Roland Dürre
Thursday December 22nd, 2011

Entrepreneur’s Diary #59 – Personal Setup

🙂 Nowadays, some people ask strange questions!

1st question: Who are you? What do you do?

Roland M. Dürre. Founder of “InterFace Connection GmbH”, today “InterFace AG”. Started with software development early in 1970. Third generation IT pioneer.

Websites:
Private duerre. de Blog and IF-Blog.de. Company – www.InterFace-AG.de.

Motto:
read&think – talk&blog – act&do

2nd question: What is the basic self-organisation concept you follow?

Well, to be perfectly honest: I do not know. But I have a few principles:

The most important things are done first. There is no such thing as urgent. Work away things as they come. Common sense. Ratio. Time for people Empathy as a quality a leaader should have. Intense consideration of the environment. No  information-evaluation-decision ideology!

3rd question: What does your self-organisational setup look like?

Hi – do I have one? But here is another attempt at telling you how I go about solving problems.

My tools:
First and foremost: to-do-lists. Both on paper and/or on the computer (with synchronization of paper and computer). If I had my way, I would still use paper calendars. The only reason for mine being electronical and public is the company. I am having a hard time with task tools. Even in times of the good old “income“ on paper, I found it hard.

I find fast laptops with a smart user interface important. For my bike tours, I use an Airbook, because it is small and light. At the office, I use the MacBook (18‘‘), in bed, the  MacBook 13‘‘ with illuminated keys. If possible, I avoid MS – I (currently) prefer Apple and Linux. They should be fast, but not for spread sheets, only for the network. Word and Open Office and the like are shunned by me, which functions better and better. No PowerPoint and similar applications. Whenever I need slides, our Johannes will produce them for me. He is our expert for communications and design.

Only in cases of emergency, I enter the network through the Smartphone (Android). Otherwise, the only things I use Smartphone for are Twitter, FB and the occasional email.

For collaboration, google will suffice (I have no fear as far as security is concerned, at least as far as my data are concerned). Paper books (both fun and technological) are more and more replaced by Kindle.

Whenever I come across critical data and ideas, I put them into the net (or sometimes send an email to myself). I do not synchronize my various laptops. But their organisational environment on data and browser tabs are all identical.

And I always delete a lot, so the brain remains free of junk… During a conversation,I like having my paper notebook on me, because it gives me the chance to visualize my ideas by drawing something that will remind me of what I think.

List of topics/comrades-in-arms
There are many issues I wish to promote. Some people say, I have “too many“ would-be projects. In order to still manage, I always look for comrades in arms who will – together with me – give my issues momentum. A list issues/comrades-in-arms helps me to structure, manage and “control“ them all a little (recurring events, results, progress…)

My offices:
Real Office – Unterhaching, InterFace AG, Leipziger Str. 16, 2nd floor on the right,  2nd left-hand office.    
City Office Munich – (Café) Atlas – behind the Gasteig building.    
Home Office – preferably in my bed or reclining on the sofa (Riemerling, Waldparkstr. 67c).
Mobile Office – all sorts of trains.

Disruptive occurances:
I try to protect myself against interruptions (self-preservation). Also, I try not to do several things at the same time, instead finishing one thing before I start the next. There is a general permission for people to call me at all times, both on the mobile and the office/home phone – but, please, only if it is really important. For instance, I favour thread dialogues, like in facebook, rather than long email dialogues.

Waste/efficiency:
Reducing waste, minimizing effort, both materially, immaterially and emotionally. I try a goal-oriented utilization of my strength. Also I try to reduce the burden for people around me and to be considerate with all kinds of resources. Time is essential. I only travel where it really makes sense, i.e. where I absolutely have to. I never go by car, because that is the ultimate waste of time.

Communication:

Few meetings. Only short discussions, preferably standing up. Few telephone conversations. Once in a while, if a special occasion requires it, a video conversation (Skype), but only if the opposite party is someone I really know well.
Conflikts:
Where possible, conflicts should be avoided. Accepting a conflict is the Ultima Ratio. A successful end should be possible. It is better to work together than against each other.

