Roland Dürre
Saturday December 19th, 2015

Theses about the Future and History of Cultural Competences

Slideshow_startI learned at school that we have some “basic cultural competences”. Allegedly, they are the necessary basis for human progress. For instance calculating, reading and writing.
How about these competences today?

Calculating

Who of us can still do the multiplication tables by heart? Who of us can still do calculations without using paper for summations, subtractions, multiplications and divisions? Especially if there are several digits and you have to “store” some interim results?

Who of us is still versed about the formal methods for subtractions and multiplications on paper, or summations of long number colonies? I mean without having to spend a long time thinking how you used to learn it. Or who can still extract a root? Using nothing but pen and paper? These are the kinds of tasks you can use in a job interview if you quickly want to drive even academically educated candidates to extreme desperation.

As I see it, doing calculations is a cultural competence that is currently disappearing. Well, neither do we need it any longer, because our small electronic helpers can do a so much better job of it.

Consequently, many persons only have a rudimentary knowledge of calculations. Children do not learn it any more. Perhaps if they had “unschooling” conditions (or a Sudbury school), they might be interested in such exotic things as doing calculations by heart. Intrinsically motivated and as a game.

On the “normal” schools of this world, however, it will no longer work. Because they develop more and more into quasi military educational institutions with absolutely hierarchical structures. Where children are instructed (or rather: drilled) following a certain pattern. (Naturally), this is no way to force something on children that is hard to learn and apparently no longer needed.

Consequently, the cultural competence of calculating will only remain in a very rudimentary form. And I do not find this sad at all. After all, my teacher, F. L. Bauer (second generation computer science pioneer) taught me that, even a few centuries ago, the art of multiplication was taught at universities only up to a low one-digit number. Incidentally, at the time they used logarithmic tables – which resulted in imprecise results.

In other words: if I want to be happy, I do not need cultural competence I have to take pains to acquire. And I mean cultural competence that gains me nothing excerpt a headache at the end of the day!

Reading & Writing

This cultural competence is not yet as extinct as calculations. However, not only the “developed” countries have a drastically increasing number of both true and “rudimentary illiterates”. As a logical consequence, they now demand as part of barrier free access for public announcements for web design that the website has to be readable for “persons who only have rudimentary knowledge of reading, as well” in the USA.

This is another development that looks logical and clear to me. Audio and video are on the ascent, of course, the podcast beats the post, youtube & co beat the newspaper, etc.

Incidentally, these explanations of mine are not meant ironically. I am dead serious. Matters will continue in this direction. Here are some more steep theses of mine:

  • The high times of reading and writing arrived with the PC and the laptop.
    Writing with pen and paper has always been and is just atrocious. Written documents were optimized for the person who writes them, rather than with him. In former times, both the light for reading and the eyesight of the readers were poorer. Consequently, writing a document – and penmanship – were very time consuming and have thus become redundant. Only printing presses and later Johannes Gutenberg with his invention of movable metal letters brought the breakthrough for written media. Later, the typewriter made it a bit easier to produce readable written material, and so did the computer – regardless of sub-standard software like word. Thus, we had a last peak of writing that started with “vi” and is now at its end. Just look at the texts created on mobile telephones and tablets (aren’t they identical today?).
  • It is easier to learn how to draw and sketch than to learn how to read and write.
    Most technologies disappear after they have reached their peak. The written word will suffer the same fate. It will probably be replaced by drawing and sketching. Many people say they cannot draw. That is wrong. It is quite easy to learn how to produce pictures and express yourself in picture language.
  • Our technology is currently maturing towards drawing and sketching.
    So far, the only way to draw halfway decent pictures was on paper. There were disadvantages to this. The electronic assistants were not yet capable of supporting us in the same way as “word processor” supported an author. But now the tablets come – and suddenly drawing electronical pictures is easier than drawing on paper. Just like it happened in former times with writing. Undo, versioning, layout layers and many great features make you forget the erstwhile huge handicaps of drawing on paper. And it seems that they have only just started!
  • Our future belongs to images and sounds.
    Images say more than a thousand words. This was an experience made by early marketing, when they had posters on mobile vehicles such as trams. Adverts with text had failed on trams, because the trams had always turned the corner before the people could decipher the texts. It was a lot easier with pictures and very few words.
  • Perhaps there can be a consensus through pictures.
    As I see it, this is a very important side effect. Successful communication is probably the hardest of all challenges. We have tried for millennia to find consensus through linguistic and written communication. And we have failed just as long, as history proves. Why don’t we try pictures instead?

