Roland Dürre
Friday November 20th, 2009

“Entrepreneurship?” or “Liberty!”

Yesterday, November, 19th, 2009, was the first time I spoke publicly about “entrepreneurship”. It was the seventh presentation of the EAA colloquium “Current Developments in Technology and Business” in the autumn trimester 2009  at the University of the German Armed Forces in Munich.

The audience was very friendly and they followed my presentation with more than average interest. Also, there was, again, an interesting discussion with important comments to learn from for the orator. Many thanks to the audience.

To help you recall, here is my overview and a short description of what I talked about (it is also in place of slides, because I refrain from using slides in my presentations as a matter of principle).

Overview

  • Introduction
  • Why do we need entrepreneurs?
  • How to set up a business?
  • Do you need an “ingenious business idea”?
  • What is the definition of an enterprise?
  • What should be the goal of an enterprise?
  • Theory: entrepreneurs are free!

Content

  • Introduction
    About the enterprise: InterFace is an information technology (IT) service business. In order to be a success, we need the right kinds of people and the right kind of knowledge. Consequently, my presentations are always about people in their social context and the abilty to preserve, develop and apply knowledge.
  • Why do we need enterprises?
    Enterprises realize the creation of value and offer people employment. During this year, around 800,000 high-quality jobs were made redundant in German industry. This trend will continue. The reasons are sourcing and technological change. 
“Sourcing” means that enterprises no longer produce what they sell. Instead, they contract the production out. Enterprises producing in Germany are usually no longer capable of competing.    
Technological change substitutes simple technological solutions for complex ones. As a general rule, that also makes production easier. I exemplified this with the light bulb and LED. In the future, light will be produced more and more often by LED’s, instead of light bulbs. The production of light bulbs was a technological challenge only few (American-European) enterprises had mastered. LED’s, on the other hand, are semiconductors, the production of which is comparatively trivial. Basically, you can order semiconductor construction plants ready-made and build them in a short time. This, however, will not happen in Europe.    
We badly need new enterprises that initiate a new, qualified creation of value. That is the only way for us to counterbalance the drastic loss of enterprises and jobs caused by insolvency and fusions. As a general rule, this will only be possible through medium-sized enterprises.
  • How to set up a business?
    Most business setups are totally unadorned procedures. As a general rule, the step into self-employment is absolutely “normal”. Here are some examples:

    • Painter sets up painter’s business.
    • Dentist sets up his own dentist’s practice.
    • Engineer an engineer’s office.
    • Finance advisor a financial advising office.
    • Priest establishes a sect (that is also practiced when you undergo management coaching)
    • Marine officer turns pirate.
      I used this less-than-serious example for reminding you that there are also criminal enterprises. The police call them OC – organised crime. Over time, the standards change. In colonial times, enterprises that would today be decidedly criminal were considered quite respectable.
    • Professor builds up private university.
  • Do you need an “ingenious business idea?
    UnternehmerTUM asked students at Munich Technical University: What requirements would have to be fulfilled before you would consider setting up an enterprise? Here is the answer that was given most often by far: I would set up an enterprise if I were able to come up with an “ingenious business idea.
    Unfortunately, the ingenious business idea does not exist in reality. And in the few instances where actually there was one, it was mostly modified during the first few months of a company’s existence to such a huge extent that hardly anything is left of it.
The notion that entrepreneurship means an ingenious business idea implemented with a business plan and capital to be found is just wrong. This is what I deduce from looking at all medium-size enterprises, just as much as the really big enterprises like Google or Microsoft.
  • What is the definition of an enterprise?
    According to my definition, an enterprise is an eco-social system. It is made up by people who work together at generating business values. Enterprises as eco-social systems need a meaning, an order and a culture. All stakeholders, and the management in particular, have responsibility for the development of meaning, order and culture.
  • What should be the goal of an enterprise?
    Enterprises are the important columns supporting our economic system. They provide the necessary products and services. They also generate jobs, which is a requirement for our economical order to work. Consequently, it is the priority of an enterprise to make a contribution towards the creation of value in our economic cycle. Improving shareholder value must not get to be the foremost goal of an enterprise. Profits should be “morally justifiable”, their extent dependent on the entrepreneurial risk.
  • Thesis: entrepreneurs are free!
    Many orators use the word liberty. Liberty is celebrated as the valuable achievement of our time and of late German history. I heard the word particularly often on November, 9th this year. Yet, none of the orators who demanded or celebrated liberty was prepared to tell us what he meant with it. So now here is a number of “liberties” as I see them:
    Liberty can mean:

    • You are willing and able to live your life on your own authority.
    • You cannot do whatever you wish to do, but you will never be forced to do something you do not want to do.
    • You can balance your conscious and subconscious interests.
    • You promote both your own and other people’s personal lives, rather than minimizing it.
      Or also:
    • You fear nothing and nobody (Konstantin Wecker, “Willy”).
    • You live in harmony with the Great Secret (Willy Michel, Isarindianer).
    • Freedom is just another word for nothing left to lose! (Janis Joplin, Me and Bobby McGee)

I believe that people who are prepared to think about liberty will be able to identify with all of these answers. I also believe that people who think in terms of liberty are entrepreneurs deep in their hearts.
So my theory is:

“free people are entrepreneurs”
or
“entrepreneurs are free”

The ensuing discussion about this theory and other ideas was lively!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
🙂 And I also received some exciting email comments!

3 Kommentare zu ““Entrepreneurship?” or “Liberty!””

  1. Chris Wood (Saturday November 21st, 2009)

    The word is “outsourcing”, not “sourcing”.

    Surely Google qualifies as resulting from clever ideas? Google helps searches in internet to find pages whose owners will pay Google. Perhaps this idea was not so very clever, but the algorithms that coupled this with really good search results were surely not obvious.

    Roland forgot about my definition of freedom: “an illusion resulting from contentment”. This shows that freedom is personal. The other definitions give the illusion that one can judge who else is free. Thus a woman in a burka may be free.

  2. rd (Saturday November 21st, 2009)

    Sorry Chris,
    das Wort heißt zumindest bei Deutschen Konzernen “Sourcing” und man spricht von einer “Sourcing-Strategie”.
    Outsourcing war einmal. Das war die Zeit, als es noch etwas zum “Outsourcen” gab. Damit hat man gemeint, dass man Aufgaben, die man durch interne Ressourcen erledigt, nach außen vergibt. Mit “Sourcing” ist gemeint, dass Themen, die neu kommen, erst gar nicht mehr intern angegangen werden, sondern gleich an den besten/billigsten Lieferanten nach außen vergeben werden.
    RMD

  3. rd (Saturday November 21st, 2009)

    Noch zur Freiheit und Chris Definition von Freiheit: “an illusion resulting from contentment” (eine Illusion resultierend aus Zufriedenheit). Dazu kann ich nur sagen, dass mir dann doch die Definition von Janis Joplin (Wenn Du nichts mehr zu verlieren hast) besser gefällt. RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*

Gestern (19. November 2009) habe ich erstmals meinen neuen Vortrag „unternehmertum“ gehalten. Es war der 7. Vortrag im Herbsttrimester 2009 des EAA-Kolloquium „Aktuelle Entwicklungen in Technik und Wirtschaft“ an der Universität der Bundeswehr München.

Die Zuhörerschaft war sehr sympathisch und folgte dem Vortrag mit überdurchschnittlicher Aufmerksamkeit. Und es ergab sich wieder eine spannende Diskussion mit wichtigen Rückmeldungen für den Vortragenden. Vielen Dank dafür an das Auditorium.

Hier die Gliederung und eine knappe Notation der Inhalte meines Vortrages zum Nachlesen (auch an Stelle von Folien, die es nicht gibt, weil ich meine Vorträge grundsätzlich frei halte).

Gliederung

  • Einführung
  • Warum brauchen wir Unternehmer?
  • Wie werden Unternehmen gegründet?
  • Braucht man die „geniale Geschäftsidee“?
  • Was ist ein Unternehmen eigentlich?
  • Was sollte das Ziel eines Unternehmens sein?
  • These: Unternehmer sind freie Menschen?

