Roland Dürre
Tuesday June 21st, 2011

UTB 2 Finland – Savo – Savolinna, Kuopia, Varkaus

After a marvellous week on the Finnish labyrinth of lakes in the Savo region, I am sitting here at Helsinki-Vantaalla airport. My familiy are taking advantage of the waiting time and strolling through Helsinki.

Since I had little opportunity to get online during my vacation, I now have quite a bit of catching up to do. Consequently, I installed my “airport home office” with free WLAN right here.

Now I finished sending what feels like the first hundred emails, so here I sit, relaxing and writing my vacation diary. This time, you will get to read a thematically structured overview of our Finnish adventures, because I could not write a daily vacation diary, as I otherwise often enjoy doing.

We arrived here shortly after 8.15 a.m. – we were on time coming in from Savonlinna. The connecting flight to Munich is scheduled for 3.45 p.m.. We are talking local time, which means it is one hour earlier in Munich.

The ATR plane has 24 rows with two seats on both sides. It was rather empty. No more than one third of the seats were taken – which is quite a contrast to the flight out last Monday. We had not a single spare seat then.

Our House Boat – Aurora
Our boat was quite roomy. We had three bedrooms, one shower including toilet and another toilet near the sleeping compartment up front – and a sauna!

The huge sitting room with all those windows was one of the sleeping compartments, so it had to be converted into a bedroom every night.

There is a typical Finnish sauna oven in the sauna cabin. It is a very simple, square-shaped metal oven. You can see the stove pipe at the rear of the ship.
In order to get 80 degrees celsius or more, you only need tor burn very few pieces of tinder.
And if you visit the sauna, you can jump directly from the sauna into the water – and get back on board using the ladder. The water temperature was between 16 and 18 degrees celsius – so it was not ideal for swimming, but very good for “sauna-ing”. With the exception of one day, we used it every night.

If you want to steer a boat, you have to check the functionality every morning before departure. The cooling water and motor oil must be controlled and found sufficient. Are all movable objects secured? Did the last user properly fold up the bathing ladder? Are all the hawsers where they should be? We had a small hydraulics problem. It ate up too much oil.

🙂 
But it was probably the same with the crew (Öl, Olut).

The Weather

We were very happy with the weather. For at least four days, if not more, we had beautiful Scandinavian summer weather. Two days were mixed – and it rained on arrival and departure at the harbour.

Most of the time, we ate our – admittedly rather late – breakfast under the skies on the after deck. Well, it was late because the Finnish midsummer nights tend to change your life rhythm quite dramatically.

During the two colder days, we had no problem staying on the warm boat. We had to thank the sauna for this. And whenever we went exploring, the Finnish weather God (almost) always favoured us. The only time it rained during an outing was on our first day in Savonlinna.

When we returned our rented boat, our boad-lord said it had been typical Finnish weather for June.

The Scenery

It goes without saying that the wonderful nature is absolutely the best part of this trip. You can spend hours sitting on the boat and enjoying the panoramic view. Everything looks just like in the Southern Sea – except the vegetation somehow looks less alien, although it is also strange for us.

And all over the place, you see all those greens and blues of forests, skies and clouds. It is a world that seems almost surreal, especially when the trees growing at the beach and the clouds moving through the skies are mirrored in the absolutely still water.

The Cities

The only thing that sometimes puts a damper on my enthusiasm is when we get near one of the cities. Even from far away, you can see chimneys and cooling towers. Like threatening fire signals, announcing that we are leaving paradize.

We visited three major cities: Savolinna, Kuopia and Varkaus. Kuopia is the biggest of the three. It has around 100,000 inhabitants. You can easily sense that Savolinna and Varkaus each have only 30,000 inhabitants.

The outlay of the cities reminds me a little of socialist patterns. As to the rest: there are many cars on the streets – and few people.

What stood out were the young Finns wearing “gothic style” (my children explained the meaning of the term to me). They all wore dark clothes, had strange hair styles and tattoos and, of course, were pierced all over. Finland, too, seems to have a problem with their young generation. But what European country does not?

We find huge churches built in simple timber-frame style in every town – even in small communities. They all come with an unostentatious but impressive architecture.

The Land and the People

As opposed to our bike tours, the contact with people living in this foreign country was not as intense on our house boat journey. We were, however, quite impressed with the friendliness and linguistic competence of most Finns.

Descriptions of everything, including what is relevant, are all just in Finnish. Our route maps – if you want to find your way in a region of lakes with thousands of islands, it is quite important to have a good route map – were all exclusively in Finnish. You rarely find a sign that gives directions in Swedish, Russian or English on top of Finnish. In fact, they are mostly just advertisements.