Here is my statement:

The future belongs to pictures and sounds. It will become socially as unimportant to write as it is now to do calculations. Rudimentary reading will be totally sufficient for understanding additional information such as for instance precise details. The main reason for this development is that the digital world, at long last, can create and make available pictures as easily and quickly as a simple calculator makes calculations or as the current collaboration tools make the use of documents available. This is how, in the long run, drawing, drafting and sketching on tablets (and their successors) will replace the “cultural competences” of reading and writing in the same way as the calculator has replaced the “cultural competence” of doing sums.

“Because it is so easy!”, or “Because that is how it is!”.

🙂 Even if then the IF Blog will have to become a podcast or/and an image blog.

RMD

Note:
Even today, films, for example, create more consensus than the great novels did in former times. And the more the art of reading gets lost, the more important audio and video will become.
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
I took the picture from the website of Visual-Braindump (Christian Botta & Daniel Reinold).

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 19. Dezember 2015

Thesen zu Zukunft und Vergangenheit von Kulturtechniken

Slideshow_startIn der Schule habe ich gelernt, dass es so „grundlegende Kulturtechniken“ gäbe. Die notwendige Basis der Weiterentwicklung von uns Menschen wären. Wie Rechnen oder Lesen und Schreiben.

Wie sieht es heute damit aus?

Rechnen

Wer beherrscht noch das Einmaleins? Wer kann noch im Kopf rechnen, will sagen wer kann noch Zahlen ohne Papier addieren, subtrahieren, multiplizieren oder dividieren? Besonders wenn sie ein paar Stellen mehr haben und man Ergebnisse „zwischenspeichern“ muss?

Wer beherrscht noch die formalen Methoden, auf Papier zu subtrahieren und multiplizieren oder auch nur eine längere Zahlenkolonie zu addieren? Dies ohne erst länger nachdenken zu müssen, wie das doch eigentlich war? Oder wer kann gar noch eine Wurzel ziehen? Nur mit Stift und Papier? Mit solchen Aufgabenstellungen kann man im Bewerbungsgespräch auch akademisch gebildete Kandidaten rasch in tiefste Verzweiflung stürzen.

Ich meine, rechnen ist eine Kulturtechnik, die gerade verschwindet. Eigentlich fast schon verschwunden ist. Wir brauchen sie auch nicht mehr, denn unsere kleinen elektronischen Helferlein können es halt so viel besser.

So können viele Menschen nur noch rudimentär rechnen. Die Kinder lernen es sowieso nicht mehr. Vielleicht würden die sich für solche exotischen Dinge wie Kopfrechnen in „unschooling“-Verhältnissen interessieren (oder in einer Sudbury-Schule). Aus intrinsischer Motivation, spielerisch.

Auf den „normalen“ Schulen dieser Welt aber wird es nicht mehr funktionieren. Weil diese immer mehr sich zu quasi-militärischen Lehranstalten entwickeln, in denen absolut-hierarchischen Strukturen herrschen. Die die Kinder nach einem „Schema F“ unterrichten (oder besser abrichten). Auf diese Art schafft man es (natürlich) nicht, Kindern etwas rein zu pressen, das anstrengend ist, obwohl man es offensichtlich nicht mehr braucht.

Deshalb wird die Kulturtechnik des Rechnens nur noch sehr rudimentär erhalten bleiben. Und das finde ich überhaupt nicht schlimm. Habe ich doch bei meinem Lehrer F. L. Bauer (Informatik-Pionier der 2. Generation) gelernt, dass vor noch ganz wenigen Jahrhunderten die Kunst des Multiplizieren nur an einer einstelligen Anzahl im untersten Bereich von Hochschulen gelehrt wurde. Damals übrigens auf der Basis von Logarithmus-Tafeln – mit entsprechend unscharfen Ergebnissen.

Will sagen, zum Glücklichsein, brauch ich keine Kulturtechnik, bei der ich mich anstrengen muss. Und die mir überhaupt nichts bringt, außer dass mir am Schluss dann auch noch der Kopf weh tut!

Lesen & Schreiben

Diese Kulturtechnik ist noch nicht so ausgerottet wie das Rechnen. Allerdings steigt nicht nur in „fortschrittlichen“ Ländern die Anzahl sowohl der echten wie besonders der „rudimentären Analphabeten“ stark. Folgerichtig wird in den USA bei der Ausschreibung von öffentlichen Web-Anwendungen als Teil der Barriere-Freiheit gefordert, dass die Website auch für „des Lesens nur rudimentär fähigen Menschen“ zugänglich sein muss.

Auch diese Entwicklung erscheint mir logisch und klar. Audio und Video sind im Vormarsch, der Podcast schlägt natürlich den Post, Youtube & Co die Zeitung usw.

