Roland Dürre
Monday August 18th, 2014

Start-up (2) – Our Own Foundation (1983)

Since early in the 1980ies, I had been eager to become self-employed. One of the reasons was that (as many founders I know today, too), I wanted to have a word and some responsibility in an enterprise and thus enjoy my work more. Another reason (and, surprisingly enough, not many of the founders I know today share this sentiment) was that I actually wanted to earn more money.

Consequently, I looked for the “ideal partner” (rather than the “ideal business idea”, because, even then, I thought there is no such thing). But it was not easy to even find the “ideal partner”. Luckily, though, I found Wolf Geldmacher after a little more than one year. He brought great entrepreneurial strength and was just as “down to earth” as I was.

With Wolf as my partner, it did not take long to establish the “InterFace Connection Gesellschaft für Datenfernverarbeitung und Entwicklung von Software mbH“, which was the predecessor of InterFace AG. Our fields of interest were IT and Unix. We wanted to build a successful product with the “new” Unix. We assumed that services are hard to scale. Even before 1983 (the founding was in 1984), we feared that Body-Leasing might not be a business with a long life-span. Besides, even in those early days, it seemed to us that the Body Leasing Business is situated somewhere in the legal grey zone. This was one of the reasons why we wanted to actually create a real product.

Said product was the office-compatible Unix writing system HIT. In retrospect, the entire affair was a totally crazy enterprise. Surprisingly, though, it worked. I fact, to this day I cannot entirely understand how this happened.
It only took as a few years to become the most successful Unix text system in Europe by far. It felt like a dream!

Looking back, I can identify persons and important requirements or events without which it would never have worked. Basically, we were moving at the right time and had lots of luck, because everything just fell into place.

The Duo „Wolf & Roland“

Even in the early 1980ies, we believed in “agile, lean and open“. We were in favour of self-organization and self-determination, We communicated our ideas and our expectations and then our teams were allowed to work as they saw fit. It was all done with a huge sense of belonging together.

For software development, we invented and practiced a private method you would, today, call SCRUM. Wolf was the “SCRUM-Master“ (and more than that, too). He was responsible for the technology and the people. He led the colleagues towards delivering quality and made it clear to them that they had to live quality – primarily for their own sake. And I was something like the “product owner”, the leader on the business side.

Anton Böck

In 1960, my parents sent me to the business-centred Higher Middle School “Jakob Fugger” in Augsburg. Later, it was re-named Grammar School, before 1960, it had been called business school. Stenography and typing had been compulsory until 1960, later they were taught on a voluntary basis. My father forced me to learn both, because he considered both competences as indispensable when it came to the real fight in professional life.

Anton Böck was my teacher. I was doing quite excellent in stenography. Whenever I was forced to do some learning at home, I spent hours drawing stenographic symbols. For me, this was just like calligraphy, simply beautiful. I hated the typewriter. Herr Böck was a strict teacher and he rather liked me because of my stenography. Consequently, he forced me to practice on the typewriter. As a result, I dreamed what characteristics a “nice” and “lovely” typewriter should have as early as by the age of 16.

Well, it might sound ridiculous, but I am quite sure that, without this early experience with generating text, the InterFace Connection would not have become a product enterprise.

Hans Strack-Zimmermann

Hans was my mentor and the man who made UNIX big, both in Europe and at Siemens (where it was called Sinix). I was convinced that all he said was correct and he believed in our team. Well, this facilitated matters a lot.

However, our success proves that we were correct.

Dr. Peter Schnupp

Peter was an IT pioneer of the second generation (for me, the generation Zuse was the first generation and I was part of the third). As an entrepreneur (he founded Softlab), IT expert, column author in the “Computer-Woche” and also due to other activities, we was well-known and had an excellent reputation as an expert.
Peter managed to convince the strategic decider in a big public office organization that the future will be based on IT and UNIX – and that there is a great local product.

Without this stroke of luck, the project CLOU/HIT would never have become a success.

My Projects

Even as a young software developer at Siemens AG in the mid-seventies, I had a great job. In the course of developing Transdata, I designed the “Connection Handling” and also worked on the development of “APS“ (appliers’ programming language). Connection handling has a central function in “long-distance data transfer”, as it was then called. Through APS, you could outsource processing time to local “data station computers” (operating system PDN) – which was the first time the central principle of main frames was broken.