But much that is „typically Finnish“ seems to be disappearing, too. The great concerns are rushing in. They seem to destroy or at least change the medium-sized enterprises. Maybe the Euro, too, contributes towards this development. At least that is what many Finnish people believe. It would be a pity if the special Finnish identity were to disappear.

And you do not see very much industry, either. The big factories all seem to produce paper. Much depends on timber.
The prejudice that all Finnish persons visit the sauna on a daily basis, however, was something I can testify to from firsthand observation.

The Mosquitoes

We were pretty scared. After all, before we started out, everybody had warned us against mosquitoes on our journey to Finland. And it is true: the more beautiful the scenery, the more mosquitoes there are.

But now I will come to an end of this report. And I plan to start at the northernmost point of Finland with my bike and then ride through to the Baltic States in June 2012. The intended goal should be to reach a city like Minsk or Warsaw (or Berlin), from where the train will bring me back home. And even the mosquitoes will not manage to make me change my mind!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
Now I am going to insert some pictures into my first Finland report – and then my Finnish adventures are finished for the time being!

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 21. Juni 2011

UTB 2 Finnland – Savo – Savolinna, Kuopia, Varkaus

Nach einer großartigen Woche in Finnland auf dem Seen-Labyrinth der Region Savo sitze ich am Flughafen von Helsinki-Vantaalla. Meine Familie nutzt die Zeit für einen Stadtbummel in Helsinki.

Da ich während des Urlaubs nur wenig ins Internet kam, habe ich viel Nachholbedarf und habe mir am Flughafen mein „Home Office“ mit freiem WLAN eingerichtet.

Jetzt habe ich die ersten gefühlt hundert E-Mails versandt und erhole mich beim Schreiben meines Urlaubstagebuchs. Das wird diesmal eine thematisch geordnete Zusammenfassung unserer Erlebnisse in Finnland, da ich keinen täglichen Reisebericht erstellen konnte, wie ich das sonst gerne mache.


Kurz nach 8:15 sind wir hier pünktlich von Savonlinna kommend gelandet, um 15:45 soll es nach München weitergehen. Alles lokale Zeit, d.h. in München ist es jeweils eine Stunde früher.

Die ATR hat knapp 24 Reihen mit jeweils 2 Sitzen auf jeder Seite. Sie war ziemlich leer, höchstens ein Drittel der Plätze waren besetzt .ganz im Gegensatz zum Hinflug am Montag vor einer Woche. Da war kein Platz frei.

Unser Hausboot – die Aurora

Wir hatten ein sehr geräumiges Boot. Drei Schlafräume, eine Dusche mit Toilette, eine weitere Toilette beim Schlafzimmer im Vorderschiff – und eine Sauna!

Der große Wohnraum mit den vielen Fenstern war dabei einer der Schlafräume und musste jeden Abend umgebaut werden.

In der Sauna steht ein typisch finnischer Sauna-Ofen. Ein ganz einfacher quaderförmiger Metallofen, das Ofenrohr sieht man am Ende des Schiffes. Ganz wenige Scheit Holz genügen, und auf die 80 Grad und mehr in der Sauna zu kommen.

Und wenn man die Sauna besucht, kann man direkt aus der Sauna ins Wasser springen und an der Leiter hinten wieder an Bord kommen. Die Wassertemperatur war wechselnd zwischen 16 bis 18 Grad Celsius – also nichts für Schwimmer aber gut für „Sauner“. Bis auf einen Tag haben wir sie dann auch jede Nacht genutzt.

So ein Boot muss jeden Morgen vor der Abfahrt durchgecheckt werden. Kühlwasserstand und Motorölstand müssen geprüft werden. Sind alle beweglichen Teile gesichert? Ist die Badeleiter hochgeklappt, die Taue richtig vorbereitet? Wir hatten ein kleines Problem mit der Hydraulik, die zuviel Öl geschluckt hat.
🙂 Aber das hat die Besetzung ja auch gemacht (Öl, Olut).

Das Wetter

Mit dem Wetter waren wir sehr zufrieden. An mindestens vier der acht Tage hatten wir schönstes skandinavisches Sommerwetter, 2 Tage waren gemischt – und am Abfahrtstag wie am Ankunftstag im Hafen hat es geregnet.

Aber meistens gab es das zugegeben späte Frühstück im Freien auf dem hinteren Deck. Spät, weil die finnische Mittsommernacht doch den Lebensrhythmus gewaltig verändert.