Ich meine diese Aussagen übrigens nicht ironisch sondern sehr ernst. Es wird in diese Richtung weitergehen. Dazu noch ein paar steile Thesen:

  • Die hohe Zeit von Schreiben und Lesen kam mit den PCs und Laptops.
    Schreiben mit der Hand war und ist grauenhaft. Die Schrift wurde für den und nicht dem Schreiber optimiert. Früher war das Licht zum Lesen wie das Augenlicht der Leser schlechter.  So sind Schrift – und Handschrift – sehr aufwändig um redundant sein. Erst die Druckmaschinen und später Johannes Gutenberg mit seiner Erfindung der beweglichen Metalllettern hat schriftlichen Medien zum Durchbruch gebracht. Die Schreibmaschine hat die Erstellung von lesbarer Schrift ein wenig leichter und der Computer dann – trotz grauenhafter Software wie word – super einfach gemacht. So gab es einen letzten Höhepunkt des Schreibens, der mit „vi“ begann und jetzt endet. Schauen wir uns nur die Texte an, die auf Mobilen Telefonen und Tablets  erzeugt werden (ist das mittlerweile nicht dasselbe?).
  • Malen und zeichnen zu lernen ist leichter als Lesen und Schreiben.
    Die meisten Techniken verschwinden, wenn sie ihren Höhepunkt erreicht haben. So wird es auch der Schrift gehen. Sie dürfte vom Zeichnen und Malen abgelöst werden.Viele Menschen sagen, dass sie nicht malen könnten. Das ist falsch, die Erzeugung von Bildern und das Ausdrücken in Bildsprache sind sehr leicht erlernbar.
  • Die Technologie wird gerade reif für Zeichnen und Malen.
    Bisher konnte man nur auf Papier ordentlich malen. Das hatte seine Nachteile, die elektronischen Helferlein waren noch nicht in der Lage, uns so zu unterstützen wie der „word processor“ den Schreiber. Jetzt aber kommen die Tablets – und plötzlich wird malen elektronisch einfacher als auf Papier, so wie anno dazumal das Schreiben. Undo, Versionierung, Layout-Schichten und viele tolle Features beseitigen die großen Einschränkung des Malen auf Papier! Und es scheint da erst so richtig los zu gehen!
  • Die Zukunft gehört den Bildern und dem Ton.
    Bilder sagen mehr als 1.000 Worte. Das ist eine Erkenntnis des frühen Marketing auf mobilen Fahrzeugen wie auf Straßenbahnen. Textliche Werbung hatte auf Straßenbahnen versagt, weil diese immer schon um die Ecke waren bevor die Adressaten die Texte entziffern konnten. Mit Bildern und ganz wenig Worten ging das dann viel besser.
  • Konsens kann vielleicht mit Visualisierung erreicht werden.
    Das halte ich für einen ganz wichtigen Nebenaspekt. Gelingende Kommunikation ist wohl das schwierigste überhaupt. Seit Jahrtausenden versucht man Konsensfindung durch sprachliche und schriftliche Kommunikation zu schaffen. Und ebenso lange scheitern wir, wie die Geschichte zeigt. Lasst es uns doch mal mit Bildern versuchen?

So behaupte ich:
Die Zukunft gehört den Bildern und dem Ton. Schreiben können wird gesellschaftlich so unwichtig werden wie rechnen. Rudimentäres Lesen wird völlig ausreichen, um ergänzende Informationen wie zum Beispiel die Präzisierung von Details zu verstehen. Der Hauptgrund für diese Entwicklung ist, dass die digitale Welt endlich Bilder genauso leicht und einfach erzeugbar und zugänglich macht wie der Taschenrechner das Rechnen oder die aktuellen Kollaborationwerkzeuge den Umgang mit Dokumenten. So werden zumindest langfristig das Malen, Skizzieren, Zeichnen auf dem Tablett (und seinen Nachfolgern) genauso die „Kulturtechnik“ Schreiben&Lesen ablösen wie der Taschenrechner die „Kulturtechnik“ des Rechnen verdrängt hat.

„Weil es so einfach ist!“ oder „Weil es einfach so ist!“

🙂 Auch wenn dann der IF-Blog zum PodCast- oder/und zum Bilder-Blog wandeln muss.

RMD

Anmerkung: Schon heute schaffen zum Beispiel Filme mehr Konsens als die großen Romane der Vergangenheit. Und je mehr die Kunst des Lesens verloren geht, um so wichtiger werden Audio und Video.

P.S.
Das Bild ist von der Website von Visual-Braindump (Christian Botta & Daniel Reinold).

 

Kommentar verfassen

*