Leadership:
Creating a fear-free sphere. Promoting liberty with accepted rules understood by all parties. Maximizing joy and humour. “Prudent leadership” – the opponent is the problem that needs to be solved, not the team  member. There should be a common gain of kowledge during the dialectical process. Absolute transparence and clarity – no secrets.

Knowledge:

It is better to share knowledge than to “keep it under lock and key“. Co-operation and collaboration. Thinking multi-dimensionally. Not accepting limits. Common sense beats numbers.

Pragmatics:
On the one hand: listening is better than talking. On the other hand: it is important to talk, since ideas have to be packed into storiers. No dogmatism. Accept uncertainty as a normal state of affairs.

Goals:
Being open yet critical towards all that it new. Discovering what is relevant. Thinking in many dimensions. Balancing values in an ethically correct way. Being aware that you have to make decisions that will always have an underlying uncertainty factor. Acting in terms of “both”, instead of  “either-or”. Liberty beats security. No restrictions where thinking is concerned.

Of course, the answers to the three questions vary considerably according to how I feel on a specific  day.

RMD
(Translated by Evelyn)

P.S.
Many thanks to Marcus, who, during an openpm gave me the idea to write my own setup. While I wrote it, I learned a lot!

P.S.1
For all the articles of my entrepreneur’s diary, click here: Drehscheibe

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Donnerstag, der 22. Dezember 2011

Unternehmertagebuch #59 – Persönliches Setup

🙂 Komische Dinge wird man heute gefragt!

1. Frage: Wer bist Du? Was tust Du?

Roland M. Dürre. Gründer der „InterFace Connection GmbH“ heute „InterFace AG“. Begonnen mit SW-Entwicklung Anfang 1970, IT-Pionier der 3 Generation.

Websites: Privat duerre. de Blog und IF-Blog.de. Unternehmen – www.InterFace-AG.de.

Motto: lesen&denken – reden&bloggen – unternehmen&tun

2. Frage: Welcher grundlegenden Selbstorganisations-Lehre folgst Du?

Die ehrliche Antwort ist: Ich weiß es nicht. Aber ich habe ein paar Prinzipien:

Das Wichtige zuerst tun. Dringend gibt es nicht. Dinge weg arbeiten, so wie sie kommen. Menschenverstand. Vernunft. Zeit für Menschen. Emphatie als Führungsqualität. Intensives Beobachten der Umwelt. Keine Information-Bewertung-Entscheidung Ideologie!

3. Frage: Wie sieht Dein Selbstorganisations-Setup aus?

🙂 Hi – habe ich so etwas? Aber noch ein Versuch zu antworten, wie ich mit den Dingen umgehe.

Meine Werkzeuge:
Vor allem Todo-Listen. Sowohl mit Papier und Bleistift und/oder auf dem Rechner (mit Synchronisation Papier/Rechner). Würde Terminkalender am liebsten nach wie vor auf Papier führen, führe ihn nur für die Organisation elektronisch und öffentlich. Tue mir mit Aufgaben-Tools schwer, das war schon so mit dem guten alten „Löhn“ auf Papier.

Wichtig sind mir schnelle Laptops mit smarter Oberfläche. Für die Radtour ist es ein Airbook, weil klein und leicht. Im Büro MacBook (18 Zoll), im Bett MacBook 13 Zoll mit beleuchteter Tastatur. Schleppe Laptops nur im Notfall und auf Reisen mit mir herum, aber nicht zwischen Standorten. Möglichst kein MS – lieber Apple (zurzeit) und Linux. Sollen schnell sein, aber nicht für Spreadsheets sondern fürs Netz. Vermeide Word und Open Office und ähnliches, klappt immer besser. Kein Powerpoint oder ähnliches. Wenn ich Folien brauche, dann macht sie mir unser Johannes – der Spezialist für Kommunikation und Design.

Zugriff ins Netz nur im Notfall übers Smartphone (Android). Sonst mit dem Smartphone nur Twitter, FB und ein wenig E-Mails.

Google ist für Kollaboration völlig ausreichend (habe keine großen Sicherheitsbedenken, was zumindest meine Daten angeht). Kindle ersetzt immer mehr Papier-Bücher (fun&fachlich).

Kritische Daten und Gedanken stecke ich ins Netz (oder ab und zu in eine E-Mail an mich selber). Keine Synchronisierung zwischen den Laptops. Aber auf jedem eine einheitliche Organisationsumgebung zu Daten sowie Browser-Tabs.

