Venedig3Paul Neal Adair was a US fire fighter. He was born into a household of modest income in 1915 in Houston/Texas as one of eight children.

He became famous as “Red Adair” (* June, 18th, 1915; † August, 7th, 2004). He founded and gave his name to the firm whose objective it is to fight huge fires. The fire-red protective suit, or at least the red tie, became his trademark.

I remember well about the first Kuwait war. Saddam Hussein had set fire to more than a hundred crude oil springs in Kuwait. The world knew no way out. Red Adair alone was able to help.

And if I remember correctly, it cost extremely much, which caused long discussions afterwards about asking him for help. But I guess he was probably worth his money. Under his command, the 117 burning oil springs were quickly extinguished after the end of the Golf War in 1991 and Red Adair became internationally famous.

venedig6IAmong expert, however, his enterprise had been known at least since 1962, when he had extinguished gas fires in the Algerian Sahara at Gassi Touil that had been burning for more than six months.

Wherever conventional fire fighting was at the end of its tethers, he was the person to turn to, because he had very special fire fighting methods. His experience suggested that he knew a method for fighting every kind of great fire (I guess some of them were adventurous and risky). He was able to quench fires that were said to be unquenchable.

Isn’t that a wonderful USP!

I always dreamed of coming up with this kind of USP in IT. If only I could become the “Red Adair” of information technology…

Well, I guess that is utopian. There you see what kinds of mental excess an entrepreneur can fall victim to when he is looking for a USP for his enterprise.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
The pictures were taken in Venice. That city has a very special USP. Imagine yourself being the tourist manager of Venice. What would you propose as USP for Venice? The answer “Venice does not need one” will not be accepted.
The next USP I will discuss is that of my former employer.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Mittwoch, der 19. August 2009

Unternehmertagebuch #2 – der USP – Fall 2: Red Adair

Venedig3Paul Neal Adair war ein US-amerikanischer Feuerwehrmann. 1915 kam er in Houston/Texas als eines von acht Kindern in bescheidenen Verhältnissen zur Welt.

Bekannt wurde er als „Red Adair“ (* 18. Juni 1915; † 7. August 2004 ). Er gründete die Firma gleichen Namens zur Bekämpfung von Großbränden. Sein Markenzeichen war der feuerrote Schutzanzug oder zumindest die rote Krawatte.

Ich erinnere mich noch gut an den ersten Kuwait-Krieg. Saddam Hussein hatte über 100 Ölquellen in Kuwait in Brand gesteckt. Die Welt war ratlos. Nur Red Adair konnte helfen.

Und wenn ich mich so richtig erinnere, war er sehr teuer, so dass man eine Zeit lang über seinen Einsatz diskutierte. Aber er war sein Geld wohl wert. Unter seiner Leitung wurden nach dem Ende des Golfkrieges 1991 die 117 brennenden Ölquellen recht geräuschlos gelöscht und Red Adair international berühmt.

venedig6In Fachkreisen war er und sein Unternehmen aber spätestens seit 1962 durch die Löschung einer seit mehr als sechs Monaten brennenden Gasquelle in der algerischen Sahara (Gassi Touil) bekannt.

Da, wo die normale Brandbekämpfung versagte, war er gefragt. Denn er verfügte über ganz spezielle Feuerbekämpfungsmethoden. Seine Erfahrung suggerierte, dass er für jedes Großfeuer eine angemessene Löschmethode hatte (die wohl auch ab und zu abenteuerlich bis riskant war). Er konnte Feuer löschen, die als nicht löschbar galten.

Ist das nicht ein großartiges USP!

Von solch einem USP habe ich in der IT auch immer wieder geträumt. Wenn es nur gelingen würde, der „Red Adair“ der Informationstechnologie zu werden …

Ist wohl auch eine Utopie. Aber man sieht, zu welchen gedanklichen Blüten es einen Unternehmer auf der Suche nach dem USP für sein Unternehmen treibt.

RMD

P.S.
Die Bilder habe ich in Venedig aufgenommen. Eine Stadt mit einem ganz besonderen USP. Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie wären der Touristik Manager von Venedig. Was schlagen Sie als USP für Venedig vor? Die Antwort „Venedig braucht keines“ lassen wir nicht gelten.

Und als nächstes USP schaue ich mir das von meinem alten Arbeitgeber an.

Kommentar verfassen

*