Roland Dürre
Sunday September 8th, 2013

Entrepreneur’s Diary #90 – The Magic Management Triangle

At InterFace alone, I have now had thirty years to think about what exactly I am doing and what is my job. How to describe my job and what qualities you should have for it? And whether I am doing a good or a bad job in my position.

Because I am a manager.

Well, basically, I am a project manager, because my professional (and private) life consists of many projects. In these projects, I am sometimes more and sometimes less involved. But they always concern me in some way or other. Sometimes I initiate projects or try to direct them. Sometimes I delegate the responsibility. Occasionally, I also have to terminate them. But I am always involved. Even if it is only the results that are returned to me.

And during those many years, my view and understanding of management constantly developed. Sometimes it was a zig-zag line, yet as the years went by, the lines converged. Many friends, teachers, masters and mentors accompanied me on the way – and they helped me a lot. Consequently, I was able to write a lot about management, leadership, entrepreneurship and all other topics that move me (also in the IF blog). Also, I was able to give numerous presentations, particularly for young people.

This is how my small and totally private management model was created. I defined it as a triangle. To be sure, I could also have come up with a more multi-dimensional definition, but the number three has the advantage that our finite brain actually can manage three dimensions quite reasonably. Consequently, a model with three bases is probably easier to understand.

The three dimensions of my management model are:

  • operative issues
  • leadership and
  • entrepreneurship.

Let me describe my concept of these three dimensions:

  • Operative Issues

    As I see it, the operative issues are about what is “self-evident” about the job of a manager. They are about the daily routine of decisions on the technological, mercantile or personal levels. A good technological education, common sense, the ability to judge quickly and such kind of things are useful and sometimes necessary. A certain degree of intelligence, a healthy ability to accept conflicts, a suitable socializing process and the like are desirable. A bit of an extrovert personality and self-esteem are helpful. It is a huge advantage if you have courage and can share what joy you have. The same is true for a positive communicative competence, both by word of mouth and in the written form. Besides, a good general education, or at least the ability and willingness to learn something new and alien will do no harm to an operative manager.
  • Leading and Leadership

    Leading and leadership are two wonderful words. For me, the first and most important factor is that you are capable of leading yourself, i.e. to develop your own “leadership”. After this is achieved, you might perhaps be able to share some of your leadership capacity with others, thereby trying to “lead them” (careful: the very terminology is offensive). 
As I see it, “leading” requires a certain degree of humility towards the task and the people in the “social system” you are active in and surrounded by.
    Here are some of the qualities that turn an operative “functionary” into a leadership personality:
    being able to listen, having a healthy degree of empathy, embodying and living values as a person (both your own and those of the enterprise), accepting criticism, being critical with yourself and being immune against too many set statements, certainties or even dogmata; in other words, you have to have a certain amount of autonomy.
  • Entrepreneurship
    In my opinion, a leader becomes an “Entrepreneur” if he is also willing to accept a special responsibility. For me, this means that the person will put himself beyond all randomness. He will “identify” with all “matters” concerning the enterprise in a healthy way. This means a commitment to actively participate, including the courage and willingness to change things. It necessitates a high readiness to take responsibility even on the normative level, thereby making you the protagonist for the promotion of the entrepreneurial values and culture.
You can only achieve this if you, as an entrepreneur, are no longer pushed by having to say “I MUST” and/or by a strong “Super-Ego”. Instead, you have to have achieved a huge degree of inner freedom. This is how you will eventually be enabled to question all those established “worlds” every system seems to have developed without criticism. And again and again, you will ask the philosophic core questions: “How do you know this” or “How do you know this is the truth?”.

Because the mental concepts of the worlds as developed in social systems such as enterprises are, after all, just an attempt at mirroring reality. In the worst but most frequent case, they will become doctrines or dogmata.
So if now the manager or leader tries to deduce decisions with “dominant logics” from the established world, these decisions will, of course, only too often turn out to be the wrong decisions. To be sure, even with correct logics, you can deduce correct things from erroneous assumptions. But that is mostly accidental. As a general rule, it will not happen.
Basically, it is a very human desire to strive towards stable judgement. After all, they make life easier for the manager – but often with terrible consequences.
I would name the qualities of an entrepreneur “agile competence”. For instance, a “top manager” fully competent in the operative issues and at the same time being a leading personality and entrepreneur, should be particularly good at adequately dealing with “errors and coincidence”.