Und immer möglichst viel wegschmeißen und löschen, damit der Kopf frei bleibt … Gespräche führe ich gerne mit Papierblock, damit ich meine Gedanken durch Aufmalen visualisieren kann.

Liste Themen/Verbündete

Ich habe viele Themen, die ich voranbringen möchte. Böse Zungen sagen „zu viele“. Um das trotzdem hinzukriegen suche ich Verbündete, die diese Themen mehr oder weniger gemeinsam mit mir vorantreiben. In einer Liste Themen/Verbündete behalte ich die Übersicht, die Steuerung und ein wenig „Kontrolle“ (regelmäßige Termine, Ergebnisse, Fortschritt …)

Meine Büros:

Real Office – Unterhaching, InterFace AG, Leipziger Str. 16, II. Stock rechts, 2. Zimmer links.
City Office Munich – (Café) Atlas – hinter Gasteig.
Home Office – am liebsten im Bett oder auf dem Sofa (Riemerling, Waldparkstr. 67c).
Mobile Office – Züge aller Art.

Disruptive Ereignisse:
Versuche mich vor Unterbrechungen zu schützen (Selbstschutz). Nicht zu viel parallel machen, sondern eins nach dem anderen erledigen. Jeder darf mich mobil oder am Festnetz anrufen – aber bitte nur, wenn es wichtig ist. Dialoge im Thread z.B. in Facebook sind mir lieber als lange E-Mail-Dialoge.

Verschwendung/Effizienz:
Reduzieren von Verschwendung, Aufwände reduzieren, ob materiell, ideell oder emotional. Versuche meine Kraft zielgerichtet einzusetzen, die Belastung von Menschen zu reduzieren und Ressourcen jeder Art zu schonen. Zeit ist wesentlich. Reisen, nur wenn sinnvoll, sprich zwingend notwendig. Kein Autofahren da ultimative Zeitverschwendung.

Kommunikation:
Wenig Meetings. Besprechungen nur kurz, am besten im Stehen. Wenig telefonieren. Ab und zu bei besonderem Anlass ein Video-Gespräch (Skype), aber nur dann, wenn ich den (die) Gesprächspartner schon gut kenne.

Konflikte:
Konflikte sind wenn möglich zu vermeiden. Einen Konflikt annehmen ist Ultima Ratio. Ein erfolgreicher Ausgang sollte wahrscheinlich sein. Lieber miteinander als gegeneinander.

Führung:
Angst freien Raum schaffen. Freiheit mit akzeptierten und verstandenen Regeln fördern. Freude und Spaß maximieren. „Kluge Führung“ – der Gegner ist das zu lösende Problem, nicht der Kollege im Team. Gemeinsamer Erkenntnisgewinn im dialektischen Prozess. Absolute Transparenz und Klarheit – keine Geheimnisse.

Wissen:
Wissen teilen ist besser als „es für sich zu behalten“. Kooperation und Kollaboration. Mehrdimensional denken. Keine Grenzen akzeptieren. Menschenverstand geht vor Zahlen.

Pragmatik:
Einerseits: „Zuhören“ ist besser als Reden. Andererseits ist „Reden“ wichtig, da die Ideen und Gedanken in Stories verpackt werden müssen. Keine Dogmen. Ungewissheit als Normalzustand akzeptieren.

Ziele:
Kritische Offenheit für alles Neue. Relevantes entdecken. Mehrdimensional denken. Sittlich verantwortete Güterabwägung. Entscheidungen fällend mit dem Wissen, das sie immer unter Unsicherheit gefällt werden müssen. „Sowohl als auch“ anstelle von „Entweder oder“. Freiheit vor Sicherheit. Keine Begrenzen des Denken.

🙂 Meine Beantwortung der drei Fragen ist natürlich stark von der Tagesform abhängig.

RMD

P.S.
Großen Dank an Marcus, der mich im Rahmen von openpm auf die Idee eines eigenen Setups gebracht hat. Habe beim Erstellen desselbigen viel gelernt!

P.S.1
Alle Artikel meines Unternehmertagebuchs findet man in der Drehscheibe!

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*