Roland Dürre
Sunday June 29th, 2014

Networks versus Hierarchies

On the future of enterprises

The feedback on the technological IF Forum on June, 27th, 2014 at the Unterhaching Sportpark was wonderful. Many thanks to all who where there. I already look forward to watching the video recordings of all the presentations.

Here are the lecture notes for the presentation I held after the event.

The IF Forum was about:

“Self-organisation as a formative model for enterprises in the 21st century”

sudburyOn one of his first days as our new (!) colleague in the board gave me the Sudbury-Book – a gesture I found both courageous and really great.

The book is about liberal schools. It is a very radical plea for liberal education. Compared to “Sudbury”, the good old “Summerhill” model we all appreciated so very much during our youth is truly authoritarian.

Incidentally, I believe a little more “Sudbury” would be good advice, and not just for our schools. It would also help our enterprises. Mind you, I am not just talking so-called “brain workers”.

Why?

Once upon a time, we had an “industrial revolution”. Many workers were needed in the factories. However, there were no skilled workers on the human market. To make up for it, there was a huge surplus of unskilled persons, some of whom had grown up on farms. Farms, in particular, were places where – due to new technology – masses of employees were made redundant. They had all worked in a rural environment. They were simple people, not used to time-oriented discipline and without any experience with technological work.

The first conveyor-belt production of Ford’s T Model is a nice example of this industrialization 2.0, which followed after the extended use of the steam engine as a power machine (industrialization 1.0). Suddenly, time and the clock became relevant factors. The “caste of engineers” took over production control and ruled over the unskilled labour. “Modern Times” as in Charlie Chaplin had begun.

In the 21st century, we have a totally different image of humans and the world – at least in our society:
”War is over!“
”Future is female!“
”We want freedom and peace!“
…
“because we no longer believe in a life after death!“
And the science of management, too, underwent change. For example, Hans Ulrich of the Hochschule St. Gallen founded the “Management Model” in the early 1980ies and wrote an article titled:


”Eight theses on the change in management“.

They are:


To accept the unpredictability of the future as a normal state of affairs;

To extend your personal borderline of thinking;

To let yourself be governed by “both”, instead of “either-or”;
To think multi-dimensionally;
To understand self-organization and self-control as formative models;
To consider management as a meaningful function;
To focus on what is really important; 

To make use of group dynamics.
To me, this looks clear and rational.

Basically, with this list, Hans Ulrich said everything that needed to be said in the early 1980ies. But it seems that some “managers” have not heard any of it to this day.

25 years after the essay by Hans Ulrich, I met Simon Grand, who is also from St. Gallen. I cooperated with him during several workshops. And I learned from him that, when all is said and done, the one thing that makes a manager a good manager is that he knows a little more often than others which decision is good and which is bad for his enterprise. And this is how the good manager makes the right decision a little more often than your average person! According to other research done by the Hochschule St. Gallen, the ratio of wrong decisions is gigantically huge.

A short time ago, I tried to come to terms with the meaning of the words collateral damage (Kollateralnutzen). In Wikipedia, you will find it defined as fringe damage or accompanying damage, which is accepted even if not predictable. I would have defined it as secondary damage.

So far, Wikipedia does not give you any explanation for “collateral benefit”. I am sure this will soon be remedied. In google, you can find the term collateral benefit at the top of (today’s) list as fun opposite of »collateral damage«.

Isn’t it sad: whenever something “evil” happens, you have collateral damage, but there is no “collateral benefit” accompanying “good” things happening. At least not in Wikipedia. Incidentally, I am quite sure that all these things have been written about in philosophy. Except – in our omniscient internet, which certainly has a huge influence and educational value for us, the “collateral benefit” as fringe, accompanying or secondary benefit is not yet known. The philosophers really should do a better job.

I will just claim that a “good” manager will create mostly collateral benefit for (not just) his enterprise. His behaviour is “constructive”. Just like a “bad” manager will create collateral damage – which means he is “destructive”.
And you can see that the classic management doctrine reaches its limits in the times of “Generation Y”.

🙂 Surprise, surprise: all of a sudden you realize that good decisions cannot be made just by rationally deducing from collected facts. Instead, intuition of experience is quite important. And you notice that it can even be proved scientifically.

Consequently, what we get is a set of questions which do not just apply for creative intellectual jobs:

Is Taylorism still constructive?

Maybe regionalization should again be put before globalization?

Have we finally understood that the future cannot be predicted?

How do we cope with this truth?

Do we accept that

  • planning things gets harder and harder, that we have to prudently learn as we try to find our way through these complex worlds and that human beings are more important than efficiency? – #agile in the sense of the “Agile Manifesto”,
  • there will (or has to) come a time of participating and sharing – #open,
  • we will have to go back to doing things the simple way and to always do better – #lean?

