Roland Dürre
Monday August 1st, 2011

Monday, August, 1st, 2011

“Driving SUVs and Drinking” or “Driving Drunk in the SUV”How cars changed as time went by …

Forming a mental image of how cars changed since my childhood, I first see small cars. When I was a child, those models were ever-present. We are talking two-seaters and small four-seaters.

I remember the Isetta (one of them is still sitting in my garage), the Goggomobil, the Cabin Roller (by Messerschmitt),  the Fiat 500, the Janus, the Lloyd 400, the small BMW’s and many more. They all had one thing in common: they were delicate and radiating goodwill.

But the bigger versions among the small cars, such as the „Ente“ and the R4, also had their charm. And, above all, they were radiating common sense.

The development went from the small cars to the beetle and then on to the typical family and agents’ limousines. Then we had the fantastic “womens vehicles” with their white tyres, such as the VW Karmann Ghia or the Isabella. And for the sporty gentleman (or boy), there was a sporty two-seater from Porsche or MG.

I also remember well the first luxury limousines by Mercedes and BMW, but also the DS by Citroen. Their very design was characterized by down-to-earth luxury and superiour beauty.

The last car generation automobilia provided us with was the SUV (Sport-Utility-Vehicle). It is as big and heavy as the Opel-Blitz (that was a truck used for transporting coal in autumn).

There is a special aura to the SUVs. They no longer radiate the charm of luxury and chromium that our former American road cruisers or old-timers had.

No. Their design says: pure aggression and danger. This is no longer the personified ruthlessness, but the “automobilified” one. Rolling on extra broad tyres, they demolish everything in their path.

They demonstrate mass and power. You drive them like heavy missilies. After all, the people sitting inside know that nothing can happen to them any more, since their passive and active safety is the highest possible.

So these tin monsters move through the small streets of our residential areas and radiate ignorance and arrogance all over the place:

Here I come! I will destroy everything that dares to confront me! I am heavy and strong, because I am powerful and rich. I am full of extravagance and technological knick-knack. I am absolutely superiour and invincible.

And the driver is happy:

I can afford to drive this car. Why should I care about nature and the environment. The world was made for me and my car alone. Sitting in my car, I am safe. It will do what I say. Pedestrians and cyclists are truly a nuisance. Why should I be considerate? No, thanks!

Whenever I meet drivers of these cars on a party, they are mostly elderly gentlemen. And when I listen to their talk, I can bet:

Sooner or later, the cocktail discussion will be about driving drunk. And they relate tales about having been stopped by the police alcohol-check on their nightly drive home. Or else they lament about stupid radar control systems. Once in a while, I get provocative and call for a speed limit.

But in these kinds of situations, I am not sure if I should be amused or moved to tears.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
The first two pictures were taken on a bike tour from Budapest to the Black Sea, the third was taken by Rolo Zollner (it shows me driving my daughter to the registry office). And the last one is another picture taken by myself. It shows my car in the garage..

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Montag, der 1. August 2011

„SUVs im Suff“ oder „Suff im SUV“

Wie sich die Autos so im Laufe der Jahre entwickelt haben …

Wenn ich die Entwicklung von Autos seit meiner Kindheit vor meinem geistigen Auge vorbei gleiten lasse, dann sehe ich zuerst die Kleinwagen. In meiner Kindheit gab es ganz viele solche Modelle. Zweisitzer und knappe Viersitzer.

Ich erinnere mich an die Isetta (da steht eine sogar noch in meiner Garage), das Goggomobil, den Kabinenroller (Messerschmitt),  den Fiat 500, den Janus, den Lloyd 400, die kleinen BMWs und manche mehr. Ganz zierliche Fahrzeuge, die Sympathie ausgestrahlt haben.

Aber auch die größeren Kleinwagen wie die Ente oder der R4 hatten ihren Charme. Und strahlten vor allem Vernunft aus.

Von den Kleinwagen führte die Entwicklung weiter zum Käfer und den typischen Familien- und Vertreterlimousinen. Dann kamen die traumhaften „Frauenfahrzeuge“ mit den Weißwandreifen wie der VW Karmann Ghia oder die Isabella. Und für den sportlichen Herrn (oder Knaben) die sportlichen Zweisitzer wie Porsche oder MG.

Auch an die ersten Luxuslimousinen von Mercedes und BMW, aber auch an die DS von Citroen kann ich mich gut erinnern. Sie bestachen schon im Design durch gediegenen Luxus und erhabene Schönheit.

Als letzte Auto-Generation hat uns die Automobilia  den SUV (Sport-Utility-Vehicle) beschert. Der ist so groß und schwer wie früher ein Opel-Blitz (der LKW, mit dem im Herbst die Kohlen kamen).

Die SUVs haben eine besondere Aura. Sie strahlen nicht mehr den Charme von Luxus und Chrom der ehemaligen amerikanischen Straßenkreuzer oder unserer Oldtimer aus.

Nein, die Botschaft ihres Designs ist Aggression und Bedrohung pur. Nicht mehr die personifizierte sondern die „autofizierte“ Rücksichtslosigkeit. Auf extra breiten Rädern walzen sie alles nieder, was ihnen in den Weg kommt.

Masse und Kraft werden demonstriert. Gefahren werden sie wie schwere Geschosse. Denn die Insassen wissen ja, dass ihnen aufgrund höchster passiver und aktiver Sicherheit nichts mehr passieren kann.

So bewegen sich die Monsterkisten durch die kleinen Straßen unseres Viertels und strahlen vom Frontgrill bis zum Auspuff Ignoranz und Arroganz aus:

Hoppla, jetzt komme ich und vernichte alles, was mir im Weg steht! Schwergewichtig und stark. Denn ich bin mächtig und reich. Stecke voller Verschwendung und technischer Spielereien. Allem überlegen und unverletzlich.

Und der Fahrer freut sich:

Ich kann es mir leisten. Was interessiert mich die Natur und die Umwelt. Die Welt ist für mich und mein Auto gemacht. In meinem Auto bin ich sicher. Es folgt mir aufs Wort. Fußgänger und Radfahrer sind für mich eine Zumutung. Einschränken soll ich mich? Nein Danke!

Wenn ich auf den Partys Fahrern von solchen Wagen treffe, sind es meistens ältere Herren. Und wenn ich ihnen zuhöre, dann kann ich darauf wetten:

Früher oder später dreht sich das CocktailGespräch um das Thema Alkohol am Steuer. Und sie berichten von ihren Erlebnissen mit Alkohol-Kontrollen bei nächtlichen Heimfahrten und schimpfen über unsinnige Radarkontrollen. Ab und zu provoziere ich dann und fordere ein Tempolimit.

Weiß in solchen Situationen aber nicht, ob ich mich amüsieren oder heulen soll.

RMD

P.S.
Die ersten beiden Bilder habe ich auf einer Radfahrt von Budapest ans schwarze Meer aufgenommen, das dritte hat Rolo Zollner gemacht (ich fahre da mit unserer Isetta und meiner Tochter am Standesamt vor) und das letzte ist wieder ein eigenes Foto vom Auto in der Garage.

Kommentar verfassen

*