Roland Dürre
Saturday September 13th, 2014

Start Up (8) – Learning About the Market!

If you start in a market you do not know anything about, you must have really strong reasons. Especially if you selected a market where many contestants have already established their positions or if the market is generally perceived as basically dead.
Unfortunately, this is exactly what many founders do. Sometimes the reason is probably their inexperience and because they do not know how complex such a market is. Perhaps they also do it because they want to emulate famous idols, like Steve Jobs. He shattered the market of classic mobile phones with his i-phone.

At the time, the “other Steve” (Mr. Ballmer of Microsoft) provocatively said something cynical that did not at all sound so very unreasonable to me: “What does Apple want with a device on the cell-phone market that does not even have keys and with which you cannot even call someone?”. Well, Steve Jobs simply ignored this and was proved correct.

I think this is not the common business rule. In fact, it is a rather special case. Consequently, if you are a “normal founder”, you should take a really close look at the market. It is just too daring to start on a market you, as a young university graduate, cannot really know. You should at least know it a little bit.

This means you have to learn and work towards understanding your target market. Regardless of all enthusiasm and euphoria, you usually cannot be a success unless you learned the market in your target segment and understand its workings. There is no other way of being able to judge if your own idea actually has a chance of survival. More often than not, it is still rather unfinished and, like a rock in the river as it makes its way down the stream, receives its final polish before it will become one or several nice round pebbles.

The best solution when it comes to “learning about the market” is trying it yourself! But this will cost time and energy. There can be setbacks and disappointments, all of which you will have to be able to tolerate.

Learning, too, is expensive and costs energy! You can often learn more comfortably “sponsored by others”, for instance as an employee. And unfortunately, the proverb about “learning years not being master years” is also true when you found a company and learn a market.

Consequently, my recommendation to founders of a start-up enterprise might be
“Spend some time as employees in your target area. And when the moment comes and you feel you have learned enough, get under way!”

In retrospective, I must say that I, too, did exactly this. I learned all the technology and competence about projects at Siemens – and I learned how to do business at Softlab.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 13. September 2014

Start up (8) – den Markt erlernen!

Es muss schon zwingende Gründe geben, in einen Markt einzusteigen, den man nicht kennt. Besonders wenn sich im ausgewählten Markt schon viel etablierte Wettbewerber tummeln oder der Zielmarkt in allgemeiner Bewertung eigentlich tot ist.

Leider machen das viele Gründer. Mag sein, weil sie unerfahren sind und nicht wissen, wie komplex und oft gar nicht erklärbar so ein Markt ist. Vielleicht auch, weil sie prominente Vorbilder wie Steve Jobs haben. Der hat zum Beispiel den Markt der klassischen Mobiltelefone mit seinem I-Phone aufgebrochen.

Die zynische aber damals für mich gar nicht so unvernünftig klingende Provokation vom „anderen Steve“ (Mr. Ballmer von Microsoft) war ja: „Was will Apple mit einem Gerät im Handy-Markt erreichen, das keine Tasten hat und mit dem man auch nicht gescheit telefonieren könne?“. Steve Jobs hat sie einfach ignoriert und recht behalten.

Ich meine, dass dies aber nicht die unternehmerische Regel sondern ein Sonderfall ist. Deshalb sollte man sich der „normale Gründer“ den Markt, in den er rein will, sehr gut anschauen. Es ist einfach zu kühn, einfach in einen Markt einzusteigen, den man als junger Absolvent einer Uni noch gar nicht kennen kann. Und zumindest so ein wenig sollte man ihn halt kennen.

Das heißt, man muss den Zielmarkt erlernen und sich erarbeiten. Trotz großen Elan und Euphorie kann man in der Regel erst erfolgreich sein, wenn man den Markt im Ziel-Segment erlernt und verstanden hat. Erst dann wird man beurteilen können, ob die eigene Idee dort eine reale Chance hat. Oft ist sie noch sehr unfertig und muss sich erst noch wie ein Felsbrocken auf dem Wege stromabwärts im Flussbecken schleifen lassen bis daraus ein oder mehrere schöne runde Kieselsteine werden.

Ein Königsweg beim „Erlernen eines Marktes“ ist das Ausprobieren! Aber das kostet Zeit und Kraft. Es kann Rückschläge und Enttäuschungen geben, die man aushalten können muss.

Auch Lernen ist teuer und kostet Kraft! Oft lernt es sich angenehmer auf „fremde Kosten“, zum Beispiel als angestellter Mitarbeiter. Und leider gilt das Sprichwort „Lehrjahre sind keine Herrenjahre“ auch beim Gründen wie beim Erlernen eines Marktes.

So könnte eine Empfehlung an den Gründer eines start-ups sein:
„Lernt eine zeitlang als angestellte Mitarbeiter in Eurem Zielsegment. Und wenn Ihr dann meint, reif zu sein, legt los!“

In der Retrospektive habe ich es selber auch so gemacht. Das fachliche Wissen (Technologie, Technik und wie man Projekte macht) habe ich bei Siemens gelernt – und wie man Geschäft macht dann bei Softlab.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*