Roland Dürre
Tuesday October 23rd, 2012

Waste of Time(s)

During Nadja’s prasentation on “The Meaning of Life” at the last IF Forum, I was reminded of all those many wasted hours in my life. The first thing that sprang to mind was the time I spent watching TV and driving a car. There were a few decades in my life when I actually spent a daily average of five hours in front of the TV set and behind the wheel of a car.

If you do the simple calculations, you get 1,825 hours each year if you take five hours every day. With just two decades, the result is that I spent 26,500 hours sitting in a car or in front of a TV set. Mind you, these are rather conservative numbers. Somehow, I find these results frustrating.

And then I remember that, at least after 1977, I also spent more and more time of my professional life in meetings. Many of them were rather unnecessary and unproductive. More often than not, I would have preferred using the time for the projects I was working on at the time.

Neither did matters improve as time went by. In many enterprises, there is still a pathological tendency towards meetings. Far too many of them, taking up far too much time. And since that causes too much working time to be filled with meetings, you will have to make up for it by staying late into the night.

Why do people make so many appointments that last longer than 20 minutes? Competent persons can and must exchange a lot of information in 20 minutes, as well as come up with wise decisions.

Except in practice, it is different. Basically, a meeting should always have been prepared well. Consequently, it has an agenda. Said agenda has to be worked through. And each of the topics usually takes a lot more time than necessary.

Here is how it is often done: four TOP’s (items of the agenda) are to be discussed and decided. Since the issues are difficult, the organizers plan two hours total. Thirty minutes per issue. It was quite hard to agree on a meeting time, because, after all, all participants are constantly on some meeting or other and therefore have a full calendar. Consequently, the meeting will not be before two weeks from now. By the time the meeting takes place, two of the four TOP’s are already obsolete.

Well, now you could think that those TOP’s that are by now obsolete can be deleted from the list. That would leave you with only half the number of issues to discuss. Which means you could reduce the time for the discussion by half. That would be only one hour instead of two – and then you could go back to your work. But, no! In all my time as a participant of meetings, it seldom happened.

No. Mostly, they spontaneously come up with new issues to discuss. After all, we are here now, aren’t we? So now they start speculating and philosophizing. Arguments are brought forth all over the place, but they are seldom well-structured. Some of the participants enjoy rhetorical games, others often suffer when they have to listen to all those verbal arias.

Still others hide under some kind of camouflaged office nap, dreaming of better times and nicer places. It will only get embarrassing when you start snoring. Consequently, all the time that was originally planned to get used up will actually be used up in the end. Mostly, it takes even longer than planned. But why?

Yes, I definitely spent too much time in my life before a TV set and in a car, as well as in meetings. But I will not look back. Instead, I will look towards the future.
So here is what I will do in the future: switch off the TV, cut off driving cars, avoid meetings.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 23. Oktober 2012

Verlorene Zeit(en)

Bei Nadja’s Vortrag zum „Sinn des Lebens“ vom letzten IF-Forum mußte ich an die vielen Stunden denken, die ich in meinem Leben sinnlos verbracht habe. Zuerst ist mir die Zeit eingefallen, die ich mit Fernsehen und Autofahren verbracht habe. Es gab so ein paar Jahrzehnte in meinem Leben, in denen ich täglich im Schnitt mehr als fünf Stunden vor dem Fernseher und am Steuer eines Autos verbracht habe.

Einfach mal so los gerechnet, sind das bei 5 Stunden am Tag 1825 Stunden im Jahr. Nehmen wir mal nur 2 Jahrzehnte, dann bin ich in diesem Zeitraum 36.500 Stunden im Auto und vor dem Fernseher gesessen. Und das mit sehr vorsichtigen Annahmen. Irgendwie frustrierend.

Und dann fällt mir ein, dass ich spätestens ab 1977 in meiner beruflichen Laufbahn auch immer mehr Zeit in Besprechungen verbringen musste. Viele davon waren ziemlich unnötig und unproduktiv. Oftmals hätte ich die Zeit lieber für die Projekte genutzt, an denen ich gerade gearbeitet habe.

Das hat sich nicht geändert. In vielen Unternehmen herrscht immer noch ein fast krankhafter Drang zu Besprechungen. Viel zu viele, die viel zu lange dauern. Und weil man so viel Arbeitszeit mit Versprechungen füllt, muss man dann halt oft bis tief in die Nacht nacharbeiten.

Warum macht man so viele Termine, die länger als 20 Minuten sind? Kompetente Leute können und müssen in 20 Minuten sehr viel Information austauschen und gute Entscheidungen fällen.

Nur die Praxis ist halt anders. Besprechungen sollten ja immer gut vorbereitet sein. Deshalb haben sie eine Agenda. Die muss abgearbeitet werden. Und jeder Punkt dauert meistens viel länger als nötig.

Oft läuft das so: Vier TOP (Tagesordnungspunkte) sollen besprochen und entschieden werden. Weil es ganz schwierige TOP sind, haben die Einladenden zwei Stunden geplant. 30 Minuten pro TOP. Der Termin war schwer zu finden, da alle Teilnehmer ja dauernd in Sitzungen sind und die Terminkalender deshalb so voll sind. Deshalb wird das Meeting in frühesten zwei Wochen stattfinden. Wenn der Termin dann stattfindet, haben sich in der Regel zwei der vier TOP schon von selbst erledigt.

Jetzt könnte man meinen: Die TOPs, die sich erledigt haben, können doch gleich mal gestrichen werden. Dann hat man nur noch halb so viele TOPs wie geplant. Also kann man doch die Zeit der Besprechung auf die Hälfte reduzieren. Also nur eine Stunde an Stelle von zwei besprechen – und dann wieder an die Arbeit gehen. Aber denkste! So etwas habe ich in meiner Zeit als Besprechungsteilnehmer nur selten erlebt.

Nein, meistens werden ganz spontan neue Themen gefunden. Wenn man schon mal zusammen ist. Es wird rumgegockelt, spekuliert, philosophiert. Argumente werden kreuz und quer aber selten zusammenhängend in den Ring geworfen. Ein Teil der Teilnehmer erfreut sich am rethorischen Spiel, andere leiden unter dem oft in Geschwafel ausartenden Wortarien.

Andere flüchten sich in eine Art maskierten Büroschlaf und träumen von besseren Zeiten und schöneren Orten. Nur wer schnarcht, fällt unangenehm auf. Und so wird alle Zeit, die geplant war, dann auch wirklich aufgebraucht. Und meistens wird auch noch überzogen. Warum eigentlich nur?

Ja, ich habe viel zu viel Zeit in meinem Leben vor dem Fernseherm im Auto sondern auch in Besprechungen verbracht. Aber ich schaue nicht zurück, sondern nach vorne.

🙂 Also – Fernsehen off, Autofahren off, Besprechungen off.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*