This is our firth day “on the road”. And tomorrow will mark the end. At 4 p.m., our train will leave Berlin Central Station for Munich Central Station.

Consequently, we want to reach a place that is “within a reasonable distance” from Berlin on this last day of April 2012. And it turned out to be the best of all days.

Shortly after 9 a.m., we leave our friendly hotel and first ride to the harbour of Waren. And, surprise, surprise, a small ship is just making ready for departure. Its destination is the opposite end of the lake, which brings us nearer to Berlin by 25 kilometres.

Without much ado, we board with our bikes and enjoy 90 minutes on the “small ocean”. Because we learn – among other things – that Müritz is originally Slavic, that the ending “itz” is a diminutive form and that “Mür” means ocean. Not bad, is it?

The two of us enjoy the ocean trip and the best of weathers (so do our bikes). It is just great. We also learn that the Müritz is the biggest German inland lake. The only competitor would be the Bodensee, but it also belongs to Austria and Switzerland. At 11 a.m., the ship gives us free at the Boeker Mill – and now we have 110 wonderful kilometres to ride ahead of us.

We pass Rechlin, Mirow, Wesenberg, In Fürstenberg, we are reminded of the atrocities of German history. Himmelpfort feels like paradize.
Then we arrive at Zehdenick and from here, it is not far to our destination – Liebenwalde.

The entire way is just one huge piece of pleasure biking! Soft hills, green landscape, again and again lakes, channels, water-gates. The entire country looks like a single large vacation paradise. But totally authentic. Just a fairy tale. But instead of Disney-Land, you get a beautiful landscape, even if frequently marked by the years gone by.

We meet many happy people and enjoy two wonderful rests – and shortly after seven o’clock, we can practically see Liebenwalde. And what a coincidence: right next to the cyclist’s path, along the channel, we see the hotel “Preußischer Hof”. There are still some vacancies. In the evening, they dance into the May and have a May bonfire.

We gladly stay. The hotel is one with history. And it has some charm, even though it cannot deny its GDR past. Finished in 1791, the first person it served was Frederic William II for horse breeding. In 1813, it became a military hospital, and in 1899, the biggest champignon plantation of Germany was right here. From 1934, it served as a Landjahrheim with leadership camp.

In 1936, the Reichsinnungsverband of the shoemakers bought it and the building was converted into a Reichs School. And then, on May, 14th, 1946 the SED first made it the party high school “Karl Marx”, then the Berlin Regional Party School “Friedrich Engels”. Later, it was used for housing the school of “Politleiter of MTS”, until it then was made “Institut zur Ausbildung von Funktionären für die sozialistische Landwirtschaft” until 1989.

Yes – and then, like many other buildings, it became part of “Treuhand”. And tonight I will sleep in these historical rooms. Tomorrow, we will only have to ride a stone’s throw to Berlin (about 50 kilometres). Chances are quite good that we will actually catch our train home.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 1. Mai 2012

Utb Stralsund #5 Von Waren (Müritz) nach Liebenwalde

Jetzt sind wir den fünften Tag „On the road“. Und morgen ist dann Schluss, um 16:00 geht der Zug von Berlin Hbf nach München Hbf.

Und deshalb wollten wir heute am letzten Tage des Aprils 2012 auch an einen Ort kommen, der „in Reichweite“ von Berlin liegt. Und es wurde der schönste Tag.

Kurz nach 9:00 verlassen wir unser gastliches Hotel und fahren in Waren erst mal zum Hafen. Und siehe da, ein kleines Schiff liegt zur Abfahrt bereit, das ans andere Ende des Sees fährt und uns so 25 km näher an Berlin heran bringt.

Kurzentschlossen besteigen wir es mit unseren Fahrrädern und genießen 90 Minuten auf dem „kleinen Meer“. Denn auf dem Schiff lernen wir unter anderem, dass Müritz aus dem slawischen stammt, die Endung „itz“ verkleinert und „Mür“ soviel wie Meer bedeutet. Nicht schlecht.

Bei bestem Wetter genießen wir (und unsere Räder) die Seefahrt. Es ist herrlich. Wir lernen auch, dass der Müritz der größte deutsche Binnensee ist. Größer wäre nur noch der Bodensee, der gehört aber auch Österreich und der Schweiz. Um 11:00 spuckt uns das Schiff an der Boeker Mühle aus und 110 wunderschöne Kilometer liegen vor uns.

Wir durchfahren Rechlin, Mirow, Wesenberg, In Fürstenberg werden wir an das Grauen deutscher Vergangenheit erinnert, in Himmelpfort fühlen wir uns wie im Paradies.

Dann sind wir in Zehdenick und es ist nicht mehr weit zu unserem Ziel – nach Liebenwalde.

Die ganze Strecke wird zu einem einzigen Genuss-Radeln! Sanfte Hügel, grüne Landschaften, immer wieder Seen, Kanäle, Schleusen. Das ganz Land ein einziges Urlaubsparadies. Aber ganz authentisch. Ein einziges Märchen, aber kein Disney-Land sondern eine schöne wenn auch immer wieder von den Jahren gezeichnete Landschaft.

Wir treffen viel fröhliche Menschen, haben zwei wunderschöne Pausen – und kurz nach sieben Uhr sind wir kurz vor Liebenwalde. Und was für ein Zufall, direkt am Radweg entlang des Kanals ist es auch schon, das Hotel „Preußischer Hof“. Sie haben noch Zimmer frei, am Abend ist Tanz in den Mai mit Maifeuer.

Gerne bleiben wir. Das Hotel hat Geschichte. Und es hat Charme, obwohl es seine DDR-Geschichte nicht verleugnen kann. 1791 vollendet diente es zuerst der Pferdezucht für Friedrich Wilhelm den II. 1813 wurde es zum Militärlazarett, und 1899 entstand hier die größte Champignon-Zucht in Deutschland. 1934 diente es als Landjahrheim mit Führerschulungslager.

1936 erwarb es der Reichsinnungsverbandes des Schuhmacherhandwerks und der Bau wurde zur Reichsfachschule. Und dann am 14. Mai 1946 diente es der SED zuerst als Parteihochschule „Karl Marx“, dann als Berliner Landesparteischule „Friedrich Engels“ und diente später der Ausbildung von „Politleitern der MTS“ und wurde letztendlich bis 1989 das „Institut zur Ausbildung von Funktionären für die sozialistische Landwirtschaft“.

Ja – und dann kam es wie vieles zur „Treuhand“ und heute Nacht werde ich in diesen historischen Räumen schlafen. Und morgen ist es nur noch ein Katzensprung nach Berlin (cirka 50 km), so dass die Chancen gut sind, dass wir unseren Zug nach Hause pünktlich erreichen.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*