Roland Dürre
Sunday July 22nd, 2012

A Highway Code for the Internet?

» Every technological improvement, if it is supposed to improve human happiness, will also be an improvement in wisdom. « (Bertrand Russell)

A short time ago, I heard the following statement at an Informatics&Sustainability (Informatik&Nachhaltigkeit) event:

As more and more automobiles appeared in the public domain early in the last century, a highway code became necessary.

And then someone asked:

Do we want/need something like it for the internet?

At first sight, it sounds quite reasonable, doesn’t it? At least I would spontaneously answer: yes. Communication, too, must be regulated sensibly. On various levels, as, for example, the ISO-7 layer model outlines quite nicely. In former times, the national postal services had introduced and successfully realized communication models in the CCITT. That was in the good old times when we still had letters, postcards, parcels, telephone an telex. And it worked quite well, didn’t it?

🙂 To be sure, even at the time, there were such negative things as spams. But it was rather tedious to send someone a spam – you had to walk up to their letter box. Or else you had to buy a “bulk mail service”. It did cover a hundred per cent of the postal code area, but at least it was rather expensive!

Only when radio and TV technology made it possible to transport spams directly into the households without much of an effort, the dam was broken. And CCITT could not do anything about it. After all, this was about economic interests. And traditionally, economic interests have always justified everything.

Consequently, the call for some sort of “highway code“ on the internet seems to make sense to me.

But then comes the “but”:

The development of individual mobility, including a highway code, should, first and foremost, be a warning for us. Because, as I see it, it is an extremely good example for how, regardless of – or due to (?) – the extreme regulation mania displayed by the legislative body, technological progress (in this case individual mobility) was improved, but at the same time the common good was severely injured. Mind you, it all happened even though we have a compulsory driving licence, a complex system of punishments and penalties, including a system of minus-points and similar things.

And the damage that was done was not really noticed at all, because we “got used to it” in typical human fashion. Although said damage is massive and concerns many dimensions of our lives:

  • Just think of the massive soil sealing cars brought in their wake. How many square metres of ground were filled with concrete for streets and parking places? In modern semi-detached housing areas, we often find more ground covered by garages and car parking than for greenery. All in all, the landscape was destroyed.
  • Individual mobility, especially as we live it today, gave us extreme resource exploitation, gigantically wasteful habits and a massive amount of rubbish. It is the best example for a non-sustainable life-style.
  • Noise disturbance has reached unimaginable dimensions. There is hardly any place left where it is really quiet. Even in the “upscale housing areas”, there is still noise from motorways.
  • This development of public traffic cost us time. Many people spend several hours every day behind the wheels or their cars. Although they have a good job, they spend a lot of their time doing something otherwise only done by people in an extremely low income group. And they say they enjoy it and are prepared to give “their last shirt” for the car and even indebt themselves for the car.
  • But the worst of it is that this development costs us an immense bloodlet. In Germany alone, there were years with more than 20,000 fatal traffic accidents. Today, we still have more than 5,000 fatal traffic accidents – and the numbers increase again.

    World-wide, we have between 1 and 1.2 million estimated deaths caused by individual traffic each year (source). That is more than the victims of illness, wars and hunger. If you add up the last 60 years, you easily get a number higher than 50 million. That is about as many victims as WW-II cost. I will not even think about the really astronomical number you get when you count the people injured in traffic accidents.

Now the question is if a wise legislative body could have done better a hundred years ago and then during all those years?

I do not know. I do not even know if, in retrospect, we can say what should have been done differently all those years ago.

But I have a few ideas:

For example, I am sure it was a mistake to permit and even support the industry when it promoted the introduction and, above all, the sale of automobiles through sports. Motor sports and also the race courses, such as the Nürburgring were goal-oriented cooperative projects initiated by state and industry in order to promote the acceptance of the then still little-loved new technological product “car”. Thus, we were (almost genetically) pointed towards driving cars as an athletic activity where it is important to be faster than others.

Perhaps we should not have let it happen that the users of the competing means of transportation bike were publicly degraded as early as the first years of the economic miracle. I myself witnessed how my father, against his wishes, changed from using his bike to using his car for the less than two kilometers he had to go between our flat at Rosenaustr. 18 in Augsburg to the General Railway Office Building at Prinzregentenstr. near Augsburg Central Station. Simply because both the neighbors and his own wife thought it no longer appropriate to go by bike in his position.