With this “superior knowledge”, it was easy for me to get a good reputation with huge projects, which meant that, as a logical conclusion, I was transferred to the Siemens AG department: “special projects marketing”. My most important project in this department was DISPOL, a central project of the Bavarian Police which had set itself the task of making the filing cabinet (data), the typewriter (documents) and the telefax machine (communication) obsolete through the introduction of Electronic Data Processing.

I stayed with this project until I founded my own company and in the process I learned all there is to learn about the expectations of customers and the market of civil offices.

Without this history, HIT/CLOU would never have become a successful product.

Our People

For product development, we hired very young persons. In fact, they often started working for us when they were still students. And in (almost) all cases, they were exactly the right people. These persons took no time at all becoming central top performers and they instantly took high responsibility.

The Right Principles

Along with the product development, a qualified counselling team in the field of “Unix Operating Systems” grew. We sat right at the source and I learned many extremely helpful things from our operating systems partner. Consequently, we were early to use tools which at the time were not even widely known in Europe.

We applied methods (or rather, we intuitively invented them) such as the four-eyes-principle when programming, peer2peer-reviews, ”extreme programming“, developer rotation and much more. Those were methods that had not even existed in those days, yet they gave us considerable advantage when it came to developing speed, customer orientation and quality (incidentally, some of these principles are still not applied everywhere today).

Our developers are always directly in contact with the customer. For instance, all the developers did the HIT courses for the customers themselves, which means that they understand what the customer wants and needs.

All these factors have contributed hugely towards the quality of our product.

Financing

We were well aware what the real problem with our project was. Consequently, we shared the costs of the IF computers during the first phase of basic development. For the second phase of marketing, we had intended to share tasks. We were going to further develop the basic system and also attend to our expected big customer Siemens. InterFace Computer was planned to be the port for many other Unix systems and for realizing the sales for other partners.

But even in order to just develop the product, we needed considerable man power. In 1984, we solved this problem in a very simple way: Wolf Geldmacher and yours truly worked as counsellors. We took care of the product and team in the evenings and, when necessary, on Saturdays.

As counsellors, we worked for an hourly rate of 150.- DM. This was absolutely top range and we were only able to get away with it because US consultants with comparable know-how were even more expensive.

Well, let me do the calculations: a good month will bring us 200 man hours (we were very industrious). Multiplied by 150 DM, that equals 30,000 DM in a good month. With a salary of 5,000 DM, which is about 6,000 DM before taxes, that left us 18,000 for hardware, our Heidi (our assistant, who helped us from the beginning) and our students, the product developers.

Only a few months after our foundation on April, 1st, 1984, we were also able to recruit two young computer scientists who immediately worked as consultants, too. They brought in money comparable to our ratio. And from late in 1995, the product itself provided us with rapidly increasing amounts of money.

The Situation

There were more beneficial circumstances that helped us considerably.
For instance, Siemens had started a very huge project the aim of which it was to develop their own text system for BS 2000 and Unix. Regardless of the fact that this project had manpower that was several times more than our development team, on top of all Siemens project developers being full-fledged software developers (as opposed to our young team), these projects never seemed to get anywhere. Which means they actually more or less failed.

The Siemens concern, however, needed this software for their goals and therefore had to buy licences from two suppliers – one of which was us. This is how we became the supplier of the then market leader in Germany of Unix.

The technological time frame also favoured us. Firstly, Unix at the time replaced all those many different computing systems of the “medium data technology” MDT. So again, our product HIT came just at the right time.

Also, this was the time when using databases started to get a common thing to do. SQL as “query language” based on natural language was newly defined. There was even a German version of SQL!

So wasn’t it only logical to extend the 4GL CLOU (for programming text elements) which supplemented HIT by an “embedded SQL“ which would suddenly make it possible to send dynamically generated queries to a database during the running of the text-element program and then to automatically make use of the found data for producing a document? This was a true sensation, and it had come at exactly the right time.