On the whole, I think management means you have to be particularly good with combining the opposing ends of the individual and collective worlds (of the social system). Because the expectations, interests and needs of persons in the diverse social systems are basically very different from those of the social system. Yet the manager has to deal both with the persons and the social systems. He has to bring them together.

It all sounds like an almost super-human challenge. Since there are no super-humans, there are probably no persons who actually meet the ideal I just described. Consequently, there is no need to be ashamed of your own imperfection.

That means we should not despair too much when we discover the occasional shortcoming or fault in ourselves. But we can take this list of criteria to see how far we have already advanced towards being “Top Managers” – or if, perhaps, we are still on the level of “operative manager”. Or maybe we are already on our way to the leadership personality? And we can see what could be done in order to get better.

Wel l- this is my current view of things.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
For all the articles of my entrepreneur’s diary, click here: Drehscheibe!

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 8. September 2013

Unternehmertagebuch #90 – Das magische Dreieck des Managements.

Alleine bei InterFace habe ich jetzt dreißig Jahre Zeit gehabt, darüber nach zu denken, was ich denn eigentlich so mache und was mein Job ist. Wie man meinen Job beschreiben kann und über welche Qualitäten man für diesen Job verfügen sollte. Und ob ich diesen Job gut oder schlecht mache.

Denn ich bin ein Manager.

Eigentlich bin ich ein Projekt Manager, weil mein berufliches (und privates) Leben aus vielen Projekten besteht. Bei diesen Projekten wirke ich mal mehr und mal weniger mit. Bin aber immer tangiert. Mal stoße ich Projekte an oder versuche ich, sie zu steuern. Oder delegiere sie. Gelegentlich muss ich sie auch beenden. Aber immer bin ich irgendwie involviert. Und wenn es nur das Ergebnis ist, das zurück kommt.

Und in diesen vielen Jahren hat sich mein Bild und Verständnis von Management immer weiter entwickelt. Mal im Zickzack, über die Jahre hinweg aber doch konvergierend. Viele Freunde, Lehrer, Meister und Mentoren haben mich auf diesem Weg begleitet und mir sehr dabei geholfen. So konnte ich viel über Management, Führung, Unternehmertum und all die Themen, die mich so bewegen schreiben (auch in IF-Blog) und zahlreiche Vorträge besonders für junge Menschen halten.

Uns so ist mein kleines und ganz privates Management-Modell entstanden. Ich habe es als Dreieck definiert. Ich hätte es auch mehrdimensionaler definieren können, aber die Zahl drei hat den Vorteil, dass unser endliches Gehirn mit drei Dimensionen noch so leidlich umgehen kann. Und so ist ein Modell mit drei Beinen vielleicht leichter zu verstehen.

Die drei Dimensionen meines Management Modells sind

  • Operatives
  • Führung und
  • Unternehmertum

Ich beschreibe mal, wie ich mir die drei Dimensionen so vorstelle:

  • Operatives
    Das Operative umfasst in meinem Bild das „Selbstverständliche“ im Beruf des Managers. Da geht es um die alltäglichen Dinge und Entscheidungen im fachlichen, kaufmännischen oder auch personalen Bereich. Eine gute fachliche Bildung, gesunder Menschenverstand, die Fähigkeit schnell zu bewerten und solche Dinge mehr sind nützlich und teilweise notwendig. Ein gewisses Maß an Intelligenz, eine gesunde Konfliktfähigkeit, eine ausreichende Sozialisierung und ähnliches sind wünschenswert. Ein bisschen Extrovertiertheit und Selbstvertrauen sind hilfreich. Mut aufzubringen und Freude haben und teilen zu können helfen sehr wie auch eine positive Kommunikationsfähigkeit, dies mündlich wie schriftlich. Auch ein wenig Allgemeinbildung bzw. interdisziplinäre Bildung oder zumindest die Fähigkeit und Bereitschaft, Neues und Fremdes schnell zu erlernen schaden einem solchen operativen Manager nicht.
  • Führen und Führung
    Führen und Führung sind zwei wunderschöne Worte. Für mich geht es da zuerst mal darum, sich selbst führen zu können, das heißt die eigene „Führung“ zu entwickeln. Dann kann man vielleicht versuchen, auch anderen Menschen etwas von Führung abzugeben und beginnen, diese „zu führen“ (Vorsicht – hier stört mich schon die Begrifflichkeit!).
    „Führen“ setzt nach meiner Meinung ein gewisses Maß an Demut vor der Aufgabe und den Menschen in den „sozialen System“ voraus, für die man tätig ist und mit denen man zu tun hat.
    Fähigkeiten, die aus einem operativen „Funktionär“ eine Führungskraft machen, sind Qualitäten wie zu hören zu können, über ein gesundes Maß von Empathie zu verfügen, als Person Werte (eigene aber auch die des Unternehmens) zu verkörpern und zu leben, Kritik auszuhalten, Selbstkritik zu üben und immun gegen zuviel feste Annahmen, Gewissheiten oder gar Dogmen zu sein, also über ein gewisses Maß an Autonomie zu verfügen.
  • Unternehmertum
    Eine Führungskraft wird für mich zum „Entrepreneur“, wenn sie auch noch bereit ist, eine besondere Verantwortung zu übernehmen. Das bedeutet für mich, sie begibt sich absolut jenseits jeder Beliebigkeit. Sie macht sich die „Dinge“ des Unternehmens „zu eigen“ und dies in Form einer gesunden Identifikation. Das bedeutet ein verbindliches Mitwirkens mit dem Mut und der Bereitschaft, auch etwas zu verändern. Dies erfordert die hohe Bereitschaft auch im normativen Bereich eine besondere Verantwortung zu übernehmen und zum Protagonisten für die Weiterentwicklung der Unternehmenswerte und -kultur zu werden.
    Voraussetzung dafür ist, dass man als Entrepreneur nicht mehr von einem „ich muss“ und/oder starken „Überichs“ getrieben wird sondern sich ein geraumes Maß an innerer Freiheit erarbeitet hat. So kommt man in die Lage, die oft kritiklos als selbstverständlich etablierten „Welten“, die jedes soziale System halt so entwickelt, zu hinterfragen. Und immer wieder die philosophische Kernfrage zu stellen: „Woher weißt du das?“ oder „Woher weißt du, dass das richtig ist?“.
    Denn die gedachten Welten, die ein soziales System wie ein Unternehmen entwickelt, sind eben nur eine Versuch von Realitätsabbildung. Im schlimmsten, aber häufigen Fall werden sie zu Glaubenssätzen oder sogar Dogmen.
    Wenn der Manager oder die Führungskraft jetzt versucht mit „dominanter Logik“ Entscheidungen aus diesen etablierten Welten abzuleiten, werden diese natürlich nur zu oft falsch sein. Denn auch mit korrrekter Logik kann man zwar auch aus Falschem etwas Richtiges ableiten. Aber das ist dann ein Zufall, in der Regel wird das nicht so sein.
    Es ist halt sehr menschlich, auf stabilen Bewertungen aufzusetzen wollen. Die machen nämlich das Leben des Managers einfacher, dies aber oft mit schrecklichen Folgen.
    Die Qualitäten des Entrepreneurs würde ich als „agile Kompetenz“ benennen. So sollte ein „Topmanager“, der das Operative beherrscht und gleichzeitig Führungskraft und Entrepreneur ist, besonders gut in der Lage sein, angemessen mit „Irrtum und Zufall“ umzugehen.

Insgesamt meine ich, dass es im Management ganz besonders gelingen muss, den Spagat zwischen der individuellen (eigenen) und kollektiven Welt (des sozialen Systems) zusammen zu bringen. Denn die Erwartungen, Interessen und Bedürfnisse der Menschen in den diversen sozialen Systeme sind halt oft sehr verschieden und sehr unterschiedlich zu denen genau dieser sozialen Systeme. Der Manager muss aber sowohl mit den Menschen wie auch den sozialen Systemen „dealen“ und beide zusammen bringen.

Das ganze klingt nach einer fast übermenschlichen Herausforderung. Da es keine Übermenschen gibt wird es wahrscheinlich auch keinen Menschen geben, der das von mir beschriebene Idealbild erfüllt. So müssen wir nicht unserer eigenen Unvollkommenheit schämen.

Wir dürfen also nicht zu sehr an uns selbst zweifeln, wenn wir bei uns den einen oder anderen Makel oder Mangel entdecken. Aber anhand dieser Kriterienliste können wir uns prüfen, inwieweit wir schon „Top Manager“ sind oder uns noch auf der Stufe eines guten „operativer Managers“ befinden. Oder vielleicht auch schon auf dem Wege zur „Führungskraft“ sind. Und was wir tun können, um noch besser zu werden.

Ja – so ist meine aktuelle Sicht auf die Dinge.

RMD

P.S.
Alle Artikel meines Unternehmertagebuchs findet man in der Drehscheibe!

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*