Roland Dürre
Tuesday May 1st, 2012

Travel Journal Stralsund #6 From Liebenwalde to Berlin

And again, we enjoy a wonderful day. The beautiful hotel Preußischer Hof at Liebenwalde even has its own swimming pool. Mind you, we are talking a rate of 48 € for the double bedroom (although breakfast is not included and booked through HDS).

So I start the day at half past seven with some swimming. To be sure, it is only 15 minutes, but this will suffice for making the body flexible. Then I indulge in the big buffet breakfast and shortly before 10 o’clock, we remount our bikes. We are going to Berlin, taking a detour through Oranienburg, because the cyclist’s path is just too attractive.

Today, we can afford to be really slow, which is what we do. The weather is hot, almost 28 degrees Celsius in the shadow. A few minutes after 1 p.m. we arrive at the new Central Station of Berlin. Well, I cannot say I am fascinated by the building: it is one of those modern stations on many levels. Besides, it is not at all situated in a “capital-like” area. But they are busily building houses for Federal offices in the vicinity.

We study the itineraries. And we discover that our train will come fresh from Gesundbrunnen. To get to the station of Berlin-Gesundbrunnen, we would only have to ride four kilometres. So we quickly ride there.

After our arrival there, we have two hours left. We take a leisurely meal and are back 15 minutes before the scheduled departure of the train on platform 7. Today, we only rode 60 kilometres. The train is on time, we can load the bikes without problems and now I am sitting behind a table with a power outlet, preparing for my next three work days.

To sum it all up, I can say:

It was a dream of a journey. Six days on the bike, riding 580 kilometres. Wherever we were, we found nice hotels, no rain. One day was a little cloudy, one day a little windy.

About the bike: this was my first tour with my Roadster. Mostly, I take my Road Traveller (Koga), or if I go mountains, my Mountain Bike. The Roadster did a very good job. The thick “Big Apple” tyres were the optimum on the paths that were occasionally very rough and sandy. The Rohloff gear hub was perfect, I truly enjoyed how I could shift gears all the time.

Basically, the paths were easy going. You can also choose a shorter route. Staying overnight is excellent everywhere.

So – why don’t you follow my example?

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 1. Mai 2012

Utb Stralsund #6 Von Liebenwalde nach Berlin

Und wieder wird es ein wunderbarer Tag. Das schöne Hotel Preußischer Hof in Liebenwalde hat sogar ein Schwimmbad. Und das bei einem Übernachtungspreis von 48 € fürs Doppelzimmer (allerdings ohne Frühstück und gebucht über HDS).

Also – um halb acht geht es auf zum Frühschwimmen. Zwar nur 15 Minuten, aber genug um den Körper zu lockern. Dann zum großen Frühstücksbüffet und kurz vor 10 Uhr sitzen wir wieder auf den Rädern. Es geht nach Berlin, wir fahren einen Umweg über Oranienburg, der schöne Radweg lockt zu sehr.

Heute können wir bummeln, das tun wir auch. Es wird heiß, im Schatten sind es fast 28 Grad Celsius. Ein paar Minuten nach 13:00 kommen wir am neuen Hauptbahnhof in Berlin an. Irgendwie begeistert er nicht: So ein moderner Bahnhof auf mehreren Ebenen. Und er liegt gar nicht „hauptstädtisch“. Allerdings wird in der Umgebung fleißig für Bundesbehörden gebaut.

Wir studieren die Fahrpläne. Und entdecken, dass unser Zug in Gesundbrunnen frisch eingesetzt wird. Zum Bahnhof Berlin-Gesundbrunnen sind es noch gut 4 km. Dort geht es jetzt ganz schnell hin.

Angekommen haben wir noch zwei Stunden. Wir gehen schön Essen und sind wieder 15 Minuten vor Abfahrt des Zuges am Gleis 7. Bis hierher waren es heute nur 60 km. Der Zug ist auch pünktlich, das Einladen der Räder klappt ohne Probleme und jetzt sitze ich an einem Platz mit Tisch und Steckdose und bereite mich auf die nächsten drei Arbeitstage vor.

Als Resumée bleibt:

Eine Traumtour. 6 Tage, an die 580 Kilometer. Lauter schöne Hotels. Keinen Regen. Einen Tag bewölktes Wetter, einen Tag mit kühlem Wind, sonst nur Sonnenschein.

Zum Fahrrad: Es war meine erste Tour mit meinem Roadster von Utopia. Meistens bin ich ja mit dem Road Traveller (Koga) oder bei Gebirgsfahrten mit dem Mountain Bike unterwegs. Der Roadster hat sich sehr bewährt. Die dicken „Big Apple“-Reifen waren optimal auf den gelegentlich sehr groben und auch sandigen Wegen. Die Rohloff-Nabenschaltung war perfekt, das schnelle und unproblematische Hoch- und Runterschalten hat richtig Spaß gemacht.

Die Wege an sich waren leicht. Man kann auch kürzere Teilstrecken machen, die Übernachtungssituation ist überall ausgezeichnet.

Also – Nachmachen!

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*