Lots of Luck and Just a Little Bit of Misfortune

The courage shown by a big federal office in relying on a totally new technology and a very small provider was certainly something special. It was a wonderful market development in favour of Unix. There were many more courageous and, for us, beneficial decisions by customers. A great team…

We Also Had Some Problems

The hardware we needed for our developments was extremely costly. As early as 1985, we had to buy an MX500 – which at the time had a listed price of several 100,000 DM. For us, this was impossibly much money. But it was absolutely clear that we were not going to manage the necessary developing speed without the system. And then it took only two years for the machine to become outdated. Overnight, we developed on SUN and on the new fast PC-s with diverse Unix variants.
In the long run, it turned out that InterFace Computer, too, was the wrong partner. The strategic cooperation no longer worked. Consequently, we were forced to buy the rights to the product. This was a truly hard investment decision. Yet, in retrospect, it turns out that it paid off.

Other Necessary Requirements

I am sure there were other causes and lucky circumstances without which the enterprise HIT/CLOU would never have made it. Partly, we are probably talking things I no longer remember or things I was never really aware of. But without all this, at least InterFace Connection as producer of HIT/CLOU would never have existed. If you remember what I wrote, you will see that I kept telling you at every possible instance that it would never have happened without those circumstances/ coincidences. They were all necessary for the final success. And in retrospect, I am truly surprised how this courageous enterprise could actually work out.

This article was supposed to show you through my own example how unbelievably many requirements have to be fulfilled in order to become a success. Mind you, I do not at all want this to discourage you. But it certainly goes to show that it is not all that easy and that a pragmatic approach might sometimes do no harm. I believe founders can learn a lot from this story and I am quite willing to discuss it with you as a Use Case interactively and personally.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Montag, der 18. August 2014

Start-up (2) – Die eigene Gründung (1983)

Seit Beginn der 80iger hat mich die Selbstständigkeit gelockt. Zum einen, weil (wie auch bei vielen mir bekannten Gründer von heute) ich ein Unternehmen eigenverantwortlich mitbestimmen und so auch mehr Freude an der Arbeit haben wollte, zum anderen, weil (wie erstaunlicherweise nicht so viele der mir bekannten heutigen Gründer) ich mehr Geld verdienen wollte.

So habe ich den „idealen Partner“ gesucht (nicht die „ideale Geschäftsidee“, weil ich damals schon der Meinung war, dass es diese nicht gibt). Auch den „idealen Partner“ zu finden war nicht leicht, aber glücklicherweise habe ich nach einem guten Jahr Wolf Geldmacher gefunden. Er brachte große unternehmerische Kraft mit und war genauso für Bodenständigkeit ich.

Mit Wolf ging die Gründung der „InterFace Connection Gesellschaft für Datenfernverarbeitung und Entwicklung von Software mbH“, dem Vorgänger der InterFace AG, schnell. Unser Thema war IT und Unix. Auf dem „neuen“ Unix wollten wir ein erfolgreiches Produkt bauen. Wir gingen davon aus, dass Dienstleistung nur schwer zu skalieren ist. Schon 1983 (vor der Gründung in 1984) waren wir in Sorge, ob Body-Leasing ein Geschäft von Dauer sein würde. Bei strenger Auslegung schien uns schon damals, dass das Geschäft mit Body Leasing („Arbeitskräfte-Überlassung“ AÜG) sich in einer gesetzlichen Grauzone zu befinden. Das war auch ein Grund, warum wir ein Produkt machen wollten.

Als solches hatten wir uns ein bürotaugliches Schreibsystem auf Unix ausgedacht, den HIT. Aus heutiger Sicht war das ein wahnwitziges Unterfangen, das uns überraschender Weise gelungen ist. Ganz verstehe ich es bis heute nicht.

Schon nach wenigen Jahren waren wir das mit Abstand erfolgreichste Textsystem auf Unix in Europa. Es war wie ein Traum!

In der Retrospektive habe ich Menschen und wesentliche Voraussetzungen oder Ereignisse gefunden, ohne die es nie geklappt hätte. Wir waren einfach zum richtigen Zeitpunkt unterwegs und hatten unheimlich viel Glück, dass vieles gepasst hat.

Das Gespann „Wolf & Roland“

Wir haben schon Anfang der 80iger Jahre beide an „agil, lean und open“ geglaubt. Wir waren für Selbstorganisation und Selbstbestimmung, haben unsere Ideen und unseren Anspruch formuliert und unsere Teams machen lassen. Das alles in großer Gemeinsamkeit.

