Roland Dürre
Saturday November 3rd, 2012

Seven Utopian Ideas – Seven Theses for the Future.

Since so much I do not understand is happening all the time, I will now write down a few utopian ideas I like very much, indeed. And I am determined to develop a few ideas on each of those utopian concepts that justify and explain why I, personally, do not consider them all that unrealistic.

  • Penalty-Free Society
    It would be nice if there were (almost) no jails. If we could organize living together without having to punish. If we refrained from revenge and instead were to try and prudently minimize the social damage.
  • Violence-Free Society
    What about a society free of physical violence against each other, where regions and peoples can live side by side without wars? It would be nice to treat animals and nature in a reasonable way. It would be nice to have a community where opposing ideas could be dealt with at eye-level in a “domination-free and fair discourse”.
  • Democratic, Tolerant and Transparent Society without Fundamentalism, Dogmas and Taboos
    Education and enlightenment will counter fundamentalism, dogmas and taboos. It is the only way to find and further develop a shared, humane concept of society. Transparency is the requirement for a common way of thinking and deciding, for achieving new insights through consensus. And tolerance is the Ultima Ratio. Intolerance should only be permitted against intolerance, and even there it should be used with extreme caution.
  • A Society of Sharing and Belonging
    I would wish to have a free society. I society where ownership is reasonably distributed and private property is regulated in a responsible and differentiated way. Which includes a particularly sensitive view of “intellectual property”. As far as possible, it should be shared as general knowledge.
  • Humane Economy
    I would wish to have an economy that is not powered by the great financial mechanisms and where all activities and behavior is not determined by profit. An economy that is free from lobbyism and the main purpose of which is to provide humans with products and services that make sense (like, for example, it says in the Bavarian Constitution). I would wish to see an economy where enterprises the goal of which is less profit optimization and more an increase of the common good are appreciated.
  • Media Free of Marketing
    Why are the media always dominated by marketing? Why do I get two units of brainwashing along with one unit of information? Why do some elements think I am so incapable and take me for someone who cannot make up his own mind about his needs? Why does all the world want to manipulate me for their own advantage and my own disadvantage?
  • Soft and Rational Mobility
    How nice would it be to have a mobility without constantly being in a rush and having to fight? Without evil smells and noise? A mobility that serves a purpose, instead of providing us with an emotional arena for ego-boost and self-portrayal? Without burning fossil raw materials? Slower and yet more efficient.

You will say I am a dreamer – but I counter with citing John Lennon in the last paragraph of his “Imagine”:

You may say I am a dreamer
But I’m not the only one

I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

And let me remind you of all those utopian ideas that used to be considered totally unrealistic, yet today are a matter of course: women’s vote, violence-free education of children and much more.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 3. November 2012

Sieben Utopien – sieben Thesen für Zukunft.

Weil so vieles passiert, das ich nicht verstehe, schreibe ich heute mal ein paar Utopien auf, die mir ganz ganz gut gefallen. Und nehme mir vor, zu jeder ein paar Gedanken zu entwickeln, die die Utopie begründen und erklären, warum ich diese für ganz so unrealistisch nicht halte.

  • Straffreie Gesellschaft
    Es wäre schön, wenn es (fast) keine Gefängnisse mehr geben würde. Wenn wir unser Zusammenleben anders organisieren könnten als durch „Strafe“. Wenn wir nicht mehr Rache aus üben wollten sondern versuchen würden, klug den sozialen Schaden zu minimieren.
  • Gewaltfreie Gesellschaft
    Eine Gesellschaft frei von körperlicher Gewalt gegeneinander. In der Regionen und Völker ohne Kriege auskommen. Für einen vernünftigen Umgang mit den Tieren und der Natur. Eine Gemeinschaft, in denen Gegensätze im „herrschaftsfreien und fairen Diskurs“ auf Augenhöhe abgearbeitet werden.
  • Demokratische, tolerante und transparente Gesellschaft ohne Fundamentalismus, Dogmen und Tabus
    Bildung und Aufklärung wirken Fundamentalismus, Dogmen und Tabus entgegen. Nur so kann ein gemeinsames humanes Gesellschaftskonzept gefunden und weiterentwickelt werden. Transparenz ist die Voraussetzung für gemeinsames Denken und Entscheiden, für Erkenntnisgewinn im Konsens. Und Toleranz ist die Ultima Ratio, Untoleranz nur gegen Untoleranz zulässig und sogar da höchst kritisch zu bewerten.
  • Gesellschaft der Gemeinsamkeit und Zugehörigkeit
    Ich wünsche mir eine freie Gesellschaft. In der Eigentum generell sinnvoll geteilt und Privateigentum verantwortet und differenziert geregelt wird. Mit einem ganz besonders verantworteten Blick auf das „geistige Eigentum“, das soweit wie möglich als Wissen sinnvoll geteilt wird.
  • Humane Wirtschaft
    Eine Wirtschaft, die nicht getrieben wird von den großen Finanzmechanismen ihr Handeln und Wirken nicht ausschließlich am Profit orientiert. Frei von Lobbyismus mit dem Hauptzweck, die Menschen mit sinnvollen Produkten und Dienstleistungen zu versehen (So, wie es zum Beispiel in der bayerischen Verfassung steht). Eine Wirtschaft, in der die Unternehmen wertgeschätzt werden, die weniger die Optimierung von Gewinn sondern die Erhöhung des Gemeinwohl als Ziel haben.
  • Medien frei von Marketing
    Warum werden Medien immer vom Marketing dominiert? Warum bekomme ich auf einen Teil Information zwei Teile Beeinflussung? Warum hält man mich für so unmündig und meint, ich könne nicht selber entscheiden was ich brauche? Warum will mich alle Welt zu ihrem Vorteil und meinem Schaden manipulieren?
  • Sanfte und sachliche Mobilität
    Wie schön wäre eine Mobilität ohne permanenten Stress und Kampf? Ohne Gestank und Lärm? Als Mittel zum Zweck und nicht als emotionales Selbstbetätigungs- und -darstellungsfeld. Ohne den Verbrauch fossiler Brennstoffe? Vom Tempo langsamer und letztlich doch effizienter.

Sie werden sagen, ich bin ein Träumer – aber da halte ich es mit John Lennon  und zitiere aus seinem „Imagine“ den letzten Absatz:

You may say I am a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

Und erinnere an Utopien, die mal als völlig unrealistisch galten und heute selbstverständlich sind, wie das Wahlrecht für Frauen, eine gewaltfreie Erziehung von Kindern und manches mehr.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*