Will we manage to contribute with our own talents and competence as each individual situation requires?

Are we courageous enough for civil courage and constructive disobedience?

Maybe we should go back to giving intuition again a relevant role when it comes to making decisions?

Is efficiency still the prior goal? Or is it more about resiliency, the ability to adapt?

Should we not – first and foremost – try to adopt a constructive mind-set. After all, it is immensely important for what we decide and what we do.

Do we really still need persons to tell us what to do?

Why is nobody confident that we will learn together and then do the right thing? In the sense of the Common Interest.

We will not solve tomorrow’s problems by using yesterday’s solutions and we must limit the power of all kinds of hierarchical systems. This is the only chance we have to live (and survive) in freedom through shared and collaborative behaviour based on ratio and to shape the future in the interest of man and our creation.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 29. Juni 2014

Vernetzung versus Hierarchie

Über die Zukunft von Unternehmen

Die Rückmeldungen zum fachlichen IF-Forum am 27. Juni 2014 im Sportpark Unterhaching waren wunderschön. Vielen Dank an alle, die dabei waren. Ich freue mich schon auf die Videos der einzelnen Vorträge. Hier das Skript meines Vortrages zum Abschluss der Veranstaltung.

Das Thema des IF-Forums war

„Selbstorganisation als Gestaltungsmodell für Unternehmen im 21. Jahrhundert“

sudburyEin neuer (!) Kollege hat mir, wie er zu uns kam, das Sudbury-Buch geschenkt. Das fand ich mutig und ganz toll.

Im Buch geht es um freie Schulen. Es ist ein sehr radikales Plädoyer für freie Erziehung. Das gute alte Modell „Summerhill“, das wir in unserer Jugend so geschätzt haben, ist gegen „Sudbury“ so richtig autoritär. 🙂

Ich meine aber, dass mehr „Sudbury“ nicht nur den Schulen gut tun würde. Sondern auch den Unternehmen. Und das nicht nur, wenn es um die sogenannten „Wissensarbeiter“ geht.

Warum?

Es gab da mal eine „industrielle Revolution“. Viele Arbeitskräfte wurden in den Fabriken benötigt. Gelernte Arbeiter gab es aber auf dem Markt der Menschen nicht. Es gab aber einen großen Überschuss an unausgebildeten Menschen, die zum Teil aus der Landwirtschaft kamen. Gerade dort wurden aufgrund des Einsatzes neuer Technik massenhaft Arbeitskräfte freigesetzt, die zuvor in bäuerlicher Umgebung gearbeitet hatten. Diese waren einfache Menschen, nicht an zeitliche Disziplin gewöhnt und ohne jeden Bezug zu technischer Arbeit.

Die erste Fließbandproduktion von Fords T-Modell ist ein schönes Beispiel für diese Industrialisierung 2.0, die dem erweiterten Einsatz der Dampfmaschine als Kraftmaschine folgte (Industrialisierung 1.0). Zeit und Uhr wurden plötzlich relevant. Die „Kaste der Ingenieure“ übernahm die Steuerung der Produktion und das Diktat über die angelernten Menschen. Die „Modernen Zeiten des Charlie Chaplins hatten begannen.

Im 21. Jahrhundert verfügen wir zumindest in unserer Gesellschaft über ein ganz anderes Menschen- und Weltbild:

„War is over!“
„Future is female!“
„We want freedom and peace!“

„denn wir leben nicht mehr fürs Leben im Jenseits!“

Und auch die Wissenschaft des Management hat sich geändert. So begründet Hans Ulrich von der Hochschule St. Gallen Anfang der 80iger das gleichnamige „Management Modell“ und schreibt einen kurzen Aufsatz mit dem Titel

„Acht Thesen zum Wandel im Management“.

Diese sind:
Die Unvorsehbarkeit von Zukunft als Normalzustand zu akzeptieren,
die Grenzen des Denkens weiter zu stecken,
sich besser vom „sowohl als auch” als vom „entweder oder” leiten zu lassen,
mehrdimensional zu denken,
Selbstorganisation und Selbstlenkung als Gestaltungsmodell zu begreifen,
Managen als sinngebende und sinnvermittelnde Funkton aufzufassen,
sich auf das Wesentliche zu konzentrieren und
Gruppendynamik auszunutzen.

Das empfinde ich als klar und einleuchtend. Hans Ulrich hat in den frühen 80igern damit doch schon alles gesagt. Aber anscheinend haben viele „Manager“ bis heute davon noch nichts gehört.