In those days, going by bike was synonymous for “being poor”. To make matters worse, there was an overflow of cheap bikes from the stores. They all sparkled rather nicely, but unfortunately were not very reliable. And who wanted to be poor and additionally have to get annoyed all the time? But could or should we have resisted against the judgment “if you ride a bike, you belong to the poor” and the avalanche of cheap products at the time?

Perhaps we should have promoted the general welfare in individualized traffic by installing reasonable car-sharing regulations? Or maybe we could have made stricter laws and restrictions?

But how to limit the number of fatal traffic accidents? No law was sufficient (and that is still true today) to put a stop to all the ruthlessness and readiness to assume risk. It probably comes automatically as soon as you sit behind the wheel of an automobile.

Perhaps introducing an archaic mechanism, such as an obligatory blood-feud against “traffic killers“ might have diminished the number of deaths? But, of course, this kind of idea is polemics. I do not mean is seriously. And, naturally, “the end can never justify the means“.

Or maybe humans are just not fit to cope with the (imagined) omnipotence they have behind the wheel of their machines. We are talking humans for whom the (imagined) freedom and independence others cunningly made them believe they really want and for which they are actually prepared to jeopardize both their own and – which is worse – other person’s physical health. Neither do these humans care if they have to pay taxes, compulsory insurance and penalties. For their car, these humans made many sacrifices and sometimes even indebted themselves. And now they want to enjoy the intoxication and even accepts the potential death and injury of third parties.

In fact, to me it seems that this genetics of omnipotence is so deeply rooted that even cyclists sometimes act it out as soon as they mount their bikes. Nowadays – as I witness every day – even the female biker does it!

I am not sure if we would have been a success if we had tried to give the development of individualized traffic with all its terrible consequences other rules and laws a hundred years ago.

We might have avoided some of the damage if we had collectively developed a different attitude! Regulations, however, will certainly not make a difference.

Our present position is what it is. The damage has been done and the coming generations will either put things right or not. Evolution will put things right or not. It will go its way. What will come will be the right thing. No matter what. Even if it seems more like it works without purpose and in a chaotic way.

So what is my consequence with respect to the internet? Can we learn anything from the history of individualized mobility for internet data and knowledge networks?

As I see it, regulations will not help. Maybe developing an “ethical” awareness would be a better way. But how?

RMD

(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 22. Juli 2012

Straßenverkehrsordnung fürs Internet?

» Jeder Zuwachs an Technik bedingt, wenn damit ein Zuwachs des menschlichen Glücks verbunden sein soll, einen entsprechenden Zuwachs an Weisheit. « (Bertrand Russell)

Vor kurzem habe ich auf der Veranstaltung Informatik&Nachhaltigkeit  die Aussage gehört:

Mit dem vermehrten Aufkommen von Automobilen im öffentlichen Raum zu Beginn des letzten Jahrhunderts wurde eine Straßenverkehrsordnung notwendig.

Und dann kam die Frage:

Wollen wir, brauchen wir so etwas ähnliches fürs Internet?

Klingt ja zuerst mal ganz vernünftig. So meine ich ganz spontan „Ja“. Auch Kommunikation muss sinnvoll geregelt werden. Auf verschiedenen Ebenen, wie sie z.B. das ISO-7-Schichtenmodell modellhaft gut beschrieben hat. Früher haben die nationalen Postgesellschaften in der CCITT die Kommunikationsnormen gemacht und erfolgreich durchgesetzt. Das war in der guten alten Zeit von Briefen und Postkarten, Päckchen und Paketen, Telefon und Telex. Und hat gut funktioniert.

🙂 Zwar gab es damals auch negative Effekte wie Spam. Aber Spam war sehr mühsam – man musste von Briefkasten zu Briefkasten laufen. Oder eine „Postwurfsendung“ kaufen. Die hat zwar dann ganze Postleitzahlenbereiche zu 100% erfasst, war aber dafür auch zumindest ziemlich teuer!

Erst mit der Technologie von Rundfunk und Fernsehen wurde Spam mühelos in die Haushalte transportiert und der Damm war damit gebrochen. Und da konnte die CCITT auch nichts machen, ging es doch um „wirtschaftliche Interessen“. Und die haben wohl schon immer alles gerechtfertigt.

