During one of my (knowledge-collecting) forays, I end up in Wikipedia on the article Operations Research (short OR). OR, in German also called Business Research Unternehmensforschung[1], is allegedly part of Applied Mathematics (Angewandte Mathematik), dealing with the optimization (Optimierung) of certain processes and procedures.

That surprised me. As it happens, I used to believe that business research and operation research were two different things.
All you have to do in order to see where the problem lies is take a look at the Wikipedia footnote on business research [1]:

  1. In the late 1960ies and early 1970ies, they tried to establish the term “procedure and planning research” in the German language.

As I see it, procedure and planning research has little to do with business research!
Let me tell you how I used to define everything …


Business research
should ask the following questions:

How does an enterprise work? Who are the stakeholders of an enterprise? What is leadership? What are the main characteristics of leading personalities? What are the success criteria? What is the right strategy for guaranteeing the continued success of an enterprise? How to find a development and processing organization suitable for the special needs of my enterprise? And much more…

Empirical business research, for instance:

What is typically managerial behaviour? How do they spend their time? Is there a correlation between their personalities and the success of their enterprise? What is entrepreneurial culture? How does it develop? How does it change? What destroys it? How can you promote entrepreneurial culture? What is the role of social media, communication, special events, …? How to make sure that the people working in your enterprise can live up to their potential and even grow with their tasks (Empowering of People)? And what are the typical procedures in an eco-social system? How does a modification of the way you think influence the enterprise?

Operations Research,
on the other hand, is the attempt at making a science (Verwissenschaftlichung) out of an eco-social process. You try to describe developments with the help of mathematical models and algorithms. You want a certain degree of predictability and “operability” in your business. You try to discover scientific laws behind forces. Employees can be analysed and “profiled” scientifically and you can optimize their use.

Criticism of Operations Research
OR looks upon an enterprise as a determinist system. First and foremost, the enterprise is seen as a controllable machine getting input and producing output. In order to optimize the entrepreneurial results, all the managers have to do is know their tools and then put the screwdriver to the correct screw. Success is mostly defined very one-sidedly through the “shareholder value”.

Well, in my opinion, it is not all that easy. An enterprise should not have a one-dimensional goal as top priority. Complex multi-goal decisions are necessary. You have to make them based on highly uncertain factors. When we are talking the future, there are no ultimate truths, neither is there any predictability.

Perhaps the growth of a forest can be theoretically determined. But probably only on a short-term basis and only in an ideal-typical environment (which, incidentally, does not exist in the real world). But how about the growth of an animate being? The growth of a company? The growth of an economy?

I also find it rather interesting – at least from my limited insight – that no theory ever mentions the death of an enterprise. In practice, however, it happens quite often……

Conclusion
Basically, my feeling dissatisfied with terms such as “business research” and “operation research” can be traced to the question: what is life and the promotion of life in all its social, economical, cultural and other dimensions. It is the difference between “cultural life” and “games of numbers”. Between dominant rules and random events. Between marching lock-step according to norms and the dance of nature. Between per-determined and individually configurable, between dead and alive. Between ignorance and openness.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Bei einem meiner (Wissens-)Streifzüge lande ich in Wikipedia auf dem Artikel Operations Research (kurz OR ). OR, im Deutschen auch Unternehmensforschung[1] genannt, sei ein Teilgebiet der Angewandten Mathematik, das sich mit der Optimierung bestimmter Prozesse oder Verfahren beschäftigt.

Ich war verblüfft. Dachte ich doch bisher immer, Unternehmensforschung und Operation Research wären zwei verschiedene Dinge.

Der Verweis auf die Fußnote in Wikipedia bei Unternehmensforschung[1] zeigt schon die Problematik:

  1. In den späten 1960ern und frühen 1970ern wurde versucht, den Begriff „Ablauf- und Planungsforschung“ in der deutschen Sprache zu etablieren.

Ablauf- und Planungsforschung hat so in meiner Denke mit Unternehmensforschung ja kaum etwas zu tun!

