In my last entrepreneurial article, I tried to describe what qualities a truly good manager should have. And I demanded that acting and deciding agile is one of those qualities.
But what exactly is the meaning of agile? Let me start by defining the opposite (dogmatic?).

I always witness non-agile decisions where decision makers think they alone own the truth and accordingly copy the world and the constructs of their social system unconditionally and without questions. In other words, these persons have a personal and systemic “structure of prejudices” which has never been subjected to criticism. If this structure of prejudices is what all considerations are based on and if then imperative decisions are developed from it through dominant logic, you mostly get stupid actions with detrimental consequences.

The reason for this is simple: the world ticks differently from what you think. If what is allegedly certain is not questioned, if emotional influences and your own empathic acceptance of other opinions is not permitted and if warnings are considered uncomfortable or being suppressed or ignored, then this is what happens:
“ethics of responsibility” become “ethics of duty”, where all behaviour is justified with loyalty towards the system – even if it is detrimental to the people.

As opposed to this, being agile means that you always ask questions such as “how do you know this?” or “how do you know that this is correct?” both of yourself (!) and others – and perhaps not to avoid unpleasant replies. In other words, you have to be immune against “this is what everybody does” and “well, this is how it has always been”; instead, you have to try and compare your own constructs with those of other persons and, where possible, validate them against reality.

As I see it, this is the most important requirement for being an agile manager.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
For all the articles of my entrepreneurial diary, click here: Drehscheibe!

1 Kommentar zu “Entrepreneur’s Diary #91 – Non-Agile or Agile in a Different Way.”

  1. Patrick Koglin (Wednesday November 27th, 2013)

    Zur gleichen Zeit das gleiche Thema?!

    http://www.agile-is-limit.de/toleranz-agile-teams-und-hierarchie-kann-nicht-gehen-machs-kurz-big-change-or-not-radikale-umstrukturierung/

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 26. November 2013

Unternehmertagebuch #91 – Nicht agil oder agil mal anders.

Im letzten Beitrag meines Unternehmertagebuch habe ich versucht zu beschreiben, was einen wirklich guten Manager so ausmachen könnte. Und ich habe gefordert, dass dieser agil handeln und entscheiden müsse.

Aber was heißt das, agil? Dazu beginne ich mit dem Gegenteil (dogmatisch?):

Nicht-agile Entscheidungen erlebe ich immer dann, wenn die Entscheider sich im Besitz der Wahrheit wähnen und genauso die Welt und die Konstrukte ihres sozialen Systems bedingungslos übernehmen ohne sie zu hinterfragen. Also über eine nicht reflektierte persönliche und systemische „Vorurteilsstruktur“ verfügen. Wenn diese Vorurteilsstruktur Basis aller Überlegungen ist  und aus ihr mit dominanter Logik zwingend Entscheidungen entwickelt werden, dann kommt es meistens zu unsinnigen Handlungen mit schädlichen Folgen.

Der einfache Grund dafür ist, dass die Welt halt anders tickt, als man denkt. Wenn die vermeintlichen Gewissheiten nicht hinterfragt, emotionaler Einfluss und eigenes empathisches Aufnehmen anderer Meinungen nicht zugelassen wird und Warnungen als unbequem empfunden, unterdrückt oder ignoriert werden, dann passiert es:
Aus „Verantwortungs-Ethik“ wird „Pflicht-Ethik“, die alles Handeln aus der Treue zum System heraus rechtfertigt – auch wenn dieses Handeln dem System und den Menschen schadet.

Agil sein dagegen heißt, immer wieder anderen wie sich selber (!) Fragen zu stellen wie „Woher weißt Du das?“ oder „Woher weißt Du, dass das richtig ist“ und vielleicht unangenehmen Antworten nicht auszuweichen. Also immun sein gegen „das macht man so“ und „das ist halt so“ und immer versuchen, die eigenen Konstrukte mit den Konstrukten anderer Menschen abzugleichen und wenn möglich an der Realität zu validieren.

Das wäre die wichtigste Voraussetzung für einen agilen Manager.

RMD

P.S.
Alle Artikel meines Unternehmertagebuchs findet man in der Drehscheibe!

Be Sociable, Share!

1 Kommentar zu “Unternehmertagebuch #91 – Nicht agil oder agil mal anders.”

  1. Patrick Koglin (Mittwoch, der 27. November 2013)

    Zur gleichen Zeit das gleiche Thema?!

    http://www.agile-is-limit.de/toleranz-agile-teams-und-hierarchie-kann-nicht-gehen-machs-kurz-big-change-or-not-radikale-umstrukturierung/

Kommentar verfassen

*