Für die SW-Entwicklung hatten wir eine private Methode erfunden und gelebt, die man heute SCRUM nennen würde. Wolf war der „SCRUM-Master“ (und mehr). Er war für die Technologie und die Menschen zuständig. Er hat die Kollegen zur Qualität gebracht und ihnen klar gemacht, dass sie Qualität leben müssen, dies zu allererst für sich selbst. Und ich war so etwas wie der „Product Owner“ und kaufmännische Leiter.

Anton Böck

Meine Eltern hatten es geschafft, mich in Augsburg 1960 auf die wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Oberrealschule Jakob Fugger zu bringen. Später wurde das dann auch zum Gymnasium umbenannt, bis 1960 war es eine Handelsschule. Stenografie und Schreibmaschine schreiben waren dort bis 1960 sogar Pflichtfach, dann Wahlfach. Mein Vater zwang mich beides zu Lernen, weil er die beiden Techniken als unerlässlichen Vorteil im Kampf des beruflichen Lebens erachtet hat.

Anton Böck war mein Lehrer. In Steno war ich klasse. Wenn ich zu Hause zum Lernen verurteilt war, habe ich stunden lang Steno gemalt. Für mich war das wie Kaligraphie, wunderschön. Herr Böck war ein strenger Lehrer und, wegen Steno hat er mich gemocht und mich auf die Schreibmaschine gezwungen. Die Schreibmaschine habe ich gehasst und ich habe deshalb schon mit 16 davon geträumt, wie eine „schöne“ und „liebe“ Schreibmaschine funktionieren müsste.

Es klingt vielleicht ein wenig lächerlich, aber ich bin mir sicher, ohne diese frühe Erfahrung mit dem Generieren von Text wäre die InterFace Connection nie zu einem Produktunternehmen geworden.

Die Fächer Buchführung und BWL, die auch am „wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Gymnasium“ gelernt habe, waren für die Gründung durchaus nützlich, aber nicht so zwingend notwendig.

Hans Strack-Zimmermann

Hans war mein Mentor und der Mann, der UNIX in Europa und bei Siemens (hier unter dem Markennamen Sinix) groß gemacht hat. Ich war von ihm und seiner Vision überzeugt und er hat an unser Team geglaubt. Das hat natürlich vieles vereinfacht.

Der Erfolg hat uns aber Recht gegeben.

Dr. Peter Schnupp

Peter war IT-Pionier der zweiten Generation (ich sehe die Generation Zuse als die erste und mich als Teil der dritten). Als Unternehmer (der Gründer von Softlab), IT-Experte, Kolumnen-Schreiber in der Computer-Woche und aufgrund weiterer Aktivitäten war er bekannt und hatte als Experte einen sehr guten Ruf.

Peter gelang es, für uns die strategische Entscheiderin einer Großbehörde zu überzeugen, dass die Zukunft der IT auf UNIX basieren würde und es da ein tolles lokales Produkt für Text gäbe.

Ohne diesen Glücksfall wäre das Projekt CLOU/HIT nie erfolgreich geworden.

Meine Projekte

Schon als junger SW-Entwickler bei der Siemens AG hatte ich in der Mitte der siebziger Jahre eine tolle Aufgabe. Im Rahmen der Entwicklung von Transdata habe ich das „Connection Handling“ entwickelt und an der Entwicklung von „APS“ (Anwender-Programmier-Sprache) mitgearbeitet. Connection Handling ist von zentraler Bedeutung bei „Datenfernübertragung“, wie es damals hieß. Mit APS war es möglich, Verarbeitungsleistung schon in lokalen „Datenstationsrechner“ (Betriebssystem PDN) auszulagern und so erstmals das zentrische Prinzip der Main Frames zu durchbrechen.

Mit diesem „Herrschaftswissen“ konnte ich mich sehr schnell bei Großprojekten profilieren und wechselte dann ganz logisch zu der Abteilung „Sonderprojekte Vertrieb“ bei der Siemens AG. Dort war mein wichtigstes Projekt DISPOL, ein zentrales Projekt der bayerischen Polizei, da sich Ende der siebziger und Anfang der achtziger Jahre die Aufgabe gestellt hatte den Aktenschrank (Daten), die Schreibmaschine (Dokumente) und den Fernschreiber (Kommunikation !) durch die Einführung von EDV abzulösen.