Insofern leuchtet mir die Forderung nach einer Art „Straßenverkehrsordnung“ im Internet zuerst schon Mal ein.

🙂 Aber dann kommt das „Aber“:

Die Entwicklung der individuellen Mobilität inklusive der Straßenverkehrsordnung sollte uns vor allem eine Warnung sein. Denn dies ist nach meiner Meinung ein extrem gutes Beispiel, wie trotz – oder durch (?) – extremer Regelwut des Gesetzgebers der technische Fortschritt (in diesem Falle die individuelle Mobilität) zwar gefördert, das Gemeinwohl dabei aber stark beschädigt wurde. Dies trotz Führerscheinverpflichtung, einem komplexen Strafen- und Bussgeldkatalogs inklusive Malus-System und ähnlichem mehr.

  • Man denke an die massive Bodenversiegelung, die uns das Auto gebracht hat. Wie viel Quadratkilometer wurden für Straßen und Parkplätze zu betoniert? In modernen Reihenhaus-Siedlungen finden wir oft mehr Flächen für Garagen und Garagenvorplätze als für Grünflächen. Allgemein wurde Landschaft zersiedelt.
  • Die individuelle Mobilität besonders in ihrer heute gelebten Form hat uns einen extremen Ressourcen-Verbrauch, eine gigantische Verschwendung und einen massiven Anfall von Abfall beschert. Sie ist das beste Beispiel für einen nicht nachhaltigen Lebensstil.
  • Die Lärmbelastung hat ein nie geahntes Ausmaß erreicht. Es gibt kaum mehr wirklich ruhige Orte, sogar in die „besseren Viertel“ dröhnt der Lärm der Autobahnen.
  • Diese Entwicklung des Nahverkehrs hat uns Zeit geraubt. Viele Menschen verbringen mehrere Stunden am Tag am Steuer ihres Autos. Obwohl sie einen ordentlichen Job haben, verbringen sie viel Zeit mit einer Beschäftigung, die sonst nur Menschen in einer extremen Niederlohngruppe ausüben. Und behaupten, sie hätten ihren Spaß dabei und sind bereit, „ihr letztes Hemd“ fürs Auto zu geben und sich notfalls zu verschulden.
  • Besonders schlimm aber ist, dass diese Entwicklung uns einen wahnsinnigen Blutzoll beschert hat. Allein in Deutschland hatten wir Jahre mit bis zu 20.000 Verkehrstoten gehabt. Heute sind immer noch mehr als 5.000 im Jahr – und die Zahlen steigen wieder. Weltweit schätzt man 1 bis 1,2 Millionen durch Individualverkehr verursachte Verkehrstote pro Jahr (Quelle). Das sind mehr als die Opfer von Krankheiten, Kriegen oder Hunger. Über die letzten 60 Jahre kämen dann locker mehr als 50 Millionen zusammen. Das wäre dann die Größenordnung, die der zweite Weltkrieg an Menschenleben gefordert hat. An die wirklich astronomischen Zahlen von in Verkehrsunfällen verletzten Menschen darf man gar nicht denken.

Jetzt ist die Frage, ob ein kluger Gesetzgeber vor 100 Jahren und dann im Laufe der Zeit die Weichen hätte besser stellen können?

Ich weiß es nicht. Ich weiß ja nicht einmal, ob wir rückwirkend wissen, was wir damals anders hätten machen sollen.

Ein paar Ideen hätte ich:

Zum Beispiel war es sicher ein Fehler, der Industrie zu erlauben und sie dabei zu unterstützen, die Einführung und vor allem die Absätze des Automobils über den Weg des Sportes zu fördern. Der Motorsport und auch die Rennstrecken wie der Nürburgring waren gezielte kooperative Maßnahmen von Staat und Industrie, um die Akzeptanz des damals noch ungeliebten neuen technischen Produkts Automobil zu fördern. So wurden wir (fast genetisch) aufs Autofahren quasi als sportliche Tätigkeit eingestellt, bei der es darauf ankommt, schneller als die anderen Verkehrsteilnehmer zu sein.

