Or is that already true for the present?

On January, 3rd, Franziska Köppe interviewed me for her blog FAHRRADkultur.
Here is the result:

Franziska’s message is “bike-riders will live longer lives”. Consequently, I certainly hope that she is right and that our life will not be terminated ahead of time by some motorized vehicle. And that it will not happen that, to make up for it, one more white bicycle will be sitting on a street or crossroad.

I hold Franziska in very high esteem. Consequently, I was a little cautious during the interview. My worst provocation was perhaps (citation from the interview):

“Car drivers are the coachmen of our times. Coachmen were not very well-liked, because whenever any of the common citizens were in their way as they drove through the narrow streets of the cities, they used their whips to beat them out of the way. In those days, coachmen were considered “scum and riff-raff“?!

I abide by all I said in the interview. Let me add that the more I live (and I mean “live” in the truest sense of the word) without a car, the more I am aware of how stupid and irrational it is to drive a car.

And that is true for many dimensions:

  • For the lie behind the image and reputation you subconsciously want to gain through owning a car.
  • For the challenging work you have to do as you sit behind a steering wheel, although you have grown used to it and thus ignore how strenuous it is. More than this: you actually lie to yourself and claim that you “enjoy the experience of driving” or “relax behind the steering wheel”. Your car is perceived as your “best friend” and a place where you “feel at home”.
  • For the horrendous deprivation of exercise and fresh air you subject yourself to as a car driver. That is also true for the physical damage caused by constantly sitting and the negative consequences, including spinal problems.
  • For senselessly wasting time, especially if you drive a car. Using public transportation, you could take far better advantage of that time.
  • For the physical (considerably more than one million fatalities and far more seriously and not so seriously wounded persons) damage world-wide every year, as well as the psychological risk (double stress for instance when using the telephone while driving a car).
  • For how unfree a car makes you – it is the millstone around your neck – because you always have to go back to where it is parked.
  • For how you depend on the car: whenever there is a problem and it does not work, your personal world is under threat of destruction.
  • For how much of a burden a car is: How often do I hear people say – I have no time because my car needs to be picked up from the service/taken to the service. And the weekend is spent polishing it because you love it so much.
  • For how ruthless car drivers treat their environment and society. Neither pollution nor waste of energy are considered, the external additional costs of mobility are considerably higher if you drive a car than if you go by any other means of transportation. And we all pay the price.
  • For the fact that you accept the risk that you might kill or injure people, doing enormous damage to yourself in the process.…
  • … and for a lot more …

For me, driving a car thus gets more and more synonymous for living your life the wrong way. But:

Life is too short to live it the wrong way!

I know from personal experience that people who consider their car part of their own body like a wheelchair that has become essential to their life will under no circumstances agree with many of the points on this list. I can also relate from personal experience that it was very similar with smoking for me … you only really understand how bad it was when you no longer do it. But you know how hard it was to break with the habit.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Oder gilt das auch schon in der Gegenwart?

Franziska Köppe hat mich am 3. Januar für Ihren Blog FAHRRADkultur interviewt. Hier ist das Ergebnis.

Die Botschaft von Franziska ist ja „Fahrradfahrer leben länger“. So kann ich nur hoffen, dass die Franzeska recht hat und unserer Leben nicht vorzeitig durch ein Kraftfahrzeug beendet wird. Und dafür ein weißes Fahrrad mehr an einer der Straßen und Kreuzungen steht.

Die Franziska respektiere ich sehr, deshalb war ich im Interview ein wenig vorsichtig. Meine schlimmste Provokation war vielleicht die folgende Aussage (Zitat aus dem Interview):

„Autofahrer sind die Kutscher der Neuzeit. Kutscher waren keine beliebte Berufsgruppe, weil sie in den engen Gassen der Städte mit der Peitsche das gemeine Volk aus dem Wege prügelten. Kutscher galten damals als „Abschaum und Gesindel“?!

Ich stehe zu allem, was ich im Interview gesagt habe. Ich möchte hier nur ergänzen, dass ich, je mehr ich ohne Auto lebe („lebe“ im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes) um so mehr mir die Dummheit und Sinnlosigkeit des Autofahrens bewusst wird. Und das gilt für so viele Dimensionen:

  • Für die Falschheit von Image und der Reputation, die man sich durch den Besitz eines Autos sicher unbewusst verschaffen will.
  • Für die belastende Arbeit des Steuerns eines PKW’s, an die man sich gewöhnt und so die Anstrengung ignoriert. Im Gegenteil, man betrügt sich selbst und hat „Freude am Fahren“ oder „erholt sich am Steuer“. Das Auto wird als „bester Freund“ wahrgenommen, es ist der Ort an dem man sich „zu Hause fühlt“.
  • Für den gewaltigen Raub an Bewegung und frischer Luft, den man sich als Autofahrer selber zu fügt, inklusive des Schadens durch die ewige Sitzerei und deren negativen Folgen inklusive von Rückenbeschwerden.
  • Für die sinnlose Vernichtung der Zeit gerade am Steuer eines PKW, die in öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln viel besser genutzt werden kann.
  • Für das physische (wesentlich mehr als 1 Million Verkehrstote und ein mehrfaches an Schwer- und Leichtverletzten) pro Jahr weltweit wie psychische Leid und Risiko (Doppelbelastung z.B. durch Telefonieren am Steuer).
  • Für die Unfreiheit durchs Auto – es ist der Klotz am Bein – ich muss immer dorthin zurück, wo es steht.
  • Für die Abhängigkeit vom Auto, wenn es nicht mehr fährt geht die persönliche Welt so ein wenig unter.
  • Für die Belastung durchs Auto: Wie oft höre ich – ich habe da keine Zeit, weil ich mein Auto vom / zum Kundendienst holen / bringen muss.
    🙂 Und am Wochenende wird es auf Hochglanz poliert.
  • Für die Rücksichtlosigkeit des Autofahrers gegenüber Umwelt und Gesellschaft. Schadstoffe und Energie-Verschwendung spielen keine Rolle mehr, die externen Zusatzkosten der Mobilität sind beim Auto ein Vielfaches höher sind als bei allen anderen Verkehrsmitteln und die tragen wir alle.
  • Für das billigend in Kauf genommene Risiko andere Menschen zu töten oder verletzten und so auch sich selber enormen Schaden hinzuzufügen …
  • und für manches mehr …

Für mich wird Autofahren so immer mehr zur Metapher für ein falsches Leben. Nur:

 🙂 Das Leben ist zu kurz für ein falsches Leben!

Aus eigener Erfahrung weiß ich, dass Menschen, bei denen das Auto wie ein Rollstuhl zum erweiterten Körper, also quasi zum Körperteil geworden ist, viele der gelisteten Punkte keines Falls nachvollziehen können. Auch aus eigener Erfahrung kann ich berichten, dass es bei mir mit dem Rauchen ähnlich war … Erst wenn man es nicht mehr tut, versteht man wirklich, wie schlimm es wahr. Aber ich weiß, wie schwer es ist und war mit der Gewohnheit zu brechen.

RMD

 

Kommentar verfassen

*