Roland Dürre
Saturday June 18th, 2011

UTB 1 Finland – On a House Boat in Savonlinna

So here is another opportunity for writing something in my vacation diary! I have been in Finland since Monday evening. A small turbo propeller plane with fifty persons on board released us in Savonlinna. We had to wait four hours at the modern airport of Helsinki after our arrival on an Embraer 190. We – that is Barbara and myself and our two „small“ daughters, Sophie and Maresa. After a stopover at Varkaus (that was 50 flight minutes), we finally landed here another 15 minutes later

We flew with a conductor and some singers. The month of July is the month of the Savonlinna opera festival. If I believe what our travelling companions tell us, it is an event of great importance. Very famous artists come to Svonlinna. It is a huge area with only 30,000 inhabitants

At the (small) Savonlinna airport, the landlord of our boat meets us. He is a Finnish entrepreneur who by now also starts getting annoyed about the Euro. First he takes us to the local super market, where we buy the first supplies for our week on his (our) boat. Then we continue towards the small harbour. We find a beautiful, big ship. It looks very nice and has a sauna.

So far, there are four of us. My daughter Anna and her husband Patrick will arrive tomorrow morning. Our first night on the boat is just fine. To be sure, (as a consequence of inter-cultural misunderstandings) we do not yet have any bed sheets, but they will be supplied by tomorrow morning.  Of course, we might have felt more comfortable with bed sheets, but we can certainly do without for a night. First and foremost, we cook our dinner on the boat. Spaghetti and tomato sauce and salad always taste delicious

Tomorrow morning, we expect to see Anna and Patrick. We eat breakfast, then start out. First and foremost, we have to get used to the boat. Our house boat is called “Aurora” – that means rising sun. It is a nice name. There is no steering wheel. You steer with a small switch that can be turned left or right. Not bad – but you cannot always steer on course with absolute precision. The analogous steering wheel is definitely more accurate. But so what? We will manage without steering wheel.

To make up for it, we have two „cockpits“. You can steer both from the cabin and from above. The top stand is for nice weather.If it rains, you steer from downstairs. The boat also has prow lights and can be easily moved. Like many other things in this world, steering a boat is quite easy today.

It rains cats and dogs. And somehow or other, the temperature is quite low. They say that it has been really hot and sunny for three weeks. However, we are not worried about the rain. First and foremost, we go to Savonlinna. You can easily see that we are travelling off season. Not much is happening anywhere – I like travelling off season. In Savonlinna, we visit the market and stroll through the small centre of town. We have Fish&Ships at a snack bar. It tastes delicious.

We steer south. The water is brown – we are now crossing through a moorish landscape. They say that the water is very clear in the south. We want to see if that is true before continuing on our round trip through the north. We steer towards Russia. It is unbelievable, but we are actually north of Russia.

In the evening, we land on a dock – not far from a small coffee house and a shop. They are closed, but we have our supplies, don’t we? Finnish bread with fish and other delicacies. And plenty of salad. In Finland, food is expensive, but very tasty. Our second night on board with fresh bed sheets is pure luxury.

On Wednesday, I am lazy. I let the others do the steering while I read a book by Werner Schlierf. I found it quite recently on a flee market and bought it for one Euro. It is titled “My Nice Piece of Crumpet in Raspberry Red“. It really hurts. As soon as I have an opporunity, I will introduce it on the blog.

The book made me sad. While I was busy reading, the weather improved. All of a sudden, the sun is out – and it gets quite warm immediately. In the evening, we only see very few clouds. We visit the sauna near our docking place. The mossy forest path matches my mood. It reminds me of my childhood. Beautiful. Everything is peacefully silent and very simple. What a life!

I look forward to my bed. It is still daylight at 11 p.m. Basically, none of us wants to go to sleep. But there are some dark cornes on our boat. If I go there, I will not see the light, so I will sleep well again tonight.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 18. Juni 2011

UTB 1 Finnland – Mit dem Hausboot in Savonlinna

Wieder mal Gelegenheit, für einen Eintrag in mein Urlaubstagebuch! Seit Montag Abend bin ich in Finnland. Eine kleine Turboprop-Maschine mit 50 Menschen hat uns in Savonlinna ausgespuckt. In Helsinki am modernen Flughafen hatten wir – kommend von München in einer Embraer 190 – vier Stunden Aufenthalt. Wir – das sind Barbara und unsere beiden „kleinen“ Töchter, Sophie und Maresa. Die Turboprop hat uns nach einem Zwischenstop in Varkaus (bis dahin waren es 50 Flugminuten) in weiteren 15 Minuten hierher gebracht.