Vielleicht hätten wir nicht dulden sollen, dass die Nutzer des konkurrierenden Verkehrsmittel Fahrrads schon in den ersten Wirtschaftswunderjahren öffentlich abgewertet wurden. Ich habe selbst erlebt, wie mein Vater für seinen nicht einmal zwei Kilometer langen Arbeitsweg von unserer Wohnung in der Rosenaustr. 18 in Augsburg zur Bundesbahndirektion in der Prinzregentenstr. nahe beim Hbf Augsburg gegen seinen Willen vom Fahrrad aufs Auto umgestiegen ist. Einfach weil die Nachbarn und seine Frau meinten, dass es mit seiner Position nicht mehr verträglich war, mit dem Rad zu fahren.

Man hat damals das Fahrradfahren mit dem Eigenschaft der „Armut“ verbunden. Dazu kam dann noch die Schwemme von Billig-Fahrrädern aus den Kaufhäusern, die zwar bunt funkelten aber leider sehr unzuverlässig waren. Und wer wollte schon arm sein und sich dann auch noch laufend ärgern müssen. Aber hätten wir damals gegen die Bewertung „Als Fahrradfahrer gehörst Du zu den Armen“ und die Billiglawine bei Produkten einschreiten können oder sollen?

Vielleicht hätte man früher den Gemeinnutz beim individuellen Verkehr durch sinnvolle Mitfahrer-Regeln fördern sollen? Vielleicht strengere Gesetze und Beschränkungen einführen?

Aber wie hätte man die Anzahl der Verkehrstoten beschränken können? Alle Gesetze vermochten nicht (und vermögen das auch heute nicht), die Rücksichtslosigkeit und Risikobereitschaft einzudämmen, die Menschen wohl zwangsläufig befällt, wenn sie am Steuer eines Kfz Platz nehmen.

Vielleicht hätte die Einführung archaischer Mechanismen wie eine verpflichtende Blutrache an „Verkehrsmördern“ die Menge an Verkehrsopfern eingedämmt? Aber so ein Gedanke ist natürlich polemisch und nicht ernst gemeint. Und natürlich darf der „Zweck nie die Mittel heiligen“.

Oder war und ist der Mensch einfach nicht reif für die (vermeintliche) Omnipotenz am Steuer seiner Kraftmaschine. Der Mensch, dem (die vermeintliche) und  die ihm wahrscheinlich geschickt eingeredete Freiheit und Unabhängigkeit über alles geht, und der eben bereit ist, dafür auch seine und schlimmer die körperliche Unversehrtheit anderer aufs Spiel zu setzen. Und sich von Steuern, Zwangsversicherungen und Bußgeldern nicht bremsen lassen. Er hat für sein Auto auf vieles verzichtet und sich oft sogar verschuldet. Und jetzt will er den Rausch ausleben und nimmt auch den Tod und Verletzung Dritter billigend in Kauf.

Diese genetisch Form von Omnipotenz scheint mir so tief verankert, dass sie sogar manchen Radfahrer befällt, wenn er sein Rad besteigt. Mittlerweile – wie ich täglich fest stelle – erfasst sie sogar Radfahrerinnen!

Ich bin nicht sicher, ob wir es geschafft hätten, vor 100 Jahren mit anderen Regeln und Gesetzen die Entwicklung des Individualverkehrs mit seinen schrecklichen Folgen besser zu gestalten.

Vielleicht hätten wir manche Schäden vermeiden können, wenn wir ein kollektives anderes Bewusstsein entwickelt hätten! Mit Gesetzen wird man das aber garantiert nicht schaffen.

Jetzt stehen wir da, wo wir eben stehen. Der Schaden ist entstanden und die nächsten Generationen werden ihn beheben oder auch nicht. Die Evolution wird es richten oder auch nicht. Sie wird ihren Weg gehen, was sie macht, wird richtig sein. So oder so. Auch wenn sie eher zweckfrei und chaotisch zu arbeiten scheint.

Ja, was folgere ich daraus fürs Internet? Können wir betreffend der Vernetzung von Daten und Wissen im Internet etwas von der Geschichte der individuellen Mobilität lernen?

Ich meine zu erkennen, dass Gesetze nicht helfen. Die Entwicklung eines „ethischen“ Bewusstseins wäre da vielleicht besser geeignet. Aber wie macht man das?

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*