The German word for sales is “Vertrieb”, which is not nice, because it suggests you want to drive someone off. “Advertising”, too, sounds rather primitive. We do not want to push ourselves to the front, do we? Neither do we want to “carry our skin or our brains to market”.

In fact, what we want is create and generate trust. That is why, first and foremost, we want to serve our customers of long standing with excellent quality. This is how we would like to justify the trust they have given us and thank them for it.

Of course, we also appreciate new customers. But we do not want to win new customers at all costs. Especially not when it means applying aggressive means or methods. Like, for example the newspaper sector habitually does it. New customers are pampered and get special premiums. The “old customers”, on the other hand, are those the publishers could not care less about. So what if they sometimes get angry?

But how to cultivate old customers? And how to win new customers?

The “boutique” might be a good parable for the service and consulting sectors. After all, we are a sort of agency, aren’t we? So let us build a nice boutique. Both in the real and the virtual world. And then we invite our customers to come and get pampered!
If we then have happy customers, we will try to make new customers aware of us. Strengthened by the success we have with the recommendations the “old” customers gave us, this can certainly be done.

The first thing we need in order to achieve it is a good visual presence. Today, it seems that it can only be done through the internet. We must see to it that we are found by the customers with the right and important themes. In order to pave the way for new faces to find the way to our boutique.

That is the challenge of marketing in our times: the automatic generation of good “leads” (as they would have been called in former times) by the internet. In order to make it possible for us to welcome new customers in our boutique. Because that is where our range of products is to be found, both real and virtual.

With this in mind, I no longer find the proverb “train the fish to jump into the boat” such a great idea. It would be better if the “fish were to visit us in our boats by their own choice”. And then we could swim some of the way together.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
For all the articles of my entrepreneur’s diary, click here: Drehscheibe.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Vertrieb ist ein hässliches Wort. Man will doch niemand vertreiben. Auch „Werbung machen“ klingt so primitiv. Wir wollen uns doch gar nicht in den Vordergrund stellen. Und auch nicht unsere Haut und unseren Verstand „zu Markte tragen“.

Vielmehr wollen wir Vertrauen gewinnen und aufbauen. Und deshalb wollen wir zuerst mal unseren langjährigen Kunden eine optimale Leistung bieten, so das uns geschenkte Vertrauen rechtfertigen und uns dafür bedanken.

Wir  schätzen natürlich auch neue Kunden. Aber wir wollen sie nicht um jeden Preis gewinnen. Vor allem nicht mit aggressiven Mitteln und Methoden. So wie das zum Beispiel im Zeitungsgewerbe üblich ist. Dort werden die Neukunden umworben und bekommen Prämien. Für die „alten Kunden“ dagegen interessieren sich die Verlage nicht. Die werden auch gerne mal verärgert.

Wie aber pflege ich die alten Kunden? Und wie gewinne ich neue Kunden?

Die „Boutique“ könnte ein gute Parabel für Dienstleister und Berater sein. Wir sind doch so eine Art Agentur. Also lasst uns eine schöne Boutique bauen. In der realen Welt wie in der virtuellen. Und dorthin laden wir unsere Kunden ein und verwöhnen sie!

Wenn wir dann zufriedene Kunden haben, dann versuchen wir auch neue Kunden auf uns aufmerksam zu machen. Gestärkt durch den Erfolg bei und mit den Referenzen unseren „alten“ Kunden kann uns das gelingen.

Dazu brauchen wir zuerst mal eine gute Sichtbarkeit. Die dürfte heute effizient nur noch übers Internet zu erreichen sein. Dort müssen wir mit den richtigen und den Kunden wichtigen Themen gefunden werden. Damit auch neue Gesichter den Weg in unsere Boutique finden.

Das ist die Herausforderung des Marketings unserer Zeit. Das automatische Erzeugen von guten „Leads“ (wie man früher gesagt hätte) durchs Internet. Damit wir neue Menschen in unserer Boutique begrüßen können. Denn in der Boutique liegen unsere Angebote. Real und virtuell.

Den Spruch „Train the fish to jump into the boat“ finde ich dann gar nicht mehr so gut. Besser wäre, dass „die Fische uns freiwillig im Boot besuchen“ und wir dann gemeinsam mit Ihnen ein Stück des Weges weiter schwimmen.

RMD

P.S.
Alle Artikel meines Unternehmertagebuchs findet man in der Drehscheibe!

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*