Dieses Projekt habe ich bis zur Gründung begleitet und dabei die Anforderung der Kunden und den Markt der Behörden erlernt.

Ohne diese Vorgeschichte wäre HIT/CLOU niemals ein erfolgreiches Produkt geworden.

Die Menschen bei InterFace

Wir haben für die Produktentwicklung ganz jungen Menschen eingestellt, die oft noch als Studenten zu uns kamen. Und es waren (fast) immer die richtigen. In rasanten Tempo haben diese Menschen sich zu zentralen Leistungsträgern entwickelt und eine hohe Verantwortung übernommen.

Richtige Prinzipien

Ergänzend zur Produktentwicklung hat sich wie zufällig eine qualifizierte Beratung und Zusammenarbeit mit Siemens im Bereich „Unix-Betriebsystem“ entwickelt. Wir saßen fachlich an der Quelle und haben bei unserem Betriebssystem-Partner vieles gelernt, das uns sehr geholfen hat. So haben wir früh Werkzeuge genutzt, die in Europa noch gar nicht verbreitet waren. Und vieles beigetragen, wie den „National Language Support (NSL), der dann sogar in XOPEN aufgenommen und Basis aller Unix-Systeme wurde.

Wir haben Methoden angewendet (oder besser intuitiv erfunden) wie 4-Augenprinzip beim Programmieren, peer2peer-Reviews, „extrem programming“, Entwickler-Rotation und manches mehr. Das waren Methoden, die es damals noch gar nicht gab, die uns aber mehr als wesentliche Vorteile betreffend Entwicklungsgeschwindigkeit, Anwenderorientierung und Qualität brachten (und die bis heute noch Immer nicht überall genutzt werden).

Unsere Entwickler hatten immer direkten Kundenkontakt. So haben unsere Entwickler die HIT-Schulungen für die Endkunden selbst gehalten und so die Kundenwünsche verstanden.

All das hat wesentlich zur Güte des Produktes beigetragen.

Finanzierung

Die Schwierigkeit unseres Vorhabens war uns bewusst. So haben wir in der ersten Phase der Grundentwicklung uns den Aufwand mit IF-Computer geteilt. Für die zweite Phase der Vermarktung hatten wir eine Aufgabenteilung vorgesehen. Wir wollten das Basis-System weiter entwickeln und den erwarteten Groß-Kunden Siemens betreuen. InterFace Computer war geplant für die Portierungen auf die vielen anderen Unix-Systeme und sollte den Vertrieb für weitere Hardware-Hersteller und Partner übernehmen.

Aber auch nur die Entwicklung des Produktes brauchte eine kräftige „man power“. In 1984 und dem folgenden Jahr lösten wir das auf eine einfache Art und Weise. Wolf Geldmacher und ich verdingten uns als Berater. Um Produkt und Team kümmerten wir uns an den Abenden und bei Bedarf Samstagen.

Als Berater hatten wir einen Stundensatz von 150,- DM. Das war herausragend und nur durchzusetzen, weil amerikanische Consultant mit vergleichbarem Know-how deutlich teurer waren.

Jetzt kann man mal einfach rechnen: Ein guter Monat bringt 200 Mannstunden (wir waren sehr fleißig). Mit 150,- DM multipliziert waren das schlappe 30.000 DM in guten Monaten. Bei unserem Gehalt damals von 5.000 DM, brutto als so um die 6.000 blieben 18.000 für Hardware, die Heidi (unsere Assistentin, die von Anfang an dabei war) und unsere Studenten, die Produktentwickler.

Schon wenige Monate nach der Gründung am 1. April 1984 konnten wir noch zwei junge Informatiker für uns gewinnen und die sofort als Consultant einsetzen. Die beiden erbrachten einen Deckungsbeitrag in ähnlicher Höhe. Und ab Ende 1995 hat dann das Produkt für schnell steigende Deckungsbeiträge gesorgt.

Die Situation

Es gab weiter eine Reihe von glücklichen Umständen, die uns sehr geholfen haben.

