Roland Dürre
Sunday August 15th, 2010

Sloganisms

Not so far in the past, there were no cars. Coaches had to squeeze through the narrow streets of our cities. But also the overland streets were nothing but narrow paths. The elegant people sat in the coach, the coachman on the box. Common people went places on foot along the same streets. Sometimes the streets were really narrow, often jammed with people and animals.

The noble ladies and gentlemen were in a hurry. They felt they could not wait until the plebs went out of the way. That is why the coachmen on the box had a long whip. Its main purpose was not to motivate the horses. Rather, the brutal coachmen used their whips for getting the masses out of the way and making passage for the coach easier. Consequently, humans and animals that had been in the way often found themselves “ornamented” by welts and thinking: “Why blow one’s top?” and not blowing their tops.

According to the will of the lord of the manor, the general motto was “lead through the whip“. And the whips happily sounded like: “We clear the way for you”.

In these late (or soon post) automobile times, the (mostly male) population is seduced in another way:
“Lead Through Technology” and “Each Mile is a Mile of Safety and Delight”.

Or:

“Delight in Driving” – “For Love of Your Automobile” – “Ahead of the Times at All Times”–  Good Guidance on All Your Ways”- “The Future of Automobiles” – “Think Ahead” – “The Best or Nothing” – “Success = Knowledge Raised to the Power of Passion” – “Driving At Its Best”.– “Will Also Drive Bends” – “Will Make You Feel Like on Tracks” – “Cars For Life” – “Arrive Better” – “It Runs, and Runs, and Runs, and Runs…” – “Certainly More Joy And Safety” – “Nothing is Impossible” – “Cannot be Explained With Rationality Alone” – “Optimum Power Distribution on Changing Underground” – “Pack the Tiger Into the Reservoir!” – “Quality That Moves” – “We Live Cars”.

This is how you successfully sell expensive cars to an ignoramus in our “the word impossible does not exist” world.

My personal slogans for the driver are different:

“Uups, Here I Am” – “Free Passage For Free Citizens” – “Regardless of the Consequences” – “No Matter What the Cost” – and “Let Us Continue, Even If It Kills Us All”.

So maybe you had better concentrate on something other than “The Legs of Your Car”. And do not think evil thoughts if you still see the former “Lufthansa” advert somewhere: “Fliegen in der Luft, Vögeln gleich“. It is all just “For the Best in Men”. Meaning the money they want to make you part with.

🙂 “All Müller, or what?

I hope “The Green Bond of Sympathy” will bind you to the IF blog. Because “Yours Will Be Helped There”. And IF blog is free. You know: “Stinginess is Horny”.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S
.
For these and more slogans, see the following link in Wikiquote! I took the picture from the central media archive Wikimedia Commons. It shows a postal coach on the “Gotthardpass “(2004) and was taken by Roland Zumbühl, Arlesheim. Many, many thanks!

P.S.1
Sloganism is an artificial word. We learned at school that we should be cautious whenever something ends on “… ism”. Since I “handle” slogans “with care”, I transcribed it into sloganism!

P.S.2
Here is an InterFace slogan!

And there used to be the seductive line:

Productivity – designed for you!

I still think it is not so bad!

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 15. August 2010

Sloganismen

Es ist gar nicht so lange her, als es noch keine Autos gab. Kutschen zwängten sich durch die engen Gassen der Städte. Aber auch die Straßen über Land waren nur schmale Wege.

Die feinen Leute saßen in der Kutsche, der Kutscher auf dem Bock. Das gemeine Volk war zu Fuß auf den Straßen unterwegs. Manchmal waren die Straßen eng, oft verstopft von Menschen und Tieren.

Die feinen Herrschaften hatten es eilig. Sie konnten nicht warten, bis der Pöbel den Weg frei machte. Deshalb hatten die Kutscher auf ihrem Bock eine lange Peitsche. Die diente nicht vorrangig zum Anspornen der Pferde. Vielmehr bahnte der rüde Kutscher mit der Peitsche seinem Gefährt den Weg durch die Menge. Und so gab es öfters Striemen für menschliche und tierische Hindernisse, die sich dachten „Wer wird denn gleich in die Luft gehen?“ und sich nicht in die selbige auflösten.

Das Motto war damals in alter Gutsherrenart Vorsprung durch Peitsche. Und die Peitschen knallten laut ein fröhliches „Wir machen den Weg frei“.

In der spät-(oder bald post-)automobilen Zeit werden die (meist männlichen) Menschen anders verführt:

„Vorsprung durch Technik“ und „Jeder Kilometer ein sicheres Vergnügen“. Oder: „Freude am Fahren“ – „Aus Liebe zum Automobil“ – „Zu allen Zeiten seiner Zeit voraus“ – „Ein guter Stern auf allen Straßen“ – „Die Zukunft des Automobils“ – „Weiter denken“ – „Das Beste oder nichts“ – „Erfolg = Wissen hoch Leidenschaft“ – „Fahren in seiner schönsten Form“ – „Fährt auch in Kurven“ – „Fährt wie auf Schienen“ – „Autos zum Leben“ – „Besser ankommen“ – „Er läuft, und läuft, und läuft, und läuft ….“ – „Mit Sicherheit mehr Vergnügen“ – „Nichts ist unmöglich“ – „Nur mit Vernunft nicht zu erklären“ – „Optimale Kraftverteilung auf wechselndem Untergrund“ – „Pack den Tiger in den Tank!“ – „Qualität die bewegt“ – „Wir leben Autos“.

So verkauft man die teuren Autos erfolgreich an die Narren unserer „Geht nicht, gibt’s nicht“-Welt.

Meine Slogans für den Kraftfahrer lauten anders:

„Hoppla, jetzt komme ich“ – „Freie Fahrt für freie Bürger“ – „Ohne Rücksicht auf Verluste und die Umwelt“ – „Koste es, was es wolle!“ und „Weiter so, und wenn wir alle drauf gehen“.

Also, schauen Sie lieber auf etwas anderes als „Die Beine Ihres Autos“. Und denken Sie nicht schmutzig, wenn Sie noch irgendwo die ehemalige Lufthansa-Werbung finden sollten „Fliegen in der Luft, Vögeln gleich„. Es ist alles nur „Für das Beste im Mann“. Damit ist sein Geld gemeint, an das man ran will.

🙂 „Alles Müller oder was?“

Ich hoffe, dass Sie „Das grüne Band der Sympathie“ an IF-Blog bindet. Denn „Da werden Sie geholfen“. Und IF-Blog ist gratis, Sie wissen schon „Geiz ist geil“.

RMD

P.S.
Diese und mehr Slogans findet man über diesen Link in Wikiquote! Das Bild ist aus dem zentralen Medienarchiv Wikimedia Commons eingebunden. Es zeigt eine Nostalgie-Postkutsche auf dem Gotthardpass (2004), gespendet hat es Roland Zumbühl, Arlesheim. Ein großes Dankeschön an ihn!

P.S.1
Sloganismen ist ein Kunstwort. In der Schule haben wir gelernt, dass wir alles, was mit „…ismus“ endet, mit Vorsicht zu betrachten wäre. Da ich Slogans mit „Vorsicht betrachte“, habe ich Sloganismus daraus gemacht. Und dann den Plural gebildet – Sloganismen!

P.S.2
Und hier vielleicht auch noch der Slogan von InterFace!

Und früher hatten wir den verführerischen Slogan:

Productivity – designed for you!

Finde ich immer noch ganz gut!

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*