25 Jahre nach Erscheinen des Aufsatzes von Hans Ulrich habe ich Simon Grand auch aus St. Gallen kennen gelernt. Mit ihm habe ich in mehreren Workshops zusammen gearbeitet. Und von ihm gelernt, dass ein guter Manager sich letzten Endes nur dadurch auszeichnet, dass er ein wenig öfters als andere in der Lage ist, zu erkennen, was gut und was schlecht fürs Unternehmen ist. Und so öfters als der Durchschnitt der Manager die richtige und keine falsche Entscheidung fällt! Anderen Untersuchungen aus Hochschule St. Gallen folgend ist die Quote von falschen Entscheidungen gigantisch hoch.

Vor kurzem habe ich mich mit dem Begriff des Kollateral-Schaden beschäftigt. Dieser findet sich in Wikipedia und wird als Randschaden oder Begleitschaden beschrieben, der nicht vorhersehbar aber billigend in Kauf genommen wird. Ich hätte ihn als Nebenschaden definiert.

Den Begriff des „Kollateralnutzen“ finde ich in Wikipedia (heute) noch nicht. Das wird sich sicher bald ändern. In Google finde ich den Begriff Kollateralnutzen ganz oben (heute) als Spaßgegensatz zum »Kollateralschaden«.

Ist das nicht schlimm – es gibt bei „bösen“ Handlungen einen Kollaterschaden, den Kollateralnutzen von „guten“ Handlungen kennt man aber gar nicht. Zumindest nicht in Wikipedia. Ich bin mir nämlich sicher, dass das alles in der Philosophie schon erarbeitet wurde. Nur – im allwissenden und uns sicher gewaltig prägenden und bildenden Internet gibt es den „Kollateralnutzen“ als Rand-, Begleit- oder Neben nutzen bisher noch nicht. Die Philosophen sollten hier ihren Job ein wenig besser machen.

Ich behaupte mal, dass ein „guter“ Manager überwiegend Kollateralnutzen (nicht nur) für sein Unternehmen schafft. Sein Wirken ist konstruktiv. So wie ein „schlechter“ Manager überwiegend Kollateralschäden generiert. Und so „destruktiv“ wirkt.

Und man erkennt, dass die klassische Management-Lehre in der Zeit von „Generation Y“ an ihre Grenzen gekommen ist.

😉 Überraschender Weise versteht man plötzlich, dass gute Entscheidungen nicht durch rationales Ableiten von gesammelten Fakten alleine erreicht werden, sondern dass auch die Intuition der Erfahrung ihr Recht hat. Und stellt fest, dass das auch noch auch wissenschaftlich begründet werden kann.

So entstehen ganz verschiedene Fragen – gerade aber nicht nur im Bereich der kreativen Wissensberufe:

Ist Taylorismus immer noch zielführend?

Sollte nicht Regionalisierung wieder vor Globalisierung gehen?

Haben wir endlich verstanden, dass Zukunft nicht vorhersehbar ist?

Wie gehen wir damit um?

Akzeptieren wir,

  • dass Planung immer schwieriger wird, wir uns in komplexe Welten klug lernend hinein tasten müssen und Menschen vor Effizienz gehen? – #agile, im Sinne des „Agile Manifesto“.
  • dass die Zeit des Teilhaben und des Teilens kommt (oder kommen muss) – #open.
  • dass wir es wieder einfacher und immer besser machen müssen – #lean.

Schaffen wir es, die eigenen Talente und Fähigkeiten der Situation angemessen einzubringen?

Sind wir mutig genug für Zivilcourage (Bürgermut) und konstruktiven Ungehorsam?

Muss nicht die Intuition wieder eine relevante Rolle bei Entscheidungsfindung spielen?

Ist Effizienz noch das priore Ziel oder geht es nicht vielmehr um Resilienz, die Fähigkeit, sich anzupassen?

Müssen wir uns nicht zuerst mal um eine konstruktive Geisteshaltung bemühen, die von herausragender Bedeutung für unser Entscheiden und Handeln ist.

Brauchen wir wirklich immer noch Menschen, die uns sagen, wo es lang geht?

Warum traut man uns nicht zu, selbstständig im Gemeinsamen zu lernen und dann das Richtige zu machen. Im Sinne des großen Ganzen?

Wir werden die Probleme von Morgen nicht mit den Lösungen von gestern lösen können und müssen die Macht hierarchischer Systeme aller Art begrenzen. Nur so haben wir eine Chance, in Freiheit und Frieden zu (über-)leben und durch ein gemeinsames kollaboratives Wirken basierend auf Augenhöhe und Vernunft die Zukunft im Sinne der Menschen und unserer Schöpfung zu gestalten.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*