Wir sind gemeinsam mit einem Dirigenten und ein Sängern und Sängerinnen geflogen. Im Juli sind in Savonlinna Openair Opernfestspiele. Muss ein Ereignis von großem Rang sein, wenn ich dem folge, was unsere Reisegefährten so erzählen. Ganz berühmte Künstler kommen nach Savonlinna. Das ist ein Riesengebiet, das nur von 30.000 Menschen bewohnt ist.

Am (kleinen) Flughafen von Savonlinna werden wir von unserem Bootsvermieter abgeholt. Ein finnischer Unternehmer, der sich mittlerweile auch über den Euro ärgert. Er bringt uns zum Supermarkt. Dort kaufen wir die ersten Vorräte für die Woche auf seinem (unserem) Boot. Dann geht es weiter zum kleinen Hafen. Dort liegt ein schönes großes Schiff für uns bereit, sehr ordentlich und mit Sauna.

Noch sind wir zu viert. Meine Tochter Anna mit ihrem Mann Patrick erwarten wir erst nächsten Morgen. Die erste Nacht auf dem Boot passt. Zwar haben wir noch keine Bettwäsche (als Folge eines interkulturellen Missverständnisses) – aber die wird dann morgen nachgereicht. Mit wäre es besser, aber es geht natürlich auch ohne. Zuerst kochen wir auf dem Boot unser Abendessen. Spaghetti mit Tomatensauce und Salat schmecken immer.

Am nächsten Morgen erwarten wir Anna und Patrick. Noch ein Frühstück, dann geht es los. Zuerst mal ein wenig ans Boot gewöhnen. Unser Hausboot heißt Aurora – Sonnenaufgang. Schöner Name. Es hat kein Steuerrad. Mit einem kleinen Schalter, den man nach links und nach rechts bewegen kann, wird gesteuert. Nicht schlecht – aber man kann nicht immer ganz präzise den Kurs fahren, den man sich wünscht. Das analoge Steuerrad ist da doch präziser. Aber was soll es – auch ohne Steuerrad klappt es.


Dafür hat es zwei „Cockpits“. Man kann es aus der Kabine und von oben steuern. Oben ist der Stand fürs schöne Wetter, unten steuert man bei Regen. Es verfügt auch über Bugstrahler und lässt sich so wunderbar „rangieren“. Bootsfahren ist einfach geworden, wie vieles in der Welt.

Es regnet in Strömen. Und ist irgendwie recht kühl. Drei Wochen lang soll es hier so richtig heiß und sonnig gewesen sein. Der Regen stört uns aber nicht. Wir fahren zuerst nach Savonlinna. Man merkt, dass wir in der Vorsaison unterwegs sind. Nirgends ist viel los – ich reise gerne in der Nebensaison. In Savonlinna gehen wir über den Markt, besuchen das kleine Zentrum. Ein Schnellimbiss lädt uns zu Fish&Chips ein. Sehr lecker.

Wir fahren nach Süden: Das Wasser ist braun – wir durchqueren eine moorige Landschaft. Im Süden soll das Wasser ganz klar sein. Das wollen wir sehen, bevor wir uns zu unserer Rundreise in den Norden begeben. Wir fahren in Richtung Russland. Wahnsinn – wir sind nördlich von Russland.

Am Abend legen wir an einem Steg an – nicht weit weg von einem kleinen Kaffee und Geschäft. Es ist geschlossen, aber wir haben ja unsere Vorräte:  finnisches Brot mit Fisch und anderen Leckereien. Und viel Salat. Die Lebensmittel in Finnland sind teuer, aber sehr lecker. Die zweite Nacht an Boot in der frischen Bettwäsche ist der Luxus pur.

Am Mittwoch bin ich faul. Lass die anderen fahren und lese ein Buch von Werner Schlierf, das ich vor kurzem für einen EURO auf dem Flohmarkt gefunden habe. „Mein steiler Zahn in Himbeerrot“ heißt das Buch. Es tut weh. Ich werde es bei Gelegenheit hier im Blog vorstellen.

Das Buch hat mich traurig gemacht. Übers Lesen ist das schlechte Wetter gegangen. Die Sonne scheint plötzlich – sofort wird es schön warm. Am Abend sehen wir nur noch wenig Wolken.

Wir gehen in die Sauna in der Nähe unserer Anlandestelle. Das Moos auf dem Waldweg passt zu meiner Stimmung. Es erinnert mich an meine Kindheit. Wunderschön. Alles ist friedlich, still und ganz einfach. Was für ein Leben.

Ich freue mich aufs Bett. Um 23:00 ist es immer noch hell. Eigentlich wollen wir alle nicht schlafen gehen. Aber unser Boot hat paar dunkle Ecken. Da sehe ich das Licht nicht und werde auch heute Nacht wieder gut schlafen.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*