Inhalt

  • Einführung
    Zum Unternehmen: InterFace ist ein Dienstleister für Informationstechnologie (IT). Für den Erfolg es Unternehmens sind die richtigen Menschen und das passende Wissen notwendig. So drehen sich meine Vorträge immer um Menschen im sozialen Verbund und die Möglichkeit, Wissen zu bewahren, weiter zu entwickeln und anzuwenden.
  • Warum brauchen wir Unternehmer?
    Unternehmen realisieren die Wertschöpfung und schaffen Arbeitsplätze. Im diesem Jahr sind in Deutschland schon 800.000 hochwertige Industriearbeitsplätze verschwunden. Der Trend wird weiter gehen. Die Ursache sind Sourcing und der technologische Wandel.
    „Sourcing“ bedeutet, dass Unternehmen ihre neuen Produkte nicht mehr selber herstellen, sondern die Produktion ausschreiben. Hier sind Unternehmen, die in Deutschland produzieren, in der Regel nicht mehr wettbewerbsfähig.
    Der technologiesche Wandel bewirkt, dass einfache technische Lösungen komplizierte ersetzen. Die Herstellung wird dann in der Regel auch einfacher. Als Beispiel für solche Entwicklungen habe ich Glühbirne und LED gebracht. Licht wird in Zukunft immer mehr durch LEDs und immer weniger durch Glühbirnen erzeugt werden. Die Produktion von Glühbirnen war eine technologische Herausforderung, die nur von wenigen (american-european) Unternehmen beherrscht wurde. LEDs sind Halbleiter, die Herstellung von Halbleitern ist vergleichsweise trivial, Halbleiter-Fabriken kann man quasi von der Stange bestellen und in kurzer Zeit aufbauen. Dies wird aber nicht mehr in Europa passieren.
    Wir brauchen dringend neue Unternehmen, die eine qualifizierte neue Wertschöpfung bewirken. Nur so können wir den drastischen Verlust an Unternehmen und Arbeitsplätzen durch Insolvenz und Fusionen ausgleichen. Dies wird in der Regel nur durch mittelständische Unternehmen gelingen.
  • Wie werden Unternehmen gegründet?
    Unternehmensgründungen sind meistens ganz schlichte Prozesse. In der Regel findet eine ganz „normaler“ Schritt in die Selbstständigkeit statt. Hier ein paar Beispiele:

    • Maler baut einen Malerbetrieb auf.
    • Zahnarzt gründet Zahnpraxis
    • Ingenieur ein Ingenieurbüro
    • Finanzbeamter ein Steuerbüro
    • Pfarrer gründet eine Sekte (gibt es auch bei Management Training)
    • Marine-Offizier wird Pirat
      Mit diesem scherzhaften Beispiel habe ich darauf hingewiesen, dass es auch kriminelle Unternehmen gibt, die Polizei spricht hier von OK – organisierter Kriminalität. Über die Zeit ändert sich auch die Bewertung. So waren in der Kolonialzeit Unternehmen angesehen, die heute schlichtweg als kriminell gelten würden.
    • Professor gründet eine Privatuniversität.
  • Braucht man die „geniale Geschäftsidee?
    Bei einer Studentenbefragung von UnternehmerTUM der TUM München wurde Studenten unter anderem folgende Frage gestellt: Welche Bedingung müsste erfüllt sein, so dass Sie ein Unternehmen gründen würden? Die mit Abstand häufigste Antwort war: Ich würde ein Unternehmen gründen, wenn ich eine „geniale Geschäftsidee“ finden würde.
    Leider gibt es in der Realität die geniale Geschäftsidee nicht. Und wenn, dann modifiziert sich diese schon in den ersten Monaten der Firmenexistenz meistens so wesentlich, dass fast nichts mehr von ihr übrig bleibt.
    Die Annahme, dass Unternehmertum heißt, eine geniale Geschäftsidee mit einem Businessplan und zu besorgendem Kapital zu implentieren ist weit verbreitet, aber schlichtweg falsch. Das zeigen alle mir bekannten Beispiele von mittelständischen Unternehmen genauso wie von den großen wie Google oder Microsoft.
  • Was ist ein Unternehmen eigentlich?
    Nach meiner Definition ist ein Unternehmen ein ökonomisch-soziales System. Es wird von Menschen gebildet, die gemeinsam daran arbeiten, wirtschaftliche Werte zu generieren. Unternehmen als öko-soziale Ssteme brauchen einen Sinn, eine Ordnung und eine Kultur. Alle „Stakeholder“ und in besonderem Masse das Management tragen Mitverantwortung bei der Entwicklung von Sinn, Ordnung und Kultur.
  • Was sollte das Ziel eines Unternehmens sein?
    Unternehmen sind die wichtigen Säulen unseres Wirtschaftssystem. Sie versorgen die Menschen mit den benötigten Produkten und Dienstleistungen. Und schaffen auch die Arbeitsplätze, die Voraussetzung für das Funktionieren unserer Wirtschaftsordnung sind. Die priore Leistung des Unternehmens ist so ihr Beitrag an Wertschöpfung zum wirtschaftlichen Kreislauf. Die Mehrung des Shareholder Value darf nicht zum dominanten Unternehmensziel werden. Profite sollten in der Höhe „moralisch“ sein, ihre Höhe abhängig vom unternehmerischen Risiko.
  • These: Unternehmer sind freie Menschen!
    Das Wort Freiheit taucht in vielen Reden auf. Freiheit wird als die wertvolle Errungenschaft unseres Zeitalters und der jüngeren deutschen Geschichte gefeiert. Am 9. November dieses Jahres habe ich das Wort Freiheit besonders oft gehört. Aber keiner der Redner, die Freiheit fordern oder feiern, war bereit, auch zu sagen, was er unter Freiheit meint.So habe ich eine Reihe von „Freiheiten“ zusammengetragen:

    Freiheit kann bedeuten:

    • willens und fähig sein, sein Leben eigenverantwortlich zu führen.
    • nicht alles tun und lassen dürfen, aber nicht gezwungen werden, Dinge zu tun, die man nicht tun will.
    • seine bewussten Interessen und unbewussten Interessen in Einklang bringen.
    • eigenes und fremdes personales Leben eher zu mehren als zu mindern
      oder auch
    • Vor nichts und niemanden Angst haben (Konstantin Wecker, „Willy“).
    • Im Einklang mit dem großen Geheimnis leben (Willy Michel, Isarindianer).
    • Freedom is just another word for nothing left to lose! (Janis Joplin, Me and Bobby McGee)

Ich denke, dass Menschen, die bereit sind, über Freiheit nachzudenken, mit jeder dieser Definitionen etwas anfangen können. Und dass alle Menschen, die in Freiheit denken, in ihrem innersten Unternehmer sind.

Also meine These:

„Freie Menschen sind Unternehmer“

oder

„Unternehmer sind freie Menschen“

Über diese These und weitere Gedanken wurde dann noch intensiv diskutiert!

RMD

P.S.
🙂 Und ein paar spannende Rückmeldungen per E-Mail habe ich auch schon bekommen!

3 Kommentare zu “„Unternehmertum?“ oder „Freiheit!“ (Vortrag an der Hochschule der Bundeswehr am 19. 11.)”

  1. Chris Wood (Samstag, der 21. November 2009)

    The word is „outsourcing“, not „sourcing“.

    Surely Google qualifies as resulting from clever ideas? Google helps searches in internet to find pages whose owners will pay Google. Perhaps this idea was not so very clever, but the algorithms that coupled this with really good search results were surely not obvious.

    Roland forgot about my definition of freedom: „an illusion resulting from contentment“. This shows that freedom is personal. The other definitions give the illusion that one can judge who else is free. Thus a woman in a burka may be free.

  2. rd (Samstag, der 21. November 2009)

    Sorry Chris,
    das Wort heißt zumindest bei Deutschen Konzernen „Sourcing“ und man spricht von einer „Sourcing-Strategie“.
    Outsourcing war einmal. Das war die Zeit, als es noch etwas zum „Outsourcen“ gab. Damit hat man gemeint, dass man Aufgaben, die man durch interne Ressourcen erledigt, nach außen vergibt. Mit „Sourcing“ ist gemeint, dass Themen, die neu kommen, erst gar nicht mehr intern angegangen werden, sondern gleich an den besten/billigsten Lieferanten nach außen vergeben werden.
    RMD

  3. rd (Samstag, der 21. November 2009)

    Noch zur Freiheit und Chris Definition von Freiheit: “an illusion resulting from contentment” (eine Illusion resultierend aus Zufriedenheit). Dazu kann ich nur sagen, dass mir dann doch die Definition von Janis Joplin (Wenn Du nichts mehr zu verlieren hast) besser gefällt. RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*