Jetzt schreibe ich mal, wie ich die Dinge so begriffen habe …

Unternehmensforschung
sollte solche Fragen stellen:

Wie tickt ein Unternehmen? Wer sind die Stakeholder eines Unternehmens? Was ist Führung? Was zeichnet Führungskräfte aus? Was sind Erfolgskriterien? Wie kann Strategie den Erfolg eines Unternehmens nachhaltig sicherstellen? Wie kann man eine den Bedürfnissen des Unternehmens gerecht werdende Aufbau- und Ablauforganisation finden? Und vieles mehr …

Empirische Unternehmensforschung dazu könnte ich mir so vorstellen:

Wie verhalten sich Manager? Wie verbringen sie ihre Zeit? Gibt es eine Korrelation ihrer Eigenschaften zum Unternehmenserfolg? Was ist Unternehmenskultur? Wie entsteht sie, wie verändert sie sich? Was zerstört sie? Wie kann Unternehmenskultur gefördert werden? Welche Rolle spielen social media, Kommunikation, Veranstaltungen …? Wie stellt man sicher, dass die Menschen im Unternehmen ihre Fähigkeiten entfalten und mit ihren Aufgaben wachsen können (Empowering of People)? Und was sind die typischen Abläufe in öko-sozialen Systemen? Wie wirkt verändertes Denken auf das Unternehmen?

Operations Research
dagegen ist für mich der Versuch der „Verwissenschaftlichung“ von öko-sozialen Prozessen. Es wird versucht, Entwicklungen mit mathematischen Modellen und Algorithmen zu beschreiben. Das Geschäft soll planbar und „operabel“ umsetzbar werden. Hinter Wirkungskräften versucht man naturwissenschaftliche Gesetze zu entdecken. Mitarbeiter können wissenschaftlich analysiert und „profiled“ werden und ihr Einsatz entsprechend optimiert erfolgen.

Kritik an Operations Research

OR betrachtet ein Unternehmen wie ein deterministisches System. Das Unternehmen wird zuerst mal als steuerbare Maschine gesehen, die Input bekommt und Output erzeugt. Die Manager des Unternehmers müssen nur ihr Handwerkszeug beherrschen und an den richtigen Schrauben stehen, um das Ergebnis des Unternehmens zu optimieren. Dieser wiederum ist meistens sehr einseitig über den „shareholder value“ definiert.

So einfach ist es meiner Meinung nach nicht. Ein Unternehmen darf eben nicht ein priories eindimensionales Ziel haben. Komplizierte Mehrzielentscheidungen sind notwendig, die immer unter hoher Unsicherheit gefällt werden müssen. Wenn es um Zukunft geht, dann gibt es keine Wahrheiten und eben auch keine Berechenbarkeit.

Vielleicht kann das Wachstum eines Waldes theoretisch bestimmt werden. Wahrscheinlich aber auch nur sehr temporär und nur in einer idealtypischen Umgebung (die man natürlich nie antreffen wird). Aber das Wachsen eines Lebewesens? Das Wachsen eines Betriebes? Das Wachsen einer Volkswirtschaft?

Interessant ist auch, dass zumindest nach meinem begrenzten Einblick der Tod eines Unternehmens in der Theorie so richtig gar nicht vorkommt. In der Praxis aber um so häufiger …

Zusammenfassung

Die von mir gefühlte Unzufriedenheit mit den Begriffen „Unternehmensforschung“ und „Operation Research“ beruht letzten Endes wieder auf der Frage, was Leben und die Entfaltung von Leben in seinen sozialen, ökonomisches, kulturellen und sonstigen Dimensionen ist. Es ist der Unterschied zwischen „Kulturleben“ und „Zahlenspielen“. Zwischen dominanter Regel und zufälligen Ereignissen. Zwischen dem normierten Gleichschritt und dem Tanz der Natur. Zwischen vorherbestimmt und  gestaltbar, zwischen tot und lebendig. Zwischen Ignoranz und Offenheit.

RMD

P.S.
Alle Artikel meines Unternehmertagebuches findet man in der Drehscheibe!

Kommentar verfassen

*