So hatte Siemens ein sehr großes Projekt gestartet mit dem Ziel der Entwicklung eines eigenen Textsystems für BS 2000 und Unix. Obwohl diese Projekte mit einer Personalstärke besetzt waren, die eine mehrfacher Kopfstärke hatte als unser Entwicklungsteam und auch die Entwickler in den Siemens-Projekten alle gestandene SW-Entwickler (im Gegensatz zu unseren jungen Leuten) waren, kamen diese Projekte nie auf einen grünen Zweig und sind dann mehr oder weniger komplett gescheitert.

Der Konzern Siemens brauchte aber solche Software für seine Ziele und musste bei zwei Lieferanten in Lizenz zu kaufen – einer davon waren wir. So wurden wir auf Unix der Lieferant und Lizenzgeber des damaligen Marktführers in Deutschland.

Das technische Zeitfenster war auch auf unserer Seite: Zum einen löste Unix damals die zahlreichen verschiedenen Rechnersysteme der „mittleren Datentechnik“ MDT ab. Wir kamen also wieder zufälliger Weise mit unserem Produkt HIT genau zum richtigen Zeitpunkt .

Es war auch die Zeit, in der sich der Einsatz von Datenbanken stark verbreiterte. Brandneu wurde SQL als „query language“ auf natürlicher Sprachbasis definiert. Es gab sogar eine deutsche Fassung von SQL!

Was lag näher als die HIT ergänzende 4GL CLOU (zur Programmierung von Textbausteinen) um eine „embedded SQL“ zu erweitern, die es plötzlich möglich machte während des Ablaufs des Baustein-Programms dynamisch generierte Abfragen an eine Datenbank zu senden und die gefunden Daten dann automatisch bei der Dokument-Erstellung zu nutzen. Das war eine richtige Sensation, die genau zum richtigen Zeitpunkt kam.

Viel Glück und nur ein wenig Pech

Der Mut einer großen Bundesbehörde, auf eine völlig neue Technologie eines ganz kleinen Herstellers zu setzen, war sicher etwas besonderes. Eine wunderbare Marktentwicklung zu Gunsten von UNIX. Zahlreiche weitere mutige und für uns glückliche Kundenentscheidungen. Ein Super-Team …

Es gab auch Probleme

Die Hardware für die Entwicklung war sündteuer. Schon 1985 mussten wir eine MX500 erwerben – die damals einen Listenpreis von mehreren 100.000 DM hatte. Das war für uns unvorstellbar viel Geld. Es war aber klar, dass wir ohne dieses System die notwendige Entwicklungsgeschwindigkeit nicht schaffen würden. Und schon zwei Jahre später gehörte diese Maschine zum alten Eisen, wir entwickelten über Nacht auf SUN und den neuen schnellen PC’s mit diversen Unix-Varianten.

Auch InterFace Computer war auf lange Sicht der falsche Partner, die strategische Kooperation funktionierte nicht mehr. So waren wir gezwungen, die Rechte am Produkt zu kaufen. Das war eine schwere Investitions-Entscheidung, die sich aber im Nachhinein bezahlt gemacht hat.

Weitere notwendige Voraussetzungen

Es gibt da sicher noch mehr Ursachen, Zufälligkeiten, ohne die das Unternehmen HIT/CLOU gescheitert wäre. Zum Teil Dinge, die ich gar nicht mehr weiß oder mir so nicht bewusst sind. Aber ohne all das Beschriebene hätte es zumindest die InterFace Connection als Hersteller von HIT/CLOU nicht gegeben. So habe ich auch bei jedem beschriebenen Punkt die Aussage wieder holt, dass ohne diesen Umstand / Zufall es nicht geklappt hätte. All das war notwendig für den Erfolg. Und ich wundere mich im Nachhinein, wie diese kühne Unternehmung überhaupt gelingen konnte.

Mit diesem Artikel möchte ich am eigenen Beispiel zeigen, wie unvorstellbar viele Bedingungen erfüllt sein müssen, um Erfolg zu haben. Das soll auf keinen Fall entmutigen, aber auch zeigen, dass gründen nicht so ganz einfach ist und ein pragmatischer Ansatz nicht schadet. Zumindest meine ich, dass Gründer aus dieser Geschichte viel lernen können und bin gerne bereit diesen Use Case mit Euch auch interaktiv und persönlich zu diskutieren.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*