Roland Dürre
Monday December 26th, 2016

Touring Central America

An “Alien” on a Huge Ship.

We returned from our ocean trip on Christmas Eve and already spent two wonderful days in our “home sweet home”. The repercussions of the trip are still with me – now I reflect all those many adventures that happened during fourteen very intense days.

In the last two weeks, we visited eight countries. From La Romana in the Dominican Republic, we went to Jamaica, then Mexico, Belize, Honduras, Costa Rica, Panama, Columbia and back to La Romana via Santo Domingo.

Just as we had hoped and anticipated, it was pleasantly warm in the Caribbean. Whenever clouds showed up, they were welcome, because the prevented us from getting sunburn, regardless of us basically always staying outside and enjoying the fresh air. The rest of the time, sun and rain switched places frequently, with advantages in favour of the sun. Once in a while, there was quite some wind.

It was night for almost thirteen hours, and I mean a rather dark kind of night. That meant there was always enough time to really get enough sleep. Keeping our balcony door open, we enjoyed the sound of the water at night. More than eleven hours of the day, the sun shone really bright – which was enough time fill with intense adventures.

To be sure, it was a typical “all included” trip on a huge ship with more than 2,000 passengers. There were plenty of animations on diverse big and small stages. As often on cruisers, they tried to make the passengers feel that theirs was a glamorous world of luxury.

As far as we were concerned, we defined the boat trip a little differently and did not organize it in the same way as the majority of passengers. Consequently, we always stayed outdoors and did not eat in the big or small restaurants inside the ship a single time.

Instead, we always ate in one of the two small beer-garden-like open-air restaurants. And it almost went without saying that we never attended one of those many shows that actually fascinated many of our fellow travellers. This is how it became a very simple vacation, just for Barbara and me.

A private “crusader” in Roatán (Honduras).

In the daytime, we spent each day in one of six countries and two days in various places in Jamaica and the Dominican Republic. Dependent on the situation, we spent six out of ten days away from others, hiking privately and once riding rented bikes. We took up offered trips twice. At night, we were always on the ocean. The same is true for the four ocean days during which we let our souls relax and digested what we had experienced.

Two gigantic ships meeting in Cozumel (Mexico).

During the next few days, I will relate what went through my head in all those days. For instance that we actually visited three countries that do not have their own armies and how we saw that the majority of people living in those countries were very happy and proud of this fact.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

1 Kommentar zu “Touring Central America”

  1. Wally Bistrich (Monday December 26th, 2016)

    Bin schon neugierig auf Deine nächsten Berichte.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Montag, der 26. Dezember 2016

Unterwegs in Mittelamerika

Als „Alien“ unterwegs auf einem großen Schiff.

Seit Heilig Abend sind wir wieder zurück von unserer Seereise und haben schon wieder zwei wundervolle Tage in der „Heimat“ verbracht. Die Reise schwingt noch nach – jetzt reflektiere ich die vielen Erlebnisse von vierzehn sehr intensiven Tagen.

In den vergangenen zwei Wochen haben wir acht Länder besucht. Von La Romana in der Dominikanischen Republik ging es nach Jamaika, dann nach Mexico, Belize, Honduras, Costa Rica, Panama, Kolumbien und wieder zurück über Santo Domingo nach La Romana.

Es war wie erhofft und erwartet angenehm warm in der Karibik. Öfters hatten wir willkommene Wolken, so gab es keinen Sonnenbrand, obwohl wir eigentlich immer an der frischen Luft waren. In der restlichen Zeit haben sich Sonne und Regen haben sich mit Vorteil für Sonne abgewechselt.  Ab und zu war es recht windig.

Die Nacht war fast dreizehn Stunden lang und recht dunkel, so dass es immer genug Zeit gab, sich aus zu schlafen. Bei offener Balkontour haben wir über die Nacht das Rauschen des Wassers genossen. Gut elf Stunden am Tag war es dann so richtig hell – genug Zeit zum intensiven Leben.

Zwar war es eine typische „all inclusive“ Reise auf einem Riesenschiff mit über 2.000 Reisenden. Es gab viel Animation in diversen großen und kleinen Bühnen. Wie oft bei Kreuzfahrten wurde versucht, den Passagieren eine mondäne Welt des Luxus zu suggerieren.

Wir haben die  Schiffsreise für uns ein wenig anders definiert und sie nicht so organisiert wie die große Mehrheit unserer Mitreisenden. So waren wir immer im Freien, haben nicht ein einziges Mal in den großen und kleinen Restaurants unten im Schiff gespeist sondern immer in zwei kleinen Biergarten-ähnlichen Freiluft-Restaurants.

Und fast schon wie selbstverständlich waren wir auch bei keiner der vielen Shows dabei, die viele unserer Mitreisenden tatsächlich begeistert haben. So war es tatsächlich ein einfacher Urlaub ganz allein für Barbara und mich.

Als privater „Kreuzfahrer“ unterwegs in Roatán (Honduras).

Tagsüber waren wir in sechs Ländern jeweils einen Tag, in Jamaika und der Dominikanischen Republik waren es zwei Tage in verschiedenen Orten. Abhängig von der Situation waren wir an sechs von zehn Tagen ganz individuell und privat zu Fuß und einmal mit gemieteten Fahrrädern unterwegs, viermal haben wir das Angebot von Ausflügen genutzt. Nachts waren wir immer auf dem Meer unterwegs wie auch an den vier Seetagen, an denen wir die Seele baumeln lassen und das Erlebte verdauen konnten.

Zwei Schiffs-Giganten treffen sich in Cozumel (Mexiko).

In den nächsten Tagen werde ich in lockerer Reihenfolge berichten, was mir so durch den Kopf ging. Zum Beispiel, dass wir tatsächlich in drei Ländern waren, die keine Armee haben und wie froh und stolz die Menschen dort mehrheitlich über diese Tatsache waren.

RMD

1 Kommentar zu “Unterwegs in Mittelamerika”

  1. Wally Bistrich (Montag, der 26. Dezember 2016)

    Bin schon neugierig auf Deine nächsten Berichte.

Kommentar verfassen

*