master Plan, click here Website. Registration: here.

1 Kommentar zu “Chess & Management”

  1. Chris Wood (Saturday March 16th, 2013)

    I intend to write something on this too. See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baruch_Harold_Wood. (Also in German).

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Freitag, der 15. März 2013

Schach & Management

Wenn man das greise Alter von mehr als 60 Jahren erreicht hat, dann blickt man auch öfters mal auf das eigene Leben zurück. Und da ich ganz zufrieden mit dem erreichten und bewirktem bin, denke ich auch ab und zu darüber nach, was und wer mir alles im Leben geholfen hat. Da gibt es einiges. Sicher war das Studium der Mathematik und Informatik eine gute Wahl. Bei Siemens habe ich viel gelernt. Im Leben bin ich immer wieder Menschen begegnet, die mich dann einen Stück des Weges begleitet und dabei sehr geholfen haben. Und wie es scheint habe ich auch die richtige Frau geheiratet.

Da war aber noch weiteres, das mir sehr gut getan hat. So zum Beispiel, dass ich im wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Gymnasium Jakob Fugger schon sehr früh Buchführung und BWL erlernt habe.

Und dann gab es noch was von besonderer Wichtigkeit – das Schachspiel. Schach habe ich als kleiner Bub von meinem Vater gelernt und das Schachspiel mit ihm wurde schnell zur regelmäßigen Beschäftigung an den Sonntag-Nachmittagen. So ging es los mit der Freude am Schach. In der Unterstufe im Gymnasium habe ich dann zuerst über die Schulmannschaft und dann ernsthaft im Verein Schach als Sport betrieben. Und siehe, die Schulnoten wurden ganz schnell besser. Ganz einfach, weil ich beim Schach schnell gelernt habe, mich so richtig zu konzentrieren.

Aber Schach hat mir noch viel mehr gegeben. Ich würde sagen, dass ich beim Schach fürs Leben gelernt habe. Schwierige Situationen im Leben wie im Geschäft haben durchaus viel Ähnlichkeit mit Problemen, die man vom Schachbrett her kennt. Die Lösungsstrategien, die ich beim Schach gelernt habe, haben mir im realen Leben genutzt. Schach hilft „mit Intuition und Strategie“ Schwieriges anzugehen und zu lösen.

Beim Schachspiel und -sport habe ich auch viele Freunde gewonnen. Gleichgesinnte sind zum Beispiel Dijana Dengler und Stefan Kindermann. Beide sind auch SchachsportlerInnen, allerdings deutlich besser als ich. Die Diplom-Volkswirtin Dijana ist FIDE-Meisterin und hat an zahlreichen Olympiaden teilgenommen. Schach hat sie zu ihrer Mission gemacht. Sie ist so auch die Cheftrainerin der Münchner Schachstiftung. Die Münchner Schachstiftung hat große Erfolge bei der Resozialisierung extrem benachteiligter Kinder. Ein erfahrener Street Worker der Landeshauptstadt München hat mir bestätigt, dass Schach oft das einzige Mittel ist, solche Kinder und Jugendlichen noch zu erreichen.

Stefan ist Schachgroßmeister und Geschäftsführer der Münchner Schachakademie. Auch er hat an Schach-Olympiaden teilgenommen und sich sogar einmal für die WM qualifiziert. Beruflich ist er Coach und Psychologischer Berater sowie Autor mehrerer Bücher. Gemeinsam mit Professor Dr. Robert K. Freiherr von Weizsäcker und Dijana hat Stefan den Königsplan entwickelt und trainiert Führungskräfte in Seminaren und Workshops in dieser Disziplin.

Und um den Königsplan geht es jetzt. Denn der Königsplan überträgt die Strategien des Schachspiels ins echte Leben. Und hilft „Entscheidern“ durch einen klugen Wechsel der Perspektive zu einer vorteilhaften Kombination von Ratio und Intuition.

Ich erlebe immer wieder, wie mir das im Schachsport Erlernte im Leben hilft (privat wie geschäftlich, aber gehört das eh nicht zusammen?). Es gelingt mir so meine „Lage“ ein klein wenig besser zu bewerten. Ob ich in einer guten oder schlechten Position bin. Und aufbauend auf dieser Bewertung gelingt es mir ein klein wenig öfters die richtige denn die falsche Entscheidung zu treffen.

Und ich glaube, so ein kleiner Vorteil kann schon wesentlich beitragen, dass es einem gut geht und man die Chance hat, ein zufriedener Mensch zu werden.

Da man vom Schach viel lernen kann, gehe ich mal davon aus, dass man von den Meistern dieser Diziplin noch mehr lernen kann. So gehe ich am Samstag, den 11. Mai zu einem offenen Seminartag „Königsplan“. Das Seminar geht von 9:30 bis 17:00 und findet ganz zentral in München in der Zweibrückenstraße 8 statt. Das ist gleich neben dem Deutschen Museum.

Freue mich aufs Seminar und natürlich besonders auf die Menschen, mit denen ich den Königsplan dann gemeinsam erleben darf.

RMD

P.S.
Ein zweites Seminar findet schon früher, am Freitag, den 26. April in der selben Lokation statt. Das Seminar kostet € 580 incl. MwSt., Verpflegung für den Tag und ein signiertes Exemplar des „Königsweg“ sind im Preis inbegriffen. Infos zum Königsplan findet man auf dieser Website, zur Anmeldung per E-Mail geht es hier.

Be Sociable, Share!

1 Kommentar zu “Schach & Management”

  1. Chris Wood (Samstag, der 16. März 2013)

    I intend to write something on this too. See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baruch_Harold_Wood. (Also in German).

Kommentar verfassen

*