An den beiden kühlen Tagen konnten wir es im geheizten Boot auch dank der Sauna gut aushalten. Und bei den Ausflügen war der finnische Wettergott (fast) immer auf unserer Seite. Nur am ersten Tag in Savonlinna regnete es.

Unser Bootsverleiher meinte bei der Rückgabe, dass dies typisches Juniwetter in Finnland gewesen wäre.

Die Landschaft

Die wunderbare Natur ist (natürlich) das absolut Besondere auf dieser Reise. Stundenlang kann man auf dem Boot sitzen und das Panorama um sich herum bewundern. Es sieht alles aus wie in der Südsee – nur mit einer zwar auch fremden aber irgendwie vertrauteren Vegetation.

Und überall die vielen Grüns und Blaus von Wald, Himmel und Wolken. Eine fast unwirklich wirkende Welt, besonders wenn sich die Bäume vom Ufer und die Wolken des Himmels im oft ganz glatten Wasser spiegeln.

Die Städte

Die Idylle wird nur getrübt, wenn wir auf eine Stadt zu fahren. Dann sind schon von weiten Schlote und Kühltürme zu sehen. Wie drohende Fanale, die ankündigen, dass wir das  Paradies verlassen.

Drei größere Städte haben wir besucht – Savolinna, Kuopia und Varkaus. Dabei ist Kuopia die größte Stadt mit um die 100.000 Einwohner. Savolinna und Varkaus merkt man an, dass sie eben jeweils nur auf knapp 30.000 Einwohner kommen.

Die Anlage der Städte erinnert ein wenig an sozialistische Muster. Ansonsten gibt es viele Autos auf den Straßen – und man sieht nur wenig Menschen.

Auffallend die jungen Finnen im „gothic style“ (den Begriff haben mir meine Kinder erklärt). Dunkle Kleidung, eigenartige Frisuren und Tattoos, und Piercings ohne Ende. Auch Finnland scheint ein Problem mit seiner heranwachsenden Generation zu haben. Aber welches Land in Europa hat das nicht?

In jeder Stadt – auch in den kleineren Gemeinden – finden wir große Kirchen in Holzbaubauweise – mit einer schlichten aber sehr beeindruckenden Architektur.

Land und Leute

Anders als mit dem Fahrrad hatten wir auf der Hausboot-Fahrt nicht so intensiven Kontakt mit den Menschen des Landes. Aber wir haben uns sehr über die Freundlichkeit und Sprachkenntnisse der meisten Finnen gefreut.

Die Beschreibungen auch von relevanten Dingen sind sämtlich nur auf Finnisch. Unsere Streckenpläne – die für die Orientierung in einer weit verzweigten Seelandschaft mit Tausenden von Inseln sehr wichtig ist – waren nur auf Finnisch. Ganz selten findet man Schilder, die neben Finnisch auch in Schwedisch, Russisch und Englisch gehalten sind. Die dienen aber dann meistens nur der Werbung.

Es scheint auch viel „Finnisches“ im Verschwinden zu sein. Die großen Konzerne sind auf dem Vormarsch und scheinen den Mittelstand zu zerstören oder zumindest zu verändern. Wahrscheinlich trägt da auch der EURO viel dazu bei, so meinen es zumindest viele Finnen. Wäre schade, wenn die besondere Finnische Identität verschwinden sollte.

Und viel Industrie sieht man auch nicht. Die großen Werke scheinen Papierfirmen zu sein. Vieles hängt vom Holz ab.

Das Vorurteil, dass jeder Finne täglich in die Sauna geht, hat sich für mich aber bestätigt.

Die Mücken

Wir hatten Angst vor Ihnen – jeder hat uns ja vor den Mücken vor Antritt der Reise nach Finnland gewarnt. Und richtig: Je schöner die Natur, desto mehr gibt es davon.

Aber jetzt lasse ich es mit meinem Bericht gut sein. Und nehme mir vor, im Juni 2012 mit dem Rad ganz im Norden von Finnland zu starten und dann das Baltikum zu durchfahren. Und mit dem Ziel einer Stadt wie Minsk oder Warschau (oder Berlin), von der mich dann der Zug wieder nach Hause bringt. Und da werde ich mich auch von den Mücken nicht abbringen lassen!

RMD

P.S.
Jetzt füge ich noch ein paar Bilder in meinem ersten Bericht von unserer Finnlandreise ein – und dann ist Finnland mal fürs erste wieder vorbei!

Kommentar verfassen

*